All member reviews for Halo Wars

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging, great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging, good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging, good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging, okay learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Kids say

(out of 62 reviews)
AGE
10
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Teen, 13 years old Written byNinjablader9 October 27, 2011
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Err..

Not a really great game. it reminds me more of chess than fighting but some people like that. And for the purpose that its more stategy there is less violence.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written bygriffinnub April 19, 2009
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

awsome game!!! :)

It is not a first person shooter it is more of a stratagy game which I personly like just because you have to think. Not the best graphics but still good.
Teen, 13 years old Written bymeteorite01 July 26, 2009
AGE
9
QUALITY
 
there is only some violence, because you can only see blood in the cutscenes because you are to far away to see it when you are playing. Sure there will be a few bodies flying around, but that why its rated teen
Teen, 13 years old Written byCrazySense April 21, 2009
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Well made strategy game

Halo War's is a great game for both Halo fans and fans of strategy games. It takes place 30 years before the very first game, exploring the war between the UNSC Marines and Alien Covenant. It's also the first T rated game, as the violence is less graphic then the games released before. The game is actually kind of simple. There are different "slots" around the map that you can capture from computer controlled factions ((Human Rebels/Forerunner) and use to build bases. Then build buildings in more slots, using them to upgrade or build units. The campaign is pretty solid, with a decent plot and varied objectives. I cant say anything about the online game though, as I dont have it. Overall, a decent addition to the Halo franshice.
Teen, 16 years old Written byThe Halo Expert October 24, 2011
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Alot less violent, and less bad lang than the other Halos

What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 11 years old December 11, 2010
AGE
12
QUALITY
 
play it now me
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written byalessandralovesbooks October 2, 2010
AGE
11
QUALITY
 
What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 14 years old Written byhalofreak October 8, 2010
AGE
10
QUALITY
 
i love it
What other families should know
Great messages
Kid, 12 years old December 1, 2011
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

worse than than the mature ones

this is worse than the mature ones.a whole lot bloodier. all the other halos aren't bad dont know why there mature
What other families should know
Too much violence
Kid, 10 years old November 15, 2011
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

okay

one thing for parents would you rather command an and not see all whats going on down there or first person shooters that blast people to death tell me
What other families should know
Too much violence
Kid, 11 years old December 29, 2010
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

perfect

it is so fun and i think it makes you plan for whats next
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written bytwd333 August 9, 2011
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Kids 10 and up can handle this strategy game.

When I bought this game I thought it was going to be another violent first person shooter Halo game. But this isn't violent, bloody, or gory at all. This is a strategy game and all you do is command your squad/team where to go. Not very fun but not very violent as well.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Kid, 12 years old March 19, 2011
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

Good

Halo Wars is OK, but Skirmish and a lot of other stuff is not as good as Halo 3.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written bysniperking134 March 11, 2009
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

Hmmm...

This is a good game, only problem is that the games is not a first person shooter(FPS), it's a real time stratagy(RTS). Unless you like those kinds of games, don't get the game!
Kid, 10 years old July 16, 2011
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

ddddddd

NOT EVEN BAD ITS AWESOMEEEEEEEEEEEE FOR 1 AND UPP
Teen, 16 years old Written byMakeVIew_2,5,9 September 5, 2011
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

very bad

bad n worse game evar very boring 2 shoud b like o starts this is what commonsensemedia stinks i mean it gives a good movie 1 star n this stupid game 4 starts thats just dumb
Teen, 14 years old Written byCSKY42 July 16, 2012
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

CRAP!!!!!!!!!!!!!

if u have this ur a nerd!!!! :/ and to halo just stick to first person this game is freaking crap
Teen, 13 years old Written byxboxteenwatcher July 5, 2012
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Ok

Ok guys im back with my opinon. I did gears of war and alan wake. Now this game should be ok for kids. Language might be here and there but its also a three so watch your kids. This game does not have much violence many this is a differnt type of thrid person shooter. Its like toy soliders in the game that small. Thats really it for Halo Wars
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Kid, 11 years old June 28, 2010
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

ok but im a big halo fan

this game is ok not the best halo game out there but i would recomened this game because of the stratgey in this game and as i said before not the best halo game its really not you should try halo 3 recon or halo3 or halo3 odst age 12 and up iffy age 9-11 and off 8 and down
Kid, 10 years old April 2, 2010
AGE
10
QUALITY
 
great sratgey game its very fun and suprise its educational

Pages