All member reviews for Mario Kart DS

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging, great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging, good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging, good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging, okay learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Kids say

(out of 52 reviews)
AGE
6
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Kid, 10 years old November 7, 2010
AGE
10
QUALITY
 
Kid, 11 years old March 8, 2010
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

l love this game. l play almost every day

This game is one of the best games ever. My brother and I usually play it together. It is possible to cheat though. You use action replay and type in various codes for extra power ups like speed hack or unlimited bullet bills. Or whatever
Kid, 11 years old November 11, 2014
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

Mario Kart DS

Buckle your seat belts, because this speedy racing game will blow your socks off! This is a must have game for any Nintendo fan. This addictive Mario racing game has kept me coming back after 3 years of hardcore racing. This is my favorite Mario Kart game by far, allowing you to play on local wireless. Everyday when I go to school, I sit next to my eight year old friend and duke it out on multiplayer mode which at the time, was a big leap forward for Nintendo.
Kid, 12 years old February 16, 2014
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

Come on you guys, its not that good.

Everybody is rating this game 5 stars, but it is not that good, guys!!!
What other families should know
Easy to play/use
Kid, 10 years old January 18, 2014
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

Mario Kart DS

Mario Kart DS is so easy to play, even for 5 year-olds, there are some flipping over in cars when you get hit by shells, bombs, banana peels and fake item boxes though.
What other families should know
Easy to play/use
Kid, 12 years old December 27, 2013
AGE
3
QUALITY
 

Really addictive game!

Mario Kart is an awesome racing game! I just had it for Christmas by Santa!
What other families should know
Too much consumerism
Teen, 17 years old Written bymoviewannabe August 9, 2013
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

Good video game for the whole family

Anyone who LOVES the Mario Kart franchise, will have non-stop fun and it's hard to put down. One thing to warned about though, is the Bowser Castle course on Special Cup looks more scarier than the other Mario Kart video games.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Kid, 11 years old July 21, 2012
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

Easy, Cartoony, And Most Of All, FUN!!! Great For Kids!!!

This is an awesome game. It's simple enough for younger kids to play, and appropriate for them to play too. I mean, it's less violent than some Nick Jr. shows! I can't think of anything remotely questionable about this game. Actually, I take that back. It's too addictive!
Kid, 11 years old June 23, 2012
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

Fun, but kinda complicated

This game is really fun, but some stuff like manual is a bit hard to control.....
Kid, 8 years old May 27, 2012
AGE
5
QUALITY
 
LEARNING

Good wthout the 3D version in Mario Kart 7

Well, it's good for the DS because on the 3DS, it causes vision damage for kids 6 and under when using 3D on Mario Kart 7.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Easy to play/use
Safety and privacy concerns
Kid, 10 years old January 24, 2012
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

mnvfkjrggowr

G5+
Kid, 12 years old December 17, 2011
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

GREAT!!!!!!!!!

this is great i did not play my DS too much and when i got this game i played it every day
Kid, 9 years old August 9, 2011
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

You just cannot escape.

The blue shell you just cannot escape.
What other families should know
Educational value
Too much violence
Too much consumerism
Kid, 12 years old June 15, 2011
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

Great game!

I love Mario Kart DS!!!! It's very fun! ;)
What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 14 years old Written bykyra boo May 13, 2011
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

It Is a good Driving Lesson 4 Teens

I love Mario Kart Mario And Luiggii are awsome
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written byJustino4 April 24, 2011
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

Bowser Themes

The only bad or offending content is some scary moments with Bowser or Bowser themes. Other than that, the game isn't inappropriate in any way.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Educational value
Kid, 9 years old April 9, 2011
AGE
9
QUALITY
 
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Safety and privacy concerns
Teen, 15 years old Written byPeanutthetoon March 8, 2011
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

Great game!

This is a fun game that is really easy to play, but maneuvering around the track, especially rainbow road, might be difficult for younger kids. It has an awesome online ability, which you can face others in races. However, you will probably have to learn a method that almost every experienced player uses, a thing called "Snaking." It is a power boost that gives you speed while doing power slides continuously in the way a snake would slither. Also there are a few that will use action replay to win, by using unlimited blue shells or stars or something. Online might be tough for younger or inexperienced players, but it is an awesome game for all ages!
Teen, 13 years old Written bymannymateo10isback January 8, 2011
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

best game ever! only 6 and older should play!!

its very easy to play! i enjoyed playing mario kart ds all day long!!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Great messages
Kid, 10 years old December 31, 2010
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

Very Fun!

I loved it when I first got it, but it can get kind of old. Safety rely is not a problem. The main point of the game is winning grand Prix's, and getting charters and places. In races though, it is some what violent. You can throw turtle shells at the racers and shock them with lightning ( the lightning just shrinks them) and some other stuff.
What other families should know
Too much violence

Pages