All member reviews for Red Faction: Guerrilla

Common Sense Media says

Sci-fi shooter tackles tricky topic in terrorism.

Users say

(out of 32 reviews)
age 12+
Review this title!
Parent of a 12 and 14 year old Written byKevin Quire November 27, 2009

for older teens

This game is not violent at all. Basically you just walk around crushing broken parts and shooting martians. The only problem is the language. My fourteen year old loves this game and I allow my twelve year old to play it occasionally.
Parent Written byChojun January 2, 2012

Caution for younger players

This is a great game. The official review didn't touch enough on the language. It is not over-the-top, as it occurs as it naturally would during very tense situations (civilians cursing when shootouts occur in their area, etc.). However, the bad guys in this game have very strong language directed at the player (f-word, including m*****f*****). The violence isn't too bad, since as the review indicates, the vast majority of it is directed at buildings/infrastructure/etc. However, the player is rewarded for violence against people (bad-guys via kill-streaks) and at least one misson requires the capture of a bad-guy so that he can be tortured for information by a different in-game character. The sense of danger is lessened and desensitized by the fact that when the player is killed, he respawns at a base camp and the player suffers only a very minor penalty. The good-guys and bad-guys are very clear cut and the bad guys are REALLY bad (whereas the good-guys have noble intentions). Younger players will get an idea of what it means to fight for one's freedom and liberties and will get to experience the effects of propaganda.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Parent of a 12 year old Written bypanckaes223 March 7, 2010
My second favorite game quite violent
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Adult Written bykathy221 December 4, 2009

good for 10+

This game isn't too bloody or violent, and the language is not terrible. It's a great game for anyone over 10.
Kid, 11 years old January 20, 2011
This game is not M! it is just violent there are no bad words except h--l is said once
What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 13 years old Written bymorebetterful February 21, 2010

Great fun game!

This game is great! i can not figure out, for the life of me, why they rated it "no kids". Its less violent then halo, theres hardly any blood, and language is used infrequently. The best part about this game is that everything is destructible! I'm 13 but my 10 year old neighbor plays it fine.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Adult Written byTwilight June 30, 2009

Endless destruction on Mars..Woo Hoo!

Red Faction Guerilla takes place on Mars, and you play as a character who's brother was killed by the EDF (Earth Defense Force) and is exacting his revenge. The EDF eventually label him as a member of the Red Faction (A Group of people who are trying to liberate themselves from EDF rule). Seeing that you have no other options you join the Red Faction and help them liberate Mars. Red Factions graphics aren't something that will make you say "WOW! THAT's AMAZING!!" but they still have an appealing look to them. Most of Mars is pretty barren (but what can you expect on Mars?) with an a few buildings here and there. Almost Everything on Mars is destructible, if you can see it it can probably be blasted into oblivion by the innumerable weapons at your disposal. Buildings collapse in a satisfying manner, cars explode, helicopters crash, bridges collapse, tanks of fuel explode into greenish firework like displays, and the best thing of all is almost every vehicle can be controlled by the player (Much like Grand Theft Auto). Killing EDF members results in a splatter of blood on whatever they are standing by (Be it the Floor, wall, car etc..), characters occasionally drop the "F-Bomb" and you will hear words like "D*mn, A*s, B*stard" throughout. As with all online games you will get the annoying person who thinks Cursing makes them cooler (But that's what the mute buttons for), overall the community is quite otherwise. Buildings in online play can also be destroyed, while gleefully destroying these buildings you may notice that sometimes the buildings "Lagg". In other words, when you hit the building with a sledgehammer it may take a few seconds for you to actually see the effect. Another downside to Online play is that you can't control ANY vehicles, yup, no vehicles. They do give you "Packs" to make up for this though ( I can't remember their names so I won't list them). If you love destroying anything you can get your hands on then you MUST BUY this game.
Adult Written bysparky481 October 20, 2009

i hate this site sometimes

um first this review is horrible "OH online play poses a risk of personal information to be said in open chat" u know teens and pre-teens are not dumb its not like "hey uh new person i dont know who is most likely older than me here is my address" and oh my god terrorism hes fighting oppression like the patriots in the revolutionary war our ancestors were no different. also cigarettes most people smoke cigarettes like parents of children so overall its a great game but i hate this review HATE in capital letters
What other families should know
Great messages
Teen, 13 years old Written byRubberducky7 June 17, 2010
This definitly shouldnt be M, there is a small amount of blood when you kill people but the game is all about demolition; placing charges on the weak points, destroying military buildings stragically, and since you are extremely outguned, avoiding fighting the soldiers. Wether or not it was justified is sligtly debatable, it says in the game that mining on Mars was vital to the Earths economy and without it Earth would be doomed, but the goverment was extremely opressive
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 15 years old Written bycross_breed June 8, 2010
This game is pretty fun. It's a nice little distraction while waiting for better games, and it's only 20 dollars, so, you know, why not? The ridiculously over rated M rating is ridiculous. The game is not bloody though bloodstains do appear on bodies and on walls. It's really about blowing things up. Which is a blast (pun intended). There is an F word maybe once every three hours. If you buy this game, you will definitely enjoy it. Just don't expect a story, or compelling characters, or anything like that.
Teen, 14 years old Written byJasonr May 29, 2010

Just Okay...

This game is fun, and blowing stuff up is addicting. But than I got bored and there was nothing else for me to do other than run around a red planet. This game is a little violent, with blood splats, but the game is in third person so you don't get a good veiw of the blood. You can kill civillians, but you get punished. (You can lose ammo) The worst part of the game is that one of your main weapons is a sledgehammer, but it's mostly used for destroying buildings.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Kid, 12 years old January 23, 2010

No Kids... are you kidding me

first I love this game. it is the most stress releasing game ever. But it is definitely for kids. The only bad thing is there is a little blood when you shoot a guy and theres a little swearing. But any where over kids ten hear why worse in school (or at least for me). But this is definitely for kids over ten
Teen, 17 years old Written byHopeless July 1, 2009
Just like "Twilight" said "Endless destruction on mars woo hoo" seriously, what could be better then placing mines, shooting rockets and smashing buildings apart with a sledgehammer?..Controls are pretty smooth as far as ive experienced and the graphics are great, as for the concerns, Violence is the primary one as far as i can see, you can hit guys with sledgehammers, blow them up, shoot them etc etc..blood is seen on bodies and on the floor though nothing overly graphic or horrifying, language is heard but it isnt just random "F bombs" to fill in the dialogue nor is it overly strong, the online seems to lag slightly when you hit buildings with your sledgehammer but mars has never looked so good!.One thing i dont understand, this jacob dude says your killing aliens...uhh...unless people are now a different species im not aware of any alien life being killed..just guys in brown and blue uniforms..
What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 14 years old Written byEnglishPenguin March 19, 2016

Open world game is explosive, tactical, and possibly difficult.

Red Faction is a fast based game where you play the role of a guerrilla soldier. The point of the game is basically the same as Just Cause 2, destroy as much tyrannic government property as you can without dying. The game adds some refreshing changes to the common open world game such as, a moral bar, territory control, and a fantastic ability to destroy any thing man made. The violence is not too noticeable but exists, though the enemy is a heartless government nicknamed "drones" The swearing is there, but extremely mild compared to call of duty or black flag. Overall the game is quite worth the $4 you have to spend to buy it used at gamestop.
Parent Written byParentbobblob May 7, 2015

Omg! Best game of 2009!

This game focuses on a destruction system not killing. It's setting is on Mars . If you like destroying buildings. GET THIS GAME TODAY!!!!!!!
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written bycerealkiller189 March 23, 2012

Not very bad,lots of blood though.

Got this game for Xbox long ago can't remember not that bad but lots of violence and blood If your teen can handle it,though let them play don't see any problem except that your teen might become obsessed with the game.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 13 years old Written bymr dr man4 December 19, 2010
Teen, 13 years old Written bylsudude December 8, 2010
Teen, 13 years old Written byyay8899 January 22, 2010

perfect for those who like a mix of gta 4 and crysis(kinda)

i love this game. its a mix of the freedom of choice and exploring like in gta 4 and the destruction and physics of crysis. the only problem keeping it from a near teen rating is the language
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written by3choices December 12, 2009

"Not for kids" !!! What is this website on about !!!

Firstly id like 2 say HE'S NOT A TERRORIST!!!! He's a hero fighting a violent corrupt government. He is sticking up for himself and others which in my mind is a great role model. He also regrets killing people but does it for the greater good. If it didnt have the swearing in i think it could pass for a 12+ game. The only down side to this game is the online swearing but this can be avoded via changeing the consoles security settings. Overall there is little wrong with this game.
What other families should know
Great role models

Pages