All member reviews for Halo: Combat Evolved Anniversary

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Common Sense Media says

Well-made but bloody overhaul of classic alien shooter.

Age(i)

2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17

Quality(i)

 

Learning(i)

Users say

(out of 28 reviews)
AGE
11
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Teen, 13 years old Written byhappy_cow August 13, 2012
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

AWESOME GAME

awesome game but not for young kids. Still if your kid is 12 and up he will love this game
What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 15 years old Written byVoiceOfTheVoiceless July 20, 2012
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Great Game

I really don't know why this game is rated M. But this is my favorite shooter of all time. the violence isn't all that graphic and I've heard worse language in T rated games.. the story is great, and it's a great remake of the 2001 original.
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much violence
Teen, 13 years old Written byXi Charmeleon March 14, 2012
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Halo

this game is fine. I played this game when I was 8. It doesn't have that bad language and the blood is mild if at all. Halo is one of those borderline games. Is it teen? Is it mature? It should be teen
What other families should know
Great role models
Kid, 10 years old March 2, 2012
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Good or maybe Bad

I think its okay but you have to know your kids they have to be mature enough.Kids need to know its just fake stuff they shoulden't get innaproprite words and say them in real life.The fake stuff is just that your shooting aliens not people kids should understand that like if aliens were real you would have to shoot them,but aliens are not real.Kids need to know about the weopons becase the guns in Halo aren't real they shoot stuff like crystals some people think they might make them in the future but at this time they arent real.
Adult Written byage 10+ February 26, 2012
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Good but violent game

Kid, 12 years old February 24, 2012
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Has an M rating that it does not deserve.

If you compare Halo Combat Evolved to other M rated shooters like Battlefield or Call Of Duty, it is mild at best. There is no bad language that I heard in the game, there is no mutilating limbs, and the killing is not realistic. The game did get a graphical upgrade and I must say, the graphics are amazing! The aliens aren't necessarily scary and there are no really freaky parts in the game. So what I think you should do is buy your kid this game, see if you're okay with it, and if you don't like it than just return it.
Kid, 11 years old February 15, 2012
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

This is a good game but not for younger ones or sensitive people.

Yet I am 12, I have/play Halo, this is odd for me to say but this is not appropriate for younger kids. I am trusted and aloud to play those games. But there is kind of alot of violence (More bloody than violent). There is also some strong language (F**k, S**t, D**n, A**, B**ch, Screw off, and other stuff like coward, stupid) Good game for 12+ but not for sensitive people or younger kids.
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Kid, 12 years old January 21, 2012
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

great game

great game
What other families should know
Too much violence

Pages