All member reviews for Skate 2

Common Sense Media says

Fun skateboarding game -- but brutal falls are rewarded.

Users say

(out of 29 reviews)
age 11+
Review this title!
Kid, 11 years old December 30, 2009

Not really for younger kids but fine for tweens

It is the best game ever but it can be a little rough abit but that's notmuch of a problem. The thing that I noticed with my sister is that, she wakes up at 5 am just to play it so it will be adictive for people with passion over skating.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Adult Written bygremlino April 14, 2009

Skate 2 a must have!

Skate 2 is a game with unending replay value. This game has many great features such as campaign and party play. The campaign is great for single player when you are by yourself. In the party play, hall of meat is the best way to one up your friends in an open fight to see who can fall the gnarliest. Any way you go there is always a way to touch up your tricks and learn to die better so there is no way to stop playing. You'll never want to put this game down!
Kid, 10 years old July 5, 2010

grate sk8 game

What other families should know
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Great role models
Parent of a 17 year old Written bysk8 -4-life September 3, 2010
What other families should know
Too much consumerism
Educational value
Teen, 13 years old Written byrboy5boy February 25, 2009

CSM is outrageous

The people at CSM are either paranoid or hate skateboarding do not even think about reading the sex and language columns. S*** is never used and nothing in the sex column is true besides when you land on a skateboard rail between your legs( when that happens the camera guy may say "Check Yourself") absoutely no sexual material is involved
Teen, 15 years old Written byDAVID HASKIDS247 November 21, 2013

B.G.E

This game is for the cooooolllest kids in school...
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 11 years old October 17, 2011

Skate 2 gets the darkslide

This game is one of my guiltily favorite skating games. Younger kids and parents may not successfully appeal to the "Hall of Meat" mode, where rewards await at the bottom of throwing yourself off a building or at a car, but the entire enchilada is loads of tasty fun. The game has decent voice acting, decent visuals, and it even shows you where you got racked, how hard, and how much it's worth. One thing I hate about this game is that its store items actually have PRICES. One good thing about Skate 3 is that everything is always free, but it's annoying wasting your time choosing between a sucky but free deck, and an awesome but expensive one. I suggest that people buy this game, whether they're into skating much or not.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written byNesnej45 April 11, 2010

Adult reviewers Please REad

Very good game but once again as seen in my other reviews language is not a problem nor is hearing sexual references a problem with ability of turning off voice audio and the violence is not as bad as other reviewers hinted at. the Developers just tryed to make it realistic with the ability of falling which some of you know that that happens in life also the ability to get hit by cars without dying and being tazered by women
Parent Written bySuperbro March 23, 2016

Overall an amazing game.

If you look at the sites review and instantly don't want to buy this for your child then I'm sorry but this game is just fine. The gameplay is good and the content is better, if you don't want your child hearing very mild words then just go into the game settings and turn off the voice dialogue and BAM issue solved. It is overall one of the best skateboarding game out there and I would recommend it.
What other families should know
Easy to play/use
Teen, 14 years old Written byiiEDMWolf February 2, 2016

Oh, Thank You EA.

This is the game that introduced me to Xbox Live Gold(Because i got a 48 Hour Trial with it :D), and the game is pretty fluent, the People React pretty great like when you bump into them and do it over and over, they get a bit more mad, The glitches from Day 1 are patched and yeah, there is a sprinkle of violence(as in, Padestrian Reactions) but it is fine.
What other families should know
Easy to play/use
Too much violence
Kid, 11 years old August 21, 2015

there is some glitch and lag in the game but overall the best skating game besides Tony Hawk

lots of brutal falls and scrapes are shown including some blood images. you can hear your players bones sometimes crack and you can be hit by cars and tazed by people punched by them and also can die but in a cartoonish funny way. no a lot of blood is shown but bruises and scrapes and sometimes bloody lips are shown. the violence is almost like looney tunes cause you can survive falling down cliffs and banging your head like on goat simulator. you are almost like a rag doll. there is minor strong language like the words A** S*** D**** and H***! some characters are seen smoking and homeless people are seen terrorizing people as in a stereotype. some of the homeless people drink and as some people say smoke marijuana. overall the game is fun and for Tweens the age 11 and up. there is no sexual content or sexual themes some humor but not much can be heard. i rate this myself 10+ use of alcohol tobacco and some brief drug use language and some extreme stunts and violence and some blood including brief gory themes.
What other families should know
Easy to play/use
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written byCupcakeStar February 25, 2014

Great For Everyone

This game is great! Nothing bad 3/5 for sex is a joke
What other families should know
Easy to play/use
Teen, 15 years old Written byMultimedia Expert October 13, 2013

Great skating game that should be fine for your skating fan.

Content: Off for ages: 1-8 Pause for ages: 9-11 On for ages: 12 and up Positive Message: 0/5: Nothing to really take from this game. Positive Role Model: 0/5: You play as an ex-convict, and generally go against security, which obviously isn't a good thing. Violence: 2/5: Players can wipe out, and in one mode is rewarded for the most bones broken. Players can run into other players, cars, and pedestrians. No blood at all. Language: 2/5: Infrequent use of swear words. Words used: S**t, d**n, h**l, and a**. Consumerism: 2/5: Real-life brands are available as unlocks and pro skaters are in the game. Drinking, Drugs and Smoking: 1/5: A few references to getting drunk. Safety and Privacy: 1/5: An online feature which allows voice chat, which may have inappropriate language being spoken. Quality: If you think that this is just a Tony Hawk rip-off, think again. While not as easy to just start from the get-go as aforementioned series, once you figure out the controls, you'll find that the game plays a lot better. The story is more engaging, and it just feels like there's a lot more to do, and a lot more freedom. The locations look and feel better as well. All in all, this is a great game if you are a fan of skateboarding, just don't expect a game that will be easy right from the beginning.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Safety and privacy concerns
Kid, 10 years old January 6, 2011

Great game!

I just got this game, and I think it's great! There's nothing really bad, but a bit of cursing, and hall of meat is pretty rough, even though there's no blood. and the main character is an ex con. With that said, You won't find anything really bad here.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Kid, 11 years old January 3, 2011
Kid, 9 years old November 28, 2010

iffy for 9 awsome for over 10.

love the game i own it and im 9 i sometimes crash thats why i thinks its violent but every thing else is okay somethings are a little bad for kids.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much consumerism
Educational value
Kid, 11 years old October 22, 2010
the cheez ball that wrote the review seid you can look a ladies dress. never happens.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great role models
Kid, 11 years old August 13, 2010

Love it!

I love this game! It's fun and easy to play! But it's not as good as Skate 3.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Teen, 14 years old Written byFunkboy565 June 25, 2010

A Skaters Dream Game

This is just a good game. There are some problems though. The language isnt constant but it is noticeable. The falls can be brutal and they are awarded with points. This game is great though. You can get off your board and explore the surronding areas which is extremely fun! The challenges are difficult but rewarding. Multiplayer is party-play which actually works well in this game. I would highly reccommend getting this game. Now that Skate 3 is out though you probably wont. haha. I enjoy this game even though I am in no way a skater!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 14 years old Written byJared C. May 20, 2010

Kids need to get active these days why prevent it?

I don't really see any language. Never heard any except for one song with the B word in it. But that only came on after over 12 hours of gameplay. Hall of meat is not bad but not good either. Extemely frustrating though.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models

Pages