All member reviews for Halo 4

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Common Sense Media says

Master Chief returns in sci-fi battle that's more violent.

Age(i)

NOT FOR KIDS

Quality(i)

 

Learning(i)

Users say

(out of 250 reviews)
AGE
11
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Teen, 16 years old Written byStripedTiger8998 January 14, 2013
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

Halo 4

This game is amazing, if I do say so myself. Everything about it is perfect: the campaign, the multiplayer, even the spartan ops. It is not that violent, and you are not shooting people, you are shooting aliens, which are not real. Any tween can play this game and not be affected at all. There is a little bit of blood, but it's blue and green, and it's not much.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 12 years old June 1, 2015
AGE
12
QUALITY
 
LEARNING

Fine for children

I think that Halo 4's violence is overrated. The aim is not to kill humans, but to kill aliens. The game does not overuse blood and gore and there is no bad language. I have only just got the game for my twelfth birthday and I think that as long as the player acts mature about the killing then the game is fine for children 12 and up to play.
What other families should know
Easy to play/use
Teen, 13 years old Written byXboxoneGamer123 May 24, 2015
AGE
9
QUALITY
 
LEARNING

Why you should get it..

This is for parents who are overprotective and will not let their kids do anything. Halo 4 is a truly great game and the violence has been toned down from previous games. The plot of the game is to kill aliens to stop them from gaining power over the universe. The blood is very minimal and no gore what so ever. The only thing is the assassinations (when you kill an alien from behind) and those aren't that bad. So all of those overprotective parents out their who don't allow their 13 year old play Halo then you need to think about you child because they are practically a social outcast (just saying).
Teen, 13 years old Written byFilm2001 May 13, 2015
AGE
12
QUALITY
 
LEARNING

Common Sense got it all wrong ):

HALO 4 :D Halo 4 is the story of the Master Chief trying to save humanity and his best friend AI Cortona who is dying. In halo 4 you battle aliens and robots in an effort to save Earth. You use all kinds of laser guns from long to short range. Unlike other halo games 4 has definitely refused the amount of alien blood. There is no human blood. There is also very little swearing I've heard one or two swear words. Halo 4 is violent but not any more or less than the other halo games. You can skip cut scenes which contain the language and some iffy content.
What other families should know
Great role models
Easy to play/use
Too much violence
Teen, 13 years old Written byGreatfulGert May 7, 2015
AGE
11
QUALITY
 
LEARNING

THIS GAME IS SAFE FOR KIDS| DO NOT BELIEVE CSM'S RATING

Halo 4 is a shooter targeted towards a more mature audience. Regardless of this fact, the game is quite safe for children and I would highly recommend it. You run around with with lasers and massive hammers to blow things up. If somehow you manage to find that as some sort of bloody and awful act against all humanity, you need help. It helps with Hand-Eye coordination and several other skills (as does any video game). The game is fine for kids 11 and up.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Easy to play/use
Kid, 10 years old May 4, 2015
AGE
10
QUALITY
 
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much consumerism
Kid, 11 years old April 26, 2015
AGE
11
QUALITY
 
LEARNING

Halo 4 review

Halo 4 is the best game from halo triollogy, but it's not for learning! I am 11 years old and i play it on my xbox, there is no real (red) blood, but the most blood is blue or yellow! It's a great game for 11 and up! In the first games the good guys swear a lot ad it's rude! This is the best game from halo! amust buy!!!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 13 years old Written byDouble-Deal April 18, 2015
AGE
11
QUALITY
 
LEARNING

common sense media is totally wrong!

Common sense media is wrong about this one. There's no swearing, no drugs, no alcohol and you can turn off the blood, although there isn't that much.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 17 years old Written bySwaggyTurtleGamer March 28, 2015
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Not For KIDS!! Are you kidding ME!

I got this game last year. It has great single and multiplayer modes. There is some cursing, but not close to COD. There is lot's of blood, but the violence is not that big. I would encourage parents to get their kids these games. I don't know why it's rated M. Parents, if you don't let your kids get COD, then this is the right pick for you. And the good part is you don't fight against people or humans, you fight aliens. Great game!
What other families should know
Easy to play/use
Teen, 15 years old Written byAnonymousgamer13 March 25, 2015
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

Halo 4 is the least violent out of the series

This was the first Halo game I played and it was fun. It is not as violent as you think. You only kill aliens during the story mode. During multiplayer you kill other spartans but this requires Xbox live. I truly believe that it is rated M for the online encounters you may have but I have had this game sense it was released and I haven't had any encounters. (The encounters are things that other players can say through Xbox live which also requires a headset)
Teen, 13 years old Written byCherryAtomBomb March 24, 2015
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Not for kids? Really?

I know that because I'm a teen, that my review might not be taken seriously, but please hear me out. When I read this review, I laughed. It's funny to me that the mildest Halo game gets the "Not For Kids" label. The blood in Halo 4 is minimal, especially compared to the older titles. The cursing is even less infrequent. Cortana is sort of nude, but it's more artistic than sexual. I say 10+ because there are two things that younger kids might find disturbing: The flood character models in the multiplayer (they resemble zombies) and the scene where all of the scientists disintegrate layer by layer. Kids might also be saddened over the ending as well. The game itself is excellent. The campaign is fun and has more thought than other shooters (I'm looking at you, Battlefield 3) and the multiplayer, while not the normal Halo formula, is very fun and addicting. In short, Halo 4 is a must have title, and is good for kids 10 and up.
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much violence
Adult Written byTetra March 23, 2015
AGE
10
QUALITY
 
LEARNING

BUNGIE COME BACK , you can blame it all on me

Yeah definitley appropriate for children , the only thing I would think was inappropriate if I had to say something would be the assassination , when you stab your knife in to some ones back and slam them to the ground or stay an energy sword in your opponents stomach and pin them to the ground. But as for the game it's self I do not think Bungie was thinking straight when they decided to give one of the highest selling game franchises of the world to a whole new company. Hey at least we still have reach!!! Halo 4 is definitely not the best halo, in my oppinion , because even though they added multiple new ways, and weapons used during combat, they got rid of multiple one too. Let's take the falcon into example. In reach I found that most of us halo fans were a little disapointed of how they just canceled the hornet out. But we were also glad they added the falcon which was just as good. But when I first played halo 4 I went straight to forge with high expectations.then I came to realize that there were absolutley no, yes not a single unsc air vehicle I was absolutely disapointed with this as a lot of of other die hard halo fans like my self were. Also in forge there are plenty of AMAZING maps to forge maps on!!! Exept you can't go practicly any where on them, But Hey, atleast you can see the awesome scenery if you don't think to hard about it you will not be sad that all the amazing details of the maps that look outstanding for a forger like my self, to make maps on are all out of bounds!!! YAY . Oh and guess what the best part is You can't be an elite I mean that was since halo 2 so i found it a little unnessasary to get rid of this. As for the campaign I didn't see a connection with halo 3 and halo 4 is it just me, but I thought the unsc had a peace treaty with us they told nothing of how that one got away!! All they gave was cortanas comment "a lot can change in 5 years" it's stupid but I did like everything else about the campaign oh wait no I don't because, THEY KILLED OFF TWO OF THE MAIN CHARACTERS THAT HAVE BEEN IN THE HALO TRILOGY SINCE IT BEGAN!!!! I'm not going to say who because some people haven't played it yet . But I WAS So SHOCKED that 343 industries would be so indecent to kill of these people but hey they never cease to amaze me. You better have grunt birthday party on when you buy this because there is not much to be excited about!! So 343 industries better fix themselves in halo 5 or they will lose plenty of loyal halo fans!!!
What other families should know
Easy to play/use
Teen, 14 years old Written bytruth of games March 23, 2015
AGE
12
QUALITY
 
LEARNING

should not be M

halo 4 is not like cod it is bloody but only in multiplayer do you see human blood unless your a fan of betrail halo 4 should be a T rated game the campagin has very very little swearing but your A.I companion is well basicly nude you just cant see details but it`s only as bad as a woman wearing a bathing suit plus she is blue and slightly translucent the only curse words are B$%CH said once and without subtitles you can hardly notice it hell which is said on occasion I think 12+ but thats just my oppinion
What other families should know
Great role models
Teen, 14 years old Written byJosshh March 21, 2015
AGE
12
QUALITY
 
Kid, 9 years old March 11, 2015
AGE
9
QUALITY
 
LEARNING

not for anybody under 9

Halo 4 is brilliant game, and is the 2nd game I got for my Xbox. The common sense media way over rates it. When you get a kill , only a tiny bit of blood can be seen. There isn't really any sex , but at the final mission cortana puts her hand on the master cheif's chest. A little bit flirty I suppose but there is no sex. The end is quite tragic though.
Parent of an infant, 10, 13, and 18 year old Written byTheWatchfulParent March 6, 2015
AGE
12
QUALITY
 
LEARNING

Good game, I recommend for 12 and up.

The review that common sense media gave this just doesn't make sense. If they gave every halo game "NOT FOR KIDS" I would still disagree, but this is the least violent of all. Why give it a higher rating? Well, I would recommend this for 12 and up, but I think their could be a minimum age of 9 though. I don't really care about the violence, my kids have played Call of Duty and Halo before and they show no signs of distress from it. However, although this is a great game, there are no learning lessons in the game whatsoever. I am a gamer myself, and I like first-person shooters, but I see no learning value from them. You don't learn anything from shooting aliens. Also, this isn't anything big, but Master Chiefs AI companion, Cortana is designed to be nude. Although, she was not designed to be graphic.
Adult Written bynilmer. March 5, 2015
AGE
11
QUALITY
 
LEARNING

Not bad

Compared to most other M rated games, this is nothing. Just violent and should be okay for teens.
Adult Written byspencers February 15, 2015
AGE
17
QUALITY
 
LEARNING

need more noscopes, to many hakers plz fix treyarch

I REALLY WISH I COULD GIVE THIS GAME 5 STARS, BUT I CAN'T BRING MYSELF TO DOING IT! FOR ONE, THE GAME IS A TOTAL RIP OFF OF MINECRAFT! ALSO, THE GAME IS 3 SCARY 4 ADULTS, IT'S ONLY KID APPROPRIATE! I SAY WE MAKE A PETITION, A PETITION BANNING HALO FROM THE U.S. AND NORTH KOREA! GO HERE TO SIGN THE PETITION: pornhub.com
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Easy to play/use
Safety and privacy concerns
Teen, 17 years old Written byHorace Williams January 6, 2015
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

So amazing.

I'm a huge Halo fan. Halo 4 was the best though. I have on my XBOX 360 AND my Wii. Awesome action, cool levels, and i'm very good at it. Buy yours today!
Kid, 12 years old January 4, 2015
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

I CANT TAKE COMMON (or uncommon)SENSE ANY MORE

I, have had it. Commonsense Media has no common sense. So, here is the recommended age and amount of violence in Jaws: CSM says you should be 12. I agree, with the few gore scenes and lots of blood. Recommended age and amount of violence in Sharknado: CSM says ON for 15, for over-the-top gore. I have never seen it, but the movie sounds awful and gory. So compare the reviews for a second. Done? Halo games have blood that is red on rare occasions and no gore at all. AND CSM also said in the game Bully you can kiss boys. I have beaten the game and you cant. Not enough crap for you to know? CSM said Jaws, the movie made in the 70's was released in 2000. That is where I break. That is where I think CSM is bull crap. If they make a game review that you could actualy use, I will think Im dreaming and dunk my head in a bucket full of ice water and electric eels.
What other families should know
Great role models

Pages