All member reviews for Grand Theft Auto: Vice City

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Common Sense Media says

GTA continues with more sex, violence & drugs.

Age(i)

NOT FOR KIDS

Quality(i)

 

Learning(i)

Users say

(out of 103 reviews)
AGE
11
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Adult Written byZagofar666 July 6, 2014
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

Yuck, sick developers.

@parentof3,@eyeinthesky, I have seen my 16 year old daughter play it, there is sex! You can befriend strippers, enter the private lounge and they will be topless! Sick amounts of blood. however if your kid is the type that starts shooting aliens at the playground after they play Space Invaders don't buy it. mature only.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written bySalsander December 21, 2013
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

A vast improvement over GTA III, although much more mature content has been added

Vice City was a major improvement from Grand Theft Auto III. The voice acting was tremendous with real life star Ray Liotta voicing the protagonist Tommy Vercetti and plenty of pop culture references and music of the time period. The story was made into a much more cinematic experience, making it one of the most well regarded GTA games. However a lot more adult content was added in the game from its predecessor GTA III. This time, your character actively participates in the game's narrative rather than just acting as a henchmen for criminals. You are Tommy Vercetti, a middle age man who intends to work his way up the criminal latter. Tommy is ruthless force, doing anything to gain power. Once he has used a person enough for his advantage, they are as good as dead to him. It's clear that Tommy is a twisted person, and the game intends him to be portrayed this way. The violence has risen slightly. You can now shoot heads offs enemies, leaving a stump behind. Various guns and melee weapons are used to attack Tommy's enemies. Dead enemies will spill a pool of blood around their body. Because there is nearly unrestricted freedom in the game, Tommy can also kill innocent civilians, have sex with hookers, and destroy vehicles; however the cops will be on your tail. In addition to the sex with hookers (note that you cannot see the sex, but you can hear the sounds made in the car), prostitutes have a bigger role in the game. During a few missions optional missions later in the game, you can do tasks for a porn studio. This may include driving the stars to filming locations. One of the stars named Candy wears very skimpy clothes and talks suggestively. You do not see any of the porn footage though. Language is much more frequent and a lot more explicit words are used from the previous GTA game. A majority of known swears will be used. You are a little more actively involved in the drugs. You will transport drugs and fight drug lords, but you will never use these drugs throughout the course of the game. There's a lot more to cover, but these seemed to be the most prominent or important issues to address. You can play the game just to explore the islands of Vice City, but you will need to play through a couple of missions to unlock all of the islands and some vehicles (such as helicopters and tanks, although they can be unlocked through cheats).
Kid, 12 years old October 16, 2013
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Mature Twelve Year Olds Only

Although GTA: Vice City contains violence, sex, nudity and both drugs and alcohol as well as smoking, I myself would not go and shoot some random people, steal some random cars, sniff pot and stick my middle finger up at everybody. I think most people with the maturity of 12 years old can play this game. Yes there is an age rating much higher but I personally think this game is okay for mature twelve year olds and above.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byThedude57447434 August 8, 2013
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

This is the second entry of the gta lll era and if you've seen scarface then you will get the plot immediately this is one of my favorite video games of all time for the soundtrack the story everything

This is a game that's a heck of a stress reliever because you can't do any of this stuff like steal a tank or attack helicopter but its only for someone who firmly understands the morals of right and wrong and has a firm grasp of reality and can tell the difference between fiction and fact
What other families should know
Safety and privacy concerns
Teen, 15 years old Written byReviewer Sam March 17, 2013
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

Clean 100% sex free

This game is the cleanest of them all and one of the greatest of them all. 100% sex free not a lot of drugs perfect for anyone. Please take this message with high importance.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Educator and Parent Written byModernNija94 August 23, 2012
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

grate

now I'm 19 and I first played this game when I was 7 so I'm telling you rite now that this game is one of the better gta games that being said it is also not rely a game I would rrecomend for a first M rated game
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 16 years old Written byUSCTrojan June 30, 2012
AGE
16
QUALITY
 

16+

Not for kids
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent Written byGame'nWatch June 25, 2012
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Not as bad as they say it is

Vice City takes place in the 80's, in Miami. This title is a lot more brighter and funnier than GTA III. The character's swear very oftenly, but the worse they say is the f word. This is the cleanest GTA out there. The violence is identical to GTA III (cartoonish and unrealistic), although the sexual content is knocked up a notch. You have to do missions for a porn director, but the missions don't have any sexual content in them. The worst you see is a man in boxers and a woman in a bikini talking to each other suggestively. The cutscenes are not mature though-- they'd be allowed in a T rated game. The prostitutes are nothing to worry about, since they only serve to regain health when there isn't a hospital nearby. You see no action going on, the prostitute just sits in the car and the protagonist sits on the driver's seat as your health slowly regains. The game also never even mentions prostitutes-- my son didn't even know there are prostitutes in Vice City. Overall, Vice City is the best GTA in my opinion and features an amazing soundtrack (even Micheal Jackson is in the soundtrack!). Vice City is just too good to miss, so if your son is 13 or mature, get it for him!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written bygamer12 June 11, 2012
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

good

this game is not that bad it is not for learning
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written byhusker97 May 29, 2012
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

OK for 13+, no more swearing then in a PG-13 movie

let ur teens play it, there is no more swearing then in a PG-13 movie, and you realy need to work hard for sexual stuff.
Kid, 10 years old April 22, 2012
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

gta vc 10 up

no volume no subtitles is fine for 10 up
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Kid, 11 years old February 5, 2012
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

its a really good game it has some nudity and a lot of violence and swearing but it is a really fun game

What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 10 years old February 2, 2012
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

good

i think GTA is so cool i love it have it for my playstation 2 in my room i love it so much it is A+ to me
What other families should know
Educational value
Kid, 10 years old September 17, 2011
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

Good for Kids About 9 years old.

I think its really okay for kids about my age. The nudity isn't really a problem because all it is is woman in Bikinis and bras. Kids should be able to play it because all they like is driving the cars. We all know, GTA is one of the greatest sandbox driving games ever.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Kid, 12 years old April 12, 2011
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

for teens

Its a very fun game. it has alot to it.A wesome gameplay, greatest radio selection of rock songs. The famous love fist In town. doing very fun missions.I am 12 and I play this. just make sure you dont copy any of it.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 16 years old Written byBranislavDJ January 16, 2011
AGE
10
QUALITY
 
My first GTA.I got it when I was 9. I loved that game.But character,besides his sense of humor,doesn't have much of feelings. Other than that,OK!
What other families should know
Too much sex
Teen, 13 years old Written bywestertin September 29, 2010
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

perfect for young adults and older.

it is very fun but very violent
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Educational value
Safety and privacy concerns
Teen, 16 years old Written bydanboy99 July 12, 2010
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

just a little to edegy for kids

great but gets boreing after countied use
What other families should know
Educational value
Teen, 14 years old Written byBaconator June 17, 2010
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

Get that stick out of your butt

My mom actually bought this game for me when I was 9, under the condition that I wouldn't ever do anything Tommy does in the game. In hindsight, that was a stupid thing to do, but luckily, I was a pretty smart kid. This game was actually a sort of stress ball for me in those pubescent years, shameless fun. I turned out perfectly fine. Go ahead, let your kid play this. Just watch out if he murders his hamster.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 14 years old Written byNorthernNights June 7, 2010
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

It actually isnt that bad ( don't hit me! )

Well, I don't like the message, but it IS fun to play, I played it sinse I was 12. I'd let my kids play it, but I'd watch them play it. I actually like killing the people on there, in real life that would be gross, but on here, I make an excuse. "The people in that game wasted their lives, they deserve it" do not use this quote in real life. The blowing up car thing is actually kinda fun too. I don't really do the gangster missions, I go around getting weapons, go to a mansion, and cause a ranpage, but don't judge me I couldn't do that if I wanted to in real life.. no it isnt the best thing for kids obviously.. I am ashamed of myself for liking it, I truely am... disgrace.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking

Pages