All member reviews for Manhunt

Common Sense Media says

Incredibly gruesome -- not for kids of any age.
 

Users say

(out of 68 reviews)
age 16+
 
Review this title!
Teen, 17 years old Written byyesman-1 September 6, 2011
 

a wonderful teacher showing creative ways to kill people

@ Jourdy288 and other concerned people: clearly you people dont understand this game is made by Rockstar games. A leader in controversial games like GTA. Being caught up to by Volition with Saints Row. In all honesty this game isnt for kids at all, but its a game after all. None of the characters are really worth being sympathetic for, and in the end, its just a generic place with people waiting to be slaughtered. Its amazing how people find games as Saints Row and GTA to be more, "acceptable", but when a game like this showing what real violence is, the **** hits the fan. It sound stupid, but look behind the stylized killings and what do you have? The same **** as GTA or Saints Row. You still shoot, stab, and chainsaw people. The only exception are a couple of other weapons. Oh, and if you find this sick and GTA or Saints Row acceptable, your a hypocrite.
What other families should know
Educational value
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written byBabyEagleFoot August 21, 2011
 

The agreements and disagreements i have with this game

Well i think personally, this is a fun game. Not something i would have expected from rockstar but a good game none the less. However i do agree that a child under 15, 16ish should not be exposed to the content in this game. The fact that you can cut your enemy to pieces with a hacksaw is unbearable to most, but in my eyes, gore and violence is in with the times and a child by the age of of 15 or 16 is fine with playing this game because he/she understands fully that this game is not intended to make you want to hack and slash your neighbors or such. I truley believe that once you are of this age you have already learned about all the effects of everything in this game and (hopefully) understand that it is not acceptible to recreate. I still throughly caution parents and/or other buyers that this game is a full on gorefest and should not be taken lightly
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written byBubblesbajevas November 23, 2010
 
The game is great just really gory but if you like games that screw with your head or like stealth games then go try it out not for the kiddies though.
Kid, 11 years old November 19, 2010
 

dont let ur kids see what i saw

this game is way 2 violent 4 kids u play as jonny cash a murderer who has been put on deth row he somehow escapes and kills people in the worst ways possible i got this game after a month of disgusting filfth i finaly threw this trash away i mean come on rockstar even gta isnt this violent
What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 16 years old Written bymr instructable July 4, 2010
 
Plague and the other people: You are F**king sadists making it look like a good game.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byParamoreFan09 June 26, 2010
 

No way. OFF. for sure.

Okay first how come people are saying the game is terrible and to never play it then rate it five stars? Doesn't make much sense. But anyway y'know how common sense doesnt let you post reviews twice for one thing? I normally dont comment on stuff i havnt used but for this-- i know ill never play it. Looks awful and violent... I hate gore. Nasty stuff.... why is violence considered entertaining? Its a horrible... HORRIBLE thing.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written byZ1A1C1H1 May 27, 2010
 
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent Written byPlague December 15, 2009
 

Manhunt

Brutal and fun, but sometimes confusing and fustrating becasue you will die a LOT. If you have a good head on your shoulders and you are a patient person, this game is just for you. Lots of blood, torture, and death. But what do you expect? The game is called Manhunt.
Teen, 14 years old Written bygolder October 28, 2009
 

hu6ty

this game is very gory
What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 17 years old Written byhallowween 13 August 12, 2009
 
The game may be gory scary and disturbing but by just looking at the back cover of game you know what your in for so if you buy it you have to expect the gore. It doesnt have loads of nudity it just gets a bit of bad language.
Adult Written byJake Clawson August 1, 2009
 

This game should only be played by teens 15 and up.

This game is violent but it's all in self-defense. Gang-bangers are trying to murder you and you have to use any weapons you can get. The police in this game are not the good guys but not the bad guys. They are just caught in the cross-fire.
Teen, 17 years old Written byoctober1985 July 24, 2009
 
An amazing video game. It is very disturbing, violent and gory. Definitely not for young kids. I played it when I was 15. I do not believe for a second that kids become violent after playing violent games. But this game might be too much for anyone under 14
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 15 years old Written byshawn flory January 13, 2009
 

read the rating

this is a horrible game.it is essentially about killing in the most sadistic ways possible. there is no excuse for the violence,mainly because even after you are free, your guy continues to kill people.also, all you parents,why not sit down with your child, talk about whats in the game, and make a decision about it, instead of blaming the game itself. well, thats all the time i have s goodbye
Adult Written byJack Deth April 9, 2008
 

Great adult entertainment

Finally a company that creates content for adults. Rockstar sure knows what to make and how to make it. Now if parent would just pay attention to the ratings on the box all this controversy nonsense would just wither and die. Essentially you play a criminal (who's a very naughty boy as implicated by his death sentence). Contrary to what others say your guilt or innocence is moot and not at all in any part of the plot in this game (makes you wonder if these people actually played this game). Essentially this game is a murder simulation and as such is generally inappropriate for a younger audience (as is very clearly stated by the M rating on the front cover). You are set for execution however rather than recieving a lethal injection, you are given a sedative. Your character wakes up in a remote and unknown location with a strange voice filling you in on your situation. You quickly learn that you must dispatch various gang members to survive, as they are being paid to take you out (also contrary to the other review these are gang members and could care less about your guilt or innocence - basically thugs for hire and all around bad guys themselves).As you progress through the game you find that stealth is your friend. You earn easter eggs by achieving higher ratings. Ratings are achieved by several means. First is by completing the level in a very timely manner. Second is by not being detected. Third is by achieving the most graphic kills known as executions. This is where the 'controversy' stems from. How or why people are so concerned over pixels on a screen I simply can not fathom. It's a game pure and simple and in no way contains anything remotely resembling reality.The overall character control is well done. At no time will you find yourself cursing the controls for not responding propperly. The plot as minimal as it is is introduced in very short cut scenes, and not untill roughly 1/4 of the way through the game. Actually this is done appropriately as it lends some credence to your characters situation and the uncertainty of his suroundings and what's going on. Now the gameplay can be seen as repetitive, but oddly it does not grow old.
Teen, 17 years old Written byKoOkYMoNsTa234 April 9, 2008
 

MANHUNT

The video game title MANHUNT is an extremely explicit serial killer snuff fetish game. The director spares you from execution and you must kill people in the most greusome ways possible to help his snuff film fetish, and to keep you alive. I was scared of this game and I can't believe people would buy this awful stuff anyway.
Adult Written bySentience April 9, 2008
 

Not a game for children and people unable to separate reality from fantasy

Manhunt is a gory and violent game that has raised many social issues concerning violence. The first and foremost issue is that of children playing this game. This is a moot point. Children should not play this game. At all. Ever. It was not meant for children, and only hideously irresponsible parents would let their children play this game. The M rating for this game is a mistake, the (rarely used) AO rating should have been used. I am sure most of you have heard the visceral details but here is a quick summary:You play James Earl Cash, a convicted killer sentenced to die. (The question of your innocence is determined by how you handle certain situations in the game.) However, your execution is staged and you find yourself in Carcer City; a ruined and isolated town. You find that you have been spared for the sole purpose of amusing a sadist called "the director". Carcer City has been setup with closed circuit camera's everywhere, PA systems and of course, gangs of people/thugs trying to kill you.Basically, the director wants a real live version of The Running Man (TM). Your character must use stealth and brutality to dispatch the various thugs running around Carcer City. Here is the twist though, the thugs are various malcontents willingly hunting you down for they view you as a sub-human criminal. The way you choose to kill the thugs, the level of gore/violence, gains you points and the approval of the director and affects your character's innocence or guilt.Technically speaking, the game excelled in keeping a constant atmosphere of decay, hoplessness and fear. This type of game is meant to appeal to the macabre and voyeuristic curiousity in all humans. Think of it as an extremely violent and brutal satire of Survivor (TM) and other reality shows. The participants in the aforementioned shows are humiliated and put into difficult situations. They must "eliminate" each other to survive and win the grand prize. In the game, Mr. Cash must literally eliminate those who are trying to kill him. He wants to survive and to win the ultimate prize; his freedom.This game is not suitable for ANY children and certain adults. However, the furor over the game; and the outright attempts to ban it, are not the correct approach to this issue. People have gotten very upset over the violence in this game. I believe that the violence in this game pales in comparison to real life violence happening locally and around the world. Its ironic that violence (in real life) is met with a "Oh, thats terrible." type of false-sympathy or direct apathy, while video game (fantasy) violence is apparently horrific.
Teen, 17 years old Written bybloody_valentine April 9, 2008
 

!!!

This game should not be played. It has everything from harsh swear words to killing in the most gruesome ways. And the game itself stunk.
Teen, 17 years old Written byFilmfanatic64 April 9, 2008
 

easily the goriest game i have ever played

I am a fan of GTA and Hitman and Max Payne, and Manhunt Pushed it for me. I got an evil sastisfaction in getting revenge on that director in the end (he "cuts" you from the picture 2/3s of the way through). The way you kill him, however, is by cutting out his stomach and destroying his head. obviously this game is not to be for anybody under the age of 18.
Adult Written bygangbanga911 April 9, 2008
 

The most (profane, violent, just plain scary) game ever made

It hard to find a place to start when reviewing a game like this. This game has it all. Extreme violence, very strong profanity, not to mention that occasional humorous sexual reference like: Wow Cash, you are really killing these *******. I haven't been this turned on since... well lets not go there. However this game is a great steath action for adults and belongs in anyone mature enough to handle its gaming library.
Kid, 12 years old April 9, 2008
 

Pages