All member reviews for The Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion

Common Sense Media says

A must-play RPG for mature fantasy fanatics.
 

Users say

(out of 210 reviews)
age 11+
 
Review this title!
Kid, 11 years old May 17, 2011
 

perfect for pre-teens and up

This is the perfect example why parents should actually see some gameplay before judgement! Sure it has mild innuendo, but you have got to give Bethesda credit!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 14 years old Written byandreman500 March 29, 2011
 

Oblivion

this game has some cussing and not too violent battles in this game and it's a good choice for kids 13+
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 14 years old Written byXbox360Gamer March 26, 2011
 

A decently clean RPG game

A lot of RPG games out there contain a lot of sexual content that keeps some parents from buying them; this one is an exception. Yes, the box does say "sexual themes". This simply refers to the fact that you can loot armor or clothes from bodies of players that you killed, leaving them in undergarments. There is also a quest that could be counted as involving "sexual themes", but it's nothing to worry about. Another thing parents may worry about is the violence and any graphic content. The violence is minimal. There are some instances where you will see corpses hanging from ropes or impaled to a wall. The corpses appear as if they've decayed into what would look like a zombie. You kill mostly fantasy creatures (including zombies) and sometimes humans. Killing an innocent civilian will get you in trouble with the law who will try to arrest whenever they spot you. So, every bad action comes with a consequence. Also, you can drink wine in this game and take a drug called "Skooma". Wine decreases your stats and Skooma temporarily boosts them, but has some nasty side effects. Lastly, the game gives you endless choices. You can join the Dark Brotherhood and assassinate people or join the Thieves Guild. Or, you can join the Fighters Guild and the Mage's Guild and take the "good guy" route through the game. The numerous amount of quests and sandbox style gameplay offer many hours of game time.
Teen, 13 years old Written byTeenZork March 25, 2011
 

OVERRATED AND GREAT

one of my favorite games EVER. Definitely the best RPG! Its not and M game at all, there was a mix up during its release and they were to lazy to fix the rating. Fine for any mature kids, and ANY teens. VERY VERY FUN
Teen, 14 years old Written byDragonRise1 March 21, 2011
 

Should be teen

I've researched the reason it's M, and supposedly it's gore. I only see zombies with no heads or arms. I have not seen anything graphic in the game.
Teen, 16 years old Written bymozez March 17, 2011
 

perfect for anyone who loves midevil stuff

i love this game i started playing when i was 12 years old and it relieve my stress anytime anywhere. i love the fantasy and the magic of this game its too bad that i dont have those benefits in real life. this game is freaking awesome i recommend to anyone even the little ones
Teen, 17 years old Written byalecmp84210 March 7, 2011
 

Perfect for the creative and imaginative, no imagination? no buy

If you can make up situations buy this game, but if your going in for just what the game comes with then dont get it
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Parent of a 13 year old Written byresponsible_adult March 1, 2011
 

Perfect for 13 and up

What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Parent of a 10, 12, and 14 year old Written byGimmick February 26, 2011
 

stunning game

fantastic game filled with spectacular sights, monsters and landscapes. true, it is violent but blood is rarely seen and the occasional "d**n" and "h**l" are present as well, but the overall quality of the game, easy gameplay and wonderfull sights make this one of the best games ever on console and pc
What other families should know
Too much violence
Great messages
Teen, 14 years old Written byGGAMMERR February 11, 2011
 

Fine for Teens, not for Tweens.

This game is a great game that i just love, but i think it is inapropriate for kids younger than 13 because it has a lot of action in it and blood, but for kids older than 13, i think it will be fine.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Great messages
Kid, 11 years old February 6, 2011
 

Great game, 11+ because you can turn blood off.

I think Oblivion is an awesome game. My parents let me play it because you can turn the blood off. I have played it since I was 10 and it is one of the best games I have ever played. The best bit is the complete freedom to go anywhere and do anything you like. You don't even have to do the main quest if you don't want to! There are also mods which add content to the game. [PARENT WARNING: Some mods contain innapropriate content and you should check before letting your child download a mod] I personally don't believe in God but some people may find some of the language inappropriate if you do believe in God.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Kid, 11 years old January 20, 2011
 
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 15 years old Written byiwanttehmonkeys January 19, 2011
 
i personally think this is a great game and yes there is a corpse hanging from the ceilng in one level that is rather gruesome but overall it isnt that violent as long as your over 14 as for sex. there really isnt anything for parents to worry about except for innuendo in conversations. there is blood and alcohol but the fantasy setting of it i think aims for age groups anywhere in the teenage years
What other families should know
Too much violence
Great messages
Teen, 13 years old Written bySara2573 January 17, 2011
 

Okay for certain ages...

I played this when I was little. And I remember going into a "Nightmare Room" It scared me with the music playing too. It isn't scary anymore (of course) and it's fun to play but it promotes the idea of stealing a little bit. You can pick locks and steal then guards will chase you. There is also pickpocketing. Finally, the buttons can be confusing!! :D
Kid, 12 years old January 3, 2011
 

Perfect for tweens and up.

I love it, one of the best role-playing game experiences out there today. Occasionally there will be scary looking creatures that you won't be able to sleep at night, but once you get used to the experience of all these scary beasts, you won't think they are scary anymore, more annoying than scary.
Kid, 10 years old December 30, 2010
 

Best game ever

my all time favorite game play it when ever my brother is off the x box a tiny bit disturbing sometimes when you go to certain places there is a chance of seeing a head on a steak near caves or in oblivion gates but might scare some violence is not like call of duty but when charecters do get hit blood come out and you can go around town murdering innocents and guards. the player can strip down to under pants but noting more. about as violent as morrowind (elder scrolls 3) very fun game i allready preorderd skyrim (elder scrolls 5). frequent drinking
Kid, 11 years old December 28, 2010
 

the best

best game iv ever had its so much fun and you can do wahtever you want in it get it and it has little blood but you can be striped to underwar
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 11 years old December 21, 2010
 

amazing game

this game is great! you have freedom of where you go who you meet what you do. there is amazing graphics and an almost endless landscape. PLAY IT
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Parent of a 13 year old Written byD_Sides December 10, 2010
 

Love the game! Good for tweens

My kids are not aloud to play M games but this is my exception. In my opinion this game should be rated T. There is hardly any gore or blood and it is very non-visibal. My kid has a facination in midevil times now. I even play this game sometimes with my kid and I am not much of a gamer. I like the fact that for the most part you are killing monsters and goblins. Overall this is a great game! And as for language it is very minor. Finally a game with a good story line and is not about shooting everything in sight.
What other families should know
Educational value
Teen, 14 years old Written byBenny95346 December 1, 2010
 

Sophisticated, Fun and Realistic

Wow. I have so much to say about this game. It is so diversified, I can't begin to tell you about everything that rocks about this game! Each person has relaives, an individual voice, schedules, and they even run the shops. You can do lots of stuff in Oblivion, and follow the twisting storyline. The graphics are amazing, and everything in the game is as realistic as real life! The controls are easy and there are several communities that give mods to tweak the game so it is harder, more realistic or just goofy. The game is no problem to security as it is offline. The game is easier to play on the PC because you have access to the console, but beware! Sometimes you might do something and the storyline will never advance or you will be stuck in an object. To conclude, I would totally recommend this to any hardcore gamers out there!!!
What other families should know
Too much violence

Pages