Common Sense Media says

Halo-type game but tamer -- watch out for unmoderated chat.

Users say

(out of 30 reviews)
age 11+
Review this title!
Parent of a 11 year old Written byrunningmanhattanmom October 4, 2010
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 16 years old Written byGood ole boy 17 June 12, 2014

A good alien shooter game

This game has some very slight blood, mild cursing and futuristic violence. I really like this game, fighting the huge akrid is a blast(in more ways that one haha)! The storyline is pretty good too and you do not need to have Lost Planet 1 to understand it. I think this would serve as a good alternative to Halo for younger adolescents. However, consider that when playing in online multiplayer there may be a whole lot more cursing.
Teen, 15 years old Written bySaad1Khan November 17, 2014
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Parent Written byparent1035 November 27, 2013

not that bad

it is fine for kids10 and up you can just turn off languge
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Safety and privacy concerns
Parent of a 12, 13, 16, and 17 year old Written byMatthew, Parent April 11, 2012

Wow.

Your kidding right? Age 15. Wow.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great role models
Too much violence
Teen, 13 years old Written byAbe1998 December 29, 2011

Ok, I guess

It was pretty good. Not as good as Halo, tho. I just turned off the language. No human blood! At least, It didn't look human. IT WAS ORANGE!! Who's ever heard of a human with orange blood? I mean, really?!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Kid, 9 years old March 28, 2011

lost planet 2

it is a great game for kids
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 14 years old Written byslimshady24 January 2, 2011

A moderate game to be played by people who don't have Halo

I would say a must buy for those who can't play Halo or M games in general but if you already have Halo there is no point in even renting this game.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 17 years old Written byanonymousgamer_ July 23, 2016

Boring game and has porn in it

I dont like this game because its boring and the female characters are dressed poorly. The only good part is the grapple hook ability. I don't agree with the rating. It should be rated M purely for the sexual content.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Kid, 11 years old July 22, 2014

It's not that bad

Lost planet 2 really isn't to bad, there isn't too much swearing either, except for later in the game where a guy goes crazy mad. I haven't really seen to many suggestively dressed girl players either. I've seen maybe 5 girl players and I've owned the game for 2 years
What other families should know
Great role models
Easy to play/use
Adult Written byBrioCyrain May 6, 2012

Nothing lost here

A great if not under-rated Japanese TPS. I actually enjoyed the story, and with the PC version allowing for AI teammates and cinema-quality graphics kept the fun alive.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Kid, 11 years old August 3, 2011

LOST PLANET 2, THE GOOD AND BAD

The violence here is very little, language is not a problem as you can mute them. The girl with big breasts that jiggle is not actually wearing anything but panties, and breasts are BARELY covered buy chains. If you crouch as that character your breasts will bounce up covering your face. So the only real problem here is the nudity. You'll barely even see that character online, so it's all safe.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Teen, 15 years old Written byuncharted4ever December 23, 2010

dont buy it

dont get ur kids this game it sux its hard to play online the is the worst third person shooter ever the story to me sucked
Parent Written byPlague October 14, 2010

Lost Planet 2

Very epic, fun, and easy to play.
Kid, 11 years old October 2, 2010

OK, typical alien shooter.

Not as good as HALO, but still satisfying. Some bad stuff in there.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Kid, 11 years old December 6, 2013

alians not humans

It is violent but not killing humans you kill aliens and every once in a wile you kill humans and some language not to bad
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Kid, 12 years old January 8, 2012

Just another failed attempt at copying halo

this was a total waste of twenty dollars. i bought this and thought it was gana be great, i was wrong i not huge into third person but this was terrible, the guns were just modern guns with lights running through. the blood was slim. you had to fight giant spiders and jelly fish or space pirates. son't bother with this game if it's five dollars it's bad. basically all you do is shoot and do cool jumps with grappling hooks.
Teen, 13 years old Written byJacobTheGreat2 August 23, 2011

Slightly Worse Than Halo

It's actually slightly worse than Halo because of the amount of swears and you shoot more realistic humans than Halo. Some of the Akrid (Native wild aliens to a colonized planet) just usually freeze then explode when they die. But some of them freeze and melt instead. Also on some akrids, their limbs can be broken off if you shoot it enough. There is no blood just this weird yellow stuff. I don't really know what it is. Other wise the entertainment value is not bad but not great either. The campaign is the only part thats fun. I've played it's multiplayer which is clearly their main focus, and they failed really badly at making a good multiplayer.
Teen, 13 years old Written bySithLordBeast July 22, 2011

pretty good third person shooter

Lost Planet 2 is a game set in a future world where humans fight aliens (called akrids) and each other to get a energy source called T-ENG (or thermal energy). The game was pretty fun, but at times it got hard and annoying. Other times were really fun and I got sucked into the game, There were lots of explosions and gunfire throughout gameplay and cutscenes. Humans never spray blood when dying but just fall down and die. Akrids however gush their orangish blood. Sometimes they lose a leg or something like that too. But note that the akrid's blood is actually thermal energy. Also, females characters wear revealing clothing. And you can customize you character to wear that clothing. Language got pretty rough for a T game. In cutscenes, Sh-- is used 5 times in English and once in French (the subtitles don't give you the English translation however). B--ch is used once as was b-stard. A-- and d-mn were both used around a half-dozen times, and h-ll was used over a dozen. During gameplay, enemies would infrequently spout b-stard at you, and sometimes maybe a d-mn. The game was pretty fun and I'd suggest it for tweens up. (I never played online by the way, thats why I didn't review it
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Kid, 12 years old June 12, 2011

Early Teens and up

Great game, and has amazing visuals. The game has you shooting alien monsters and other humans. The humans burst orange blood when shot as with akrids. DLC for both the X-Box and PS3 contains alternate character skins from other series, including the M-rated Gears of War as well as Killzone.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism

Pages