All member reviews for Pokemon HeartGold & SoulSilver Versions

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Kids say

(out of 46 reviews)
AGE
6
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Teen, 15 years old Written byPeanutthetoon March 8, 2011
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

w00t

As always, this remake of Gold and Silver doesn't disappoint. And as always, it is very easy to play and there are helpful tutorials for beginners. It has positive messages of treating the environment with respect and animals, too. There are also good role models that join together to fight Team Rocket. I think the BEST part of this game is the online capabilities. I battle people on Youtube, but be careful because some people might give bad nicknames to their Pokemon. Overall, a fantastic game with excellent graphics (for a DS game), and a good storyline.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 9 years old September 14, 2010
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

graet game

love the game plus theres so much to do.
Kid, 12 years old August 29, 2010
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

fun, but baybish for anyone 10+

i guess some people would consider it violent, since you make pokemon fight until they "faint", and the moves are things like "slash" "take down" and "flamethrower" and the effects are stuff like "poison", "burn" and "one hit KO", but the vocabulary is far worse than whats on screen.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 13 years old Written byHotaru Chan July 5, 2010
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

Great for everyone

Pokemon has always been good, some better than others. Its a game that is great for all ages. I've never seen anything too bad about the games, and I don't think we ever will.
Teen, 13 years old Written byLvl100uberpidgey April 5, 2010
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

Exceptional games for gamers of all ages

These games are the best in the Pokemon series. They exceed the others in just about every way from controls to sound to graphics. There is nothing to worry about except for some very mild violence. The games are turn-based RPGs, so if you don't like slower-paced games, these are not for you. They are somewhat long and fairly challenging when you're just playing through the story, but if you're looking to fill your Pokedex (like me!) you'll be looking at well over 100 hours of gameplay. The new Pokewalker accessory, which comes with the game, is cool and has actually got my lazy butt off the couch (though you could just shake it instead of actually walking). Altogether, these are the best of Pokemon and rank among the best games for the DS (or any other system, for that matter!)
What other families should know
Great messages
Kid, 9 years old March 30, 2010
AGE
3
QUALITY
 

only pokemon game worth getting

it is one of the coolest games ever! it is certinaly better than the other pokemon games, probably the only one worth getting. it does have consumerism though, its trying to get you to buy other pokemon junk. but all in all, its a great game!
What other families should know
Too much consumerism
Teen, 13 years old Written byALBERT0 August 7, 2014
AGE
8
QUALITY
 
Kid, 12 years old January 28, 2013
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

silvonadux review

( This goes to the soulsilver version) This title has a record on how long I have played this. It is VERY fun. But I can Come up with many downsides as sad as it is. If you take one or more steps in long grass, deep caves, dark forests, or deep water, you're bound to run into a lame pokemon like a level 2 pidgey, a level 4 tentacool, level 6 zubat, and MUCH much more. luckily they make a repel to keep them away if you want. It's just a pain to put it in over and over and over again. But aside from that (And more) this game is REALLY GOOD!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Easy to play/use
Safety and privacy concerns
Teen, 17 years old Written byDanielCello December 9, 2012
AGE
5
QUALITY
 
LEARNING

Soul Silver

In my opinion, there is no reason for anyone under 5 to be playing pokemon.if you pay attention though, you can actuall y learn something if your 5 and up
What other families should know
Easy to play/use
Kid, 12 years old June 10, 2012
AGE
7
QUALITY
 
LEARNING

Best pokemon game i have played so far.

this is a very good game. one of my favorite pokemon games. the only reason i rated it appropriate for 7 is because the difficulty of the game. there are many puzzles that a young child may need help with. overall, there's nothing bad in it. i know some Christians are against pokemon because of evolution. pokemon "evolve" but it's more like growing than evolving. a totodile evolves into a crocanaw, and eventually a feraligatr. but they're species are not changing, they get bigger and physically stronger. pokemon pretty much have the stages of growing up like humans do. it also teaches that it's important to live up to your promises and there are many examples of how pokemon trainers treat they're pokemon like they're friends and family, not a pet.
Kid, 10 years old January 28, 2012
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

Pretty good!!

This game in the Pokemon series is very good, especially with the Pokewalker, because it's a good way to find Pokemon and items
Kid, 10 years old December 14, 2011
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

Good game

Good for younger kids
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 11 years old November 27, 2011
AGE
3
QUALITY
 

Awesome game that anyone can play.

Unless your one of those crazy parents who thinks Pokemon is violent, its a good game for all ages. It is NOT for babies, I have a seventeen year old cousin who still plays Soul Silver with me every time we hang out. The pokewalker is a great idea too, but I lost mine a few months ago and im looking around the house for it. Overall it is a great game that can be a little hard in some parts.
Kid, 11 years old July 5, 2011
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

ups and downs

this is a great game once you buy it but it gets a little boring once you get all 16 badges.its appropriate for all age kids. i know that because my moms strict and she let my 4 year old sister get it. it is WAY more advanced than the other pokemon games. you do the jhoto and kanto reigin in the game so you get 16 badges. its a good game.
Kid, 12 years old May 30, 2011
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

Good.

This game is awesome. But it has worn out over the years...
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Too much consumerism
Kid, 12 years old May 1, 2011
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

Fun, addicting game for all ages! :)

Pokemon Soulsilver is my first ever pokemon game, and to tell you the truth, I LOVED IT!! It's very addicting to play and sometimes I find myself playing on it for hours at a time. It's sometimes a little tricky though, and it gets a little frustrating at times, like when I walk through a cave I cant walk around without facing a pokemon every 10-20 seconds!!! And also--Strategy is key. Fighting the different pokemon is like a rock, paper, scissors match but with more strategy involved. Overall, this is an insanely addicting game that will be great for a pokemon fanatic to someone new to the series alike! Have fun :)
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 11 years old April 24, 2011
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

Very Good, Until I Traded It In To Save Up For My Xbox 360 Slim.

Okay, my little brothers have played it, I've played it, its pretty good but i wish it had a new region in this game. I played through the game and then traded it in at one video game store so I had enough money for my Xbox 360 Slim.
Kid, 12 years old April 15, 2011
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

Good game but too hard? :-(

This game is to hard for ages 9 and below. The Reasons are 1. The game has 2 regions so that means 16 badges to collect. 2. Some thing are relly confusing. There are more reasons but the reason is this game is more complicated than other version.
What other families should know
Great role models
Kid, 10 years old January 2, 2011
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

Pokemon Soul Silver Review

It is most-likely one of the best games I ever played! When my parents aren't telling me to do chores or shoolwork and I've earned gametime, I play it for as long as possible without having to shut it down. I don't see why anyone should hate it. 'Cause it's one great game!
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 12 years old December 26, 2010
AGE
5
QUALITY
 
i think its a VERY good game. ive loved these games 4 as long as i can remember. the pokewalker is a very good move 2 get kids off thier couch if they did'nt lose it like i did. those who played Gold and Silver in 1999 will love to play it again with all the new features. parents however, will have to give the advertisment lesson 2 kids first. this is another large chunk of pokemon franchise. other than that, this is just like any other pokemon game
What other families should know
Too much consumerism
Great role models

Pages