All parent member reviews for Grand Theft Auto: Vice City

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging, great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging, good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging, good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging, okay learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Parents say

(out of 39 reviews)
AGE
11
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Educator and Parent Written byModernNija94 August 23, 2012
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

grate

now I'm 19 and I first played this game when I was 7 so I'm telling you rite now that this game is one of the better gta games that being said it is also not rely a game I would rrecomend for a first M rated game
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent Written byGame'nWatch June 25, 2012
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Not as bad as they say it is

Vice City takes place in the 80's, in Miami. This title is a lot more brighter and funnier than GTA III. The character's swear very oftenly, but the worse they say is the f word. This is the cleanest GTA out there. The violence is identical to GTA III (cartoonish and unrealistic), although the sexual content is knocked up a notch. You have to do missions for a porn director, but the missions don't have any sexual content in them. The worst you see is a man in boxers and a woman in a bikini talking to each other suggestively. The cutscenes are not mature though-- they'd be allowed in a T rated game. The prostitutes are nothing to worry about, since they only serve to regain health when there isn't a hospital nearby. You see no action going on, the prostitute just sits in the car and the protagonist sits on the driver's seat as your health slowly regains. The game also never even mentions prostitutes-- my son didn't even know there are prostitutes in Vice City. Overall, Vice City is the best GTA in my opinion and features an amazing soundtrack (even Micheal Jackson is in the soundtrack!). Vice City is just too good to miss, so if your son is 13 or mature, get it for him!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written bygamer12 June 11, 2012
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

good

this game is not that bad it is not for learning
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent of a 11 year old Written byJ C November 17, 2009
AGE
11
QUALITY
 
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Safety and privacy concerns
Adult Written byharshafriend4all July 20, 2009
AGE
15
QUALITY
 
i love it
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Safety and privacy concerns
Safety and privacy concerns
Adult Written byalex7766 April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

everyone try it!!

Bad content just another life going game.
Adult Written byArdryn April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

Great Game for our Ages

This my friends, is one of the best games I have ever laid my hands on. I would let my kids (If I had any) play this game to learn about how the real world is these days. Drugs, violence, bad language, the way the world really is.
Adult Written byxxStan April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

Oh no it's Vice City!

I think the reviewers of this game are totally missing the point. "OMG YOU CAN KILL STUFF!!! ONO!" might be an initial reaction, but if you just sat down and played the game you would realize that's one way to do it. I mean you could just cruise around the city running people over and just generally killing everything in your path. But then again, you could drive an ambulance around, or get in a fire truck and fight fires. I mean the possibilities are endless. Why would you condemn a game for including the bad along with the good? And off the top of my head I can think of about 8 movies that are ten times worse than anything you can do in this game...
Adult Written byForknose April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

It is a question of maturity and sickness

I disagree with allowing small children this game, I disagree anyone under 16 having this game unless you are very mature and are a very good person. If you wouldn't even consider sex with a prostitute or shooting people or aren't a troubled person then you could play. The problem is society, bullies play the game and become mean to kids. Picked on kid plays the game and shoots the bully. If society was better kids wouldn't be as influenced. I prefer Final Fantasy and Tony Hawk over this game though.
Adult Written bySimon Atford April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

Shows up the hypocracy of mainstream morality

People have criticised this game for its violence, sex, drug use and generally morally irresponsible content. What they fail to realise is that it is all a satire of modern American society. Just listen to the in game radio stations, especially the talk stations KCHAT and VCPR, with their over the top evangelists, politicians, academics etc. That said it is not suitable for the children or over sensitive adults. One final point: You don’t have to sleep with prostitutes if you don’t want to and you certainly don’t have to kill them unless you believe your character (voiced by the excellent Ray Liotta) should behave like a sick murdering bastard.
Adult Written byEraisuithon April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

This games teaches....

This game teaches you things like what not to do. In my opinion (and maybe every other gamer out there) GTA: Vice City is not a game that teaches you violence or how to do drugs or anything of that matter. Kids can get it from school or anywhere else. The clinch on this game is simple. Someone stole your bosses money and the cocaine. Two of your best freinds are dead (eh, Scarface anyone?) You want to find out who did it. Now...through the game, you meet new people like, Candy Suxxx and Mercedes. This game teaches you sex, what not to do (i.e. kill people). My cousin like it, and he is only 10.
Adult Written bysmart person April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

Does Not, contrary to popular belief, create social problems!!!!!!!

Ok, First thing most of us think when we first play or see something about this game is "OMG! I don't want my child to want to do these things!" But, my son has a friend that plays games like these. he has no problems and acts exactly the way my son does. There is nothing wrong him. So please understand that this game does not spell evil for your child. Thank you for your time.
Adult Written bysexy nikki April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 
Adult Written bytravis April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

i cried i laughed

This game is so cool
Adult Written byJoe100 April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

An excellent game though srtictly not for kids

An excellent game but it's full of violence, swearing, sex and drugs. These are essentially the things that attract people to it as you can do bad things in the game without really harming anyone. Definitely not for kids but the violence, though frequent isn't as bad as you may think.
Adult Written byjason506 April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 
Adult Written byPRETTY WOMEN April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 
Adult Written byFGGF April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 
i think this should be viewd by adults before letting your kids watch this stuf should be rated adults for nudity langage blood and gore and drugs but i love these games all of my friends have them

Pages