Kid reviews for Red Dead Redemption 2

Common Sense says

Outstanding Western adventure has very mature themes.
Based on our expert review

Parents say

age 12+
Based on 90 reviews

Kids say

age 13+
Based on 70 reviews
Teen, 14 years old Written byalexgamereviews December 30, 2018

Red dead 2

An excellent game of survival and missions where players can roam a huge map completing missions and objectives to gain money and get other items. I would recommend that you allow kids over the age of 12 to play the game due to the amount of blood and violence. However be lenient as blood can be turned off in the settings! Thanks.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Teen, 15 years old Written byEJY623 December 13, 2018

Your choices depend on the game

Red dead redemption is a great game the graphics, physics, storyline it’s just amazing. I also like how in red dead redemption the game is set in the early days of America so now days kids can get a feel of what it was like. In the game you are in a gang that seems bad but how that changes is you can be riding your horse and a stranger will need a ride if you refuse you will loose trust so you are givin choices so depending on how you choose to handle them that’s the way people will see you. But I will say the violence would be for teens because it can get very disturbing

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Privacy & Safety
Kid, 12 years old December 11, 2018

Read dead online

This is a great game as far as the campaign but read dead online is very hard as anyone can kill you that’s why it’s 14+
Teen, 13 years old Written byBulbasaurrrr.4 December 6, 2018

Mature Teens. 14+

Red Dead Redemption 2 is an amazing game...For Teens+...Violence: Realistic Blood Spurts, knife founds and when the player uses a shotgun they can remove heads, limbs etc... Language: Not as much swearing as other games...Mostly Cowboy slang. Drugs/Alcohol: Your character can go in a saloon and drink beer and whiskey and get drunk. You can also smoke cigarettes. Sex: There are 2 scenes in a saloon where there is a couple having sex and the woman turns at you and you can see her breasts fully exposed and part of her buttocks. There is a naked man hanging in a barn with only his buttocks exposed. Overall not for kids...AT ALL...

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byvirtual.sarah November 21, 2018

Amazing game, but with very dark themes.

I've seen a lot of reviews on here that are pretty blatantly untrue. I have played over 70 hours in this game, and have finished the whole main story, so take it from me when I say this game is very violent/gory. Heads can be blown off with shotguns, as can arms and legs. When shot, blood will continuously pour out of NPCs wounds until they bleed out. Aftermaths of murders and mauling at the hands of animals can be found littering the map, entrails, limbs and corpses. On the surface when playing this, it seems pretty averagely violent/dark, but the plot gets pretty twisted pretty quick. Though I don't consider it much of a problem, drugs and alcohol are also quite prevalent, getting drunk is required in several quests, and consumable items that boost your stats include chewing tobacco, alcohol and cigarettes. Characters also frequently swear. This game is (in my opinion) unfairly criticized for sexual content. It can be crood at times, with it's fair share of risque songs sung by NPCs around camp and the like, and a drawing of a naked woman being gifted to you by an artist. You can pay to have a woman bathe you at inns, but nothing is explicitly shown. That's really as far as this game goes with sex. Hints and implications. Beyond the mature content, this is really a masterpiece. If your kid isn't too iffy with gore, I couldn't recommend this enough. It's meaningful, thoughtful, and subtle where other games are in your face and obnoxious. The world is deep, it lives and breathes. You can uncover mysteries and explore the seemingly endless wilderness. Also you can pet dogs. TLDR: RDR2 is a masterpiece of gaming, with brilliant writing, stunning graphics, and dark themes- but parents be warned, it can be extremely violent and gory, and contains heavy swearing and use of drugs/alcohol. If you have a mature kid you should be fine. I would not recommend this to kids under twelve, and thirteen could be iffy, but it should be fine. If you aren't going to get this game for your kids, take my advice and just get it for yourself. You won't regret it.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Teen, 17 years old Written byII TheLordOfKha... November 13, 2018

Not For Kids Who Arent 14 And Up, And Dont Know Right From Wrong, And Finally Will Repeat The Stuff In The Game

IS A Very Mature Game But Fun And Thrilling.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Teen, 14 years old Written byAidan Mitchell March 11, 2019

Violent

There is violence, sex, smoking, alcohol, but here is the catch. The game features many violent scenes with decapitation and dismemberment, but if your kid is mature enough they can handle hit. The game also has a lot of good role models, such as the main character trying to do whats right for his friends. He makes many sacrifices for his gang and his friends. There is one sex scene in the game, but it's your choice to do. In one mission you're in a saloon and if you walk into to one of the rooms you will see a brief glimpse of a couple having sex. The child should be used to to swearing it happens a lot at school. Overall if your child is mature they should be able to handle it.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Kid, 12 years old March 6, 2019

The best game ive ever played

the best game ive ever plaed now its got great messages great role models there is a in game thing called dead eye makes the game super easy the most violent thing you can do in the game is blow somones head and limbs off with exsplosives and shot guns the only thing that could fall under the sex catorgory is when you get a bath nothing is shown but when he leaves the bath you can see his butt for like 3 seconds you have to go get debts from people you CAN drink bourbon rum so on and you CAN smoke cigs and cigars no drugs though (its mainly optional)

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Ease of Play
Violence & scariness
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byKevinTheGoat March 6, 2019

this game is a work of art

honestly this one if not THE best game I have ever played and I recommend it to anyone who has a love of amazing graphics wonderful gameplay and an all around great story so if any of what I just said interests you I recommend it but you should be aware that there is a lot of violence/blood and gore also there is drinking and smoking and a lot of swearing also having played the whole game I can tell you THERE IS NO NUDITY also

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Teen, 17 years old Written byNext_Tremity March 3, 2019

Missing option

This game missing super appropriate option, so Call of Duty Black Ops 4 has a super appropriate option. Still inappropriate for under 17 years old.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Language
Consumerism
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written byCheesefishluvr8 March 2, 2019

Red dead redemption 2 is the best game I’ve ever played.

Hi, I think this game is okay for a mature 13 year old because the content is not as bad as you may think. I have beaten the main story and have beaten the epilogue so I know what I’m talking about. The violence in this game is pretty tame compared to games such as doom or fallout. This game is made by the same people who made grand theft auto yet is much more appropriate for teens. There is no human nudity and the sexual content is a part of the game where there is a male on top of a man. No nudity is shown and you don’t have to go into that room. It’s in the mission with Lenny in the bar. The bad language consists of “f*ck, sh*t, bi*tch, bastered. The n word is used once. The drinking and drugs in this game is to be expected saying it’s a western. You can get drunk but you do not have to. Smoking will restore dead eye. The games story is magnificent and it would be a shame for someone to miss out on it because of the (In my opinion) inaccuracte rating. The game is quite mild for a mature game. If you let your kids watch westerns, this game will be fine got them. Thank you for reading my review and I hope this helped you decide.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Violence & scariness
Language
Teen, 13 years old Written byA Strange American February 21, 2019

The Old West

This game has few qualities to justify an "M" rating. Sure, there is a lot of violence, some sexual references, alcohol, and cigarettes, but the main character, Arthur Morgan, is trying to redeem himself for all of the wrong he has done. One can choose to be honorable or dishonorable, but the canonical option is probably the former, shown by the way Arthur Morgan starts acting later in the game. There is very little cursing in this game, only spoken by a couple of people prominently.

This title contains:

Positive role models
Violence & scariness
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byNess2 February 19, 2019

Entertaining Game

Red Dead Redemption 2 is a good game with an entertaining plot. You play as Arthur Morgan, an anti-hero who tries to help out his gang with running away from the dangerous life they live in. They often rob and make enemies with rich people of the city. Arthur and his gang usually need to flee the city after a bank robbery or mission that would raise their bounty high. As far as sex is concern, a single scene exists where you can see a couple having sex. The scene isn't necessary to watch, and also can be avoided. Arthur and Dutch may be considered role models for their heroic actions for the gang. The problem is his heroic actions usually consist of robbing banks. A message that could be taken from RDR2 is to do whatever it takes to help out your family. The controls are difficult to use at first, but gradually, it becomes second nature. Aiming is easy, and auto-aim is on. Swearing is bad; sh*t is said occasionally, while f*ck is a little less common. A black man refers to himself as a n***er, and that is said only once in the entire game. Smoking and Alcohol: Cigars and cigarettes can be bought and smoked, and alcohol can also be consumed. 2 (if I remember correctly) scenes exist where Arthur gets drunk in the story. Arthur can get drunk if he consumes a large amount of alcohol. One city is owned by a man who is greedy and sets up the gang to kill them. He also owns a black market type of business.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Teen, 13 years old Written byLandonTheLizard February 13, 2019

Hear me out

Yes 12 may seem young but this is pretty much America's history. There isn't much sex in the game I bet your child watches porn all the time. Alcohol and Cigs and cussing is everywhere in todays society

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Ease of Play
Kid, 12 years old February 13, 2019

Best game ever

It is excellent. Amazingly acted characters and great storyline. There is a lot of violence Heads can be shot off and lots of shooting Stabbing and lassos. Smoking lots and drinking. There is a gum called cocaine gum. Some prostitutes may ask for assistance but the player can only decline or reject. Briefly naked shot of two people. Some language but not nearly As much as other games and films. Hateable characters (like Micah)

This title contains:

Positive role models
Ease of Play
Teen, 13 years old Written byShrek111 February 12, 2019

One of the best games you will play

First off the story, writing and music is some of the best I have ever seen, and I have played a lot of games. The game play and weapons are a bit repetitive but like I said the story, writing and music make up for any fault. This is a must buy for any good time

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Ease of Play
Violence & scariness
Teen, 13 years old Written byjackinthebox72 February 9, 2019

Nothing bad to say

Although it’s can be slightly dark and sad, this has to be my favourite game off all time, it has amazing characters that you get attached to and the story is fantastic , and that’s an understatement. All and all I think this is appropriate for mature middle aged teens.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Ease of Play
Teen, 14 years old Written bycharlie cat February 9, 2019

definitely not 9-, that's for sure

(if you don't read the whole thing skip closer to the end for important information) rdr2 is amazing. everything about it. the horses, graphics, story line and just the little things that your character can do make it a great experience. (drinking coffee, setting up a camp, breaking and selling wild horses) But i don't think 9- should be playing it. not just because of the violence, but also because there is some talk of sexual assault. (i heard a character named Lenny talk about how his mom. . . well. . .) it also is a very emotional experience during the story line. what with the leader of your gang going more and more crazy, and multiple favourite characters will die. idk, i just feel like watching a favourite character get shot would be. . to much for a younger child? Also, there is one cut scene that quite frankly could freak your kid right out. it happens during a cut scene where your gang leader takes you up into the balcony of a house. as you and he are talking, a horse walks into camp with something on its back. your gang leader will ask what it is, it will then show a close up of this thing. it's a fellow gang member. his head is cut off and he's in a position so that he can hold it in his own hands. he's visibly cut and scratched. it will also show a different character screaming in fright. he falls off the horse and a different gang ambushes you, starting a gunfight. (this happens in shady bell, so you can keep a closer eye on your kid during that point in the game. ) you should let them play it, but make sure they're mature.
Teen, 13 years old Written byIceeazy7 February 7, 2019

good game for back in time

There are a lot of games kids are exposed to like, violent/inappropriate. But, the game Red Dead Redemption 2. This game focuses on the old western times for example, cowboys, indians, sherif’s, gun fights, etc. in Red Dead Redemption 2 you are a cowboy and do all that action and can also learn about different tribes. There is no sex/nudity, however there are prostitutes and you can get your arms, legs and back scrubbed. The smoking/alcohol is not as bad as you may think, there is characters that smoke cigarettes and cigars. On the other hand there is a mission where you drink until your drunk. Players can also buy candy called “cocaine gum” which has stimulating effects. For consumerism you may buy gold bars for real world money which allowing players to buy upgrades. The language is words like the “f” bomb, “s” bomb, and because of the racist times the “n” word. Now, the violence is another thing you may be worried about, for example there is lims and gore flying everywhere, I know what your thinking, “why the hell would I want to let my kid play this game?” good question, this takes you back in time to a time where everyone was allowed to smoke in bars, no rodes and especially gun fights with the shariff. Now if you want your kid to know what real life is like, then let them be exposed to it.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written byZane G. February 5, 2019

Good

I think Common Sense Media should stop looking at the ESRB rating and actually do some research. You say you have "experts" but that is very hard to believe.

Pages