All member reviews for Saints Row: The Third

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Kids say

(out of 62 reviews)
AGE
12
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Teen, 14 years old Written byxgamerbrox July 3, 2015
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Saints Row: The Third

This game has sex and violence! SEX, LOTS of references to B.D.S.M, Tons of sexual references, you can pimp... VIOLENCE, you can shoot anyone you want like in games such as grand theft auto, a lot of blood and gore. LANGUAGE, F#ck is used about 6 times, ass is used countless, bitch is used 20 times... Barely any drugs or alcohol. If saints row 3 was a movie it would be rated R for language, bloody violence and sex
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 17 years old Written bylewiswoodhall May 31, 2015
AGE
17
QUALITY
 
This game is very mature. The creators of this game have a crude sense of humor. There is a lot of crude humor in this game. As well as crude language, sexual content and violence. This is a very fun game, it is similar to the Grand Theft Auto series.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Kid, 12 years old April 25, 2015
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Mature comedy alternative to the drama of GTA 4

Saints Row 3 is a gangsta parody comedy game in the style of GTA. It earns its M rating, but I feels if a movie was made it would be PG-13. The game features stylised and over the top violence, not serious and realistic violence like GTA 4. The sex is a big issue, walking around you can often see dildos, and you can even use one as a sword. It's pretty funny, but very crude. The game has BDSM themes throughout, but sex is never shown on screen. No explicit drug content, surprisingly. Frequent F bombs are there as expected. All up, good game, be cautious though.
What other families should know
Easy to play/use
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 17 years old Written bybobogriffin April 3, 2015
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

NOT ALL THAT BAD

What other families should know
Easy to play/use
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 11 years old January 26, 2015
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Good Game

This game is a fun open world shooter in third person. It looks more like a movie than you actually doing the actions. Most children above 11 should be okay playing this game. What parents should know is that there are possible cheats to turn all the pedestrians into "zombies" or "pimps and hoes". Women in tight clothing can be found around steelport and the words f--k, s--t, and a--hole are heard quite often. No nudity is shown but players can be naked, however this results in a blurred private areas. There is an option to make people explode into a pool of blood when you kill them, but the blood is pretty unrealistic. You should talk to your kid about how wrong it is to kill innocent people and police officers before they play the game. I hope this review helped.
What other families should know
Easy to play/use
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Kid, 12 years old January 17, 2015
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

A hilarious game, some mature content though

Saints Row 3 is not really a kids game, but it actually seems to be gearing in that direction, at least for an M game. Quite a bit of non-sexual humor, although quite a bit of sexual stuff too. The game features a giant dildo as a weapon, not to explicit. Some missions take place in a BDSM club with strippers and sex slaves, however it does not glorify this. Some women are seen in tight dresses, and prostitutes on the streets. Language is not as bad as I expected. F bombs are scattered around, not used too frequently in cutscenes. Violence is moderate, a few blood splatters. Some weapons cause victims corpses to explode, some finishing moves include exploding heads. Barely any drug content. All up this is not that bad, probably okay for a mature 10 year old.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 15 years old Written bytomogutu100 August 11, 2014
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

REALLY FOR ADULTS, ATTRACTS OLDER TEENS

This game per say is really mature. the violence in the game has blood, but its not to realistic, but extreme. You can use anyone as a human shield or you can bite their neck. when you use a chainsaw blood spurts every where. Language is quite frequent in the game like F#ck and used frequently and other uses of profanity. There is no main concern in drugs. Sexual content is a big issue.one weapon you can use is a dildo. You can choose to walk around naked, female or male but no genitals are visible. One mission requires you to go to a sex-slaved house full of pornographic material and machines. There is a mode called "Whored Mode" where you beat up woman. The game is really not for children. anyone under 15 shouldn't really be playing it. But over all I liked the game, not as edgy as GTA, a fun game because its not as dark as GTA as well. if you know that this is a game abo
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written byJackiepoo August 10, 2014
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Saints Row The Third

I am a mother of 2. A 13 year old and a 10 year old. When I bought this game for Christmas, I was a little worried. I saw reviews on this website that we positive and negative. I took a gamble and bought it. I watched him play and the only sexual content I saw were people kissing and cleavage on girls with bikinis on. The language can be a little harsh, but is no different then my other son's game, Battlefield 3 I think it is. The drug reference is just some punks smoking and people drinking. I think I remember hearing a reference to drugs once, but that's it. The nudity, which I think is unnecessary, is you can make your player nude. It is blurred out and I did gasp when I saw it at first glance, but I don't think its necessary. The blood and gore is at a real minimum. I saw him use a weapon where the person exploded but that was the only case. Finally the intense violence is the same is all the other violent games he has. You should get this game for him or her if they know not to do this stuff. Hope this helped!
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byReviewPreview June 19, 2014
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

No sex in story mode

I got the game for free because of xbox live gold (free games every month) there's no sex in story mode and no nudity. I finished the story and there's no sex in it at all! The only mission that was kinda innaporite was the mission where you save Zimo. bits that's it and every things all blured when there is nudity that to to knowledge
Kid, 12 years old June 17, 2014
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

Good game.

The nudity is censored, language, collectable sex dolls and stashes, plus violence and a dash of wit, I would say 16+ not 18+. Ending mission asks a question: Save Shauna or Kill Eddie? Friendship or revenge? You decide.
What other families should know
Easy to play/use
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Teen, 13 years old Written byWill Tuscher June 13, 2014
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Great for teens!

Usually as a boy turns into a teen he experiences different things happening to him. His sense of humor and what he wants to see also changes. This game is a perfect solution for GTA and the humor in this game is what teen boys love and there are many jokes and lots of action. I completed the game and found it to be surprisingly more appropriate then what I thought it would be.
What other families should know
Easy to play/use
Too much swearing
Teen, 17 years old Written byrh731_ June 3, 2014
AGE
13
QUALITY
 
I played through the story of this game in a few days. The game isn't fully complete yet, though. You get to 100% by buying all of the places and doing all of the activities. The story is very, very fun and I really enjoyed it. A few of the missions involve "shady deals", and some involve prostitution. In one mission you have to go into a strip club to interrogate a man, and some of the rooms are full of sex toys. In a set of side activities, two people have sex in the back of you're car. You don't see anything, but you can hear it. There are also a lot of mature humor. It's insanely funny, but you'd need to be more on the sexually educated side to find this game fully humorous. But let's be real, all of today's teens will get it. You can make you're (fully customizable) character naked. The nooks and crannies are all blurred out, though. There are some naked statues scattered throughout the city of Steelport, and you can get a tattoo of a nude she-devil but nothing is really that detailed. There is only one accessible strip club, and there's no full nudity or any sexual acts. The characters can have inappropriate taunts or swear when they crash their cars, but it's nothing everyone doesn't hear every day. The worst thing they say is the "F" bomb. I know that by what you've heard so far, you think this is a terrible game, but it's really not that bad, and you don't have to play the campaign if you don't want your child to. The violence is heavy, but if you fully trust your child it's a great game.
What other families should know
Easy to play/use
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Teen, 17 years old Written bykvac May 28, 2014
AGE
2
QUALITY
 
I am 17 and just purchased this game a few weeks ago. While it is a lot of fun and i enjoy playing it, this game is not for children. You can dress your avatar anyway you want, including giving your self a skimpy bikini, g string, or even make yourself completely naked, with the private parts being only slightly blurred out. You can run around beating people to death with a giant purple dildo. There are prostitutes walking around all over the city. One mission early in the game is to infiltrate a BDSM (Bondage and discipline, dominance and submission, sadism and masochism) club, basically a club dedicated to violent sex, and your job is to interrogate several men and women who are in the process of performing all kinds of explicit sexual acts. As for the cursing, this game has a seemingly endless supply of random, and often creative obscenities shouted at random, every time you do something. If your child is young enough that they need your permission to buy this game (basically anybody under 17) do not give them permission. If you dont believe me, look up some youtube videos containing Saints Row the Third gameplay. Did i mention there is an option called sexual appeal, where you can make your boobs or penis (whichever the case may be) any size you want?
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 12 years old May 28, 2014
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

Saints Row The third

I love playing my xbox. I have tons of games. My favorite types are shooting games. I love playing MW3 and battlefield4. I saw this saints row for free and I got it. After one day there was overdosed cussing. Also sexual themes and content. It had more violence than any other shooting game. After another day I realized that this game is definitely not for kids. It is completely inappropriate.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Safety and privacy concerns
Kid, 11 years old May 12, 2014
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Saints Row The Third

I Think the game is fine I mean Im 10 and I have recently bought it is just fake mature kids should play this game if there not stupid enough to do this stuff in real life.
What other families should know
Great messages
Teen, 14 years old Written by0mgitzsniperbunny April 7, 2014
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Ok for mature kids

This game is a sandbox so it's action/adventure. It has blood but it's really fake. Also weapons like guns and that stuff and drugs. There are hookers that walk around at night and a row of clubs in the first mission on the ground. There are a lot of "ratchet" people and bikinis and cleave age but no intercourse. This game is alright for a mentally mature person as long as you tell them these things are not acceptable in the real world and they could be severely punished for any such actions.
What other families should know
Easy to play/use
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written byAlejandro Diehl February 14, 2014
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

Ehh

The game I guess was good but its really crude and inappropriate and is definitely marked Mature for a reason.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Safety and privacy concerns
Teen, 14 years old Written bySr1 January 27, 2014
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Great game. mature themes.

This game isn't that bad its about the saints taking down rival gangs and a anti gang organization (who end up being the actual bad guys) to help the people you aren't as much of a gang as you are the good guys. The gangs and the anti gang organization (stag) try to harm the citizens and over take the city. In this game the saints fight ti free the city from the gangs and stag they dont fight to take it iver they fight ti free it and get the respect of citizens. The violence is over the top full if fun animations and combat and a ton if explosions. Language isn't to bad turn off the voice volume then its only in cut scenes but still has many f bombs if you skip the cut scenes you wont really understand the game but you can just free roam and have a good time. Sex is only implied nudity is girls in bikinis/bras at two party's that dont last long. Its also in two missions where you have to save girls frim beingsold as sex slaves and put a stop to human trafficking (I find this awesome since I hate the idea of human trafficking) drugs aren't a problem they are just mentioned. All in all I love this game because you free a city from bad people who want to hurt it. There is iver the top action but its in good fun the only thing ti look out fir is language but if you dint want your child introduced to sex drugs and violence yet even if it is for good then dont get it for them or play it first. Sorry this isn't written well but I hope you get the point.
What other families should know
Great messages
Easy to play/use
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Kid, 10 years old October 13, 2013
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

you can turn things off

its a great game for kids 10 and up.you can turn off all the coarse language,blood and sexual stuff
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 14 years old Written byCWG1 September 27, 2013
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Funny, and Great Game...... I think a mature 12 year old can handle it.

Funny,and Violent game that will tickle the fancy of many gamer's, but may contain to much sexual content and violence for the younger-ones. There is violence that is rather comical and not horribly gory, but there are some weapons that you can use that create some gore. There is sexual content such as a bondage costume and a big sex toy used as a weapon which is played for laughs. There are some scenes where you are at a BDSM club, and you see people dressed and acting weird. Some implications to sex in which there is rocking of cars. Characters can get a sex change, not shown. Some of the prostitutes and strippers wear suggestive and revealing clothing. You have the ability to streak, but is censored and is comical. There are references to drugs, and some people drink alcohol. There is strong frequent language typical for a game like this, but there scene of nudity in which the genitals are blurred on a big man, but his but is visible, but this is non-sexual and made to be humours. Really Mature 12. Suggested MPAA- R: Scenes Of Strong Comical Gang Related Violence, Reckless Behavior, Pervasive Language, Crude and Sexual Content, Drug References, and Some Nudity.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking

Pages