All member reviews for Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Common Sense Media says

Cast magic with a Wii remote in best Potter yet.

Age(i)

2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17

Quality(i)

 

Users say

(out of 22 reviews)
AGE
8
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Kid, 11 years old November 11, 2009
AGE
10
QUALITY
 
Alright game i think that they could have improved it by making spells easier. I reccomend not getting unless you really like a challenge it is not clear at all to know what you do in the game.
What other families should know
Great role models
Adult Written bynapple April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 
Kid, 9 years old April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 
Kid, 9 years old January 3, 2012
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

No

Horrible game for Wii. Can be hard for young kids.... Too expensive.. don't bother
Teen, 17 years old Written bySuper Hero Movie Fan March 20, 2010
AGE
9
QUALITY
 
A lot of fighting
What other families should know
Too much violence
Great role models
Kid, 9 years old June 27, 2014
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

Hogwarts, dueling, and detailed world. What more for a Potter fan like me can ask?

I like this game because you get so deep into Hogwarts, which you can't do in the movies. Like when you think, I wonder how Muggle Studies is like, and all you see is the trio walking out of it. You can experience it for yourself. The one downside is that the character's dialog is over dramatic. Like in Umbridge' s classroom. She says "Who would ever attack children such a yourselves?" And Harry SCREAMS "I DON'T KNOW, MAYBE VOLDEMORT!!" And she says "Detention, Mr. Potter!!" And when Hermione says to fire a spell, she says it in a happy tone, unless it's a really important battle, which she matches the right tone. Also, some characters don't sound like the real characters. Overall, 4 1/2 stars. G
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 16 years old Written bysaibhandari April 21, 2014
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

Meh.

This game is alright, but the first three games (for PC) were a thousand times better. However, this is a definite improvement from the tragic failure of the Goblet of Fire video game. I found that some controls didn't work as well, so that made it difficult to play and thus difficult to enjoy to the maximum.
Parent Written byvoldamort January 17, 2013
AGE
10
QUALITY
 
LEARNING

bv c

What other families should know
Safety and privacy concerns
Parent of a 17 year old Written byJay1127 May 10, 2011
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

8+

I love it, and I would say about all ages 8+ could play this. Now I don't even like Harry Potter, but I LOVE the video game(s)!!!!
What other families should know
Educational value
Teen, 13 years old Written byJustino4 April 25, 2011
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Good Rating

There is some violence in the game, so I think E10+ is a good rating.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Adult Written byTommy from NY October 8, 2010
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

Good game for Ages 8-9+!

This game is great for many ages, because their is a bit of 'fake' violence, where people are just knocked unconscious. Also, their are positive messages. For example, Harry's friends want to go into the face of danger to help him. This is a good Harry Potter fan game.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 10 years old January 10, 2010
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

Don't waste your time! Deserves E rating!

Terrible game. All you do is walk around Hogwarts and complete random, boring tasks, an an irresponsive spell casting system makes most of these tasks impossible to complete. Only notable content is mild, unrealistic violence in the only battle sequence, and a sad death.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Kid, 9 years old August 10, 2009
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

good for 8 and up

this game is very fun and gives you lots of exercise,PLAY IT.
What other families should know
Great role models
Kid, 11 years old July 30, 2009
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

Not Impressed

I thoguht it was horrible on the Nintendo DS and the PSP.
Adult Written byAnitaBrooke July 26, 2009
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Perfet for Older Kids at Heart And Harry Potter Fans

i love it its just hard to move the wand in the exact way they want you to!!!
What other families should know
Great role models
Kid, 11 years old February 13, 2009
AGE
2
QUALITY
 
Parent of a 23 year old Written bydesdal January 19, 2009
AGE
2
QUALITY
 
Adult Written bydrstfx24 April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 
this is more for a little bit more mature group and not such children.
Teen, 14 years old Written byKevinYoung April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 
Adult Written byharp April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

Pages