All member reviews for StarCraft II: Wings of Liberty

Common Sense Media says

Exceptional strategy sequel with some mature themes.

Users say

(out of 30 reviews)
age 11+
Review this title!
Teen, 15 years old Written byFusionElement August 14, 2010

Incredible game that's rated T for a reason.

I absolutely love Starcraft 2, I play it all of the time. I like it because you can tell the game is well thought out and the amazing feeling of finding the best strategy to crush your opponent. I have not played the original Starcraft, but I must say that this game is excellent. CONCERNS: Violence- This game is about a war between three races, The Terrans (Future Humans), Protoss (Advanced yet dying alien race), and Zerg (scary, parasitic aliens, "bad guys"). This war takes place in space in the future, so SURPRISE! this game is violent. Units must engage in combat with other units and deaths are a small explosion of blood where the unit used to be and possibly a scream. The only way to win in this game is to eliminate all enemy armies. Language- In cut scenes there are mild swears.. HIGHLIGHTS: Educational: This game is NOT a shooter game, in this game you are a commander of one of the three armies mentioned earlier (In single player you are always human, online you may choose). You must find a good strategy and divide your resources wisely to help this plan. I find it sort of to be like chess, but not exactly. In 2 vs. 2 cooperative mode the people online are surprisingly very friendly and teamwork is strongly encouraged. Good messages- The protagonist of Single player is an outlaw. But it is because he is leading the rebellion against the dominion because they have become corrupt. Even when it seems the almost all of the terrans are brainwashed to hate him by the media, he still fights for what he believes in. I would also like to mention teamwork again. Safety isn't a concern- profiles display your achievements in the game. That's it. Not like facebook at all.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Educational value
Great messages
Kid, 12 years old September 8, 2010

tweens up

This game is AWESOME!!! playing as three different races (terrans, protoss, zerg) u can play online or offline on a TON of different maps. i havent played the first but i know the second is awesome. there is some brids eye view violence. you can go to options and turn the effects on high or low. having them on low effect will make a small amount blood not fall on the ground. but if you set the effects to high, limbs will fly, and blood with splat and bodies and blood will litter the ground. it isnt too gruesome though. my younger brother (whose 9) plays this game too. the zerg are a little bit scary. the language: some swearing in cutscenes is frequent. s--t is said VERY infrequently. but said a lot are b---h, d-mn, h-ll, and a--. The sexual content: an elf woman dances in a bikini in the cantina. but it is just a holigram. its not that bad. also alcohol is consumed frequently and cigars stick out of one dudes mouth. this game is overall the BEST game ive ever played. even though i say all that bad stuff the main character is a really good role model. i say tweens up.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Great role models
Parent of a 16 year old Written byc0rsana January 22, 2011

Awesome game.

Requires thought, strategy, and practice to master online. Players work their way through the ranks whilst besting online peers in the community. A great Starcraft player is best described as someone with the mind of a chess master and an ungodly amount of dexterity. Absolutely the best game you can buy, for it teaches how to manage time wisely as well.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Adult Written bymr rogers naborhood June 24, 2012

Give it a shake, but you MUST have online to get the full experience.

If you don't have a constant internet connection every time you want to play...well you're in for some disappointment. The game's appeal focuses mainly on its massive and competitive multiplayer community, the single player mode is just extremely limited. Oh and don't try to out-muscle (out-macro) an insane AI. At least not if you're not really really good. The community is far better than Call of Duty's, partly because it's for PC users (which boasts a more mature fanbase, unsurprisingly) but still in some regards hostile. People with extremely sensitive feelings should steer away from multiplayer and multiplayer chat. If you aren't an instant starcraft genius the trek up the ranking ladder will be arduous and you will be frequently called "noob" (a term which means new player) and often it will have derogatory connotations to it. Don't get me wrong; noob isn't intended to be insulting, but a lot of people will use it as so. Some examples of which consist of "man you f--- noob i'm not playing with you no more". At the end of games it's customary to say gg (which means good game) but particularly troll'ish players, especially those who feel like they've been cheesed or hustled, will feed you a variant like "gg B--". I am occasionally guilty of it myself. Oh and prepare to lose. A lot. And by a lot I mean on average about 50% of your games. Some of them simply won't feel fair. If you get past the competitive metagame which is actually a professional sport, you can try out the custom games (they've done some spectacular things with starcraft). Don't believe me? Think I'm exaggerating? There have been first person shooter mods, albeit not very good, based on starcraft. There are DotA ripoffs and Diablo clones, rpgs, Civ clones, tower defense, counterstrike starcraft edition, etc. etc. My personal favorite doesn't deviate away from the starcraft metagame too much; it's team monobattles. You work on a team of 4 against another team of 4 and each member is restricted to only building an army consisting of one type of military unit. The problem being that many units are hard counters to others so you need to communicate and coordinate with your teammates. It builds character. As for positive role models...well...I can think of Matt Horner, and to a lesser extent Valerian Mengsk, who is using his power for "good" in that he's purifying Char, the zerg homeworld. Otherwise, the protagonist who's supposed to be Jim Raynor...is an alcoholic mess of an individual who in my opinion was simply a massive jackhole many a time. And hey, regarding the violence, the protoss deaths are the least violent. However, if you do have models turned on to a high setting (basically default graphics medium or above, for the less graphically literate), terran biological unit deaths are rather violent. For example, if fried by laser or flame type weaponry biological units will flail in agony before collapsing in a charred mess. If attacked by explosives they will...well, basically fall apart. If attacked by blade-like weaponry marines and marauders can be cut in half for examples. ALL zerg units...almost NO exceptions, die very gruesome...and frankly unrealistic...deaths, for example the ultralisk splits apart and you can see all of its internal organs. When zerg buildings "die" they leave behind a gory mess. The violence part of the game makes a lot of M-rated games feel lightweight, but hey I ain't complaining.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent Written byRevolverSly May 18, 2012

The best Electronic Sport for anyone.

Definitely the SC2 game is aimed to active minds; the more you can achieve in "mind cycles" (mining, construction, production, scout, combat) the more you are able to develop a high paced multitasking sense. And this is not end here, you must be creative at the same time, the limited information about your rival challenges you to wonder about what to do, when to do and how to do. I think the very competitive nature in the game can discourage to some kids with security issues, in that sense, the game can be useful to challenge the kids to deal with the insecurities and develop a commitment with put your best effort and improve constantly. SC2 is a mix from theory, exercise and constant practice. As bonus points, the community in SC2 is huge, and we hope to grown even bigger: live events, broadcast events, local tournaments, replays, commentators, analysis, discussion, competition.
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much swearing
Safety and privacy concerns
Adult Written byEnder Wiggin July 4, 2011

avoid the 1 player campaign and you will be safe if you are older

while i am 28 years old and very careful with what i watch and play, i don't feel like all teenagers can say the same. there is violence, swearing, and even a bit of suggestively dressed girls in this game that you should know about. this isn't a kids game. it is set up to be addicting as well, so you should really be careful with this game... though, i must say it is the best game i've ever played :) you just need to know a head of time what you're getting into, and stay away from the 1 player campaign if you want to avoid most of the a fore mentioned, possibly offensive material.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 12 years old May 8, 2011

Perfect for beginners and experts and also includes cheats

This is a great game to play real time strategy and has an amazing video definition
Parent of a 7 and 10 year old Written bypdjohnson3 August 5, 2010

Great strategy game for older kids

My son loves this game. While there is a little violence, it is cartoonish and is usually seen from far away in a "bird's eye view". It requires strategy, logic, patience and maturity--not like many other video games that cater to those with short attention spans.
Parent of a 12 year old Written bybingomanatee August 5, 2010
The zerg are a pretty scary bunch, reminiscent of "Alien" monsters; a bit freaky even with the top-down perspective. One possible concern, which parents should be aware of, is that the entire country of South Korea plays this game with feral intensity, including sponsoring compounds where kids (they start as kids anyway) play day and night - so intensely that their hands move like hummingbirds, too fast to be caught on camera. This means that the competition can be VERY intense! This can be quite demoralizing for kids who just wander into the multiplayer environment. Making sure that your kids play with other kids to ramp up will be better for their self esteem. I'd not be especially concerned about the sexuality - the female of concern (Kerrigan) is kind of a cross between X-men's "Mistique" and a gargoyle.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Educational value
Adult Written bydaniel.nicholas... August 6, 2010
I was skeptical about this game, namely from the Battle.Net revamp which left out many key features from the first game, but it turns out that I love it! A note bingomanatee about the Korean thing: There is no cross-server play (as of now) so if you bought the game in the US, you'll only play people in the US. There is also a nice matchmaking system that puts you against people of your own skill (roughly, of course).
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Educational value
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written byLeBob August 5, 2010

Excelent game, while more apropriate for 13+, is hardly graphic.

This is definetly one of the greatest and most satisfying games I have played. Though gore is present, all you ever really see is a slight red mist. Curse words are, for the most part, minor, and infrequent. Good role models and messages greatly outweigh the bad, and the good guys prevail in the end, with a major villain realizing the error of his deeds.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 11 years old February 21, 2011

AWESOME GAME FOR TWEENS UP

I think this game is epic. I dont have it but I played it at a friends house.It can be pretty violent but you can set the effects.The higher it is, the more blood and gore there is.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Educational value
Great role models
Teen, 14 years old Written byowenator1234 August 29, 2010

Great for teens.

Awesome game. Played it a lot when it first came out, and still play. story encourages killing the bad guys(zerg) and saving the dying good guy(protoss). Kinda gory, and involves shooting, but is a third person game, where you act as a kind of leader of your minions. I definitly agree with the rating.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 14 years old Written byEnglishPenguin May 28, 2016

Great game, though the the term strategy is overused.

The original starcraft is fantastic, the second is practically the same, except less memorable. The gameplay is enjoyable and can be either incredibly easy or painstakingly hard since you can set the difficulty. Like CMS said there is mature content, though it can be avoided. The battles can be very tense because of the limited resources, time, and many other factors. I would not say that you can use much strategy when attacking another group of enemies since it usually comes down to who has better soldiers. There is most definitely a large amount of strategical content in this game, but not as much as people say. It is highly enjoyable, frustrating, and overall, a great game for any strategy loving gamer.
Teen, 13 years old Written byBob The Zealot July 18, 2014
Teen, 15 years old Written bySavs September 17, 2013

This game is only for person aged 16 and above

Beacause it's rated 16+ by PEGI. Reason: It contains realistic looking violence
Teen, 14 years old Written byFirose April 15, 2013

staftcraft reviewcraft

I've been playing this game for about a year now, it i've got to say it's really good. The story is a complex one (bonus points from me), it's about a man by the name of Jim Raynor, who used to work with the current dictator of the government, Arcturus Mengsk, to overthrow the previous government. But Mengsk betrayed Raynor and left Sarah Kerrigan, Raynor's love, on a zerg infested planet to die. (there is a cutscene of this, but it cuts off right when the zerg are circling her. The zerg may be scary for younger kids.) Now Raynor fights against Mengsk, who has turned into a high up dictator who anyone would want to be brought down. But the loss of Kerrigan destroyed Raynor, and all he has left is revenge on Mengsk. So as he fights for a honorable cause, it fights it for a dishonorable reason. Then it turns out that the thought destroyed zerg have returned, and at their head is Sarah Kerrigan herself, only a twisted version of her. And now Raynor fights both the dominion and the zerg, all the while trying to figure out how to save Kerrigan. So basically there is no good role model, except for Raynor's second in command, who actually fights the fight for good reason. You do begin to connect with Raynor later on as he begins to redeem himself, but at first I questioned wether i wanted him to win. There are other characters, both funny and dark, but they don't get a lot of screen time. Just so you know, there is swearing (never goes to the f word, thank God), there is drinking and smoking, and of course, violence. I have a bit of an issue with the violence, but it's fixable. Simply go into settings, set the graphics to medium or low, and uncheck the 'Violent deaths' in the parental controls box. Don't go to ultra graphics if blood and gore bothers you, even with the unchecked box the deaths are still pretty gruesome. If you don't you'll be dealing with blood and flying body parts as the units fight it out. The worst are the zerg deaths, even the buildings are made out of organic material, so they explode as such. And the big zerg are even worse, so please, if you have a young kid, follow my instructions above. I'd also like to warn you that the game has its own version of 'zombies', seeing as the zerg can 'infest' people to fight for them. There is an entire mission devoted to that topic, but it's optional at least. As for the gameplay itself, it is awesome! The campaign is ridiculously fun, with many different varieties of missions to do, from trying to reach a target mineral amount as you fight zerg at the same time, to escorting civilians to a ship to escape a planet. Sometimes you have to retrieve an artifact by infiltrating an enemy base, others you have to wage a full out war. The ai knows what it's doing, so you have to think about staying alive and attacking at the same time. The game gives you every unit you would ever need, from marines for the front line to massive battleships for a heavy airstrike on an enemy base. But the real game is in the multiplayer. Play solo against another solo, or team up to an amount of 4 players per team. There is even a free-for-all mode! The Battlenet matchmaking system pits you against players of your skill, so you are constantly challenged. But be warned. This game is NOT easy to learn. Even if you did awesome in the campaign, the multiplayer is a whole other game. Things get high tec, FAST. It's common to have your mineral supply sniped by some void rays in the first 10 minutes of the game. And then there are the pro players. Thankfully the matchmaking system prevents you from having to play these people, but they use the keyboard in everything they do, sending their APM (actions per minute) into the hundreds, thousands even. If you want to excel at this game, you need to learn each unit, how to counter them and when to use them, learn the different strategies for the different races, how to expand your mineral supply quickly, when to strike and when to wait, so on and so forth. Or, if you aren't into that kind of thing, check out the arcade. This section of the game is one where players of the game, took it, modded it, and turned it into something else. For example, there's a game called Squadron tower defense, where you build units to prevent the creeps from destroying your security system. Or there's Empires and conquest, where you conquer other empires by destroying their command center, and they then fight for you. The list goes on and on, even including a game called proton cycles, where you fight it out, Tron style, riding cycles that leave trails of deadly light behind. The games are endless. So my final verdict is: this isn't good for kids under 14, (unless your kids are like me, kids who were exposed to the dark side of the world, and taught that it was bad and why) but otherwise i would recommend it. It's well built, the story is good, the gameplay is phenomenal, and you can play the arcade if you don't like the multiplayer.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written byJimyrynr October 10, 2011

WOOOOOOOOOOOOOO

Favorite game, great game. It's not as violent as it says.
Teen, 13 years old Written byKinbJune September 11, 2011

Infinity in One

StarCraft II is a complete misnomer for the game you are about to indict into your annals of gaming bliss: it requires no name. Because of the open source arcade that you can receive FOR FREE on the Battle.net website, you can enjoy the euphoric feeling derived only from this game simply by clicking the download button. Allow me to explain in simple vernacular: StarCraft II only requires payment if one wishes to purchase the single-player campaign, which is nowhere near worth sixty dollars; what is worth sixty dollars, likely much more than that, is the fact that the user can play multiple custom games and access a slew of other content through the avenues of this famous RTS. The list could go on for miles and, just to give you a description of the amount of modes found in this game, there are about fifty pages of mods for the game itself; each page holds sixteen results. If you have sixty dollars and you lack this game, what are you doing with your life?
What other families should know
Safety and privacy concerns
Kid, 11 years old August 15, 2011

Great Game but may have content not for 9-

Starcraft 2 is a great game and is about thinking strategy instead of a fps where you just kill people. In the single player campaign there is a little swearing. There is violence but you see from a birds eye view and the blood is not very realistic. In multiplayer there is a filter so you cant see inappropriate language. I
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much swearing

Pages