All member reviews for Professor Layton and the Last Specter

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Common Sense Media says

Captivating puzzle game makes doing brainteasers a blast.

Age(i)

2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17

Quality(i)

 

Learning(i)

Users say

(out of 10 reviews)
AGE
11
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Adult Written byDr.Pepper December 26, 2011
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Appropriate but hard

Some of the puzzles in this game (as well as all other Professor Layton games) can be very difficult and sometimes a lot of reading is involved. Their is nothing offensive content wise, it's just that young children may have a hard time understanding the game.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 14 years old Written bySweetDisposition October 23, 2011
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Mr. Layton is the undesputed puzzle king of the decade.

The Professor Layton formula is pretty simple, take an interesting story and mix it with mind-boggling puzzles and you've got this game. Layton's puzzles never disappoint in being both thought provoking and witty, and the game is just a fun, educational game to play. However, the puzzles are hard, and unless a parent wants to help their child, then this game should be played by kids who can handle being a bit frustrated at not being able to figure out a puzzle at first glance. The series itself if pure perfection, and really deserves to be played my more people. I highly recommend this game, and I honestly have no negative points about it right now. *NOTE: Being a teenager, my sense of what some parents might find suitable for their child might differ from what said parents actually think. I didn't really pick up on anything bad, persay, but maybe it's just because my sense of "bad" things is just distorted at this point. But seriously, buy this game. It's good.
What other families should know
Educational value
Teen, 13 years old Written bykobaltflame December 25, 2011
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

professor layton is a must buy game

Great game. this game is incredible, but I have to warn you there are some deaths (SPOILERS!!! they determine whether a man commits suicide, a girl is said to die in a year due to an illness). I honeslty think its alright for a three year old, but it would have to be a very smart and mature three year old. The puzzles can range from difficulty, but some of them you don't have to do. They also have 4 hints (the last one practically gives you the answer) so that should make it easier. Also, the last scene was very sad. (spoilers) In the last scene, the girls pet Loosha dies. I'm 13 and I was getting teary eyed. But this is a great game, and I reccomend it to anyone. (by the way, the storyline is INCREDIBLE. Professor layton games are always awesome)
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 8 years old February 5, 2015
AGE
7
QUALITY
 
LEARNING

Sorry, I lied.

Teen, 16 years old Written byFalcus June 26, 2014
AGE
12
QUALITY
 
LEARNING

Great puzzle game

Another excellent Layton game explores the first adventure he has with Luke. Some amazing puzzles and an immersive story make for an excellent experience. Some mild violence and real emotion felt by characters, as well as very mild innuendo in an extra game.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Easy to play/use
Too much violence
Kid, 11 years old July 27, 2013
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

Fantastic Game!

One of my favorite professor Layton games!
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Parent Written byShugocharafan88 January 7, 2013
AGE
18
QUALITY
 
LEARNING

» What does "bump" mean on the forums?

what are sensor boards? i was wondering I'm back. Here's a Kento/Shori kiss.
What other families should know
Safety and privacy concerns
Parent of a 12 and 12 year old Written byResponibleParentOf2 August 31, 2012
AGE
13
QUALITY
 
LEARNING

*sigh* Was the sexual talk really necessary?

My middle school boys are not yet permitted to play one of the few educational games I can find nowadays due to the sex humor. Why, developers, why?
Parent of a 9 and 12 year old Written bystuhlly July 6, 2012
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Couldn't Put This Down

My 12 year old daughter couldn't put this down. She loved it and wants to play the other Professor Layton DS games.
Teen, 14 years old Written bybrieona December 9, 2011
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

Excellent game for puzzle-lovers.

I would highly recommend this game to older kids and teens who enjoy solving puzzles. The game has just the right mix of puzzles and story advancement. The cutscenes are well done, and they feature voice acting. It is definitely worth the money to own. Parents should know that (spoiler alert!) there are several mentions of death in the game. Part of the mystery is about whether a character committed suicide by jumping off a cliff or not, a young girl is said to not have long to live due to an illness (no further details are given, and she is cured at the end of the game), and a beloved animal dies near the end. That said, content-wise, the game is most likely appropriate for someone around the age of nine. However, some of the puzzles are very challenging, so this game is probably better for an eleven- or twelve-year-old.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great role models