All member reviews for Portal

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Kids say

(out of 104 reviews)
AGE
10
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Teen, 13 years old Written bynsvv April 30, 2011
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

A near perfect game, but unsuitable for under 13s

From a gameplay point of view, Portal is simply one of the best and deeply though out games I have ever played in my life. The puzzles are at times maddeningly difficult, but never impossible. Although Portal is now 5 years old, the graphics are still nice and run fluidly even on older machines. Now for the problems. In the later levels, there are turrets that shoot at you, with moderately realistic blood splashing onto walls behind you. Turrets are also heart-breakingly adorable, and they make you love them even though they want to kill you. The main enemy of the game (GLaDOS) constantly taunts you with messages meaning to hurt you, and may upset younger players. Nevertheless, she is an excellent character and is undoubtedly one of the best video game characters of all time despite the fact that she is a megalomaniac who has wrested control over a science facility. A final problem is the last level, where the player is running through the 'behind the scenes' of the facility. The environments are at times scary and disturbing, that unsettles even me. Portal's fantastic puzzles create an excellent challenge for teens and above, but the mild violence and negative themes makes it unsuitable for pre teens.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Educational value
Teen, 15 years old Written byWell Informed Pizza September 11, 2011
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

Well...

The word h-ll is used once during the game, and some of GLaDOS' s taunts can get pretty-- ehh.... but most kids couldn't understand that until they're ready for it anyway. One thing I would like to point out is that the "violence against inanimate objects" is garbage. Really. The cube you are forced to "incinerate" isn't actually destroyed by the fire- only charred.
What other families should know
Educational value
Teen, 15 years old Written bySciDude February 22, 2013
AGE
10
QUALITY
 
LEARNING

Now You're Thinking With Portals

Valve Software's hit title Portal is nothing short of the best. The game forces you to think outside of the box to solve puzzles using a device that creates two connected wormholes in walls, celings, and floors. Physics are constanly being used in new and inventive ways. For a game with not much story, it does get quite dark and intense towards the end. The game's overseer, GLaDOS, tries to kill the player in a variety of ways, only one of which shows blood. However, the game does bring forth a message about not giving up and persevering to get to your goal.
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Teen, 13 years old Written by9001 November 14, 2009
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Might be too scary and bloody for younger tweens.

This is a great game, I love it! I rate it iffy for 12+ though because the blood is graphic and realistic and some parts of the game can be really dark and creepy, and useually funny as well. In one level, you can find this off to the side room with "THE CAKE IS A LIE" written over and over again in blood on the wall.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 17 years old Written byWREN345 July 1, 2012
AGE
10
QUALITY
 
LEARNING

Valve pulls off another amzing First-Person masterpice

Portals mix of dark humor and fast paced first person puzzles mixes perfectly for an amazing first person expirence. The blood to me though is a bit concering(tons of blood splats on walls when you are shot by turrets) but nothing a 10 year old cant handle.This is a must buy if you are in for a exclent game
What other families should know
Too much violence
Kid, 10 years old December 15, 2011
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Educational

Educational, but a little violence, 5 pauses, 0 offs, 3 ons, 2 12s, 0 6s, 3 9s, 5 10s, so its pause for 10+
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Teen, 15 years old Written byJester™ April 20, 2011
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

One of the Best Games Around!

This is one of my all-time favourite games. Portal is an exciting, mind-bending puzzle-solving game. I only marked violence as a concern because there are approximately 2-3 levels in the game that include having to navigate around turrets, these small stationary robots will shoot at you and, if hit, there is a noticeable spray of blood on the walls/floor. The reason i said it was educational was because it makes you think and teaches you to use your brain in different ways to solve unusual puzzles. Portal will totally change your perspective when problem-solving. The games movement controls etc. are easy to grasp while the puzzle-solving will take a bit longer. However, i highly reccommend this game to all audiences because it is one of those few games that is relatively non-violent and encourages creative-thinking. (*NOTE* The OFLC (Australian) rating for this game is MA15+, however, do note that Portal was originally a simple bonus feature added to the Orange Box, a set of shooter games, and was not individually released until a while later.)
What other families should know
Too much violence
Kid, 12 years old August 17, 2013
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

First Person Puzzle Game Great for 10+

This is my all-time favorite game, and includes mild violence and minimal blood. If you kill the turrets, they merely say, "Deactivating". The game is creepy, but that shouldn't really be a factor for buying the game. Just don't watch the conspiracy videos about the companion cube (You'll understand if you play Level 17). Also, the official review here on Common Sense Media says that humans are absent and have come to a disturbing end, but I disagree. The character you control is trapped in a mysterious science facility, and you only see a glimpse of the outside world in the post credits scene after you beat the boss, so there is likely humans everywhere, just not in the science facility with you.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Kid, 10 years old June 8, 2012
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

Addictive

Really fun, great game, played for several hours. Difficult yet fun puzzles, took me a while to complete. Nothing inappropriate, just blood that can be seen on the walls and floor when you are injured.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Kid, 10 years old May 15, 2011
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

Great game, Awesome

Perfect for teens and adolescents
What other families should know
Too much violence
Educational value
Kid, 11 years old April 18, 2011
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

Brilliant puzzle game, some violence and blood, one slightly creepy character, 11+

I love this game. It is educational, fun, safe and easy to play. The aim of the game is to create portals to solve increasingly difficult puzzles. I haveo finished the game and was fun and it's good because it requires logic and thought. Young children might find GLaDOS a bit creepy but definitely on for 11 year olds and up.
What other families should know
Educational value
Too much violence
Teen, 16 years old Written bythe-ultimate-ownage March 10, 2011
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Great for tweens

It is the best game ever
What other families should know
Too much violence
Educational value
Teen, 13 years old Written byHl2man February 21, 2011
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

Great game

Very good puzzler. It's not really creepy, just the evil computer, who is more funny than creepy, though mist of the humor is rather dark. Exaggerated blood when shot by turrets, but this does not happen often, except in testchamber 16.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Educational value
Teen, 14 years old Written bycowe192 June 22, 2010
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Peak originality and unlimited gameplay

Portal has gotten tons of praise, and as such, is one of the greatest puzzle games that you can get. The game does have some creepy aspects to it that may startle some young children and some tweens, such as "HELP" written in blood, but other than that it isn't that bad. Many reviews that will be found will state that "It's too short," which it is(the game has only 20 levels and can be beaten in one-two hours) but it has bonus maps and extras when you play through the game. I've beaten portal 3 times now, yet every time is different, for it is one of the greatest puzzle games made.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Kid, 12 years old August 21, 2009
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

Wow, one of the best games ever.

Portal is a really fun game. There's really nothing at all bad about it except for blood but that's not until you get to like level 16 or so. Also if you're getting it for PC, DON'T BUY FOR XP! IT ONLY WORKS WITH VISTA!!
What other families should know
Educational value
Teen, 14 years old Written byMavrah333 August 15, 2014
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

The most child friendly game by Valve, but by no means the best.

You can get this game on steam for £6.99, and even that seemed a bit expensive considering how short it is and how easy most of the levels are, but you can buy it for $19.99? ??? I doubt that's the equivalent in worth of TF2, Half Life 2 or even Garry's Mod 13. It's a good game in itself, but is it worth the cash? I'd either get this in a sale and/or in a bundle (Orange Box, Portal Collection ect.)
What other families should know
Easy to play/use
Kid, 12 years old June 7, 2014
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

Mind bender.

This game is absolutely awesome and fun. It is hard at first but after a while you get the hang of it. However, I do prefer to play it's equal,portal2. My absolute favorite scene in it was the cake scene. It's everything you may expect times 100. It comes just after the testing and as long as you fallow glados's orders you'll get the best cake ever out of it. Any one trying to tell you otherwise is lying;)
Teen, 14 years old Written byPikachuthemistborn May 24, 2014
AGE
10
QUALITY
 
Kid, 11 years old April 29, 2014
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

The best puzzle game EVER!!!

Portal is a great game! It really makes you think in some of the hardest puzzles ever made! There is blood, but only when you get hit by the cute turrets. GLaDOS, the antagonist of the game, will taunt you sometimes but in a funny robot tone. Plus there are many funny lines like "Please note that we have added a consequence for failure, any contact with the chamber floor will result in an unsatisfactory mark on your official testing record, followed by death." There are some scary themes like in the boss battle she said that she will fill the room with neurotoxin like she did before Chell, (the player) started testing. All in all a great puzzle game that I would recommend for 9+.
What other families should know
Easy to play/use
Kid, 8 years old April 27, 2014
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

Cheats for Pprtal (May be a spoiler)

Pages