All member reviews for StarCraft II: Wings of Liberty

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging, great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging, good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging, good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging, okay learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Kids say

(out of 22 reviews)
AGE
11
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Teen, 15 years old Written byFusionElement August 14, 2010
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Incredible game that's rated T for a reason.

I absolutely love Starcraft 2, I play it all of the time. I like it because you can tell the game is well thought out and the amazing feeling of finding the best strategy to crush your opponent. I have not played the original Starcraft, but I must say that this game is excellent. CONCERNS: Violence- This game is about a war between three races, The Terrans (Future Humans), Protoss (Advanced yet dying alien race), and Zerg (scary, parasitic aliens, "bad guys"). This war takes place in space in the future, so SURPRISE! this game is violent. Units must engage in combat with other units and deaths are a small explosion of blood where the unit used to be and possibly a scream. The only way to win in this game is to eliminate all enemy armies. Language- In cut scenes there are mild swears.. HIGHLIGHTS: Educational: This game is NOT a shooter game, in this game you are a commander of one of the three armies mentioned earlier (In single player you are always human, online you may choose). You must find a good strategy and divide your resources wisely to help this plan. I find it sort of to be like chess, but not exactly. In 2 vs. 2 cooperative mode the people online are surprisingly very friendly and teamwork is strongly encouraged. Good messages- The protagonist of Single player is an outlaw. But it is because he is leading the rebellion against the dominion because they have become corrupt. Even when it seems the almost all of the terrans are brainwashed to hate him by the media, he still fights for what he believes in. I would also like to mention teamwork again. Safety isn't a concern- profiles display your achievements in the game. That's it. Not like facebook at all.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Educational value
Great messages
Kid, 12 years old September 8, 2010
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

tweens up

This game is AWESOME!!! playing as three different races (terrans, protoss, zerg) u can play online or offline on a TON of different maps. i havent played the first but i know the second is awesome. there is some brids eye view violence. you can go to options and turn the effects on high or low. having them on low effect will make a small amount blood not fall on the ground. but if you set the effects to high, limbs will fly, and blood with splat and bodies and blood will litter the ground. it isnt too gruesome though. my younger brother (whose 9) plays this game too. the zerg are a little bit scary. the language: some swearing in cutscenes is frequent. s--t is said VERY infrequently. but said a lot are b---h, d-mn, h-ll, and a--. The sexual content: an elf woman dances in a bikini in the cantina. but it is just a holigram. its not that bad. also alcohol is consumed frequently and cigars stick out of one dudes mouth. this game is overall the BEST game ive ever played. even though i say all that bad stuff the main character is a really good role model. i say tweens up.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Great role models
Kid, 12 years old May 8, 2011
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

Perfect for beginners and experts and also includes cheats

This is a great game to play real time strategy and has an amazing video definition
Kid, 11 years old February 21, 2011
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

AWESOME GAME FOR TWEENS UP

I think this game is epic. I dont have it but I played it at a friends house.It can be pretty violent but you can set the effects.The higher it is, the more blood and gore there is.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Educational value
Great role models
Teen, 14 years old Written byowenator1234 August 29, 2010
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Great for teens.

Awesome game. Played it a lot when it first came out, and still play. story encourages killing the bad guys(zerg) and saving the dying good guy(protoss). Kinda gory, and involves shooting, but is a third person game, where you act as a kind of leader of your minions. I definitly agree with the rating.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written byLeBob August 5, 2010
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Excelent game, while more apropriate for 13+, is hardly graphic.

This is definetly one of the greatest and most satisfying games I have played. Though gore is present, all you ever really see is a slight red mist. Curse words are, for the most part, minor, and infrequent. Good role models and messages greatly outweigh the bad, and the good guys prevail in the end, with a major villain realizing the error of his deeds.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written byBob The Zealot July 18, 2014
AGE
12
QUALITY
 
LEARNING
Teen, 15 years old Written bySavs September 17, 2013
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

This game is only for person aged 16 and above

Beacause it's rated 16+ by PEGI. Reason: It contains realistic looking violence
Teen, 14 years old Written byFirose April 15, 2013
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

staftcraft reviewcraft

I've been playing this game for about a year now, it i've got to say it's really good. The story is a complex one (bonus points from me), it's about a man by the name of Jim Raynor, who used to work with the current dictator of the government, Arcturus Mengsk, to overthrow the previous government. But Mengsk betrayed Raynor and left Sarah Kerrigan, Raynor's love, on a zerg infested planet to die. (there is a cutscene of this, but it cuts off right when the zerg are circling her. The zerg may be scary for younger kids.) Now Raynor fights against Mengsk, who has turned into a high up dictator who anyone would want to be brought down. But the loss of Kerrigan destroyed Raynor, and all he has left is revenge on Mengsk. So as he fights for a honorable cause, it fights it for a dishonorable reason. Then it turns out that the thought destroyed zerg have returned, and at their head is Sarah Kerrigan herself, only a twisted version of her. And now Raynor fights both the dominion and the zerg, all the while trying to figure out how to save Kerrigan. So basically there is no good role model, except for Raynor's second in command, who actually fights the fight for good reason. You do begin to connect with Raynor later on as he begins to redeem himself, but at first I questioned wether i wanted him to win. There are other characters, both funny and dark, but they don't get a lot of screen time. Just so you know, there is swearing (never goes to the f word, thank God), there is drinking and smoking, and of course, violence. I have a bit of an issue with the violence, but it's fixable. Simply go into settings, set the graphics to medium or low, and uncheck the 'Violent deaths' in the parental controls box. Don't go to ultra graphics if blood and gore bothers you, even with the unchecked box the deaths are still pretty gruesome. If you don't you'll be dealing with blood and flying body parts as the units fight it out. The worst are the zerg deaths, even the buildings are made out of organic material, so they explode as such. And the big zerg are even worse, so please, if you have a young kid, follow my instructions above. I'd also like to warn you that the game has its own version of 'zombies', seeing as the zerg can 'infest' people to fight for them. There is an entire mission devoted to that topic, but it's optional at least. As for the gameplay itself, it is awesome! The campaign is ridiculously fun, with many different varieties of missions to do, from trying to reach a target mineral amount as you fight zerg at the same time, to escorting civilians to a ship to escape a planet. Sometimes you have to retrieve an artifact by infiltrating an enemy base, others you have to wage a full out war. The ai knows what it's doing, so you have to think about staying alive and attacking at the same time. The game gives you every unit you would ever need, from marines for the front line to massive battleships for a heavy airstrike on an enemy base. But the real game is in the multiplayer. Play solo against another solo, or team up to an amount of 4 players per team. There is even a free-for-all mode! The Battlenet matchmaking system pits you against players of your skill, so you are constantly challenged. But be warned. This game is NOT easy to learn. Even if you did awesome in the campaign, the multiplayer is a whole other game. Things get high tec, FAST. It's common to have your mineral supply sniped by some void rays in the first 10 minutes of the game. And then there are the pro players. Thankfully the matchmaking system prevents you from having to play these people, but they use the keyboard in everything they do, sending their APM (actions per minute) into the hundreds, thousands even. If you want to excel at this game, you need to learn each unit, how to counter them and when to use them, learn the different strategies for the different races, how to expand your mineral supply quickly, when to strike and when to wait, so on and so forth. Or, if you aren't into that kind of thing, check out the arcade. This section of the game is one where players of the game, took it, modded it, and turned it into something else. For example, there's a game called Squadron tower defense, where you build units to prevent the creeps from destroying your security system. Or there's Empires and conquest, where you conquer other empires by destroying their command center, and they then fight for you. The list goes on and on, even including a game called proton cycles, where you fight it out, Tron style, riding cycles that leave trails of deadly light behind. The games are endless. So my final verdict is: this isn't good for kids under 14, (unless your kids are like me, kids who were exposed to the dark side of the world, and taught that it was bad and why) but otherwise i would recommend it. It's well built, the story is good, the gameplay is phenomenal, and you can play the arcade if you don't like the multiplayer.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written byJimyrynr October 10, 2011
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

WOOOOOOOOOOOOOO

Favorite game, great game. It's not as violent as it says.
Teen, 13 years old Written byKinbJune September 11, 2011
AGE
11
QUALITY
 
LEARNING

Infinity in One

StarCraft II is a complete misnomer for the game you are about to indict into your annals of gaming bliss: it requires no name. Because of the open source arcade that you can receive FOR FREE on the Battle.net website, you can enjoy the euphoric feeling derived only from this game simply by clicking the download button. Allow me to explain in simple vernacular: StarCraft II only requires payment if one wishes to purchase the single-player campaign, which is nowhere near worth sixty dollars; what is worth sixty dollars, likely much more than that, is the fact that the user can play multiple custom games and access a slew of other content through the avenues of this famous RTS. The list could go on for miles and, just to give you a description of the amount of modes found in this game, there are about fifty pages of mods for the game itself; each page holds sixteen results. If you have sixty dollars and you lack this game, what are you doing with your life?
What other families should know
Safety and privacy concerns
Kid, 11 years old August 15, 2011
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Great Game but may have content not for 9-

Starcraft 2 is a great game and is about thinking strategy instead of a fps where you just kill people. In the single player campaign there is a little swearing. There is violence but you see from a birds eye view and the blood is not very realistic. In multiplayer there is a filter so you cant see inappropriate language. I
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written bythegreatrman August 3, 2011
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Pretty good game!

If you are looking for a more child-friendly, less violent RTS game for your tween kids, go with warcraft III, despite what the review says for it. Otherwise this is a great game with some pretty violent images and some minor PG-13 language. Other than that, there are good role models and positive messages. Good game, but not so great for younger kids.
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much violence
Kid, 9 years old July 29, 2011
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

It's realy fun to play at my friends house it's a bit bloody but its still fun

for everyone 9 at smallest. And its got a really good store board so its cool.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Kid, 11 years old July 28, 2011
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Great game, but not "kid friendly."

It's a REALLY fun game. But if you're looking for a game for your kids, it's not the game. It has cursing, alcohol, and tobacco. It also depends on the kid though. If your kid can handle having no influence from these kind of things, and enjoys strategy and multiplayer, it's a good game. However, if your kid tends to copy people he sees on TV and video games, you shouldn't buy it for them. But it's not as bad as World of Warcraft if that says anything.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written byZagzig184 April 29, 2011
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

A great way to stimulate the mind

This game is a great way to stimulate the minds of people of all ages. There is a fair amount of violence, but it isn't like playing Call of Duty or even the original Mortal Kombat games: You don't shoot someone's head off or tear them limb from limb. With regards to the blood and gore, there is practically no blood unless you run the game on a high graphics setting, which requires a very high-end computer and is still near-impossible. Another object of note is that the game can be extremely frustrating for those children with minds conditioned by Call of Duty-esque games. It requires strategy, planning, and high levels of concentration. All in all, a great game.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Educational value
Teen, 13 years old Written bypatton1942 April 6, 2011
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

not for 9- good for 10-13 AWSOME for 13+

i've loved this game ever since i saw my friend playing the baita i dont think that sex is an issue at all but there are some problems with cussing overall a very good game in witch you can have fun with everything.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 12 years old February 26, 2011
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

fun

fun
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 15 years old Written byJester™ February 17, 2011
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Ideal for older, mature teens, not for tweens.

This is a really superb strategy game. However, it does contain relatively graphic violence, with humans and aliens engaging in warfare. If you have the graphics on maximum, there are considerable amounts of blood and gore that stain the field of battle for some time, i.e, when a certain unit dies, blood spills and you can visibly notice bit of gore twitching in the blood. Units are also burnt with fire and acid and can be seen writhing on the ground in agony before slumping over dead. A particular main character can be seen smoking and consuming alcohol on regular occasions. Also an instance in a cutscene where a drunken barfight breaks out, no one gets badly injured tho. The game also contains 3 instance where b**ch is used, and 2 where s*it is used. The upsides are how entertaining the game is to play, and to learn and master. The multiplayer is fun and competitive for those who really want to put their skills to the challenge. Overall a great RTS with a steep learning curve and enough challenge to keep you entertained for many, many hours.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written byTrevP October 27, 2010
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Best game ever

depends on what setting you have model on for graphics, the higher the model, the more blood and gore will fly.
What other families should know
Educational value

Pages