All member reviews for Grand Theft Auto: Vice City

Common Sense Media says

GTA continues with more sex, violence & drugs.

Users say

(out of 105 reviews)
age 12+
Review this title!
Kid, 12 years old April 5, 2009

Pretty good

D**n people, its just a game. Sure, a violent one, but your kid should know they shouldn't go outside with a loaded handgun and randomly kill people, or blow up a building with C4, or buy smuggled cocaine from a group of Colombian gangsters. Really. I started playing all of the GTAs when I was 8 or 9, and you don't see on the news "12 year old boy kills family, blows up town, sells blow." If your kid gets violent, don't blame Rockstar games. Blame yourself.
Kid, 11 years old September 4, 2010
Teen, 17 years old Written byoctober1985 July 9, 2009
It's GTA. There's going to be graphic violence, sex, profanity and drug content. Most kids know the difference between games and real life. I played games like this when i was younger, it all depends on the kid.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Teen, 16 years old Written byjdbungry April 16, 2011

Im Just A Kid

My parents, please they wouldn't let me get this game if i begged them to but com-on 7-15 year old kids play GTA for gods sake. My parents are just afraid that i will grow up and shoot people. I love the game but my parents, its just the thought of it they just dont understand.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Kid, 9 years old January 30, 2011

this game is for kids

i love this game because chat codes is used for kids of all ages but still for young adults and older maybe for ages 4+ and up is rated m for ages 17+ over not a good older age but you can kill them and more
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Safety and privacy concerns
Teen, 13 years old Written byrockerboy5649 April 1, 2010
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 9 years old September 20, 2013

It's OK

I DO NOT recommend this to people younger than 17 unless an adult is watching them.My 20 year old uncle lets me play the game ONLY when he is watching me.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 10 years old April 9, 2008
Teen, 14 years old Written byParkerSmykle July 5, 2015

a awesome game

a awesome game 4/5 stars
Kid, 10 years old April 9, 2008

awsome game

AAAAAAAAAAAWWWWWWWWWWWWWWSSSSSSSSSSSOOOOOOOMMMMMMMMMMEEEEEEEEEE GGGGGGGGGGGAAAAAAAAAAAAMMMMMMMMMMMMEEEEEEEE
Teen, 13 years old Written bykiokuisme1 April 9, 2008

Honost kids point of view......

ok now usualy i am not ottally agreeing whith the little common sence not thing but this time i do. The sex the player can pick up hokers and basically have sex whith them in the car although you don't acctually whatch you see the car vibrating.the violence absolutly of the charts it's a hundred times worse thant mist fighting games! and considering the hardcore dangorous wepons you find laying around or can get of a dead cop violence is not only continuos but on a whole diferent level than most in fact most people who say own a wepons shop have probably never ever seen most of the hight tech guns they have on this game. As for language there have been worse and there have been better but on this game it is probably a lesser problem if thats possible to belive. Now on drugs and alcohol the player can mostly get drugs i haven't seen much alcohol to be honost. but back on drugs i've gptten high by accident maybe twice how is that really.I haven't seen very much commercilism so i guess thats not a problem. the social behavior is unexceptable i mean from the killing to stealling cars it is absolutly NOT for children in fact adults should'n even wast their time on that trash although yes it is adictave and has pretty good graphics it is still indeed trash. now i will give tips on how to keep this from your kids. instead of saying no say that that game is old and it's trash then ofer to buy a game more suited for them but whith the same excitment and possibly even adictiveness such as a racing game a wrestling game or something like a scatebording game (scatbording games are addictive)
Teen, 13 years old Written byDuckyboy March 25, 2015

Nowadays its good

Back then in 2002 people thought this game was the worst game for any child but now in 2015 this is just right for kids about 8 and up or 9 and up if they know the difference of killing a citizen in the game and killing one in real life
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Kid, 12 years old July 14, 2014

Ok for mature teens.

I am 12 years old and my parents let me play this when I was 11. I think that Vice City is ok for teens +13. Though, it all depends on maturity. The game has no nudity, just girls in bikinis. There is also a stripclub, but you can easily avoid it. You can only visit the stripclubs after you beat the game i think. Yes there us lots of gore and violence. You can kill anyone you please, and steal any vehicle. When you shoot someone, there body parts will come off and blood puddles will appear on the ground. There is alot of smoking, drugs, and alcohol. There is also alot of cussing.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 12 years old October 16, 2013

Mature Twelve Year Olds Only

Although GTA: Vice City contains violence, sex, nudity and both drugs and alcohol as well as smoking, I myself would not go and shoot some random people, steal some random cars, sniff pot and stick my middle finger up at everybody. I think most people with the maturity of 12 years old can play this game. Yes there is an age rating much higher but I personally think this game is okay for mature twelve year olds and above.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 10 years old April 9, 2008

lots of killing

lots and lots of killing, but fun. theres blood and some sex, horrible driving and language. of course, this could be like a 8 and up because you can choose not to kill and not to crash cars.
Teen, 15 years old Written bySalsander December 21, 2013

A vast improvement over GTA III, although much more mature content has been added

Vice City was a major improvement from Grand Theft Auto III. The voice acting was tremendous with real life star Ray Liotta voicing the protagonist Tommy Vercetti and plenty of pop culture references and music of the time period. The story was made into a much more cinematic experience, making it one of the most well regarded GTA games. However a lot more adult content was added in the game from its predecessor GTA III. This time, your character actively participates in the game's narrative rather than just acting as a henchmen for criminals. You are Tommy Vercetti, a middle age man who intends to work his way up the criminal latter. Tommy is ruthless force, doing anything to gain power. Once he has used a person enough for his advantage, they are as good as dead to him. It's clear that Tommy is a twisted person, and the game intends him to be portrayed this way. The violence has risen slightly. You can now shoot heads offs enemies, leaving a stump behind. Various guns and melee weapons are used to attack Tommy's enemies. Dead enemies will spill a pool of blood around their body. Because there is nearly unrestricted freedom in the game, Tommy can also kill innocent civilians, have sex with hookers, and destroy vehicles; however the cops will be on your tail. In addition to the sex with hookers (note that you cannot see the sex, but you can hear the sounds made in the car), prostitutes have a bigger role in the game. During a few missions optional missions later in the game, you can do tasks for a porn studio. This may include driving the stars to filming locations. One of the stars named Candy wears very skimpy clothes and talks suggestively. You do not see any of the porn footage though. Language is much more frequent and a lot more explicit words are used from the previous GTA game. A majority of known swears will be used. You are a little more actively involved in the drugs. You will transport drugs and fight drug lords, but you will never use these drugs throughout the course of the game. There's a lot more to cover, but these seemed to be the most prominent or important issues to address. You can play the game just to explore the islands of Vice City, but you will need to play through a couple of missions to unlock all of the islands and some vehicles (such as helicopters and tanks, although they can be unlocked through cheats).
Teen, 13 years old Written byThedude57447434 August 8, 2013

This is the second entry of the gta lll era and if you've seen scarface then you will get the plot immediately this is one of my favorite video games of all time for the soundtrack the story everything

This is a game that's a heck of a stress reliever because you can't do any of this stuff like steal a tank or attack helicopter but its only for someone who firmly understands the morals of right and wrong and has a firm grasp of reality and can tell the difference between fiction and fact
What other families should know
Safety and privacy concerns
Kid, 12 years old May 8, 2011

A horrible game that can lead to bad decisions in life.

Hey everyone! Remember back in the days when violent games did not exist?! Remember when everyone enjoyed playing pac-man or space invaders? Nowadays, they make these stupid games that rot everyones' brains. I don't get why people like these type of games. Would you like it if someone entered your house and shot you?! Come on people, be smart. This game is for ages 20 and up. But, even people of that age shouldn't play it. No one should. But if you still disagree with me, then you should be at least 20 to play.
Kid, 11 years old April 9, 2008

duh

bad. idont reccomend it
Teen, 15 years old Written byneedforspeed April 9, 2008

a fun but violent game

this game is tons of fun; there are so many things to do and the freedom is unlimited. but this game has massive amounts of every bad thing you could think of, which doesn't make the game any worse

Pages