All member reviews for Super Mario Galaxy

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Kids say

(out of 87 reviews)
AGE
7
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Kid, 10 years old March 28, 2011
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Good game, but watch out!

Good game but do not go to the last level, very sad ending!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much consumerism
Safety and privacy concerns
Kid, 11 years old May 15, 2015
AGE
7
QUALITY
 
Great game, but has a slightly violent beginning scene and some stages can appear as a daunting place. Controls can be complicated for kids.
Kid, 11 years old May 8, 2015
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

Decent Game

This game has moderate violence, you can stun enemies with a spin attack, and stomp or kick them. Mario is tasked once again to save Princess Peach from Bowser, the fire breathing villain. Mario gets help flying around the galaxy by Rosalina, the Mother of all Loonas (little star people). Mario encounters numerous bosses and enemies, where he uses his spinning power to come out the victor. Mario also has to collect power stars, the source of power for their flying ship.
What other families should know
Easy to play/use
Teen, 17 years old Written bycyberboy5red January 6, 2015
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

Really good but I don't like the ending

title says it all
What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 17 years old Written byHorace Williams November 21, 2014
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

*claps hands for Super Mario*

I love Super Mario Galaxy. The colors are awesome and so are the levels. Good for the whole family. Buy it today, you'll thank me later.
Teen, 13 years old Written byMadelineMini November 8, 2014
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

Favorite Wii Game!

This is probably one of the best Mario games. Nintendo should make Super Mario Galaxy 3 on the Wii U! This game is a bit scary at some course. Like those creepy eel things and the skeleton fish boss, But it's not nightmare scary. The best part is the music, it's really beautiful! I wish it would have better multiplayer though. Hopefully Nintendo will make a 3rd game for this franchise!
What other families should know
Great role models
Easy to play/use
Too much violence
Teen, 16 years old Written byDylanLeviiHiggiNboth May 8, 2014
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

Mario goes on outer space adventures

If your kids are huge Mario fans, they will LOVE this! But expect some fantasy violence. The beginning, bosses, enemies and the black hole after the final boss may scare very young children. The book that Rosalina reads can be sad at times.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 16 years old Written bytonytorresan884 December 25, 2013
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

So awesome.

This is so much fun to play. The levels are off the hook, the colors are great, and it is just simply AMAZING. The 2nd one is even BETTER.
Kid, 11 years old November 4, 2013
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

Fun, but hard for kids under the age of 10.

My brother used to love this game when he was 7. Then, he got really advanced in it and got really mad because it got very hard. I would recommend this game to Tweens and up, because they can better understand what to do.
Teen, 14 years old Written byTommyhead October 30, 2013
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

Nice game

everythings nice except for the gamebeing to violent and the character hummiliaton of Mario's when you see his but threw his blue pants.
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much consumerism
Safety and privacy concerns
Kid, 11 years old October 15, 2013
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

I could go on and on about his game...

This game was released in 2007, and it is my second-favorite Mario game for many reasons. It took the 2D Mario, and put him to 3D (which we haven't seen since Super Mario Sunshine)! And it built on top of it with the anti-gravity system!!!!
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Easy to play/use
Safety and privacy concerns
Teen, 17 years old Written byarandomperson August 15, 2013
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

Amazing

In this game, there is actually a female protagonist that does something besides getting kidnapped.
What other families should know
Great role models
Easy to play/use
Teen, 15 years old Written byMitchell Charleston June 8, 2013
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

Perfect video game.

I love Super Mario Galaxy. It is fun and easy to play. It is also pretty addicting. Super Mario Galaxy 2 is even better.
Teen, 17 years old Written bymoviewannabe May 8, 2013
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

Every Little Thing Rosalina Does Is Magic

This is a fine game. I remember renting this at a video game store just to unlock Rosalina to play as on Mario Kart Wii. Funny, unlike Super Mario Sunshine on the Nintendo Gamecube (which takes place on a beach resort), Super Mario Galaxy takes place in space. My cousin has this game and I can only assume that those who love space adventures should play this. Wicked that Mario can breathe in space, since space has no air, no gravity and it's cold as hell.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 13 years old Written bysilvonadux March 19, 2013
AGE
8
QUALITY
 
LEARNING

silvonadux

This is an amazing mario game! Just saying, I selected "Fair for learning" because it shows just a tiny bit how gravity works. It's not like it has math equations or anything. It took me a few minutes to adapt to the difference and direction of this game. I'm NOT saying this is a bad game, okay?! I'm just saying it is confusing sometimes, but gamers like me are fine. Beware of motion sickness okay? But overall, I LOVE THIS GAME! Go ahead and try it out!
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much violence
Teen, 14 years old Written byTJarnot December 2, 2012
AGE
5
QUALITY
 
LEARNING

Mario Galaxy: A different way to play

Super Mario Galaxy is different than most Mario games you may have played in the past. It obviously stars Mario, a portly plumber, who's mission is to save the Princess from an evil dragon named Bowser, who is trying to take over the universe. It mostly focuses on platforming and collection stars, the things you need to collect to progress. You jump all over small planetoids, collecting stars and completing missions like defeat an alien or a robot or racing through a level in a certain time. This game is perfect for little kids who want a fun romp through space and fighting aliens and robots.
What other families should know
Great role models
Easy to play/use
Teen, 16 years old Written byndrwcd November 17, 2012
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

20 dollars and it was totally worth it

anyone who likes mario games will enjoy this one cause it`s one of the best ones out there
Kid, 10 years old November 10, 2012
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

A Fun Adventure in Space!

Super Mario Galaxy is an amazing, and very creative game. There is mild violence and sometimes the camera can be a little strange. This game will have you on the edge of your seat. Also, if you get 100% as Mario, you might get a surprise seeing what's next. I love this game, and hope everyone else does too.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Easy to play/use
Teen, 16 years old Written bylovzhisdad October 17, 2012
AGE
7
QUALITY
 
LEARNING

Great game in all quantity areas, but is it appropriate?

By "Great game in all quantity areas", I mean the game has great graphics, great music, plenty of originality, etc. By "but is it appropriate?" I mean that other than Mario getting shocked and getting sucked into a black hole, other parts of the game, like the infrequent, but prolonged close-ups of Bowser's face that could be potentially scary. Plus, the multiplayer mode might send the wrong message to kids about what the word "Teamwork" means.
Kid, 11 years old August 19, 2012
AGE
3
QUALITY
 

Uc

An entertaining game based on Mario conquering many different aliens in order to save his 'loved one' from the evil villain, Bowser.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models

Pages