All member reviews for Sid Meier's Civilization Revolution

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging, great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging, good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging, good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging, okay learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Common Sense Media says

PC strategy game gets retooled for console gaming.

Age(i)

2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17

Quality(i)

 

Users say

(out of 19 reviews)
AGE
8
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Adult Written byashcatash5 February 7, 2009
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

Best Civ. Game for DS

No question here, this is an amazing Sim game. The computer versions are better, of course, but for the portable DS, this is the one to buy! It is challenging enough to keep adults entertained, and the easiest mode is accessible to older kids.
Kid, 9 years old November 9, 2008
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

I had fun!

Its a strategy game, and it teaches children about history.
Kid, 10 years old August 14, 2009
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

Awsome!!!!

Great game but it's mostly either living in peace or killing people to rule the world
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written byollaff May 25, 2010
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

Much more easy then the computer version but still ok for younger or newer players

This game is pretty good but the lack of choosing your gameplay and the new child-like twist on the game makes it appear more for younger children. If you have a computer and are not a young child, GET IT ON THE COMPUTER!!! I had large hopes for a new civilization but this was a let-down. I havent played it since the first time and I dont plan on playing it unless I'm very bored.
Kid, 11 years old March 6, 2010
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

Great for tweens and pre-tweens!!!

Great Game. You learn about the different countrys and their best leaders. Plus great people can join your civilizations to make them better. The battles show no blood and the violence is mild.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 10 years old April 24, 2009
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

a great satergy game

playyyyy ittttttttttttt!
Teen, 13 years old Written byGilldel March 21, 2009
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

A great civ game for consoles

Civilization Revolution is an excellent civilization game for consoles for two reasons. One; a simpler game with fewer technologies and units allows for a much faster game than previous versions without all of the meticulous fine-tuning. Two; many of the displays and mini-maps are gone so more of the screen is taken up by actual gameplay. You also feel more into the game because other characters point to things on screen and react noticably to your desicions. Content wise there is a little bit of violence though it is only seen from a distance. Overall a great civilization game for someone who just wants to sit down and play without hours of micromanegment.
Kid, 12 years old September 3, 2010
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

different for pc but still really good

very good its educational cause there is a thing call civ pedia like thing but the egyptian leader is pretty iffy if u talk to her so its fine for ages 9 and up
What other families should know
Educational value
Teen, 14 years old Written byMayorMaypop November 28, 2010
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

great game, highly educational, let your kid get it.

violence isnt that bad, its no worse then a fight scene in a pg-13 move, 3 of the female leaders wear low tops, but i would say one of the biggest pluses of this game is that it his highly educational, infact, in geography tests, i have actually went back to this game, and thought, now whats the capital of egypt or what not, i also remember lots of the best leaders of the nations, they also have info about the leader you are playing as you can read about, plus, its lots of fun, let your kid get it, it will help them in school, while entertaining them. this game is no fun if you cannot read, so if your kid cant read, dont bother.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Educational value
Kid, 12 years old March 22, 2010
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

awesome game but not as good as computer one

This is a great game. There are weekly levels and multiple maps to play on. I recommend this game for anyone who wants to play strategy games but they not quite ready to jump right into the computer versions. All around a good choice.
Parent Written byReedRichards4 March 13, 2010
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

The best in strategy and history for kids!

Fantastic playability over and over again and a great intro to strategy games on and off the screen. Historical figures, places, objects, technologies and landmarks are great conversation starters to get kids engaged in history off the screen, too.
What other families should know
Great role models
Kid, 10 years old April 18, 2010
AGE
2
QUALITY
 
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 11 years old August 7, 2012
AGE
9
QUALITY
 
LEARNING

GREAT strategy game!

I learned a lot of things I didn't know from this game. It's fun and tells a lot about history but Cleopatra isn't wearing the nicest cloth.
Adult Written bydmeat February 20, 2012
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

Great Game That Has A Lot Of Educational Value!!!

A Great Strategy Game That Definitely Does Not Deserve 3 In Violence. The Only Violence There Is Are Toy Swords Waving And Toy Guns Firing From Far Away. How Can This Be 1 Violence Star Off From Thousands Of PG-13 Movies And Have The Same Amount For Half Of Them. For Example In Star Wars 3 A Character Is Burned In Lava, Shocked With Lighting, Kills Children And It Is Not Animated. Does That Seem As Bad As Animated Small Swords Waving And People Falling From Far Away. Ridiculous Do NOT Presume That Common Sense Media Is Accurate On Their Ratings Ever.
What other families should know
Educational value
Kid, 9 years old January 4, 2010
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Brilliant game! Intelligence needed for extreme fun!

By far, it is the best stratergy came I have played for my Xbox 360, it is educational and very intresting, but you have too be intelligent enough to read the vocabulary.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Adult Written bycrackerjack5 August 18, 2009
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

Great fun for all ages!!

Excellent and educational!!
What other families should know
Educational value
Kid, 10 years old May 31, 2012
AGE
10
QUALITY
 
LEARNING

Love this!

I never played the PC version, but I LOVE this! It is educational, you see everything you learn in school! Try this game out! You can make it only as hard as you want. :D Try it!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 13 years old Written byCodemister99 January 21, 2012
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

Must get

As you set to be the best civilization ( whether Smartest, Strongest, Richest, or Civilized ). You can be one of many great leaders. In a thing inside of the game called a Civilopedia, you can learn about everything inside the game. A must buy for all ages.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great role models
Kid, 10 years old November 22, 2012
AGE
6
QUALITY
 
LEARNING

civ epic

:teaches strategy bad parts nothing to bad violence killing shooting slicing some girl characters wear skimpy outfits
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex