All member reviews for Halo: Combat Evolved

Common Sense Media says

This sci-fi shooter with loads of violent killing of aliens.

Users say

(out of 206 reviews)
age 11+
Review this title!
Parent of a 13 year old Written byXXXELITEXXX December 5, 2009
Its really not that violent. I love halo and out of all of them there may be a level or two between them that is a little iffy. These games are fun and anyone over twelve should be able to play them. The aliens dont really spurt out gore or anything, they just die and a bit of blue or orange hits the ground
Teen, 13 years old Written byCSM Screen Name... April 9, 2008
Adult Written bythe_styx_kid April 9, 2008

BEST GAME EVER

HALO is a game that allows for great game play and even better Multiplayer action, a proud owner of HALO: Combat evolved I can say that this game is complete and utter science fiction... sure it's cliche in the fact that Humanity's "first contact" with alien life is hostile but its solid gameplay and visually appealing graphics allow this to be one of the best games of all time.
Teen, 17 years old Written byCrisisAdvert April 9, 2008

Everything Dies

I originally picked up this game in the 6th grade making me only about 12 when I first played, and around 13-14 when I got my own copy. I was instantly in love with the game, as every child that played it was. There is no question that if your child plays this game, they will enjoy it, either because it's good, or because everyone else does. Despite how much I enjoy playing this game and it's sequel, I think it has a fitting age boundary to it. If your child is NOT 17, then this is not a good game for them. They will probably end up playing it at a friends house anyway, and that is all the exposure they need to the amount of violence in the game. One of my best friends bought the game at age 12 when it was released, and by age 13 he was an expert at it, and had a fine ability to shoot us all in the head from across a map. That is the only skill any child will develop from this game. The name is fitting, and not at the same time. 'Halo: combat evolved' has you killing on a superhuman scale, and your weapons and arenas of war are far more advanced than anything you would find in today's era. However, apparently somewhere in our future, the evolution of combat involves us DEvolving to ditch tactics or caution and simply plow our way through adversaries, with our finger always on the trigger. I can't say this isn't fun, I often put the game on easy simply so I can charge through a level without any opposition, but it's not a kill-fest that kids under 17 need to have in their possession. The highest education need for this game is basic motor-skills and the ability to read. The closest that this game gets to anything besides killing is 'Go and push this button...then blow more stuff up' This game is a blast. If your at or above the age for it, by all means I reccommend purchasing it, but if your 13 year old child asks to have this game, they may not enjoy hearing the word 'no', but it is violence that would be wise to keep out of their reach until they are old enough to take it. In time, and when they have their own children, they will see that wisdom for themselves. I am finally at the age to play this game. My parents never kept it from me, it was the first game I got with my Xbox. Am I happy i got it, yes. Should I have gotten it at that age, probably not. I let my sister of 8 years only simply watch me play one time, and she had nightmares that night. That is how bad the game is, although I think she was more freaked out that I ran around a corner into an alien which startled her, but all the same, it gave her nightmares.
Kid, 12 years old September 25, 2013

Fun Game suitable for 10+

My Father had bought this game and by age 11 I was allowed to play it. The only blood is blue or purple alien blood, with the exception of a human dying or multiplayer Vs which has very little blood at all. This is a very great game for sci-fi fps fans, and I recommend age 10 and up.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 14 years old Written byhaybayz April 27, 2011

A great game for all ages

I don't really know why it's rated M. People say its because of the blood but there isn't really anything too graphic until you get to the flood, and if you think the flood is bad check out dead space: extraction (which is also rated M). Loved it anyway
What other families should know
Too much violence
Kid, 10 years old September 30, 2010

Great game

Good game but a lot of violence.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Kid, 11 years old June 17, 2010

great game

i think this game is good for 10 year olds and mature 9+8 year olds. i also think it gives a glimpse of what militaries do.
What other families should know
Great messages
Parent of a 12 year old Written byjohn rowly February 6, 2010
the violence is not that bad when compared to other games and I wouldnt consider it gorey when the only blood you see its green goop. I wouldnt consider it for a 8 year old but these days kids are maturing at a much faster rate and wont be tramitized by some games such as this one
Teen, 13 years old Written byalecsk8rboi January 10, 2009

very good but by the 3rd one it got old...

i dont actually think this deserves an m rating. although blood is throughout most of it is blue green purple colored. some of it is red but doesnt look real. there is some language such as the b---- and a-- words. but no f-words or s-words that i heard. violence is strong and should be intense violence in the rating but its all against aliens. you can though go against your teammates but that is represented as a not so positive thing. there is no sexual content. but the captain smokes cigars, but it is only shown a couple of times
Adult Written byHaloFreak123 April 9, 2008

Must-Play for mature adiences

This is the best game I have ever played, but it is very violent. There are explosions,and lots of shooting and blood. Thsi game is clearly for ages 17+.
Teen, 15 years old Written bycoldassassin556 April 9, 2008
Kid, 12 years old June 13, 2016

Very tame for an M rated game

I honestly LOVE Halo games. They are usually very tame when it comes to language and violence. Halo: Combat Evolved is the first in a popular series known as Halo. The game itself is very tame in blood and violence, and involves you as a super soldier or "Spartan", who crash-lands on a mysterious ring known as a "Halo", and must discover what the rings intention is. The games blood looks mostly like someone spilled a bunch of red/blue/green/purple paint, even for humans. The entire game consists of you fighting an alien alliance known as the Covenant. You also later on fight a parasitic (and also kind of freaky) race known as the Flood. The Covenant aren't scary (a few are silly) and don't speak English, so they can't swear (well one small and weak race will say things like "Run away!" or "The demon is attacking!", because your character is called a "demon" by them) and are not human looking (other than a few who have a human shape). The real problem is the Flood. They can't speak and instead make weird grunting noises, but can be pretty scary (I myself was not scared but I was a tough kid) and are a green-yellow color that bleed green blood. They are either infected humans (their head is always bald and cocked sideways with their mouth open) or an infected alien with weird spores sprouting out from different locations and one of their arms turned into an odd looking club. I recommend you warn your kids (if they are younger than the age listed) when they enter a swamp-like level called "343 Guilty Spark" because of it's somewhat scary atmosphere and mysterious dead aliens (some rooms are covered with alien blood and alien corpses). The level really kicks off when your character enters a room where a marine corpse falls over on top of him and he picks up a recording from a (now deceased) marine squad in which the squad investigates an area and is attacked by the odd parasites and will be shouting things like "AH! GET IT OFF ME!" or when killing an infected marine "I'm sorry I had no choice!". That is where the player(s) begin to fight the aliens and eventually come and fight them with a few other marines (when marines get infected they will remain human and run around shooting randomly in circles until dying, they will be listed as enemies when infected) until saved by some alien robots. If your kids are frightened by the level then I suggest you let them cool down, relax to what they have seen (unless they think Halo is too scary for them), then let them see if they are able to play the level again. Language wise, Halo is pretty tame and will only have marines occasionally say "dang" or on rare occasions "female dog". I hope this review was helpful.
What other families should know
Easy to play/use
Teen, 14 years old Written byIlovemoviesreviews December 8, 2015

Good game for teens

Great game for teens. Because of some mild language I hear that's in the game and some blood and violence may not be for kids under 13.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Parent of a 12 year old Written byryc July 27, 2015

Halo: Combat Evolved

My son is a big Halo fan! He asked me plenty of times if he can get it. I didn't know if it was appropirate, so he showed me some videos online and looked fine! My son is 12 years old and the only reason I selected this as 12 and up is because there is very infrequent language such as "What the h*ll" Also "Lets shake up these b*stards!"
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Easy to play/use
Too much violence
Adult Written byyesyousaidmorta... June 28, 2015

Fine

I play this game at 8 its very good and very graphic there is no crude content in the game.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Kid, 11 years old November 25, 2014

Greatest Xbox Game of ALL TIME!

The game is the GREATEST of the Halo franchise. I play on the Original Xbox and it is fun. Sure, if you kill a team-mate he bleeds a bit, not a lot. When you kill aliens it's like blue/purple goop.
What other families should know
Easy to play/use
Teen, 13 years old Written byBlah222 August 24, 2014

A great FPS.

Halo combat evolved is a great intro to the world of first person shooters (FPS). There is a lot of violence and some unrealistic blood. The violence is unrealistic and enemies (all are aliens or mutated soldiers, no humans) just fall over in a little blue, purple or yellow blood. The gameplay is basically: go into a room, shoot everything in the room and move on. You can drive tanks, hovercraft, trucks and turrets. Overall it's a good game with a strong story and unrealistic violence. 9+.
What other families should know
Great role models
Easy to play/use
Too much violence
Teen, 13 years old Written byPaid proffesional May 8, 2014

Do not listen to CSM

Halo: CE is a really good fps. Its graphics stand up to the test of time and the story is beautiful. How it got an M rating, escapes me. There are plenty of games that deserve an M rating ( GTA, COD, Battlefield, Counter Strike ,etc) but Halo isn't one, especially CE. The blood looks primitive now, with blobs of GREEN and BLUE blood dropping all over. Its alien killing, people, get over it. Its violence would get a T rating today because there is no gore and frankly comical green and blue blood. Just get over it. It doesn't deserve an M rating. Your young teen will have probably played it and worse games by now. Just buy it, its worth it, will entertain your kid for hours and is appropriate for 13+
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Easy to play/use
Teen, 16 years old Written byChronicl3 April 8, 2014

A Great Game

I am a teen that has owned Halo: Combat Evolved for over 3 years now. I have been playing the Halo series with my friends for probably 4-5 years. I personally love this story. Kids in our society, no matter how much you try and shield them, are going to experience things you don't want them to see, or might see them before you want them to. They're going to be exposed sooner or later. Halo is a great starting point. The game's graphics are relatively old now, the violence is against aliens (the grunts are comical, actually), and the story line is intriguing and will keep them coming back. It's an awesome game.
What other families should know
Great role models
Easy to play/use

Pages