All member reviews for New Super Mario Bros.

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging, great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging, good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging, good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging, okay learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Common Sense Media says

New Super Mario will woo old and new fans.

Age(i)

2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17

Quality(i)

 

Users say

(out of 81 reviews)
AGE
5
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Kid, 12 years old January 9, 2011
AGE
4
QUALITY
 

Good game and easy to play! :D

I really loved this game! :D It's probably one of my favorite DS games ever! It's very easy to play yet challenging, and it's not too long nor too short. The minigames were also simple and fun, as well as addictive. The only thing i didn't like was multiplayer mode. You can't play real levels but the first one with one other person, and all you do is go against each other. It's nothing special like the Wii version. I would recommend this version if you would like to play by yourself and you're on the go often. :) I hope this review helped! :D Overall this is a really good game! :D
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 12 years old December 9, 2010
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

Mario, deploy the huge mushrooms!

This game is awesome! The graphics are great, there are many mini-games, and it is addictive as trying to rescue helpless princesses! I traded it with a cousin once, and I regretted it. I bought it again, and I couldn't be happier. Another all around good Mario game!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written byMustafa Ismail July 1, 2014
AGE
6
QUALITY
 
What other families should know
Easy to play/use
Kid, 10 years old February 19, 2014
AGE
6
QUALITY
 
Good old classic Mario... First 2-D Mario game since 1992, :)
What other families should know
Great role models
Easy to play/use
Safety and privacy concerns
Kid, 10 years old August 24, 2013
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

Just a normal Mario game.

It's nice and fun. Pretty easy though. Nothing to really say other than that. No enemies are scary and it's all fantasy violence.
What other families should know
Easy to play/use
Teen, 15 years old Written byMitchell Charleston June 8, 2013
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

Perfection.

I'm a huge Super Mario fan, so OF COURSE i'd love this game. I have a Nintendo DS and a Wii. It is pretty easy to play and it is rated E for everyone. Anyways, this game gets 5 stars for sure.
Kid, 12 years old June 8, 2013
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

Great Game

What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 17 years old Written bymoviewannabe June 2, 2013
AGE
3
QUALITY
 

First Nintendo DS game

This is very first Nintendo DS videogame I ever played. It's thrilling and amusing. All ages admitted.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Easy to play/use
Kid, 10 years old December 22, 2012
AGE
7
QUALITY
 
LEARNING

The Best Mario Game Yet

Review by rsm2. Calling this game a masterpiece would be a severe understatement. It is so much more than that. It is a legend. Here are a few reasons why you should just stop reading this review and go buy it now: - It is family friendly. Very mild violence [ though the kids will get a kick out of chucking shells at enemies]. - It has a wide variety of fun levels to play through [ And if your kid is having trouble beating a level[ many are hard] a character will come and show you how to beat it] - And finally, it has a good story. All the violence in the game [which there isn't very much of] is toward a good cause. Mario is fighting his way through Bowser's evil minions just to rescue his beloved princess Peach. How dramatic!
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Easy to play/use
Kid, 10 years old November 9, 2012
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

Like east side mario, the best!

Mario is a good positive role model 'cause he's just trying to save Princess Peach and he just wants to crush his enemy's. I wouldn't say violence is an issue, but he does kill alot of creatures and if you do get to the canon, he's shot out of it. No language, 'cause he barly even speaks. This game is for sale so their is consumerism. The game controles are pretty easy to learn. No progress or anything can be shared with anyone.
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much consumerism
Easy to play/use
Safety and privacy concerns
Teen, 13 years old Written byledzeppelinROCKS! April 23, 2012
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

awesome

I like it a lot, my friend let me borrow it and i liked it a lot
Teen, 13 years old Written bycoz8 April 13, 2012
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

one of the best ds games EVER!

new super mario bros is one of the best ds games i have played. it is not that violent. mario just stomps on enimies and throws fire balls at them. it is easy to play but some levels can be tricky. BUY THIS GAME IT IS AMAZING
What other families should know
Too much violence
Easy to play/use
Teen, 13 years old Written byMattiscool March 7, 2012
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

Get over it!

This is Super Mario Brothers, not Mortal Kombat!
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 12 years old December 15, 2011
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

mario bros.

not good for young children too violent
What other families should know
Too much violence
Kid, 11 years old August 16, 2011
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

Awesome

I have this game and my whole family loved it
What other families should know
Great messages
Adult Written byjw1707 August 15, 2011
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

Too violent

mario burns the flesh off bowser
What other families should know
Too much violence
Kid, 9 years old August 13, 2011
AGE
4
QUALITY
 

Mega Mushrooms AWAY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

This is one of the Ultimate games in the series. The gameplay is better than the original for the NES. The power-ups are better, especially the Mega Mushroom.
What other families should know
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written byPEMDAS May 15, 2011
AGE
4
QUALITY
 

Great for all ages.

Fun, kid and family-friendly game for all ages. There is some violence, but very light and appropriate for even little children. Mario is a good role model in the way that he rescues Princess Peach.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great role models
Kid, 10 years old May 7, 2011
AGE
3
QUALITY
 

Good For Whoever Knows How To Work A DS

Wonderful game! Kids have to learn how to complete levels, and the game is quite colorful and whimsic. Mario is a very brave plumber who would go through anything to save Princess Peach from the evil clutches of Bowser, the king Koopa. Since internet isn't involved, there are no safety issues. Controls are pretty easy if you ask me.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Parent of a 5 year old Written byParent25 April 28, 2011
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

Love it!

I love it. I haven't played all of the worlds yet, but have watched my dad play them. My favorite character is Luigi. I like what Mario says when I start and end a game..."Itsame, Mario!" and "Bye, bye!".

Pages