All member reviews for Sleeping Dogs

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Common Sense Media says

High-adrenaline adventure packed with blood, sex, and drugs.

Age(i)

NOT FOR KIDS

Quality(i)

 

Learning(i)

Users say

(out of 40 reviews)
AGE
14
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Teen, 14 years old Written byPART III August 15, 2012
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

Very graphic violence, sex, and drugs and drinking.

What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written bythe wise one August 15, 2012
AGE
18
QUALITY
 
LEARNING

Let Sleeping Dogs Lie

People should know that this game is a work of art. From the brightly lit neon signs of Hong Kong, to the gritty storytelling of the life of an undercover officer trying to infiltrate the Chinese Triads. Parents should know that this game is NOT appropriate for children whatsoever. The game contains frequent, graphic violence (hand to hand combat and gunplay), constant strong language (around 100+ F words), sexual dialogue, and references to drug use. The story is thrilling and engaging for mature audiences. Racketeering, violence, prostitution, gambling, and street racing are all explored in this game.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 16 years old Written bydewdizzle October 27, 2012
AGE
10
QUALITY
 
LEARNING

aidfawd

i think its very good i own it up
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Parent of a 10 year old Written byAstro_nom_ickle January 1, 2014
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

Let Sleeping Dogs Lie

While this is an awesome game for my partner, it's one of the few games that isn't played until my 10 year old is in bed. We swear in the house, and this game shocked even us. VERY strong language, as well as misogynistic, and violent interactions between characters. A very graphic game, perhaps not in terms of blood and gore, but definitely in terms of how much physical violence there is, and sexual dialogue.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Kid, 12 years old October 14, 2013
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Not as bad as grand theft auto WAY toned down

yes there are a lot of bad words but there is little drinking (its optional) and little adult content PLUS its really cool you get to do karaoke,kung fu,and awesome missions
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 10 years old March 11, 2013
AGE
13
QUALITY
 
LEARNING

epic video game

i think this is good for 13 cause mostly the violence im ten and i play it but just i think it would be okay for 11 and up
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Parent Written bydadoftheworld2 November 16, 2012
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

SLEEPING WRONG

Ok this is high up there where its really bad for kids.The reason why? because they use language like c*cksucker as$ b*tch son of a b*tch fck sh*t etc.Its also really violent because you can use the envorment around you like in one mission you can hang someone on a harpoon.There also was a scene were you are at a weeding and almost everyone gets murdered.Bad for kids!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent Written bycurlyfries May 13, 2013
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

sleeping dogs is cool

Best game ever made. So much fun.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Adult Written byBuck Wheat December 6, 2012
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

More content info

There are also many billboards with girls in sex positions (bending over with a man behind them) and many billboards with girls scantily clad (girls in the process of taking off their few clothes).
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent Written byRun boy run. August 15, 2012
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

Great but to much sex, swaering, and drugs

What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent of a 9 year old Written bytheo October 28, 2014
AGE
9
QUALITY
 
LEARNING

AMAZING

My son played this game and adored it. All you need to do is turn off volume to keep away swearing and turn off subtitles. He only played free roam and when I watched he could play missions. I like how you can help others and save hong kong as an undercover cop.
Kid, 9 years old August 12, 2014
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

TERRIBLE GAME

Sleeping Dogs is a very mature game that should be played by adults only.The language is probly the biggest concern.My parents took it away because it was so bad so dont EVER play this no matter how much they beg.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent Written byVic 2.0 March 31, 2014
AGE
15
QUALITY
 
LEARNING

Best since GTA: San Andreas

This is easily the best open world crime game I've played in a long time (and yes, that includes both GTAs 4 and 5). That's because you can really tell the developers put a lot of thought into every aspect of the gameplay itself, as opposed to spending 99% of their time on graphics and map size (ahem). What's cool about it is the graphics are still really good, and the map is satisfactorily big. Cruising through the streets of Hong Kong with some smooth hip hop, classic rock, soothing pop or old school soul on the radio is truly a pleasure both day and night (That's assuming you don't want to just throw on some speed metal or techno and floor it, you can do that too). The streets are particularly beautiful when it rains, and the water is always beckoning you to take a dive or hop in a boat! There are tons of interesting locations to explore, indoors and out. A good selection of vehicles, including motorcycles and boats. No flying, but that's what Just Cause 2 is for! Besides, who would want to leave this place?! GENERAL GAMEPLAY/MOVEMENT ON FOOT There isn't a ton of gunplay. There's enough to keep you in practice and spice things up at just the right moments (and they even spiced up the gunplay itself with some really nifty incorporations of bullet-time, borrowed from Max Payne), but the melee combat is where SD shines brightest. It functions a lot like the combat sequences in Assassin's Creed but to me looks and feels quite a bit better somehow. You can use objects in your immediate surroundings to perform "environmental kills", take a human shield, or even throw a guy in your trunk and drive around! You can learn combo attacks that are actually pretty easy to master, and it doesn't take long before you can take down a whole mob of enemies with ease. But just like everything else, it stays fun. They did a remarkable job in making things challenging but not frustrating. There were a few missions I failed more than once, but none that made me want to give up or shout obscenities. Also borrowed from Assassin's Creed is the parkour. Free-running, jumping over objects, climbing short walls is a delight! You HOLD the button to run instead of tapping it repeatedly like a lunatic as in some other games, and the same button you use to run with is the same button you use to jump with, so there's no switching buttons when you want to climb or jump a short wall quickly. All in all, movement in Sleeping Dogs is quite smooth once you get used to the controls (as you have to do with any game). GENERAL FEATURES There are literally countless little features in this game that you can't find in games like GTA. Things like having your favorite vehicle (indeed, ALL your vehicles) accessible in garages all over the map instead of just the one you happened to store it in, and a valet service you can use to have your favorite vehicle delivered to you (He's more dependable than the mechanic in GTA 5). You can save outfits, which makes deciding what to wear next a snap, and the clothes you buy often provide some sort of bonus in the experience points you earn while wearing them. Food/drinks give you temporary boosts in stats like health regeneration and melee damage. It goes on and on. And collectibles? LOTS of 'em! But just like so much else in the game, finding them is neither too easy nor exasperatingly difficult. Plus, you actually WANT to find them because they all unlock different rewards to keep you motivated. FEATURES (DRIVING-RELATED) ...No... I'm not done talking about the features. The GPS puts arrows on the screen itself so you don't have to "play the mini-map" (keep your eyes glued to the mini-map so you don't miss a turn) like you do in GTA 5. Also unlike GTA 5, Sleeping Dogs gives you two buttons with which to change your radio station instead of just one, and you can adjust the volume of your radio without going into settings. You can change objectives (where your GPS directs you to) with the press of a button so you don't have to pause to look at your map as often. Abilities are like no other in this genre. You can ram enemy vehicles much more effectively, go into slow-motion while shooting at enemies in front of and behind you WHILE DRIVING, and perform action hi-jacks in which you leap from one moving vehicle to the roof of another to steal it. STORY/MISSIONS The story is great, really keeps your interest the whole way through. Much more serious than GTA and Saint's Row, though there are pleasant moments to uplift your spirits in the midst of dramatic events. You actually come to care about several characters in the game. And the missions never seem repetitive. Maybe that's because they aren't, or maybe it's just because everything's so much fun you can't get enough of any of it! While similar to other games in this genre in that the mini-games are lacking (with the exception of karaoke, which is surprisingly entertaining when you want a break from all the seriousness), most of the side missions are a blast. Whether you're chasing down a purse thief, racing through checkpoints in the street, or putting the beatdown on a local gang guarding a camera you must then turn around and hack into, you won't be disappointed! SUMMARY Point is, you should definitely get this game! That's especially if you like any of the GTA or Saint's Row games and are just in the mood for a change in scenery or mood. Parents: This game contains fairly graphic violence, extensive use of obscenities (though half of them are spoken in Chinese and subtitled in English), no nudity/strip clubs but a few explicit sexual references, references to drugs and alcohol abuse but none that promote it, and the story won't make you torture innocent people by slowly pulling their teeth out with pliers to progress the story like some games that shall remain nameless *cough*GTA 5*cough*
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 10 years old September 6, 2013
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Epic Game but to Mature for Child Gamers

I'm only 10 and I thought this game was awesome. But this is really gory. Just as bad as Spec Ops: The Line. I assure if your child is mature and has played games like Black Ops, Black Ops 2, Spec Ops: The Line and so on this will be an okay game.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 14 years old Written byeragonshadeslayer June 18, 2013
AGE
16
QUALITY
 

With Sleeping Dogs, ultra violent action gaming comes of age.

Sleeping Dogs is personally one of the most awesome games I have ever played. The violence in this game is extremely bloody and brutal. Most of it is due to the melee fights in the game in which our protagonist kicks, punches and beats the crap out of thugs and gangsters. The fighting is completely martial arts style in which players bash the living hell out of bad guys with awesome punches, kicks, limb ripping and bone breaking finishers. The environmental kills form a large part of the violence, in which players can crush, impale, electrocute, hang etc. various thugs and goons. The game contains frequent use of F**k, Motherf**ker, C**t etc. Some scenes show players in night clubs though there is no actual nudity. Some hoardings and billboards show people in sexual positions. People are often showed smoking, drinking , consuming and smuggling drugs. On the whole Sleeping Dogs is a gripping game that redefines action gaming.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 16 years old Written bymr bannana September 4, 2012
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

fun but.....

i just got the game for me and my little brother ( hes only 12) and the half a hour we played it it was brutal and gory as i dont know what. the game has strong language sex and swearing. my parents know about it so i coudnt let my brother play it. the game is fun but not for kids under 13
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written bycerealkiller189 August 19, 2012
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Great game,but extremely mature.

I just got this game yesterday and I have only played an hour of it.And I can already say,theres tons of violence,bashing the nut bags out of people,decapitation and burning alive,theres torture,lots of language and implied rape and heavy sex.This game is only educational in showing the insides of people and showing children how life is in the cold underworld.But if your kid has played GTA or Mafia,then it's quite alright.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Kid, 12 years old November 11, 2014
AGE
10
QUALITY
 
LEARNING

Violent

this game has a lot of violence. it is hard to get a gun but you can use umbrellas,knives,etc.
Teen, 15 years old Written byMidnightNinja15 July 7, 2014
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

My thoughts on Sleeping Dogs

Sleeping Dogs puts you in the shoes of Wei Shen, and undercover police officer with tough past and background. He is tasked with infiltrating the Sun On Yee Triad in Hong Kong after the previous cop's cover was blown and he was brutally murdered. The story focuses on Wei's inner struggle of ratting out the Triads, some of the members who he has become attached to, while remaining to his duty as an officer of the law. While Wei generally seems like a good incorruptible police officer, it is later revealed that he has a personal vendetta against the triad for the treatment and death of his sister and seems like he just wants revenge rather against the Triads rather that making the city a safer crime-free place. However, is is still a very likable protagonist. Despite its seemingly glitzy and glamorous Hong Kong setting, Sleeping Dogs has a very gritty and violent story that takes you into the seedy underworld of murder,extortion,prostitution,drug trafficking,illegal street racing, and gambling to name a few. The game is also extremely violent as you can beat up enemies using brutal martial arts moves, hearing bones crack and limbs break, you can pick up melee weapons such as knives and cleavers, and while the gunplay isn't as prominent in the game as the main focus is on hand to hand combat, it is also violent and if you get headshots small chunks of your victim's head will fly off and blood is shown realistically, staining your own clothes and your enemies. Also, despite being sworn to protect Hong Kong, Wei can kill innocent civilians with little to no penalty. As for sex, it is mostly just referenced in one mission a woman touches Wei's crotch but they don't actually have sex. Wei can also have sex with various girlfriends but it is never actually shown on screen but based on the dialogue you can obviously tell whats going on. As for language, there is a lot of profanity, both in Chinese and English such as s**t motherf*cker a-hole c**ksucker. Despite it's adult content I think its and ok game for a normal teenager.
What other families should know
Easy to play/use
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 12 years old March 29, 2014
AGE
7
QUALITY
 
LEARNING

People are over exaggerating....

It's not as bad as all these people say it is. There's not a lot of swearing or inappropriate behavior and there is a lot to do in this sandbox game. The story line was very well written with good voice actors. I love the whole story behind it! It's a game like no other! I would give this game 100 stars if i could!
What other families should know
Easy to play/use

Pages