Kid reviews for Red Dead Redemption 2

Common Sense says

Outstanding Western adventure has very mature themes.
Based on our expert review

Parents say

age 12+
Based on 90 reviews

Kids say

age 13+
Based on 70 reviews
Kid, 12 years old December 24, 2018

16 and up

All there really is excessive swearing.

This title contains:

Language
Teen, 13 years old Written bydaaaniel December 24, 2018

Includes mild sexual content, violence, bad language, alcohol and drugs.

Although I do think that kids 13+ will be fine to play this game, I think it is more suited for audience who are 16+, as there are a lot of factors that would not be good for younger audience such as the sexual content, drugs and more. However, I don't think the game is that bad. Also the game is very expensive.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Consumerism
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written byodometer December 9, 2018

Amazing game, strong themes...

Being a Rockstar game, RDR2 is obviously not for kids, that being said, your child isn't going to hear anything worse in this game than they do at school every day. In fact, throughout the entire story, I only heard the n-word once. There is plenty of profanity, but everybody knows the swear words, they're not scary. The character you play as, Arthur Morgan, is an outlaw, and you do horrible things in almost every mission, but I don't think he's a bad role model. Morgan regrets everything he does wrong and feels empathy for the people he's hurt. If you choose to look in a mirror, Arthur will make a comment about how he hates himself. There is only one mission with nudity in it, and most people probably don't even notice it because you have to go to a specific location to find it. Other than that the only nudity is animal genitals, which are hard to see. The only thing I dislike about the game is that it starts out so slow and repetitive, although it picks up once you get to chapter 3. There is nothing too scary, except a few of the gangs in the game do some messed up stuff and it can be creepy. This game surprised and impressed me with its maturity. GTA V was chock-full of unnecessarily inappropriate moments and even the original Red Dead had some of those moments, but RDR2 has a perfect balance of serious story-telling and funny moments.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Violence & scariness
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written byJonathan Brugger December 4, 2018
This is a really good game i have never played the first one but i know the story of the first one.It is one of the best games i have played

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Ease of Play
Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written byCrustyCheese2 November 18, 2018

Best game ever. GOTY

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Ease of Play
Teen, 17 years old Written byadude November 14, 2018
Red Dead 2 is hard to review thanks to the fact that it's SO. BIG. There's so much stuff in this game I really think it was impossible for it to get a perfect rating out of me because to keep up consistent quality throughout this sixty hour behemoth of a game would be a feat of video game making genius heretofore unheard of. That being said, the amount of quality that it DOES manage to spread across the whole game is frankly stunning, and it is more than worth its price tag. Technical aspects such as graphics (jaw dropping) gameplay (hugely satisfying) and sound design (immersive) are nothing less than stellar. The world is fully realized, the animations are (mostly) seamless, and Rockstar made the very smart move of peppering the roads with random encounters to keep long horse rides from getting boring. However not every aspect of the technology is revolutionary. A couple of the new systems are annoying, especially the food one wherein you must watch your weight by eating regularly but there's no way of telling when Arthur is hungry, so you're forced to just guess and randomly eat stuff in the hopes it'll all balance out. The story dips in quality in chapter five, and the epilogue is quite simply boring. All of these issues, though, are blown out of the water by the bulk of the story. Character development is methodical and beautiful, the tale of loneliness, morality, and loyalty is expertly woven. The characters are vibrant and complex, and you will be on the edge of your seat, even through the less than stellar parts you'll be compelled to keep playing just to see what happens. Honestly, there's so much more to talk about in this game because it's so big: the sidequests, themes, combat, traversal, clothing, there's so much stuff one review could never encapsulate all that this game is so I've tried to keep it down to what really stood out to me as good and bad. The language is a little rough and there's some innuendo, but the violence is surprisingly tame. There's blood, sure, but nothing graphic (unless you shoot someone in the head with a shotgun), to be honest, if anything's going to keep younger teens to tweens from playing it it would be the themes, which are heavy and dark. Even aside from that there is still stuff to love in this game, it's got a little something for everyone and is well worth your time thanks to its technical and storytelling successes that outweigh their failures.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Language
Teen, 13 years old Written byMr. Cookie November 14, 2018

AWESOME GAMING EXPIERIENCE!

Its an awesome old west game, the story is amazing it has some brutality but it aint that bad. Graphics are awesome too. I personnaly played it and i can say 100% its for kids of 9 years or above SORRY FOR BAD ENGLISH

This title contains:

Positive role models
Ease of Play
Teen, 15 years old Written bymdub1303 November 8, 2018

Great game for mature teens

Read dead redemption 2 should not be put in the same category as gta v. The only thing it should be rated m for the language and thats it. And its no different than some pg 13 movies i watch. If there was a rating in between T and M, this game would be what that is. As for the violence, its not that bad unless you go searching for it. If u just play the game normally its totally fine. Also a lot of people say how you can kill innocent people but its not glorified in any way and you get punished for it, unlike gta. The only "sexual content" is a clothed woman scrubbing you if you pay extra for a deluxe bath, but its not sexual at all and its optional. As for nudity you can see horse testicles and there might be male nudity but in a non sexual way. Again, its no worse than what you see in movies and the best part is, all of these things are optional. So i think that 15 is a good age for this game.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Violence & scariness
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byG3TTSN1P3D November 6, 2018

Great game or non phsycopathic kids

It is great u should get it

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Ease of Play
Teen, 14 years old Written byHhfagag October 29, 2018

Pages