All member reviews for Plants vs Zombies: Garden Warfare

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Common Sense Media says

Comedic, cartoonish shooter should be OK for younger teens.

Age(i)

2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17

Quality(i)

 

Learning(i)

Users say

(out of 22 reviews)
AGE
9
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Teen, 13 years old Written byCrackingCracker April 5, 2015
AGE
9
QUALITY
 
LEARNING

It has some guns but it's not realistic guns it's made up guns not that bad

Animated colored blood but it's just a little bit. You might expect animated made up guns but not as bad as like realistic shooters. It's about shooting plants or zombies with some weapons that seem like they hurt. But the game does not include drugs/smoking/knifes. So it should be fine for a 9 year old.
What other families should know
Easy to play/use
Parent Written by1uke March 29, 2015
AGE
6
QUALITY
 
LEARNING

Great game to build up there reflexes

Great game and fun graphics. Not realistic at all very cartoon like.
What other families should know
Easy to play/use
Kid, 9 years old March 23, 2015
AGE
8
QUALITY
 
LEARNING

age 9

I think Plants vs Zombies Warfare is a fun game for kids 8+. There is some violence but not as bad as you might think. The graphics are cartoony realistic but not to real. There are guns but there is no blood or gore. Instead of blood you rarely see green puss. If you don't want your child playing with chatting you just do not plug your headphones into the controller. If you don't want your child to be a zombie shooting cartoon guns your child could just play Garden Opps. There is a choice to buy game coins with money. It is addicting so make sure you have a time limit. It is easy for people to get used to the controls.There is a zombie that shows the top of his butt but you have a choice to play that character. I would recommend this for you.
What other families should know
Easy to play/use
Too much violence
Kid, 8 years old March 18, 2015
AGE
10
QUALITY
 
LEARNING

kinda larning

its teaching u how to kill zombies I played it and its AWEZOMMME very kool and I suggest it but ppl are chatting so before u play mute ur tv :)
What other families should know
Too much violence
Kid, 10 years old March 15, 2015
AGE
6
QUALITY
 
LEARNING

A fun colorful shooter

No blood or gore, no foul language and no alcohol or drug references or use. This game is perfectly appropriate for anyone 6 and up. But please notice online play is required and you or your child may here other people that may use foul language. But you can always turn it off.
What other families should know
Easy to play/use
Kid, 12 years old March 7, 2015
AGE
9
QUALITY
 
LEARNING

A great shooter for young ones!

Its a great game! The developers always add DLC For free! No blood or gore is shown either! The zombies are nice, original, And funny Characters The plants are also very cute! Great game!
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Easy to play/use
Kid, 11 years old December 18, 2014
AGE
9
QUALITY
 
LEARNING

Shooter + Comedic = Great for older Kids

this is a shooter game which contains guns and pea shooters and many more comedic weapons but you can go on multiplayer mode which people can use voice chat so if they go on multiplayer tell them to mute all people in the player list that has a speaker icon next to their name or the people that have a mic connected may start swearing. other wise, great for mature 9 year olds
What other families should know
Easy to play/use
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Safety and privacy concerns
Kid, 7 years old October 26, 2014
AGE
15
QUALITY
 
LEARNING

alright

The Scaredy shroom shoots red blood violence!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! in multiplayer swearing age 15
What other families should know
Easy to play/use
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Kid, 12 years old October 15, 2014
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

great game

definetly the perfect game to give as a gift to your kids, honestly there isn't much to worry about in this game.
Parent Written byMotherball September 20, 2014
AGE
5
QUALITY
 
LEARNING

Best Shooter Since Team Fortress 2

My son and I play this together very often. I didn't think too much of the game before my mother-in-law bought it for him, but since the first time I played it, I am hooked. This is a great game for adults and kids. Kids will enjoy the graphics and the humor, and it is very good at refining hand-eye coordination. It also has interesting physics to learn and play with in regards to the different styles of maps, weapons, and abilities. The creative options associated with the character customization are immense. I've played a lot of shooter games and this is definitely one of my favorites. I've spent over 100 hours playing and am still learning new tricks and tactics to increase my statistics. The sheer variety of available characters to play and their different play styles will keep players of any age engaged for a long while. The game is simple yet has a good learning curve that rewards effort and practice without causing frustration in the process. Learning and remembering the maps and how to deal with all the different enemy characters is key to success. For those who love games that are easy to learn and hard to master and would like to have their children learn about physics, be creative, and improve their memory and hand-eye coordination, this one is easy to recommend.
Kid, 10 years old September 1, 2014
AGE
7
QUALITY
 
LEARNING

Plants vs zombies

Pro billy a great game I Will Update my review 12-23-2014 The Day After Chanukah Ends
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written byheavyweaponsguy August 28, 2014
AGE
11
QUALITY
 
LEARNING

good game

it is an online only game wehn you shoot other players you see green blood that stains walls somtimes zombies can be decapitated there will be more blood if that happens and they can loose arms wehn thw die sometimes
What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 14 years old Written byeazy__breezy July 28, 2014
AGE
9
QUALITY
 
LEARNING

I used to enjoy this game a lot

Plants vs Zombies Garden Warfare is a pretty fun game. I mean, its basically a children's version of a multiplayer shooting and fighting game, what kid isn't gonna love it. And in this version you can control plants, and ZOMBIES. It is pretty easy to play, not a lot of different or hard to use controls. It has tons of gamemodes, but for learning, not so much. The point of this game is to beat your enemy in different ways and to defend the garden if you are a plant, their is really not much learning here. Violence is at a low, plants can swallow, bullet seed, pea blast and neddle zombies, some can catch zombies on fire or poison them. Different plants have different attacks, but its not very bad. Zombies can shoot (with guns) and use rpgs and etc. attacks but its really more of a funny game then a serious shooter. No language, should be fine for anyone 9+. You can play online with others, but it is probably pretty secure. If you want to have a lot of fun play Gardens and Graveyards. Its the best mode
What other families should know
Easy to play/use
Kid, 11 years old June 27, 2014
AGE
5
QUALITY
 
LEARNING

good game for kids not aloud to play call of duty

this game is awesome but it is always online so if your child doesn't have xbox live gold he cant play this game i have ran into a few glitches but its always online so i didn't expect different it is a awesome game and it is cheap instead of dropping 60$ on a new game you can drop 40$ and get a great game
What other families should know
Easy to play/use
Too much violence
Kid, 10 years old June 6, 2014
AGE
10
QUALITY
 
LEARNING
What other families should know
Easy to play/use
Kid, 10 years old May 18, 2014
AGE
10
QUALITY
 
LEARNING

Violent and very fun

Great shooter game for those kids that like PvZ. And it's rated E10+, so those kids who aren't teens yet can play. However, there is pretty bad content, for example: the engineer zombie, his pants run a little low, so that probably boosted the rating to E10+ immediately. And then there's the "blood", which is really green goo, but it's close to blood. Fortunately, it's very rarely seen, and I've only seen it in a picture (Bonk Choy punching a browncoat, having goo fly out of his arm) and a mini clip (chomper chomping a zombies neck, then head). AND, if no restrictions are set to chatting with people and them chatting to you, 0-20 people can hear what you are saying with a headset on, and they can talk to you. Fortunately, what they are saying SHOULD be okay because, well, almost everyone who plays this is likely to be a kid. Also fortunately, you can mute players and unmute them anytime. Other than this, no chatting online gameplay is really fun, because there is pure co-op, garden ops, and team vs team modes. Also, people can revive you (sunflowers do it best) and heal you (sunflower only), and are likely to work with you on doing something like capturing a garden, or vanquish a plant/zombie. So overall. This game has some pretty good co-op. Oh yeah, also, this game is not really that "scary", because the blood, zombies, plants, basically everything, is animated. Also, this game was made a bit better by replacing "death" or "kill" with "vanquish". And this game is also really fun, having the experience of being one of your fun PvZ plants or zombies, and using a variety of weapons to beat the other team strategically, and also the co-op is amazing. So I suggest you play this game, but just keep it to the 10+ year olds. P.S. Weapons are like guns and stuff, but not totally bad.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Safety and privacy concerns
Kid, 12 years old May 2, 2014
AGE
12
QUALITY
 
LEARNING

My favorite game!

This is my favourite game but it can be a bit violent and can be boring for younger players. Be mindful that while having an head set on 3 to 20 other people will hear what you are saying. There is no blood unlike the game rating and there is some crude humour on the engineer because his pants run low and you can see his but crack.
What other families should know
Easy to play/use
Teen, 13 years old Written bybattlefield_slaya April 16, 2014
AGE
7
QUALITY
 
LEARNING

Great Third-Person action for kids that don't get to play M rated titles

Plants Vs Zombies Garden Warfare--even though it is a Third-person shooter-- is rated E10+ by the ESRB because it doesn't emulate violence most people would associate with a shooter game. First off, there is absolutely NO blood. When you die as a plant you aren't mutilated and bloody, but you wait for someone to revive you. When you die as a zombie, the same rules apply. The only concerns for me, are that the zombies may appear scary to younger kids if they are a bit more sensitive than others. One thing I thought I might also mention is that it is made by the Frostbite 3 engine --which is what Battlefield 4 was made using-- so it basically plays like a Battlefield game. It has the basic classes: Sunflowers= Infantry Pea shooter= Rifleman Cactus= Sniper and they added an extra Venus flytrap which I forgot what it does. This game in my eyes is perfect for kids that have parents that don't want them to play realistic shooter games. I don't really have any specific age I think it's appropriate for but honestly, I think it should be okay for an eight year old to play. I hope this review helped! P.S. If you're fine with your child playing a "T" rated shooter, try Battlefield 1943 about WWII. I'll post a link for game play >>>>>>>https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YCoFRyskugI
What other families should know
Easy to play/use
Too much violence
Safety and privacy concerns
Teen, 14 years old Written byIronRunningAnvil March 21, 2014
AGE
10
QUALITY
 
LEARNING

Really fun and wacky multiplayer game

When I first saw this game I was not sure I would like it that much, but I thought to give it a try anyway and I have to say that it is brilliant. I am no fan of shooters really, but the innocence and fun that this one brings compares to nothing. The violence is all a joke as well there really isn't any (unless a sunflower falling over is a bit much). There is no talk of death in the game either instead of team death match it is team vanquish to make it more family friendly and it is really fun. To make it even better now free downloadable content has been made bringing a whole new level, mode and more character customizations. At the moment there is a real mix of modes with classic survival to team vanquish or gardens and graveyards (not forgetting the classic modes of these and the all new gnome bomb mode). Overall: violence 3/10, family friendliness 8/10, fun 9/10. Hope this helped
Teen, 13 years old Written byWaffle2006 March 17, 2014
AGE
9
QUALITY
 
LEARNING

Garden Warfare: A Unique Shooter

Garden Warfare is not like today's "black and gray" shooters like Call of Duty. PopCap made a really bold move to go from a casual genre like tower defense to an intense one like a shooter. Most would think that this game would end up in the bargain bins in no time, and yet, it is quite amusing. This game combines shooter elements with the quirky elements from the series' two previous entries. As Common Sense said, green blood does show up when zombies are shot, but it is hardly visible and shouldn't be much of a problem for kids who are 8-9 and up. This game may look like a child's game, but this would appeal to pretty much any age of gamer. Remember this one thing, though; if you are a fan of casual games, like the previous entries in Plants vs. Zombies, this game probably isn't for you. If you have a friend or family member who wants the Xbox One version, you may be better suited to use the exclusive Boss Mode, which uses a tablet and is a mini-game like setup that is very similar to the previous games. All in all, this is a very well-made game, and with a pricetag that is half of most games AND free DLC, this is also definitely worth the cash.
What other families should know
Easy to play/use

Pages