All member reviews for Grand Theft Auto: Vice City

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Common Sense Media says

GTA continues with more sex, violence & drugs.

Age(i)

NOT FOR KIDS

Quality(i)

 

Learning(i)

Users say

(out of 104 reviews)
AGE
11
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Teen, 14 years old Written byBaconator June 17, 2010
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

Get that stick out of your butt

My mom actually bought this game for me when I was 9, under the condition that I wouldn't ever do anything Tommy does in the game. In hindsight, that was a stupid thing to do, but luckily, I was a pretty smart kid. This game was actually a sort of stress ball for me in those pubescent years, shameless fun. I turned out perfectly fine. Go ahead, let your kid play this. Just watch out if he murders his hamster.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 14 years old Written byNorthernNights June 7, 2010
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

It actually isnt that bad ( don't hit me! )

Well, I don't like the message, but it IS fun to play, I played it sinse I was 12. I'd let my kids play it, but I'd watch them play it. I actually like killing the people on there, in real life that would be gross, but on here, I make an excuse. "The people in that game wasted their lives, they deserve it" do not use this quote in real life. The blowing up car thing is actually kinda fun too. I don't really do the gangster missions, I go around getting weapons, go to a mansion, and cause a ranpage, but don't judge me I couldn't do that if I wanted to in real life.. no it isnt the best thing for kids obviously.. I am ashamed of myself for liking it, I truely am... disgrace.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byjojobinx January 8, 2010
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

good for teens

i was a great game to me and my friends
What other families should know
Educational value
Kid, 11 years old November 25, 2009
AGE
16
QUALITY
 

bad

16
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Safety and privacy concerns
Safety and privacy concerns
Kid, 9 years old October 13, 2009
AGE
13
QUALITY
 
BAD language LOTS of violence fun.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written bygospelganster August 19, 2009
AGE
17
QUALITY
 
i love it even got it on my computer
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written byharshafriend4all July 20, 2009
AGE
15
QUALITY
 
i love it
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Safety and privacy concerns
Safety and privacy concerns
Teen, 13 years old Written byAudiophile May 24, 2009
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

Ehh... bad.

Sure, it contains the message that the other games contain but its not graphic enough for todays viewers to be taken seriously.
Kid, 7 years old April 22, 2009
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

i love this game but i dont play it any more

good game nothing scary or NOT FOR KIDS
Adult Written byalex7766 April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

everyone try it!!

Bad content just another life going game.
Adult Written byArdryn April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

Great Game for our Ages

This my friends, is one of the best games I have ever laid my hands on. I would let my kids (If I had any) play this game to learn about how the real world is these days. Drugs, violence, bad language, the way the world really is.
Teen, 17 years old Written byMattyWatty556 April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

GRAND THEFT AUTO 4: VICE CITY

GTA4 is not a great kids game but seriously, my parents feel that I'm mature enough to handle this. And also if you noticed basically every thing is in the yellow range and if you think or play the game again, then you will see if you want violence you create it, if you want sex you create it you never HAVE to do anything, and face it, whatever "overly protective" parents say, kids still play. Age Group: 13+
Adult Written byxxStan April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

Oh no it's Vice City!

I think the reviewers of this game are totally missing the point. "OMG YOU CAN KILL STUFF!!! ONO!" might be an initial reaction, but if you just sat down and played the game you would realize that's one way to do it. I mean you could just cruise around the city running people over and just generally killing everything in your path. But then again, you could drive an ambulance around, or get in a fire truck and fight fires. I mean the possibilities are endless. Why would you condemn a game for including the bad along with the good? And off the top of my head I can think of about 8 movies that are ten times worse than anything you can do in this game...
Adult Written byForknose April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

It is a question of maturity and sickness

I disagree with allowing small children this game, I disagree anyone under 16 having this game unless you are very mature and are a very good person. If you wouldn't even consider sex with a prostitute or shooting people or aren't a troubled person then you could play. The problem is society, bullies play the game and become mean to kids. Picked on kid plays the game and shoots the bully. If society was better kids wouldn't be as influenced. I prefer Final Fantasy and Tony Hawk over this game though.
Teen, 17 years old Written byhenry_415_2004 April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 
Teen, 15 years old Written byLantry April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 
Adult Written bySimon Atford April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

Shows up the hypocracy of mainstream morality

People have criticised this game for its violence, sex, drug use and generally morally irresponsible content. What they fail to realise is that it is all a satire of modern American society. Just listen to the in game radio stations, especially the talk stations KCHAT and VCPR, with their over the top evangelists, politicians, academics etc. That said it is not suitable for the children or over sensitive adults. One final point: You don’t have to sleep with prostitutes if you don’t want to and you certainly don’t have to kill them unless you believe your character (voiced by the excellent Ray Liotta) should behave like a sick murdering bastard.
Teen, 15 years old Written bymikee_92 April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

this game is for teenagers

This game I recommended that it's suitable for teenagers 13+.This is only a game it shouldn't be rated M17+, children aged 13 and over will be able to cope this game and most 13 year olds goes to high school,they are not children anymore they are MATURE.Grand theft auto:Vice city is for teenagers 13-17, adults don't like games because they're old.Vice city is not for adults and children under 13 years of age
Teen, 15 years old Written byName Unknown April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

Mature only

This game has sexual content, lots of blood, and quite a bit of cuss words. If you fit into the mature category, have fun! This game is jacked up. You are a criminal, and you can either do your assigned missions (BORING~) or rage war upon the city of Vice City. For something like this, except cleaner, try Simpsons Hit and Run.
Adult Written byEraisuithon April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

This games teaches....

This game teaches you things like what not to do. In my opinion (and maybe every other gamer out there) GTA: Vice City is not a game that teaches you violence or how to do drugs or anything of that matter. Kids can get it from school or anywhere else. The clinch on this game is simple. Someone stole your bosses money and the cocaine. Two of your best freinds are dead (eh, Scarface anyone?) You want to find out who did it. Now...through the game, you meet new people like, Candy Suxxx and Mercedes. This game teaches you sex, what not to do (i.e. kill people). My cousin like it, and he is only 10.

Pages