All member reviews for Mortal Kombat vs. DC Universe

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging, great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging, good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging, good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging, okay learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Kids say

(out of 27 reviews)
AGE
10
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Kid, 12 years old May 15, 2011
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Teens and mature pre-teens

A great party game but the story is overly difficult. THe more squimish can turn off the blood but this does not stop body and clothing damage. The later can reveal female breasts
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Kid, 11 years old May 11, 2011
AGE
13
QUALITY
 
It is a bit violent but not too violent , It is only like Tekken and Soulcalibur in terms of Violence. Yes , there is blood , but it is VERY small and unrealistic you can turn it off but it will not make much of a difference since the blood is only small and very unrealistic. Age Range : 9 - 13. This is a good substitution if you cannot get Mortal Kombat. P.S : I REALLY do not understand why the website says 15+ because to be honest it can really fit in to the E 10+ rating without the blood , maybe.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 13 years old Written byItalianMan July 12, 2009
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

Ultimate fighting game

This game has been toned down a lot from the other games with the adition of super heroes blood isn't seen as often like in the previous titles
What other families should know
Too much sex
Kid, 11 years old October 30, 2011
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

mortal kombat vs dc universe is a waste of time and $$$

This game is the second worst in the series, obviously after Armageddon. This game is no fun at all, with a disappointing decreased amount of gore and blood, weakly entertaining fatalities that don't even spatter the floors with blood, and a disappointing way to try to make heroes fit in with "heroic brutalities". This game was an absolute waste, and I still can't believe I actually enjoyed this game over Tekken 6! But just for a fact, one of the Joker's fatalities actually made it on to become the basis of a Shang Tsung fatality in MK9. In other words, this game is a terrible attempt to bring back bloodless fighting like a Street Fighter copy, and it definitely shouldn't ever be bought by fans who know their fight. It's #2 on the worst MK list, and it's got #2 smeared all over it.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much consumerism
Kid, 11 years old December 11, 2010
AGE
11
QUALITY
 
does have 3 to 4 uses of he-- but the blood doesnt look to much real
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Kid, 10 years old March 29, 2013
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

ok

Well I have it violence and blood are problems but a 9 year old could plau
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Kid, 11 years old January 9, 2013
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Not to bad

Ok the only bad thing in the game is jax when he flattens your head a a fatality but other then that I would say 10+
Kid, 10 years old November 22, 2012
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

mortal epic

The fatalities are bretty much bloodless.the sex is catwoman has much cleavage also most of the girls have cleavage
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Kid, 11 years old June 25, 2010
AGE
11
QUALITY
 
it's a really good game i played it when my friend came over too bad it has a lot of different controls for different charaters but i basically just punch and kick
Teen, 16 years old Written byLilHayHay May 5, 2010
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

Its not violent!

This game is like marvel vs capcom 4 next gen systems and its really fun and its pretty cool how u can put liukang against the joker or kano against batman. parent mite b thinkin might b thinking o hell this is a mortal kombat game scratch tht off the list 4 josh and billy 2 violent 4 them well no thts not how this game is they reduced the blood of the game and made it T rated and because somthin says mortal kombat or,grand theft auto, or call of duty doesnt mean its bad!
What other families should know
Great role models
Kid, 11 years old June 28, 2009
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Fun with some pretty brutal violence

This game is soooooooooooo cool! The fighting is very intense with awesome special moves. The graphics are a little cartoony, but in a good sense. Really, the concern is the violence. It is pretty brutal with some blood (that can be turned off). And to the person who wants fatalities: JUST LOOK THEM UP ON GOOGLE!!!! (or Bing or Yahoo. Doesnt matter.)
What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 16 years old Written byREQUIEMX December 6, 2008
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Ok Game

I am an MK fan for a while and im a little disapointed in this gamme.The Fatalities Suck but the fighting is nice,but alot of people who get it want to blood and gore in there Mortal Kombat.(like me)This game was kinda intended for smaller ages.Kids may play this and want a new one(trouble)and the new one Will have Blood.I suggest you rent this one because you can beat it in 2 days....I Recommend, MK Deception for some real MK.That isnt all soft,its very cheap now about 10 bucks
Teen, 13 years old Written byMustafa Ismail July 5, 2014
AGE
13
QUALITY
 
What other families should know
Too much violence
Safety and privacy concerns
Kid, 9 years old October 2, 2013
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

great game for kids that like wwe

well I played this game over a year now so I know the answer the game is good itself there is mild gore but its fine for kids its just the right fighting game that kids love if your kids play wwe they can play this
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byTeutonGamer September 14, 2013
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Much better compared to its other Versions in terms of violence sexual themes and Gore ;D

Hi, I am 13 and a major gamer, yet I still have a life ;D lol. I play this game, and it's fun! Let me first say it is way better in terms of violence and gore compared to the other versions of this game. It still has a bit of sexual content in it such as in my opinion "showy" dresses. Like on the character Catwoman. And as for the violence. it consists of mixed martial arts such as muy tai, Kung Fu, etc. If you've seen any martial arts movies before, which most people have, then you get what kind of violence I am talking about here. The gore in this game is very minimal. Most of it coming from the martial arts violence. But the rest comes from blood, which can be turned off in the options screen. a handy tool for parents who don't approve of that. I appreciate most game companies who do that for when, in my cases, I take the game to friend's houses and their parents don't approve of the blood. That is all I have to say about the game so just to recap I think it is fun, minimal in gore and sexual content, and has the common martial arts violence you should usually see in movies.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Teen, 15 years old Written byCSKY42 August 6, 2013
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

awesome

i was very pleased with this selection for my 2 year old sister. it gave her appropriate fashion tips, and taught her to stand up to bullies by using a super move. I am glad mortal kombat and dc universe encouraged my sister in the way it did
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Safety and privacy concerns
Teen, 13 years old Written byMichaelManster April 21, 2013
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

Amazing game, Not bad, Very good

This game was obviously made for younger kids, with DC characters this is a more superhero game than a mortal kombat, this game is fine, it does include small splashes of blood (but it can be turned off) it has female breasts with catwomen and 1 other its not bad and not too revealing. So all people who think this game is bad, well, you thought wrong! So stop whining and get this game for you kids.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written byNick cardona July 25, 2012
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

So toned down I bought this FOR my 7 year old brother

when my mom took me to Gamestop to get some games for my new XBOX 360 she told me to get some games that me and my 7 year old brother could play with me. I chose this game and plants vs zombies. I decided to play it alone so my brother wouldn't have to see some guy get his spinal cord get torn out. However, the games violence is a severe departure from other entries. For example in MORTAL KOMBAT (2011) the character cyrax has a fatality in which he blows an opponent up then blows up the resulting chunks of the enemy. in this game However in a similar fatality lex luthor shoots a barrage of missiles at the enemy, only to have the attack be censored by some smoke. the story is somewhat engaging and the game is a good alternative to the spine tearin', face stabbin' original
What other families should know
Too much violence
Kid, 10 years old July 25, 2012
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

GET OVER HERE!

YOU CAN ONLY TURN THE BLOOD OFF IN ARCADE MODE AND TWO PLAYER MODE!!!!!! NOT IN STORY MODE!!!!!!!! some of the other reviewers say that you can turn the blood off and when i bought this game i thought it was in story mode. the finishing moves are not as violent as the other mk games but a few are still violent like jax's. the epic face smash is probably the most violent in this game. it is more of a rental game.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Kid, 9 years old April 28, 2012
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

Good game

This game could get a rated e 10+ rating but it still would be rated t for teen because of the suggestive themes overall it is a good game for parents who won't let their kids play the rated m version common sense media you made a mistake it isn't availibale for the playstaion 2
What other families should know
Too much violence

Pages