All member reviews for SimCity 4

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Kids say

(out of 20 reviews)
AGE
8
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Teen, 13 years old Written byTermiteruler November 22, 2010
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Great City Simulator

This is a great, fun, and engaging game. You build cities, ground up, into massive metropolises. You are pretty much the mayor, and control everything from water to education. Depending on your standards, this game can be pretty difficult. Balancing a city budget is hard to do, and it's always a pressing matter. You can immerse yourself into your city by driving around in it and doing missions to benefit your city. Your cities will trade with each other, and your region will grow. If you're bored, you can send down a giant robot or a tornado to tear up the city. Seeing buildings collapse is about as bad as the content goes for this game. I enjoyed it a lot, a must for the creative.
Teen, 16 years old Written bynhrihjnbofnhbia April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

how can you rate this

in my opinion this game cant even be rated
Teen, 13 years old Written byBig-D April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

i laughed

i think it is very good
Kid, 9 years old May 15, 2012
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

Perfect!

A W E S O M E ! If you like Simcity and The Sims, buy this! It does have shooting, gambling, but it is fun. Plus: you could build the Empire State Building! Plus: get Area 51 with UFO. You can even get an Army Base and get military transports. WARNING: It sounds like they the the "D word" sometimes. Note: even though it says 2 and up, I even think a baby can play it if they know how to play video games. Welp, I say it rocks, and is better than The Sims. You can even make sims in it!
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much consumerism
Easy to play/use
Teen, 13 years old Written bytb10997 June 14, 2011
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

I LOVE this games!

It is a great game for all ages. I have been playing ever since it came out and now I have basically mastered the game. I recentally installed it for my brother (7) and he likes to destroy his city more then build it, but that is part of the fun. It has a simulated buget system and you have to keep track of it, otherwise you will get recalled and mayor!
What other families should know
Educational value
Teen, 14 years old Written byray_scanten82 September 28, 2010
AGE
9
QUALITY
 
This game is non-violent (however, the disaster such as giant robots and earthquakes are there), interesting and educational. I will allow my young brother to play it.
What other families should know
Educational value
Kid, 11 years old July 14, 2012
AGE
6
QUALITY
 
LEARNING

Great game for any age!

This is a great game if you like building cities.You can do whatever you want to your city.
Teen, 15 years old Written byPinbot 95 June 28, 2010
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

complex but easy to learn

fun game. gets you to think about how cities work. after a while you start to learn how different parts of the city work together. sure disaster can strike the city, however, there are no death tolls, just how much it will cost to rebuild. the only reason i say 10 and up is the complexity.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Educational value
Teen, 13 years old Written byali12 August 30, 2009
AGE
6
QUALITY
 
What other families should know
Educational value
Teen, 13 years old Written by30bla30 June 30, 2009
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Ok for all, but too hard for little kids

One of the best games ever. I have a lot of FPSs like COD and Halo. but this game is just as good if not, better. Very educational, Very hard, And very entertaining
What other families should know
Educational value
Kid, 9 years old April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 
Kid, 11 years old February 5, 2012
AGE
6
QUALITY
 
Kid, 10 years old September 30, 2011
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Best of it's genre.

A great city simulator, and the worst content I can think of is in the Rush Hour expansion where you can drive tanks and army jets and you can fire shells which can potentially destroy your city. Also, when a nuclear power plant catches fire or gets to old, it blows in a large nuclear explosion. You can take the game up to a new level on sites like Simtropolis where you can download thousands of free, custom content for Simcity.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 12 years old July 24, 2010
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

Sims are way better

Okay
Kid, 10 years old September 21, 2009
AGE
9
QUALITY
 
Teen, 14 years old Written byariela2224 April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 
Teen, 13 years old Written bydomini-honney-aka-me April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 
Teen, 15 years old Written byWhiteBoogeySense April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

Cool Game

It's good. You have more control over your city than any other game. The three modes, god mode, mayor mode, and my sim mode let you enjoy the game in 3 different ways.
Teen, 13 years old Written byilovehimmx10 April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

uhh.

it was ok. i have it, but i dont really like it, to advanced for my small brain.
Kid, 12 years old April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

i laughed!

this was sooo cool!!