Common Sense Media says

A bloody, action-packed, sci-fi shooter sequel.

Users say

(out of 253 reviews)
age 11+
Review this title!
Kid, 12 years old January 28, 2010

great game for all ages

it is a great game i played it when i was 10 and my little brother played it when he was 6 it is bloody so what blood is in everythin and you people who do common sense overreact
Teen, 16 years old Written bySieta 7 December 16, 2009
I Love this video game!!! Iplay it all the time with my family, and it is kind of our bonding time to see who's the best by playing against each other. It is a little violent, but not as bad as most video games. And the only language is the occasional D- word.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 16 years old Written byHalo Lover December 16, 2009

LOVE THIS GAME!!!

THis game is amazing and I play it all the time. Even better than the first Halo. I mostly play it w/ my cousins who are stinkin obsessed w/ this game. I particularly didn't like the Flood-but I guess I didn't in the first Halo either. Occasional swearing so I always turn the volume down to make my mom happy. But then I miss out on the GREAT music. (i shed a tear). Some violence but against the aliens and parasites-not against the humans. And ur playing as the good guys so it gives a positive message.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Great messages
Great role models
Parent of a 13 year old Written byXXXELITEXXX December 5, 2009

LET KIDS OVER ELEVEN PLAY HALO (ADULT)

This is by far the best halo game;even being an adult i still love to play it.Halo has a few objectionable things like a few swear words and some screaming aliens. But this blood gore stuff is lies. No gore is seen in the game. There are small amounts of blood that only is seen when killing certain enemies. Its not like in F.E.A.R. where its coated all over the walls in some levels. Halo 2 and any other halo game should be allowed to be played by kids. Us adults are holding our kids back for some fun not at all graphic games.
Kid, 12 years old November 22, 2009

one of the best games for xbox

i am an outdated person and only have a regular xbox. but i have to say, because of this game, i dont care. it is one of the best games out there today. the gameplay is pretty straight forward. rin around and shoot stuff. though it might take some time to get used to. the blood and gore might, MIGHT, be an issue, but its blue or purple most of the time and the human blood isn't that graphic. the language is pretty tame, some sh*its. the aliens screams might be disturbing to some but not to me. so its all up to you but personally, its not that bad
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written byDr. Acula November 15, 2009

Best Halo Game Ever

Best Halo game ever. this game really isnt bad there is shooting, but it is always aliens being shot. the Flood may be disturbing for younger audiences, but if your kid is mature and knows you cant really shoot people in the real world they will be okay
What other families should know
Great role models
Teen, 17 years old Written byluvanger October 10, 2009

Not as bad as many seem to think; great for parties.

This game is pretty fun when you're playing deathmatch at a friend's house or at a party, but I really don't enjoy the campaigns all that much. I really disagree with the M rating, though. It's a bit bloodier than the first one (which also got an M rating), but saying that either game is not appropriate for ages under 17 is a bit ridiculous. It's a first-person shooter, so of course it's going to have a bit of violence, but do you really think that a little fantasy sci-fi game about blowing up aliens is really as bad as games where you shoot multiple police officers with machine guns? They all get the same rating. Anyway, the ESRB isn't going to change their mind anytime soon, so some people like me have to sit at their computers writing that some of these games aren't really that bad.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Kid, 10 years old October 1, 2009
its like the 3 part but halo has better graphics
What other families should know
Too much violence
Kid, 12 years old October 1, 2009
Good but not great. Multiplayer is the way to go on this first person shooter, otherwise it becomes a boring game with a rubbish story line. Don't know what the big fuss is about. P.S I detest the alien levels! The weapons, vehicles, characters, and story is all trash!
Kid, 12 years old September 17, 2009
i love halo series and so far halo 3 is the best (halo 3 odst coming out next week can't wait :)) and good combat scenes its demanding :) 5/5
What other families should know
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written byNate the great August 24, 2009
Teen, 14 years old Written byarizonaicedtea August 7, 2009

Amazing but gory game

A good and challenging game. However, there are large amounts of alien and human blood, and you can mutilate certain enemies. Language is not an issue. Fine for kids 14 and up.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Adult Written bycheeser July 12, 2009

One of the coolest shooters ever!

This game is very fun. Best for teenagers though. Should be rated T.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Great messages
Kid, 12 years old July 5, 2009

great game

love it
What other families should know
Too much violence
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written byflarez77 July 4, 2009
Kid, 10 years old June 21, 2009

The best

this is one of the best halo installments although its about 5 years old.sure its got some blood but common sense is making a fuss about NOTHING when you hijack cars YOU JACK THEM FROM ALIENS and theres no torture so if your a parent and want to know if your child should play this its ok as long as he dosent kill humans its only aliens purple blue light blue green blood no red blood (only if you kill your temate) and theres no sexuality no drugs no tobbaco only seargent avery jhonson smoking a cigar and theres rarely foul language but only on xbox live but bungie cancelled the live for the original xbox so buy this game its awesome common sense is making a fuss about nothing
Teen, 13 years old Written byAudiophile May 24, 2009

Fun and violent.

Honestly it is repetitive violence with average blood. It's nothing bad like ripping people apart so I'd say like 12+. It is also very replayable.
Teen, 13 years old Written byCrazySense April 21, 2009

A great sequel for a exellent original

In many ways, Halo 2 is better AND worse then it's forefather. First of all, the story is just as exellent as ever, especially with the ability to play as the alien "Arbiter" and seeing the Covenant side of things. The combat is still the same, with a little more realism and less blood, along with a string of weapons, allies and vehicles, some of them new. You also get some cool new abilities: certain weapons can be "dual weilded" and vehicles can now be stolen. Overall, a great game. But it seems a little shallow compared to the first Halo, but it's definatly a great setup for Halo 3.
Kid, 9 years old April 12, 2009

Wonderful!!!

This game is about halo fighting an alien race.This game has a little bit of language(like a-- and ba-----).there isn't realy blood but if you shoot a guy on your team,you will see blood on the floor or on a wall.You can also pick up there weapons.I recomend this game for ages 8 and up
Teen, 17 years old Written byCaboose1l2 April 1, 2009

AWESOME!!!

This was my favorite of all of em! I loved the close quarters combat! But the game was better on blood and cussing! so drop down the age thing!

Pages