All member reviews for Saints Row: The Third

Common Sense Media says

Violent open-world crime adventure earns its mature rating.
 

Users say

(out of 97 reviews)
age 13+
 
Review this title!
Kid, 12 years old October 22, 2012
age 2+
 
LEARNING

Perfect for all ages!

Perfect in every single way!Over the course of the 8 hour game your child will learn everything ever!
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written byDefBun May 26, 2012
age 13+
 

ESRB does not know your OWN children

c'mon people if you really want to know how inappropriate a game is read a parent review. and when i say this i mean not the crazy "o my BABY this kills the minds of kids" but one that gives the reasons on both sides and then use your own instinct. I repeat own because only you know your own child. Know my personal belief (I am 13). Ok so saints has a very mild amount of non-humorous sexual theme. And drug refrence, drinking, e.t.c kids already know what all these things and a kid who can realize there are consequences for these activities should be able to play it. To summarize depending on there natural maturity i believe the push would be 11. P.S ESRB have became an unreliable source thats why there are many sites like this.
What other families should know
Safety and privacy concerns
Kid, 12 years old February 2, 2012
age 12+
 

fun

i havent played but i have watched my brother play and its funny but kinda inappropriate like swinging a gaint d*ldo around but except that its a fine game for 12-13 years of age and above but a mature 12 year old
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Parent Written byamerican dad January 21, 2012
age 13+
 

As long as your kids are mature

At first i was skeptical of this game so we rented it. After a week the only problems i discovered were some language and mild sexual references. As long as you talk to your kids and they understand that language is not acceptable(there is also an option to turn off dialogue) and learn to ignore sexual references I think its ok for anybody that can handle this in a mature way. Plus its alot of fun over the top action.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Kid, 11 years old July 8, 2015
age 12+
 

Not exactly a good babysitter...

This game is quite obviously isn't made for younger kids, but my 16 year old sister got me to play it on my computer... there are a few gross sex things, where you escort people in cars... and you could hear them saying... uhh... very strange things... but I've completed the entire game, and enjoyed it, for the same reason everyone else does, if your kid knows it's not real and this isn't something they should do, then it's fine. It's quite humorous with missions such as driving a tiger around town, insurance fraud by throwing yourself into traffic, and other things. I was comfortable playing the game, and that was my review.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Teen, 14 years old Written byxgamerbrox July 3, 2015
age 12+
 

Saints Row: The Third

This game has sex and violence! SEX, LOTS of references to B.D.S.M, Tons of sexual references, you can pimp... VIOLENCE, you can shoot anyone you want like in games such as grand theft auto, a lot of blood and gore. LANGUAGE, F#ck is used about 6 times, ass is used countless, bitch is used 20 times... Barely any drugs or alcohol. If saints row 3 was a movie it would be rated R for language, bloody violence and sex
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Parent Written byckmnscjn June 5, 2015
age 11+
 

Good game

very fun. aliens slaughter animated blood not realistic. Playable for 11 and up. don't worry about this game.
What other families should know
Great messages
Adult Written byasdfdf June 5, 2015
age 10+
 

My son had fun!

I'm a christian parent, Flat out this is the reason this is M. Playdough blood, alien killing, super powers blood when you hit the ground. I swear this game has the same amount of violence as the avengers! 11 and up!!!!
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Easy to play/use
Adult Written byjnjnjnjnjnd June 5, 2015
age 11+
 

Weird, weird.....

I'v always not liked violence.... But then aliens come and try to destry the human race OMG!!!!! Saints row = unrealistic. Guns = Music gun, ice cream gun, baseball gun, bubble gun. That's not the weird part super powers are. Have FUN jumping out of a jet at 4000ft and not dying. LOL I enjoyed watching my son play this. 11 and up!!!!
What other families should know
Great role models
Adult Written bymrSan263 June 5, 2015
age 11+
 

OK game (fake)

if you want a realistic violent game you won't find it in saints row it has a ton of super powers and alien fights, if you like the halo and alien theme then buy this game has blood when you kill aliens. not too violent at all. Free roam is okay. This is an M game. it has partial nudity because your character (male) has under wear on. GIVE ME A BREAK!!!! age appropriate for 11 and up. good luck having a ton of fun. Minor note (fake).
What other families should know
Great role models
Adult Written byharoograndma212 June 5, 2015
age 11+
 

Saints row the THIRD

PLOT : Alien portal opens city needs saving THE SAINTS ARE BACK!!!!. VIOLENCE: 5/10 shooting aliens (animated blood). REALISM: FAKE jumping out of a 10 story building no death. ABILITIES: SUPER POWERS (fake). very fun appropriate for 11 and up!
What other families should know
Great role models
Easy to play/use
Teen, 17 years old Written bylewiswoodhall May 31, 2015
age 17+
 
This game is very mature. The creators of this game have a crude sense of humor. There is a lot of crude humor in this game. As well as crude language, sexual content and violence. This is a very fun game, it is similar to the Grand Theft Auto series.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Kid, 12 years old April 25, 2015
age 12+
 

Mature comedy alternative to the drama of GTA 4

Saints Row 3 is a gangsta parody comedy game in the style of GTA. It earns its M rating, but I feels if a movie was made it would be PG-13. The game features stylised and over the top violence, not serious and realistic violence like GTA 4. The sex is a big issue, walking around you can often see dildos, and you can even use one as a sword. It's pretty funny, but very crude. The game has BDSM themes throughout, but sex is never shown on screen. No explicit drug content, surprisingly. Frequent F bombs are there as expected. All up, good game, be cautious though.
What other families should know
Easy to play/use
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 17 years old Written bybobogriffin April 3, 2015
age 9+
 

NOT ALL THAT BAD

What other families should know
Easy to play/use
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 11 years old January 26, 2015
age 12+
 

Good Game

This game is a fun open world shooter in third person. It looks more like a movie than you actually doing the actions. Most children above 11 should be okay playing this game. What parents should know is that there are possible cheats to turn all the pedestrians into "zombies" or "pimps and hoes". Women in tight clothing can be found around steelport and the words f--k, s--t, and a--hole are heard quite often. No nudity is shown but players can be naked, however this results in a blurred private areas. There is an option to make people explode into a pool of blood when you kill them, but the blood is pretty unrealistic. You should talk to your kid about how wrong it is to kill innocent people and police officers before they play the game. I hope this review helped.
What other families should know
Easy to play/use
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Kid, 12 years old January 17, 2015
age 10+
 

A hilarious game, some mature content though

Saints Row 3 is not really a kids game, but it actually seems to be gearing in that direction, at least for an M game. Quite a bit of non-sexual humor, although quite a bit of sexual stuff too. The game features a giant dildo as a weapon, not to explicit. Some missions take place in a BDSM club with strippers and sex slaves, however it does not glorify this. Some women are seen in tight dresses, and prostitutes on the streets. Language is not as bad as I expected. F bombs are scattered around, not used too frequently in cutscenes. Violence is moderate, a few blood splatters. Some weapons cause victims corpses to explode, some finishing moves include exploding heads. Barely any drug content. All up this is not that bad, probably okay for a mature 10 year old.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Parent Written bynoahg1 January 14, 2015
age 12+
 

Pretty good game!

Now I am going to be completely honest this game does have some content that is a little bit, "iffy". Your character can be completely nude (though it is blocked out), there is a weapon that is male genitalia on a bat, it has detail and physics. There are missions where you must go into a "club" and you meet a character who is also a pimp. Once you meet him you must do a bunch of missions involving prostitutes and other things along those lines. Honestly even with that, I would give it to a child who is 12, 13 or older. They don't say anything to sexual, though there a lot of curse words, but nothing diffrent from your run of the mill Call of Duty. The sexual themes aren't too bad, while yes there are all those things I just mentioned, the weapon, if your child is mature shouldn't be a big problem. They don't have to use it. The mission inside the club is not to graphic. And the partial nudity... is just women in tight clothing. So nothing really too bad. If you are not to happy with the sexual-ness, I would get this game probably for 15 and older.
Teen, 15 years old Written bytomogutu100 August 11, 2014
age 17+
 

REALLY FOR ADULTS, ATTRACTS OLDER TEENS

This game per say is really mature. the violence in the game has blood, but its not to realistic, but extreme. You can use anyone as a human shield or you can bite their neck. when you use a chainsaw blood spurts every where. Language is quite frequent in the game like F#ck and used frequently and other uses of profanity. There is no main concern in drugs. Sexual content is a big issue.one weapon you can use is a dildo. You can choose to walk around naked, female or male but no genitals are visible. One mission requires you to go to a sex-slaved house full of pornographic material and machines. There is a mode called "Whored Mode" where you beat up woman. The game is really not for children. anyone under 15 shouldn't really be playing it. But over all I liked the game, not as edgy as GTA, a fun game because its not as dark as GTA as well. if you know that this is a game abo
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written byJackiepoo August 10, 2014
age 13+
 

Saints Row The Third

I am a mother of 2. A 13 year old and a 10 year old. When I bought this game for Christmas, I was a little worried. I saw reviews on this website that we positive and negative. I took a gamble and bought it. I watched him play and the only sexual content I saw were people kissing and cleavage on girls with bikinis on. The language can be a little harsh, but is no different then my other son's game, Battlefield 3 I think it is. The drug reference is just some punks smoking and people drinking. I think I remember hearing a reference to drugs once, but that's it. The nudity, which I think is unnecessary, is you can make your player nude. It is blurred out and I did gasp when I saw it at first glance, but I don't think its necessary. The blood and gore is at a real minimum. I saw him use a weapon where the person exploded but that was the only case. Finally the intense violence is the same is all the other violent games he has. You should get this game for him or her if they know not to do this stuff. Hope this helped!
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byReviewPreview June 19, 2014
age 12+
 

No sex in story mode

I got the game for free because of xbox live gold (free games every month) there's no sex in story mode and no nudity. I finished the story and there's no sex in it at all! The only mission that was kinda innaporite was the mission where you save Zimo. bits that's it and every things all blured when there is nudity that to to knowledge

Pages