All member reviews for New Super Mario Bros. 2

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging, great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging, good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging, good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging, okay learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Kids say

(out of 14 reviews)
AGE
6
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Teen, 13 years old Written bystvn8or August 21, 2012
AGE
6
QUALITY
 
LEARNING

Great Game

Sponsors Teamwork, but associates it with some safety problems that can be easily avoided and minor violence.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much consumerism
Easy to play/use
Safety and privacy concerns
Kid, 9 years old September 8, 2012
AGE
5
QUALITY
 
LEARNING

Great

This was so fun
What other families should know
Easy to play/use
Kid, 6 years old September 8, 2012
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

cool

it is very fun
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Easy to play/use
Kid, 11 years old September 8, 2012
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

Great game, wish I played more.

I loved the demo I played at my local gaming store, before my mum pulled it out of my hands - claiming that is had more evil than Satan himself. She claimed that it was a sadistic game because you had to kill creatures and use defenseless tortoises as weaponary. She then brought me Imagine: Babies. :(
What other families should know
Easy to play/use
Kid, 8 years old August 24, 2013
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

Perfect

I Love It And My Little Brother Who Is Only 6 Can Beat The Whole Game Easily It's Perfect Wonderful 3D Graphics
What other families should know
Easy to play/use
Safety and privacy concerns
Kid, 12 years old November 30, 2013
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

Refined, but can scare young kids.

Very nice. The end gives a positive message. There is cartoon violence and (get this) a jump scare. A giant ghost appears out of nowhere in 2 levels, which can scare younger kids. The game is part of the famous Super Mario series. If allowed, it is possible that you can play with other people, a privacy concern.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much consumerism
Safety and privacy concerns
Teen, 14 years old Written byTIE41 February 24, 2015
AGE
2
QUALITY
 
LEARNING

Classic Mario Sidescroller

This is very similar to 3D land except this is a sidescroller not a platformer, Yes the game is great. 3d is not as heavy as 3D land, but you can block the 3d mode ages 6 and under. Plus, this game has online features but if you don't want your kids using it you can block it.
What other families should know
Great messages
Easy to play/use
Safety and privacy concerns
Teen, 16 years old Written bygmwbmw35 February 7, 2015
AGE
3
QUALITY
 
LEARNING

Awesome games!

Aw, Mario... This is my childhood, and my teenhood as well as my future adulthood. I remember when I was around 8 years old, I was obsessed with this game, and funny thing was... I loved the chain chomps mentioned in the games! It was weird, but I'm past that, but still love playing the games! Some (overprotective) parents think it's violent, but it's really not!
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Easy to play/use
Teen, 17 years old Written byHorace Williams November 21, 2014
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

Fun to play.

Great job, Nintendo. I loved playing this on my 3Ds. Awesome levels, beautiful colors, easy (and fun) to play, and I love the positive messages/role models.
Kid, 12 years old October 16, 2014
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

Very Fun Game

This installment in the New Super Mario Bros franchise is very fun, although it dosen't really have a great replay value and gets repetitive after completeing one game on it.
What other families should know
Great role models
Easy to play/use
Safety and privacy concerns
Kid, 10 years old July 2, 2014
AGE
6
QUALITY
 
LEARNING

the best E game ever

you half to love this game.
What other families should know
Easy to play/use
Kid, 11 years old May 23, 2014
AGE
6
QUALITY
 
LEARNING

Very easy Mario game is a disappointment in the series

If you are a veteran of Mario games, then this will be a easy game for you. Now the 2 bad things about this game are 1. Its very easy and 2. When you collect 100 coins, you get a 1 up, and this game has so many coins that i finished the game with about 500 lives. So if you never played a Mario game before, then this will be a good game, but if you are familiar with Mario games, then don't bother buying it.
What other families should know
Easy to play/use
Kid, 11 years old May 3, 2014
AGE
7
QUALITY
 
LEARNING

It's A Me-A Mario!

Ok peoples this my first unstupid post. Please do not think I was stupid I am 11 now so I don't make any more stupid posts. Sorry for my inconvenience. New Super Mario Bros. 2 is a very good game for the 3DS. It is appropriate for about ages 7 and over, and APPARENTLY adults think this game is yellow 10, but I don't understand that. It's an E-rated Mario game people! Come on! So to my point, kids and older will be okay to play this. I give it a 4star.
What other families should know
Easy to play/use
Too much violence
Kid, 10 years old February 19, 2014
AGE
6
QUALITY
 
LEARNING
Very good game but the Mario bros games are just all the same story.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Easy to play/use