All member reviews for Halo Wars

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Kids say

(out of 62 reviews)
AGE
10
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Teen, 13 years old Written byNinjablader9 October 27, 2011
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Err..

Not a really great game. it reminds me more of chess than fighting but some people like that. And for the purpose that its more stategy there is less violence.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Teen, 14 years old Written byhalofreak October 8, 2010
AGE
10
QUALITY
 
i love it
What other families should know
Great messages
Kid, 10 years old November 15, 2011
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

okay

one thing for parents would you rather command an and not see all whats going on down there or first person shooters that blast people to death tell me
What other families should know
Too much violence
Kid, 11 years old December 29, 2010
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

perfect

it is so fun and i think it makes you plan for whats next
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written bymeteorite01 July 26, 2009
AGE
9
QUALITY
 
there is only some violence, because you can only see blood in the cutscenes because you are to far away to see it when you are playing. Sure there will be a few bodies flying around, but that why its rated teen
Kid, 11 years old July 1, 2009
Teen, 13 years old Written byCrazySense April 21, 2009
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Well made strategy game

Halo War's is a great game for both Halo fans and fans of strategy games. It takes place 30 years before the very first game, exploring the war between the UNSC Marines and Alien Covenant. It's also the first T rated game, as the violence is less graphic then the games released before. The game is actually kind of simple. There are different "slots" around the map that you can capture from computer controlled factions ((Human Rebels/Forerunner) and use to build bases. Then build buildings in more slots, using them to upgrade or build units. The campaign is pretty solid, with a decent plot and varied objectives. I cant say anything about the online game though, as I dont have it. Overall, a decent addition to the Halo franshice.
Teen, 13 years old Written bygriffinnub April 19, 2009
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

awsome game!!! :)

It is not a first person shooter it is more of a stratagy game which I personly like just because you have to think. Not the best graphics but still good.
Teen, 13 years old Written bysniperking134 March 11, 2009
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

Hmmm...

This is a good game, only problem is that the games is not a first person shooter(FPS), it's a real time stratagy(RTS). Unless you like those kinds of games, don't get the game!
Kid, 12 years old January 30, 2015
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

Okay.......

Let's say your child ways Halo 4,Destiny or Halo Reach. You say no because 2 out of the 3 are rated M,and they are all violent. After researching,you find out there is a Teen Halo game. You think to yourself, "Now I can be happy and so can my child!!!Everybody wins!!" This is what happened in my family. I wanted Halo 4, and instead I was allowed to buy Halo Wars. Half excited, I popped it in my 360.I played the tutorial and first mission and I was like,"Yay!!!" But after that it just got REALLY CONFUSING and very boring. It is not a fun game, and I learned that the hard way.If your kid wants A DIFFERENT Halo game, they really are not too bad and after playing Halo 4 at my friend's house, they are easy(sort of). Or,try Destiny, a Teen game that is like Halo. I would give Halo Wars 3 stars. I would most likely not recommend it.
Teen, 17 years old Written byHorace Williams January 8, 2015
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Amazing Halo game!

I've played Halo Wars several times, I enjoyed it very much. Great levels, awesome action, nice graphics, etc. GO HALO!
Teen, 15 years old Written bySaad1Khan November 17, 2014
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

cool game.

Finally a Halo game rated T by esrb.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written bysupergojira2001 October 23, 2014
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

Appropriate for all people.

Everything is from a birds eye view, so there's no gore but there is blood (which shouldn't be a problem because there's blood in real life). It might be too complex for kids under 8 or 9.
Teen, 16 years old Written byI_love_halo June 4, 2014
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

Personally I'm an adult and I think it's for nine-year-olds

This game is fun and learn leadership on how to follow others to get great stuff completed A bunch of leadership skills and how to learn to let people follow you and trust you
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Easy to play/use
Kid, 10 years old May 13, 2014
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

halo rocks

its only pg 10 year olds should be allowed to play it!!!
Teen, 13 years old Written byhaloman731 January 7, 2014
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Halo Wars

Great game. Sargent Forge swears ONE time in the beginning of campaign. Third-person game. Some violence, no drugs, etc. The basic object of the game is to build a base (skirmish) vs. AI and in campaign you just follow orders. No bad things. GREAT FOR KIDS 10+
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written byDark Shadow5301 November 27, 2013
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

WHAT??!!

common sense rated this 13+! *facepalm*
Kid, 11 years old November 26, 2013
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

Halo wars is a strategy game

Having beat the game myself I think it is ok for kids as young 11 because it is 3rd person and hardly graphical, meaning you can't see virtually any gore or blood. The game it self is about building bases and rallying and making vehicles and troops and attacking the enemy bases and soldiers. It has many different maps and vehicle and troop upgrades. this is a very strategic game designed to make you think and plan different strategies of defense and attack.  
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Kid, 11 years old July 14, 2013
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

halo wars

a great game no blood due to you are two far away to see blood. thear are dead bods being flung around but thats about it. a realy good game.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Kid, 9 years old April 27, 2013
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

bad game

worst halo game ever
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Safety and privacy concerns

Pages