All member reviews for Portal 2

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging, great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging, good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging, good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging, okay learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Kids say

(out of 127 reviews)
AGE
9
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Kid, 11 years old April 28, 2011
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

Very Fun & Challenging

This is a Very Fun and Brain Teasing Game which is fun for all ages. Can be a Bit Tricky for Under 7 but besides from that should be a E no Violence maybe uses words like 'Hell' but nothing they wouldn't hear anywhere else.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Teen, 15 years old Written bygameaddictwn April 26, 2011
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Spaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaace!

This is a must-buy for any puzzle and comedy fans. The puzzles are hard but not hard enough to let you give up. The comedy is the best I have seen in ANY game AND movie. Each chapter I played I had to get off the computer and I had literally had to force myself to stop laughing. This game also states that even if you're adopted that you can be the best at what you do. The bad guys *spoiler* even learns a lesson that with great power comes great responsibility *end spoiler*. One thing is the language the world 'bloody' are commonly used. 'O my god' can also be heard multiple times. D*mn is used 2 times and 'hell' about 3 times. Also GLaDOS in the beginning insults you heavily. Another part is where GLaDOS screams. But you can hear she has pain. It was so bad it send shivers down my spine. But aside from that is i FANTASTIC. BEST VALVE GAME EVER. A must-buy.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Educational value
Great role models
Teen, 14 years old Written byDideloop2 May 19, 2011
AGE
11
QUALITY
 
Messages: 3/5- There’s a lot of talk of killing in this game. Both main characters attempt to kill you throughout the game and talk about it in violent ways. But by the end, things change, and you work together. Violence: 2/5- You can get mashed by “mashy spike plates,” killed by poison gas, and shot by automatic turrets. Sex: 0/5- Nothing. Language: 1/5- Mild language, such as d-mn and h-ll, throughout. Overall: Portal 2 is one of the greatest games ever made. It has a great story, amazing dialogue and fantastically crafted characters. It has a slightly disturbing and creepy atmosphere, and the ambient music perfects this. The game has an increasingly interesting and strange story, until the breathtaking, epic finale. After the 10-12 hour single player game is over, you can continue the story with co-op mode. Portal 2 is unbelievably good. Ages 11 and up should be ok, because of the mild language, creepy atmosphere and mild violence. (and sheer epicness) :D
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 10 years old May 16, 2011
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

Really Good!

Very good game.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 10 years old May 15, 2011
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Perfect for Tweens and teens.

Good for tweens, But watch that 4 year old christmas boy for that language
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Kid, 11 years old May 16, 2011
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

Perfect game for tweens in need of something new

This game is amazing. Each character is developed and expressive, and even if they're robots, they have more personality than many human characters in other games. The puzzles are challenging but never frustrating, and you have as long as you need to complete them without any interruptions (although to keep him in-character, Wheatley will make impaitient remarks from time to time during his tests. These are purely for comedy and don't add any pressure at all). The ending blew me away. Never before have I felt such a mix of satisfaction and sadness.
What other families should know
Educational value
Teen, 16 years old Written byLukepi May 14, 2011
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

A great game. Can be frustrating for young ones, though.

What other families should know
Educational value
Kid, 12 years old May 22, 2011
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Much more appropriate than other VALVe titles.

Given a lot of of VALVe titles are M, this is much different. Your only real concern is the launguage. And while it is VERY MILD, it would be a slight concern if you have younger kids. You may have noticed I picked "Good role models". Why I say this is because both Robot characters show regret thier threatening behaviour (GLaDOS realises that she should have done the easy option of letting you go, and wheatley wishes he could "Say Sorry" to Chell.). The exception are the turrets, although in one cutscene, they don't shoot you.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 11 years old May 12, 2011
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Best game ever!

Better than ever Chell is stong. The puzzles are great.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Safety and privacy concerns
Teen, 15 years old Written byJCK11 May 1, 2011
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

GREAT GAME!!!

If you liked portal 1 you will love portal 2 Its everything the old one had except better and longer.this game is great game.
Kid, 12 years old May 21, 2011
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

great for ages 10 up

an awesome strategy game but gets frustrating at times get console version
What other families should know
Educational value
Teen, 14 years old Written byIwaki May 28, 2011
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Just don't play it if you've adopted ANYONE.

At the moment, in the giant place called the United States of America, there's a controversy going on, over some raging dad about Wheatley's insults. If you don't know, Wheatley is the core you see in the beginning of the game. He says "adopted fatty" but the stupid news show reporting it, didn't even go to what GLaDOS, your "enemy", said after that. Anyway, the game is good. It makes you think, but it is NOT educational! The only violence is turrets shooting you. The game has blood, yes, but it is hardly noticed while you and/or your child is enjoying the game. The game has a dark but good sense of comedy. The characters do not say any major profanities. If you're really concerned, I'd just recommend playing the co-op/multiplayer mode.
Teen, 14 years old Written byJCK12 April 30, 2011
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

10+

If you liked portal 1 you'll LOVE portal 2. Its pretty much the same except longer and the fact that its e+10 (even though the 1st one should of been rated e+10)
What other families should know
Educational value
Teen, 14 years old Written byIan in Anime May 15, 2011
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

A perfect puzzle game

This game is perfect for most people. It involves thinking, and problem solving skills, your child will REALLY use his brain during the majority of these puzzles. The game can seem somewhat dark at times. Mostly because of the robot antagonist GladOs. If you have two kids, they can play a co-operative campaign, and learn teamwork skills. There is some language, but nothing serious. The words D*mn and H*ll are present, but nothing else.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Educational value
Teen, 16 years old Written byCalvitor April 30, 2011
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

A wonderful game

This game is so much fun and at some points challenging. All you have to do is solve puzzles. There is no killing, accept there are turrets in some puzzles that shoot at your character. As you go on the puzzles get harder. Not much bad language only bad words are H*** and d****, I truly thought it was could be just as good without say them. The co-op super fun, you have work as a team or else you’re not going to get very far. The online is the same thing like co-op but not having a split-screen. I don’t know who really cares about graphics but this game has some good graphics.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Teen, 16 years old Written byteamjacobgirl2.0 April 30, 2011
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

Not a gamer

This game is fun but, hard to play at some parts so that's why I give it ON for 9. There is nothing at all violent or sexy in this game so the only problem is how hard it can be at some parts. The reason for that is probably because I'm not a gamer. :) so overall fun and family friendly game.
Kid, 12 years old April 22, 2011
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

FUN

This game is one of the best ps3 games ever the reason i gave this game ON 7+ is becauase 2-6 year old wont be able to solve some of these puzzles im a teenager and even i have some trouble this game is fun to play and is full of good role models and good messages
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written bySpaceCore11 June 4, 2011
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

Good game! My fav ever!!

What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written byreadthereview_B23 May 31, 2011
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

Great game

Mild violence. The first one was better. But is is still really fun. Great Co-op
Kid, 9 years old May 14, 2012
AGE
7
QUALITY
 
LEARNING

Only 7 and up

It was a great game, but Steam, has inappropriate forums. It is a Steam game. It also ha the D and H word. And, a lot of violence, and saying "kill." Even MORE violence. A Super 8 level.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Safety and privacy concerns

Pages