All member reviews for Saints Row: The Third

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Common Sense Media says

Violent open-world crime adventure earns its mature rating.

Age(i)

NOT FOR KIDS

Quality(i)

 

Learning(i)

Users say

(out of 106 reviews)
AGE
12
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Kid, 10 years old February 2, 2012
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

NOT FOR KIDS

there is a lot of curses such as the f-bomb and s--t they drink alcohol smoke and do drugs they visit stripper bars and you can hear sounds of intercourse
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byKank July 2, 2013
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

Dont bother looking at the age limit!

I don't get this age limits in games... At least half of the kids on the planet that have videogames have at least 1 game they isnt old enough to play... So why do some people just look at the age limit and put it away, Thats insane... just sayin. Believe me its ok for 10 and above... Just check so the kids dont take it too seriosly.
Parent of a 12 and 15 year old Written byParentof2gamers February 18, 2013
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Parents are too protective

Saints Row 3 is overall a great game. A lot of people including parents are so protective of their kids playing violent games like Grand Theft Auto and Saints Row that it is pretty pathetic. But I still think there should be an age limit on video games like this, specifically kids about 13 or 14 since they already know about all of the sex, drugs and all of that stuff which will not scare them or disturb them. I think kids should deserve a little freedom in which games they want to play and not be severely limited by their parents. Some parents also think that video games like this are the cause of teenagers smoking, drinking, or having sex and not being of age to do so. The real cause of all of that is really just other teenagers who were born with anger problems or grew up without their parents teaching them right or wrong convincing others to do so, and it goes on and on and on. Swearing is also not a main concern. Swearing may not be a big deal unless your child has a bad habit of it. I do not allow swearing in my household with exceptions of the words "Hell" or "Frickin" as long as they do not say it repeatedly. Your kids will also be swearing and doing stuff like having sex and maybe even drink or smoke a little bit when they are older and they already know about this stuff now. As a parent myself I do not see a big problem with games like these. My 12 year old and 15 year old son play Grand Theft Auto games together in multiplayer on the computer or the xbox with me watching them sometimes. Our xbox is in the living room and both of my teens have their computers in the "computer room" so my husband and I can always keep an eye on them.
What other families should know
Safety and privacy concerns
Parent Written byworriedmom1232 December 28, 2012
AGE
12
QUALITY
 
LEARNING

NOTHING TO BE WORRIED ABOUT

I bought this game for my 12 year old and was worried. I watched him play and the partial nudity and sexual content is mainly the cleavage seen in the game. As for the violence and language it is in a cartoon style so is not much to be worried about, if you have a child 12 and up it is ok because it is nothing like grand theft auto and other crass games like that.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Parent Written bydads advise 101 March 3, 2012
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Saints Row The Third a great game

this game has many great and bad qualites.I use to be a gamer until i got married.Then it changed into finding good games for my two kids. this game has alot of violence in it but that isnt really a big deal for me or my kids.there is some nudity in it but your kid choses to do that or not.If your kids are like mine then they just want the good adventure game to play on.I think this game is a good game.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written bylionman718 January 5, 2012
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

trolll

I started playing M rated games a long time ago, but some of them were bad for kids but this ones a life that kids can see what happens when they get into gangs and what will happen to them make them think that if they where in this game they where the ppl they were shooting the only real bad thing is the language in some cut seens
What other families should know
Educational value
Too much swearing
Parent Written bysmartasain4427 May 17, 2014
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Saints Row The Third

This is literally one of the best games ive ever played. If your a parent, like me, and you really want your kid playing grand theft auto or stuff like that, let them play this. Similar to grand theft auto, you can drive on the streets and run people over and stuff, but other than that its all just goofy and stupid fun. The blood isnt to bad, but if your kid has played something like assassins creed or skyrim, this is fine. The sexual stuff is pretty bad, but a good thing about this is that is all can be easily avoided, and even if your kid does do a "sexual" thing, its not any worse that a pg-13 movie. The only area that would possibly concern a parent here would be the language. There is a bit of language in this game. its mostly words like a**, pu**y, sh*t, and d*ck with minimal use of the f word. Going back to the sexual stuff, it is a little worse than a pg-13 movie, but other than that this game it completely weird and goofy. The one thing that I forgot would be the violence. The violence inst bad at all. its like any other third person shooter, with some goofy melee attacks. By goofy I mean like a ball kick or a face slap. 10/10 stars.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 17 years old Written byTheTrillionaire November 24, 2012
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

AWESOME GAME !!

The Best Saints Row I ever Played!! Off= 2-9 Pause= 10-12 On= 13+
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Safety and privacy concerns
Kid, 12 years old October 22, 2012
AGE
2
QUALITY
 
LEARNING

Perfect for all ages!

Perfect in every single way!Over the course of the 8 hour game your child will learn everything ever!
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 15 years old Written byMW3Master June 18, 2012
AGE
11
QUALITY
 
LEARNING

GREAT GAME

The game is pretty good. The language is kinda bad but the language in the game I've heard before in movies and TV shows. The sexual content is not bad just some women in bikini which women wear at pools and beach. The drugs and drinking in the game are not shown.Violence is fake and cartoonish. Blood looks like red paint. its not as graphic as saints row 2, and its nothing GTA its more fun and doesnt have as much blood and sexual content as GTA. Its not real and parents if u think its bad, and it has filter on all the Rated M Games so u can turn off any thing u like language, blood, sexual content, and drugs. so it makes Rated M better for kids to play. J
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written byDefBun May 26, 2012
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

ESRB does not know your OWN children

c'mon people if you really want to know how inappropriate a game is read a parent review. and when i say this i mean not the crazy "o my BABY this kills the minds of kids" but one that gives the reasons on both sides and then use your own instinct. I repeat own because only you know your own child. Know my personal belief (I am 13). Ok so saints has a very mild amount of non-humorous sexual theme. And drug refrence, drinking, e.t.c kids already know what all these things and a kid who can realize there are consequences for these activities should be able to play it. To summarize depending on there natural maturity i believe the push would be 11. P.S ESRB have became an unreliable source thats why there are many sites like this.
What other families should know
Safety and privacy concerns
Kid, 12 years old February 2, 2012
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

fun

i havent played but i have watched my brother play and its funny but kinda inappropriate like swinging a gaint d*ldo around but except that its a fine game for 12-13 years of age and above but a mature 12 year old
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Parent Written byamerican dad January 21, 2012
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

As long as your kids are mature

At first i was skeptical of this game so we rented it. After a week the only problems i discovered were some language and mild sexual references. As long as you talk to your kids and they understand that language is not acceptable(there is also an option to turn off dialogue) and learn to ignore sexual references I think its ok for anybody that can handle this in a mature way. Plus its alot of fun over the top action.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Kid, 12 years old April 25, 2015
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Mature comedy alternative to the drama of GTA 4

Saints Row 3 is a gangsta parody comedy game in the style of GTA. It earns its M rating, but I feels if a movie was made it would be PG-13. The game features stylised and over the top violence, not serious and realistic violence like GTA 4. The sex is a big issue, walking around you can often see dildos, and you can even use one as a sword. It's pretty funny, but very crude. The game has BDSM themes throughout, but sex is never shown on screen. No explicit drug content, surprisingly. Frequent F bombs are there as expected. All up, good game, be cautious though.
What other families should know
Easy to play/use
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 17 years old Written bybobogriffin April 3, 2015
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

NOT ALL THAT BAD

What other families should know
Easy to play/use
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 11 years old January 26, 2015
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Good Game

This game is a fun open world shooter in third person. It looks more like a movie than you actually doing the actions. Most children above 11 should be okay playing this game. What parents should know is that there are possible cheats to turn all the pedestrians into "zombies" or "pimps and hoes". Women in tight clothing can be found around steelport and the words fu**, sh**, and a**hole are heard quite often. No nudity is shown but players can be naked, however this results in a blurred private areas. There is an option to make people explode into a pool of blood when you kill them, but the blood is pretty unrealistic. You should talk to your kid about how wrong it is to kill innocent people and police officers before they play the game. I hope this review helped.
What other families should know
Easy to play/use
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Kid, 12 years old January 17, 2015
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

A hilarious game, some mature content though

Saints Row 3 is not really a kids game, but it actually seems to be gearing in that direction, at least for an M game. Quite a bit of non-sexual humor, although quite a bit of sexual stuff too. The game features a giant dildo as a weapon, not to explicit. Some missions take place in a BDSM club with strippers and sex slaves, however it does not glorify this. Some women are seen in tight dresses, and prostitutes on the streets. Language is not as bad as I expected. F bombs are scattered around, not used too frequently in cutscenes. Violence is moderate, a few blood splatters. Some weapons cause victims corpses to explode, some finishing moves include exploding heads. Barely any drug content. All up this is not that bad, probably okay for a mature 10 year old.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Parent Written bynoahg1 January 14, 2015
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Pretty good game!

Now I am going to be completely honest this game does have some content that is a little bit, "iffy". Your character can be completely nude (though it is blocked out), there is a weapon that is male genitalia on a bat, it has detail and physics. There are missions where you must go into a "club" and you meet a character who is also a pimp. Once you meet him you must do a bunch of missions involving prostitutes and other things along those lines. Honestly even with that, I would give it to a child who is 12, 13 or older. They don't say anything to sexual, though there a lot of curse words, but nothing diffrent from your run of the mill Call of Duty. The sexual themes aren't too bad, while yes there are all those things I just mentioned, the weapon, if your child is mature shouldn't be a big problem. They don't have to use it. The mission inside the club is not to graphic. And the partial nudity... is just women in tight clothing. So nothing really too bad. If you are not to happy with the sexual-ness, I would get this game probably for 15 and older.
Parent Written byJesusFan101 December 26, 2014
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Only the best!

WELL THIS GAME IS THE BEST FOR MY CHILDREN ABSOLUTELY NO VIOLENCE AND SUCH GOOD CHARACTERS THIS GAME PRESENTS A TRUE MODEL FOR THE NEXT GENERATION OF HONEST HARD WORKING WHITE CHRISTIAN CHILDREN
What other families should know
Great messages
Easy to play/use
Too much consumerism
Teen, 15 years old Written bytomogutu100 August 11, 2014
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

REALLY FOR ADULTS, ATTRACTS OLDER TEENS

This game per say is really mature. the violence in the game has blood, but its not to realistic, but extreme. You can use anyone as a human shield or you can bite their neck. when you use a chainsaw blood spurts every where. Language is quite frequent in the game like F#ck and used frequently and other uses of profanity. There is no main concern in drugs. Sexual content is a big issue.one weapon you can use is a dildo. You can choose to walk around naked, female or male but no genitals are visible. One mission requires you to go to a sex-slaved house full of pornographic material and machines. There is a mode called "Whored Mode" where you beat up woman. The game is really not for children. anyone under 15 shouldn't really be playing it. But over all I liked the game, not as edgy as GTA, a fun game because its not as dark as GTA as well. if you know that this is a game abo
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking

Pages