All member reviews for Spec Ops: The Line

Common Sense Media says

Gory military shooter tackles difficult questions about war.

Learning

Users say

(out of 21 reviews)
age 16+
Review this title!
Kid, 12 years old July 16, 2012
LEARNING

great game

teaches kid the true horror of war and it's moral and civillan casulties
Adult Written byAn Enigma April 29, 2015
LEARNING

An Unflinching Look Into War

This is one of my favorite games not for being one with good mechanics, but because it most deserves to be played. This is a shooter designed to show how pathetic it is that we seek heroism in war games. It takes on subjects such as PTSD (which your character succumbs to), the use of white phosphorous(which you accidentally use on civilians and see the horrible aftermath of), and how the hypocrisies of civilization are torn from us in real war scenarios. It is incredibly violent while not being gratuitous, gory without being fetishistic, and teaches without being dull. The gameplay is on the level of a normal shooter these days, but it's not what you should be coming for. I recommend this to anyone who can stomach it.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Parent Written byKibles September 27, 2013

Adults only

This is one of the more graphic interpretations of war available in video games. It studies Post Traumatic Stress Disorder, the role of the player causing war atrocities, and what being a "hero" means. Intensely graphic, stuffed to the brim with profanity and gore, and incredibly thoughtful, Spec Ops The Line is a game not suitable for kids in any way.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent Written byjiodjflak August 11, 2012
LEARNING

Amazing game, but definitely not for kids.

SPOILERS IN THIS REVIEW The goal of this game is to show the moral ambiguity that comes with war. 2K (the developer of said game) has definitely gotten it right. The gameplay is standard third-person shooter(I.E find cover, pop out of said cover and shoot any exposed insurgents), but the real focusing point of this game is the story. You play as Walker, a member of a three man Delta Force team sent in to a sand-stormed Dubai to find out what happened to "The Damned" 33rd Batallion, find any survivors, and find out what really happened to colonel John Konrad, the leader of the 33rd Batallion. This game prides itself on some of the choices that are presented throughout the game. In this game, there is no clear-cut right or wrong choice. For the sake of explaining the content, there will be spoilers ahead. At one point in the game, you are standing above someone pinned down by a truck, revolver in hand. You are given the choice to either walk away, and let the person die in agony, or further compromise your own morals by executing him. The whole point of the game is to show the moral ambiguity and hard choices that come with war, taking inspiration from the book "The Heart of Darkness". The way the story interacts with the player is quite amazing, making you actually feel bad for decisions that you didn't have any control over (*SPOILERS* there is one scene in particular that sticks out in my mind. At one point in the game, you arrive at an enemy encampment. You are then given the choice to either take the army head on, or use white phosphorus to take everyone out easily. The results are extremely graphic and will make you genuinely feel bad for a decision that you really did not have any choice but to make, as it is one of the most crucial points of the plot). It does character development extremely well, showing the breaking points of each of the soldiers, and their downward spiral towards insanity. Each decision is reviewed at the end of the game, and there are three different endings depending on what you did in crucial moments of the game. All that being said, if you are easily offended by language, this game is not for you. The language worsens as you play through the game (understandably, as the soldiers are forced to make harder decisions, and live with the consequences), to the point where almost every line you hear f--k or s--t. With all that, this game is definitely not for kids. It is an extremely graphic depiction of war, and probably should not be viewed by anyone under the age of 17.
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 15 years old Written byPart IV August 7, 2012

Dark, violent, and very mature shooter that is not for anyone under 17.

What other families should know
Too much violence
Parent Written byMoebious February 19, 2013

Underrated gem.

Spec Ops: The Line is a fantastic game that tells a bold story within the genre that it also happens to be a scathing inditement of. This is a game that makes you hate yourself for enjoying military shooter games, and calls you out to think about the choices you've had to make and whether or not this is what it might really be like. It's not a war game really, it's a horror game. I'd honestly be tempted to say give it a go with your kids if they're fans of Call of Duty just to give them something to chew on. But really, it's not for them. It's brutally violent, some of the scenes are really unsettling, I'd say pick this one up and decide for yourself if it's one for the kids.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Kid, 12 years old January 21, 2013

What a Journy!

Ok, three parts for this review. First, the game. This game is one of the greatest games of the year. The way the story develops is amazing and you are always on edge. Take notes, Gears of War. Next, why your kid should play this game. This is amazing for learning. This is what war is. People die. It's not the joyful awesome feel you get when you get a killstreak in Black Ops. This is the "Oh No!" feeling you get when your comerade dies in the Palace mission of Modern Combat 2, only every time someone dies. This game makes you learn morals and how to see what war is really like. Fnally, why your kid shouldn't play this game. No matter what your kid is used to, the violence will surprise them. There are large amounts of gore like in Darksiders II, only it's very realistic. There is also alot of cursing. To wrap this up, I say this is an amazing experience that is necessary for growing up, but only to teens and older tweens.
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Parent Written bysgtjcap December 23, 2012
LEARNING

spec ops the line

Spec ops the line. tells a emotional and fantastic story of 3 delta opreators sent to Dubai to evac civilans out of the country. it is gritty and it shows what war is really like and how it affects not only you but the people around you. you play as Martin Walker he is the leader of the squad and is squad mates are John Lugo and Alphanso Adams. once you get in Dubai you see what has unfolded. Dubai is in chaos you soon realise that you are not alone in the fight. the damned 33rd turns against you and is under the command of John Konrad who you think is your freind but he is rather your enemy ontop of that you are also fighting insurgents. this game is very good in pulling you into the story and making you think what you do before you do not like other games these days. where you just run and gun this game is a very good game and is alright for anybody that is mature enough to handle it and seeing what its like to be a soilder and be in war it teaches kids that its not good to kill other people and teaches them what goes on in our world right now i would say this is by far the most best game this year and keep in mind that it is bloody and you do see limbs off and everything else but after all its a rated m game but i beleive if your kids can handle it then let them play and if they get to sad or something or get scared just shut it off it shows them what real war is like so i suggest you show them rather than hide it from them.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Teen, 15 years old Written byShelton W August 31, 2012
LEARNING

Too Much?,Too Realistic For Young Teens?

The one thing about Spec Ops:The Line is that it is a very gory game,and the blood and battle environment makes this one of the most realistic war games i have ever played.It is a fun game,no doubt,but there is alot of language in this game,i wish they had in the settings where you could turn the language off(like MW2,MW3,Black Ops).If you want to find a decent,pretty clean war game,go look into Modern Warfare 2,that game actually has the option of turning the language off,and blood.But i think Spec Ops:The Line would be ok for a mature teen 16 and up.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Adult Written byzachs1 July 22, 2016
LEARNING

War is real. War is hell.

A truly horrifying depiction of what war REALLY is. Amazing story inspired by Heart of Darkness. If your kid asks for Call of Duty, buy this for them instead. This game doesn't **** around. The characters are well done, gameplay is mediocre. It is rather difficult. Ammo is scarce, and you die in 2 to 3 hits.
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written byIhateThisWebsite July 19, 2016
LEARNING

Great family game!

A great educational game with fun gameplay and not a speck of violence! A wholesome experience for everyone to enjoy!
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Easy to play/use
Teen, 16 years old Written byGenericGamertag March 9, 2016
LEARNING

"Do you feel like a hero yet?"

This is an anti-war game, ant it is sure to let you know that. It will show you the most horrific side of war the best that a video game can, and its pretty horrific. It's hard to describe without spoiling the game, but take my word for it, its gruesome. It is also one of the most, if not the most depressing game I have ever played. "I-I didn't mean to hurt anyone..." "Nobody ever does Walker"
What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 14 years old Written byBreault October 25, 2015
LEARNING

Really good game, but emotional

I honestly think if you put the story aside this game could be for a little bit of a younger audience then 16+, but the story is dark and gritty and very emotional, it makes players think about their actions and the unsettling consequences. It really shows the face of war and its not just another Call of Duty or Battlefield, and it show that in war there really aren't any winners. Martin Walker (your character) is a Delta Force soldier sent on an evac mission in Dubai and without spoilers, eventually succumbs to PTSD. I honestly feel like my rating was just but it could be for a younger audience if you think they could handle it.
What other families should know
Great role models
Easy to play/use
Teen, 14 years old Written byxgamerbrox June 24, 2015

Spec Ops: The Line

THIS IS THE MOST VIOLENT GAME I HAVE EVER PLAYED (ALSO THE MOST DISTURBING. No sex. No drinking. LOTS of language maybe 100 uses of f*ck, 2 of c*nt, 20 goddamns, 300 shits. An army uses prosperos gas which burns its victims alive, what they dont realize is the people were good that they killed, you can shoot heads of enemies, a man burns alive, 1000s of enemies die, the soldiers are CONSTANTLY getting hurt... If it were a movie it would be rated R for strong nonstop violence and for strong pervaisve language. Ok for 15+
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Safety and privacy concerns
Kid, 12 years old September 19, 2014
LEARNING

Not for little kids.

Sorry kids but no Spec Ops for you I'm afraid. I'm not the bad guy here, but the Gore is strong in this game and will give you nightmares. People shown dead on the ground and hanged by their neck in the sky. People's heads blown off. No, not for little kiddies. I played this when I was 11 and if my Mom saw that Gore and blood. She would have grounded me with no violent games for two weeks.....probably. Anyway, I beat this game in two days and I liked it. Except for the Gore and all. But, not for 12 year olds, maybe when there mature enough.
What other families should know
Easy to play/use
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 17 years old Written byEziotheAssassin May 13, 2013

Violent, gory game with dark and depressing themes. *SPOILERS*

This game, while it may be a great, dark story, is incredibly violent and gory. Moral choices that always lead to bad endings will leave you hating himself. Some of the cutscenes and disturbing violence will make A Clockwork Orange look tame. One sequence (spoilers) has the choice to take on an army in a huge, frustrating gunfight to get to the civilians, but the other choice is to launch mortars filled with white phosphorus, later having you walk through the wreckage and burning bodies begging for mercy. As you go to save the civilians, you realize that the phosphorus hit the civilians and has burned about 50 innocent people, two people, mother and daughter, holding each other with frozen screams on their faces. The dialog eventually leads to stressful swearing and shouting, leaving a feeling of unease. Tons of blood spills out when you shoot one shot in someone, while shooting the head will end in a bloody explosion with a neck stump with a bone sticking out ever so slightly. Lots of bloody aftermaths seen on-screen frequently. This game is still great, as dark as it was.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Kid, 11 years old August 10, 2012

not for kids

saw my dad play it and the first word i heard was fu-k. next thing i saw was an intensly bloody and disfigured soldier fall out of a banged up truck, causing the bad-mouthed reaction. i hear its good, but definately not for kids my age.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 14 years old Written byPart II August 7, 2012

Very mature shooter.

Theres alot of horrific violence in this, its not for anyone under 17.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Parent Written byRun boy run. August 7, 2012

Wow, very violent and not for anyone under 17.

This game is to mature for kids and even some teens with its war topics and its somewhat disturbing violence.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 14 years old Written byPART III August 7, 2012

Why!

This game is incredabley violent, people are shot in the head, burned bodies, hanging coarpes, and lots of profanity to.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing

Pages