All member reviews for Star Wars: The Old Republic

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Kids say

(out of 11 reviews)
AGE
12
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Teen, 16 years old Written byZambrak March 30, 2012
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

A Good Game for Mature Preteens

As a teenager (and a lifelong Star Wars fan), Star Wars: the Old Republic caught my eye the day it was announced. The game offers a truly incredible story, which players choose to be a class (profession, for example: bounty hunter, Jedi Knight, Imperial Agent, etc.) and develop a unique character. Along the journey, players will kill countless NPC's and other players . They can kill them just because they attack them, or choose to kill innocents, such as a small boy's father in front of the boy. Although the player can be Jedi or Sith, they can choose to make good decisions in dialogue that will earn them light side points, compared to bad actions, dark side points. Along the journey, players will have an option to romance NPC's, which can lead to kissing and off-screen sex. The player will develop a healthy relationship with them and can learn that there is more beyond having a boyfriend/girlfriend. The game offers an extremely long story, with plot twists and turns, classic Star Wars moments, and character development. Even though it is Star Wars, it can be violent, sexy, and display a bit of mild language. Even thought this the best game I have ever played (my opinion), it is clearly meant for older and more mature fans of Star Wars, compared to The Clone Wars. I think this game is good for any mature 12 year old, but it is ultimately your call. Keep in mind it does have a $15 dollar monthly fee. If you want to learn more information about this amazing experience, Google SWTOR.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much sex
Too much consumerism
Teen, 13 years old Written byzydex June 2, 2013
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

overview of the game

the game is very fun game. it is meant for almost all ages. it does have lots of violence but the sci-fi film Star Wars does and its based off of the film. their is no blood. I have played for a few months now and I have not gotten any viruses or bad things on my computer. I have Norton security software (same thing as MacAfee) so that may help. the whole game depends on how you play it. you can be Sith (bad in the movie) but be nice and Jedi (good in the movie) and be bad. Bars and cantinas can be found everywhere but the only beverage I have been sold at one was "spiced nerf milk". some of the dancers are waring a little less clothing but their is no nudity whatsoever. the game used to have to be paid for (buy it then $14.95 a month) but now is free but you can pay to be a subscriber. you do not have to tell any other players any personal information. their is a chat bar that censors words. the strongest words used are the D-word (other word for dang) and the H-word (down there)
What other families should know
Too much violence
Safety and privacy concerns
Teen, 13 years old Written byjamester989 February 22, 2013
AGE
12
QUALITY
 
LEARNING

989's review!

umm... how do i put this...I AM ONE OF THE BIGGEST STAR WARS FANS EVER! this game was one of most awesome i have ever played.ok first off it teaches how to play a basic mmorpg perfectly! the graphics are good, the voices are great, and the star wars feel is amazing. the language is almost never bad (it may be gruesome but not curse word bad. however there is some cursing from time to time) violence is not so bad.sexual themes is almost never there.(if you count learning about star wars history than don't ignore the learning rate)SO THANK YOU BIO WARE AND EA FOR THIS!!! miracle known as swtor. i give it a *5/5*
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Kid, 11 years old December 4, 2013
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

Good Game Watch Out For Violence

This game is probably one of the best games I have ever played. Their is killing involved but no blood. Mild language and sex also but parents should be more worried about the killing in the game. I started off playing solid Republic which is the good side and that is less Violent story wise. It is addicting and you can lose track of time so maybe set up a time limit.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 14 years old Written byBionic Reviewer February 17, 2013
AGE
13
QUALITY
 
LEARNING

Must-play for Star Wars fans!

First off, I'll just say this is a beautiful game. Bioware's storytelling is fantastic, the graphics are great, and the combat makes you feel like you are your class. With that out of the way, the rest of the review: Story: Set 3,000 years before the events of Episode III in the Star Wars saga, war embroils the Republic. The evil Sith Empire, pushed out of the known regions of the Galaxy so long ago have returned, striking from the storm-battered jungle world Dromund Kaas. They announce their arrival with the Sacking of Coruscant, the infamous siege of the Republic's Crown Jewel and the seat of civilization. The Jedi Temple was burned to the ground and the Knights themselves slaughtered by Darth Malgus (the Vader of this era and a boss in an endgame Flashpoint). The player can side with the Republic as a Jedi (Knight/Consular), Trooper, or Smuggler; or can choose a darker path and join the Empire as a Sith (Warrior/Inquisitor), Bounty Hunter, or Imperial Agent. Each class has it's own storyline, and can choose one of two Advanced Classes at level 10. Violence: Sci-fi violence is most decidedly in this game. Enemies will be mowed down by blasterfire, lightsabers, explosives, and Force attacks. No blood is shown, but enemies will fall to the ground in a realistic way with a look of horror on their faces. Corpses disappear shortly after being looted. In the Sith Warrior arc on Korriban, three prisoners may be executed, but it is up to the player whether or not to do so. The Inquisitor arc on the same world is given a main quest to torture a prisoner with Force lightning, and may do so with almost a cheerful manner. If it's a younger player, the Jedi Knight arc is rather clean of nihilistic behavior, instead favoring large battles and epic lightsaber duels. Scariness: Some, especially within the Operations. The 8-16 player endgame activities take you to an eerie ancient stasis prison in the Eternity Vault, where you must do battle with powerful bosses such as ancient Sith, a lava monster, and the powerful warlord Soa, the Infernal One (who also provides creepy enemy chatter throughout the Operation). Terror from Beyond is one giant Tron-meets-H.P Lovecraft affair, Scum and Villainy is in an eerily quiet desert town filled with mercenaries (which could scare some) that is being corrupted by a powerful Dread Master, a Sith with immense power over emotions as well as lightning and fire (which could scare the rest). The Dread War update features a lava world where the remaining Dread Masters make their home, and the players must go against hard-to-kill mobs and bosses, and finally take down the Dread Masters in two more Operations, the Dread Fortress and the Dread Palace. It is worth noting the Masters wear spooky gold masks, have a mantra that consist of "Birth, Fear, Pain, Death!" and want to kill everything in the Galaxy and then commit suicide. Sex: Flirtatious banter can be spoken by the player should they so choose, but will be clearly marked with a [Flirt] in the dialogue selection wheel. Strong reference is given to players sleeping with each other, but when this begins to happen, the screen fades to black and fades in again after the scene. After one of these scenes in one of the arcs, a female companion is seen putting her clothes back on while humming the Imperial March. Smuggler and Agent characters will have much more of these scenes. Additionally, one quest on Coruscant takes players to a seedy nightclub where scantily clad females are present. Outfits like those Princess Leia wore in Episode 6 are available for use on Female companions and avatars. The player may also pursue same-gender romance options, and the new planet Oricon features a conversation that mentions a soldier the mind-corrupting Dread Masters affected "believes he shot his husband". I have nothing against this myself, but different families have different values. Language: Occasional usage of d--- and h--- . Drinking/Drugs/Smoking: Players can visit Cantinas and purchase fictitious drinks and meals (Corellian Cocktail, Rodian Mayonnaise Sandwich, etc). Several quests on the level 20 Planet Nar Shaddaa revolve around the refinement and trafficking of spice, the Star Wars version of narcotics. Republic players can help a group of addicts break addiction to such substances by destroying a spice lord's refinement plants. Role Models: Not much to say. Players can be Light Side or Dark Side regardless of Class. Light Side choices will spare lives and do good, while Dark Side choices kill mercilessly and generally be evil. Grand Master Satele Shan and Governer/Supreme Chancellor Saresh are both strong female characters and good role models, and Colonel Jace Malcolm is incredibly courageous. Don't look for good role models in the Dark Side, though. The Emperor bent on destroying all life and the gluttonous (and often-teased) Darth Baras will leave you disappointed. All in all, it's a great game, but if you have a younger Jedi who wants to adventure in Star Wars, set them up with Clone Wars Adventures first. They may not be ready for this one.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Kid, 11 years old March 23, 2012
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Wow? Oh, you mean the that dusty game over there. TOR ftw!

After my parents finally agreeing to make an account on my behalf, i've finally been able to play my most anticipated game ever. Being a massive fan of KOTOR, i've never felt more at gaming home than returning to my fave genre of game crossed with the best star wars game of all time. Certain language is used, but no massive profanity. It's also very infrequent. People might blurt out against ESRB's blood and gore rating, but there's about 3 moves in the game that can cause bleeding for about, 3 seconds. This game is way better than WoW, but it's much larger as well. With a whole galaxy to comprehend, you'd need a lot of memory to get your computer to run this. Now, the sexual parts, it's no big deal. A bit of flirting and you can get ' invited to somebodies quarters ' and then it'll fade to black, so what happens is entirely up to your imagination. Back to the violence, actual ingame combat is better than WoW, but the cutscenes can be quite disturbing, once playing as my sith inquisitor, a cutscene suggested I'd sliced a guys neck and impaled somebody else slowly. The game can involve scenes of torture, death, and betrayal.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 14 years old Written bynoblemaster117 June 10, 2014
AGE
14
QUALITY
 
LEARNING

Not as bad as you think.

It is an epic game with loads of story-lines to choose from and kids can learn from choosing good or evil,the "gentlemens clubs" are pretty much palaces like jabbas and you don't interact with the dancers in any way...if your kids are allowed to see princess leia in ep. 6 than the dancers wont be to bad.Ther are bikini type suits etc. but that's usually only seen on the imperial fleet and you don't have to wear it.The violence may be scary but only in the cut-scenes...overall it is a great game people cuss in chat but you can choose that to go away.your character will cuss depending on which class you pick and some of the in game characters will cuss...the worst is d*mn and h*ll.
What other families should know
Easy to play/use
Teen, 13 years old Written byStrategist101 August 6, 2013
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

SWTOR

I honestly love this game. It has story, (Although I wish you could change the story more with your actions) characters that you can actually grow to care about as the game progresses, and many other features.
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Too much sex
Teen, 14 years old Written byShadowofchaos41 January 25, 2013
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

So epic

It's an awesome game. Violence can be rough but shows nothing graphic
What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 16 years old Written byfatdude February 16, 2012
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

important info

The game has almost no blod. Sex is a option. On PvP mode strategy is important. The violence is not very big since your character fights atomaticly. If you have a friend with this game both of you can help each other on quests
What other families should know
Educational value
Great role models
Teen, 14 years old Written byemboba January 15, 2012
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

It's Great

I love this game. All of the sexual plots are optional. Violence is not a real issue and is a lot less violent than any star wars movie. Its ok for pretty much anyone who has seen Star Wars.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models