All member reviews for Kid Icarus: Uprising

Common Sense Media says

Frenetic action with constant but mild fantasy violence.

Users say

(out of 21 reviews)
age 10+
Review this title!
Teen, 16 years old Written byMOVIESGAMESGALORE June 28, 2012

A good game

there is some sexual refrences like dont be thinking of anything "naughty" while the gameplay is violent you beat up fictional monsters. The main theme is about saving the humans and defeating hades and medusa but violence is the games way to solve the problem. The game is nothing like the original but that isn't a bad thing. 8.5/10
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Educator Written byMr. Newman June 8, 2012

A fun and engaging title!

This game is a blast for young kids, teens, and adults alike. I played the original when I was younger 20 years ago and it was a challenging game! I then played the second one on the original game boy, Myths and Monsters. Uprising is a fun game and I enjoyed it as did my kids. It is an actiony game that teaches one to be respectful of others and nature. It also is quite witty and can really stimulate your child's brain. It even cracked me up quite a few times. The story is long enough and engaging enough to validate ones purchase. It offers some fun plot twists and the dialogue between characters are all clean and fun to hear. In terms of game play, the game takes a bit to get use to, but becomes easier after a bit of practice. The game also has a customizable difficulty so even younger audiences can breeze through without the experience becoming to challenging. Overall the game gives fun experiences with good morals!
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Adult Written bySynchronicity March 25, 2012

Despite weird control scheme, this is a fun and funny retro revival done right - tweens+ will love

"Sorry to keep you waiting!" I've been a fan of the Kid Icarus franchise, even though the NES was well before my time, and I became a big fan of its mix of platforming and action. So, imagine my surprise when, at E3 (gaming's biggest tradeshow/preview event) two years ago, Nintendo revealed a new Kid Icarus installment for the 3DS. Designer Masahiro Sakurai, known for Super Smash Bros., helped give Kid Icarus' angel protagonist Pit a new lease on life in Brawl, which seemed to be part of a plan to revive Kid Icarus. Well, it's finally here, a year after the 3DS' arrival, and the long development time was well worth it. KI:U is an elegantly crafted, well-designed and downright refreshing retro revival. The gameplay is pretty simple, but somewhat complicated: move with the 3DS' circle pad, shoot with the L button, and aim using your stylus. While I'm used to these sorts of controls, since I've played DS games that use stylus/D-pad coordination such as Metroid Prime: Hunters, Moon, Dementium and The World Ends With You, not everyone will like them. The stand included in KI:U is pretty nifty, but might not fix the problem a whole lot for some people (such as lefties, who would have to make do with the Circle Pad Pro, that $20 3DS attachment, or select a control option that's to their liking). Just try it out and see if you like it, if you're not sure. Now that the only bad thing about the game is out of the way, there are many, many good things about KI:U that shine through the control issues. For one thing, the graphics are breathtaking, especially in 3D. I still can't believe that a handheld can produce something this high-quality. The music is also good, and in keeping with the absurd nature of the game, it has a hilarious, self-aware script that often pokes fun at genre conventions, breaks the fourth wall, and even references other Nintendo franchises (such as itself, of course). Many chuckles can be had here. The replay value is also enormous: in addition to the 10-12 hour campaign, you've got a ton of weapons to collect, you can use the collectable AR cards (six come with the game, and others can be found by various means), you can play multiplayer (fast, furious and lag-free, it bodes well for Nintendo's new online service), and there are plenty of unlockables. Again, none of these things take a gamer by surprise, since this is from the man who gave us the three Super Smash Bros. games (the epitome of unlockable content). KI:U is also quite appropriate for the E10+ set, maybe one or two years younger. As stated, there's a lot of mild fantasy combat with a variety of weapons, but it looks about as realistic as a Saturday morning cartoon, and the mocking tone of the game helps mitigate a lot of things (even the scariest-looking enemies have a very campy look to them, basically). There's also a bit of cleavage from Medusa and a bit of mild innuendo, but those things are also found in many cartoons. Most kids who are about 8 or so have definitely seen/heard these things, by the way. Overall, this is the way to revive a classic gaming franchise. Aside from the controls, KI:U delivers on its lofty promises, and is one of the most innovative games to come around in a long while. Apologies accepted, Pit.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Teen, 15 years old Written bySweetDisposition June 1, 2013

One of the best 3DS games out there

I don't think it's any secret that I'm madly in love with Nintendo. That being said, I wasn't around for the release of its first consoles, and as such had little idea about the Kid Icarus series prior to Uprising's release. The Kid Icarus series was started in 1986 on the NES, and Uprising is the sequel to that game. You play as Pit, and angel fighting for Lady Palutena, goddess of light. You battle against Hades' army of the Underworld, and later in the game against a new enemy, the Forces of Nature, lead by Viridi. The game's dialogue is quite witty, and breaks the fourth wall on multiple occasions. The banter between all the characters is entertaining to hear while completing the levels. Difficulty in game isn't much of a problem, as the player can set their difficulty at the start of each level by betting or selling hearts, which serves as the game's currency. It's also easy to customize your game to however you like to battle; there are many types of weapons which all control differently, so it's easier to find a weapon which controls best for you. It's also possible to fuse weapons to create stronger weapons, and none of the weapons bear resemblance to weapons of the real world. Gameplay switches between two segments in almost every level: air battle and land battle. Air battle consists of aiming your weapon with the touch screen, and pressing L to fire your weapon/launch your weapon at enemies. Land battle consists of moving the environment around with the touch screen, locking onto enemies with L, and attacking with the A button. The ability to move the environment around allows for many secrets in game that are fun and rewarding to find. In both land and air battle, you control Pit's movement with the circle pad. The game gives the player a sense of progression, changing the areas where Pit prepares for battle as the game goes on, providing the player with achievements to fulfill to unlock a portrait, collecting idols (figurines viewable in-game), and gaining progressively stronger weapons. Violence in game doesn't consist of deaths, but has darker undertones in some cases. Enemies, when vanquished, simply dematerialize. All and all, Uprising is one of the best games currently available for the 3DS, and makes great use of the hardware. The 3D effect is fun to use and doesn't interfere with game play too much, it interferes in land battle more so than in air battle. It's worth a buy for a gamer who likes fantasy, or just superb gameplay.
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Teen, 15 years old Written byDarkToonLink March 17, 2013

Kid Icarus: Uprising review

Kid Icarus: Uprising is a fantastic game. The grand adventure in very engaging and the music is brilliant. The levels are well-designed and fun to play. And I don't find the controls akward at all. There is frequent violence in the game, including some directed at humans, and many themes may confuse/upset young players. The game features funny dialogue and banter. This occasionally leads to light sexual references and innuendo. A great game for ages 12+.
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Teen, 13 years old Written byJman11820 November 24, 2012

Kid Icarus Uprising Review

I played the whole game and I loved it is a great fantasy action game and even has a measage abot war and an eco frendly character but it does have alot of violence
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much violence
Adult Written byMr. Lovewell August 22, 2012

Sorry to keep you waiting!

Pit is finally back after 20 years in Nintendo's birdcage. The wisecracking angel makes his return on Nintendo's newest handheld, the 3DS. I'm going to make it simple. This game is good. There are some issues, but it is a very fine game. The graphics are crisp, the dialouge is hilarious, and you'll find that by the end, you'll want to do it again. This game is packed with things to do. Side missions can be played and various weapons can be created, leading to hours of replayability. The contro;s are difficult for a bit, but once you get used to them, they work like a dream. There was simply no other way to play this game with two analog sticks. The story is simple. Pit has to defeat Madusa and her army of darkness, who want to take over Skyworld and rule over the humans. Pit meets a colorful and witty cast of characters in his journey, even coming face to face with his dark half! Pit solves all of his issues with violence because honestly, they'd rather turn him into a shrimp and eat him! In conclusion, get this game. It's fun, and it deserves to be in your collection.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Teen, 14 years old Written byBlendercat May 7, 2012

Look past the control slips and enjoy this masterpiece

I am not known for any sort of strength, and I have only experienced slight soreness and cramp once while playing this game, after a four hour gaming session. Now, on to gameplay and whatnot... Overall, the system for this game works well, but is predictable. You start each level with a short, on rails flight battle, reminiscent of Starfox/Starfox 64. These are fairly simple, with you moving Pit around the screen to dodge shots, and aiming and firing. There's a bit of thinking, as holding fire will increase your movement speed and allow you to fire a charged, more powerful shot(Same on the ground). This is difficult for the shorter ranged weapons, but I'll get to that. After this, you go down to a land battle, and I feel this is where the game shines. Your weapon's strengths, weaknesses and special abilities really come into play here. Dashing modifies your weapons shots, allowing you to throw a giant knife at your enemy or escape safely. There are far more options, and you can activate sets of powers which you equip prior. These give you temporary boosts or effects. You can turn weak enemies into idols, which are mini models. You can jump and glide in the air, allowing you to escape sticky situations. You can give your attacks a status, like confusion, poisoning or freezing. Finally, you can fake a death, gain health, recover from status ailments, etc. There are many powers in the game, but the real key is making powers which complement weapons. In KIU, there are 9 distinct weapon categories. You may be using claws, which allow you to move quickly and attack rapidly, but sacrifice power. Or, the powerful club, which lacks continuous fire but has powerful melee strikes and charged shots. Within each category, there are twelve types, each with special shot types and effects. Weapons also have special values specific to that single weapon, such as poison, a speed boost, and so on. Weapons can be fused to create new ones, with some identical abilities and some new ones. The story is good. The main character, Pit, fights to eliminate the forces of evil and darkness from the world, and he protests against the destruction of innocent beings, particularly humans. While he often uses violence, he's going up against those who certainly aren't the type to discuss. The 'sex' is non-noticeable. They use the word 'naughty' ONCE as far as I can tell, and this revealing character you speak of, presumably Medusa, is in no way revealing. It's no worse than something, perhaps maybe a belly dancer might wear. In closing, Kid Icarus Uprising is a great game. While the role models could use some work, the controls are fine(If you have problems, try holding the 3DS the standard way and using your thumb. It's not as accurate, but relieves the left hand) and the 108 total weapons give you a lot to do. The online mode is great, with no communication at all, save streetpass. There are hundreds of idols to collect and achievements to unlock. This will keep any gamer busy for hours.
Kid, 11 years old April 29, 2012

"Sorry to keep you waiting"- Pit

After around a twenty year hiatus, the Kid Icarus franchise has finally benn revived. The game is filled with humor that pokes fun at itself, the economy, many other Nintendo franchises, and even breaks the fourth wall. The graphics are beautiful, and the 3D definately makes everything look better. The music is catchy, and has very good quality for being composed using a MIDI soundtrack. You can also listen to this music in the Music Gallery. Unfortunately, the control scheme is awkward and can be painfull, but luckily, the game comes packaged with a stand that reduces the amount of stress and pain put on your hands. The control scheme can also be customized to your liking, and every button can be readjusted. This is good news for lefties, for you can either readjust the control scheme so that the buttons control your character's movement, or you can waste $20 dollars on the Circle Pad Pro which will allow you to use a Circle Pad with your left hand. Unlike CSM, I believe this game is appropiate for children 9 and up. Here is why: Violence: The game is filled to the brim with almost non-stop action. Bright flashes of light fill the screen every time you hit something. Almost every weapon has machine gun esque capabilities, although they are all different. The violence is somewhat milder than what you would see on most Cartoon Network action shows (Pokemon, Bakugan, Bayblade, Young Justice, etc.). Be warned that if you have a history of seizures, the special effects from attacks can cause seizures due to the rapid succession of flashing lights. Sexy Stuff: Mild innuendo is disperesed throughout the game's constant dialouge, although it is only every once in a while. As stated before, the innuendo is very mild, so there is not much to be worried about (I.E: 1. "That's not all Pit. I can see into your heart." "Well that's really... something." "So you better not be thinking about anything... naughty." "What!? How did you find out?!" 2. "Stop buttering up all the ladies. It's disgusting.") Language: Yet again, there is not much to be worried about here. There is only a couple instances of "heck", "darn", and "dang" (I.E: "Darn you balanced gameplay!") Overall, KI:U is a wonderful buy for you/your child, and is filled to the brim with humor and action. The multiplayer is seamless, and single player mode has a wonderfull storyline, but with one too many twits. If you are a gamer who likes action games or TPS, than this game was made for you. You won't be disappointed.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 14 years old Written bygabemtz14 February 4, 2016
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Easy to play/use
Too much violence
Safety and privacy concerns
Kid, 12 years old September 1, 2015

Some Mild Suggestively Dressed Characters And Innuendo As Well As Frequent Violence, But Nothing Extreme.

While controls take a while to get used to, the game is very fun and intense. Some female characters wear revealing outfits that are tight or expose some skin. There is also one part of the dialogue between the two main characters containing the sentence "You better not be thinking of anything...... naughty!". The Violence is frequent but not bloody or gory. Also, their is usage of the word hell, but it is only used one and very quickly. Some positive characters involve A character trying to revive the main character from his death and going through the underworld to revive him. Overall, if you are a parent and your 10 year old wants it, give it to them.
What other families should know
Great role models
Easy to play/use
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 14 years old Written byKujou Hikari August 15, 2015

a really fun game

over all i had an absolute blast playing this game. I will note that the controls at first are really wonky(especially on land battles) thankfully you can customize the controls to your liking and it has a control scheme for south paws. Even though I'm a lefty i found my self using the the default controls. If you're a completionist this game is not easy . Also the dialogue in this game is hilarious!
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 12 years old January 7, 2013

Certain Precautions

This is a good game, but there are some things that parents need to be aware of. Clearly on the cover of the game, it says "Everyone Ages 10+", not just because of the skill level, but there is also mild language (Shut up, Screw things up, etc.) that parents might not want to expose their children to just yet. Since it is a greek mythology themed game, certain "monsters" are included. Medusa, flaming three-headed dog, and Hewdraw are all quite "freaky" in appearance, and wouldn't be a pleasant sight for more sensitive children. The game is still very fun with an excellent storyline, but there are some precautions that need to be made.
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Safety and privacy concerns
Kid, 11 years old August 22, 2012

The Dark Pit Rises

When I heard about this from E3,I wasn't very excited about it.The game looked like some game with lots of creatures.But,after seeing the multiplayer,I got interested.Thus,I got Kid Icarus:Uprising.It begins when Medusa,the goddess of darkness,gets ressurrected,and is ready to wreak havoc on the world.But,Pit,an angel who can't fly,is there to stop her.Lady Palutena gives Pit the Power of Flight,which allows him to fly for a limited time.She also guides him to where he needs to go.The game is actually quite hilarious because of the dialouge.Probably the funniest Nintendo title.But,there is some innuendo,like "don't think of anything....naughty".The cast consists of some great voice actors,including Hyden Walch,who voices Starfire and Princess Bubblegum.For a Nintendo game,this is quite violent.Players can come together online or locally and do battle.Light vs. Dark is my favorite game mode.You are put onto two teams:Light and Dark.They duke it out,and when one of your teammates dies,your team meter goes down.When you are the last one killed when the meter goes COMPLETELY down,you become the team's angel.The angel is stronger than other fighters,but,if the angel gets killed,it's game over and the other team wins.You can use a wide array of weapons,which is one of the features I got the most fun out of.The weapons have a small collectable feel.Items can also be used in the story AND multiplayer which help you in battle.Like playing dead to confuse your enemies.The music int the game is just what you would expect from Sakurai(the creator of Super Smash Bros.).Amazing.Dark Pit's theme is the best.Sadly,the controls may be a little iffy for little ones.You press the L button to fire,the stylus on the bottom screen to aim,and the analog stick to move.It's best to play with the stand that is packaged with the game.One last main feature is the AR Cards.When two cards are facing eachother,they can fight.You can collect them too.It has a bit of a trading card feel.In conclusion,Kid Icarus:Uprising is the best game on the 3DS by far.It has far more fun even after you beat the game.Though,I would suggest you go with the ESRB rating and only let 10 year olds play this one.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Kid, 10 years old August 16, 2012

The Best Game I Ever Played

I LOVE THIS GAME! It has a ton of wepons and the story is great!
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Kid, 8 years old June 24, 2012

Best game ever!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Thank you Nintendo!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Awesome game!! My freind has this game and since past then that I did'n buy it he has been begging me to buy it. Even on Freind List he wrote: "get kid icarus!" So I bought it. I would reccomend buying it on eBay cause' it's cheaper instead of going to GameStop and wasting your freakin' money on this game.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Safety and privacy concerns
Kid, 9 years old May 9, 2012

It's the best!

Kid, 11 years old May 7, 2012

This game is AWESOME!!!!!!!!

Kid Icarus Uprising ROOOOOOOOCCCCCKKKKS! Even though I think it shouldn't have taken 25 Years to think of this. Toegether mode is really cool. You can battle people across the world, but you can't talk with them so it is safe. In the beginning the controls are hard but you get used to them. The game has a lot of comedy in it. Their is 9 types of weapons: Clubs, Staff, Blades, Bows, Cannons, Claws, Orbitars, arms, and Palms. If parents are worried about this game, you really shouldn't that worried.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Kid, 12 years old April 8, 2012

AWESOME SAUCE

I loved this game since i got it. I love Greek Myths and the fact that it took place in ancient greece makes it 1,000,000,000,000X better!!!!! though there has to be some consideration. it is e10+
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Kid, 11 years old April 1, 2012

Almost Flawless

I didn't find the controls poor. The game is amazing, with huge amounts of content. Opponents in online play will see your Mii's name, and vice versa. Overall, it's superb.
What other families should know
Safety and privacy concerns

Pages