All member reviews for The Last of Us

Common Sense Media says

Exceptional storytelling, but lots of violence, profanity.
 

Learning

Users say

(out of 75 reviews)
age 14+
 
Review this title!
Adult Written bychristian2011 June 15, 2013
 

The most authentic third-person interactive game of the year.

The Last Of Us is a third-person game with incredibly realistic interactions with the environment, weaponry and combat; widely compelling story, genuine characters with their own personality, great voice acting, and how you develop your own sense of survival and strategy after each encounter with the infected. It's a great game, no doubt, and I highly recommend it to anyone (well...over 17) due to the M rating. The violence is very graphic, bloody and gory - where infected and people get killed in numerous gruesome ways (shot, beheaded, stabbed, gutted, limbs cut off, blown to bits, etc.) and never shies away from the screen. Language is frequent and strong - multiple uses of f**k, godd**n, sh*t and other derivatives including crude anatomical terms (c**k, d**k, c**t). There's some sexual themes but nothing graphic or strong, and there's drug use also in game (pill popping, use of alcohol). Kids under 17 shouldn't play this game due to graphic bloody violence and gore, and pervasive strong language.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written bySh0ck_13lade May 15, 2014
 
LEARNING

Naughty Dog Staff

I am a game designer at Naughty Dog. I worked on this game with several others. Now don't turn away from this review. This isn't marketing. I loved making this game and I love playing it as well. I'm proud to be part of the project. Trust me, I would say the same even if I am just your everyday consumer. This game is brilliant, a true masterpiece. I hardly believe that I myself had help make it. It was a milestone in my young career (I am only 28). Neil, the producer, did an excellent job. First off, the morals of the game is good for younger teens. It helps them understand a world unfamiliar to them yet familiar as well. It helps them understand that every fight and every fall is mutual. There is two sides to everything in this game. It helps them understand that they aren't the only ones trying to live another day in this game. We want them to know sympathy (though they aren't the intended audience) when they kill someone. Also, we want them to understand teamwork. In the fictionalized world we crafted and imitated from real life, you can't go without another person. It also shows you that morals are different for everyone. It shows them that there is no actual good or evil. When they wipe out a group of bandits, they are wiping out possibly a community or devastating them. This lets them feel the true repercussions of their actions. We reinforce this with realistic characters and realistic "enemies". The game also teaches conservation of materials, planning ahead, and making decisions that could lead to heavy consequences or a safe way out. Second of all, the game's story line is brilliant. It is just as interesting and meaningful as a book that earned the Newberry Medal. If your child loves to read or just loves a good story, this is a go-to for them. At an E3 Convention following the release of the game, I got comments from players stating that the single player got them "reaching for tissues". It's unbelievable and unforgettable. Third of all, the game may be brutal but it isn't very gory. As a matter of fact, we held back on the gore.There are some scenes that may send shivers through your spine. However, we are getting good reviews about the game play. Not to toot our own horn, but our reception included it being "smooth, easy to pick up, satisfying and fun". However, we did not make the game with the intent to make them kill. We want them to make choices on how they deal with their situations. Is violence necessary in the scenario? That is up to you. We want them to simulate the fact that the protagonists, Joel and Ellie don't want to fight or kill but they will do what is necessary. Fourth of all, the multi-player is regarded as one of the best online experiences. We balanced the game to the point that teamwork is a MUST, not a want. This goes the same for planning and strategic play. We want your child to solve and deal with problems so that they will lead the team to victory. Failure means defeat. Our "Factions" system guarantees that they learn from their mistakes fast, and hopefully this becomes a habit of theirs: learn from your mistakes quickly and never make them again. Just as there is no "i" in The Last of Us, there is no "i" in team. This is regarded as a must-have and one of the best experiences of the 7th console generation (PS3, Wii, Xbox 360, etc.). It won over 75 "game of the year" awards. Many of our fans and staff members adored the game. We hope you do to. I only leave you with one question: What would YOU do to protect the things you value and the ones you love?
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Easy to play/use
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 15 years old Written byNo Name, for real. July 2, 2013
 

Sad, brutal, and excellent.

There are very little chances to experience something like this now days. Naughty dog has it another home run, but unlike other naughty dog games, this game cleared the bleachers, soared across town, and landed boldly through someones glass house. This is not your typical third person shooter. This is an excellent and well woven story, filled with themes of love, loss, and redemption. All its characters are emotionally compelling, putting them in virtually unpredictable situations. Much like video games version of Cormack McCarthy's The Road, and with such high exceptions the last of us meets, time and time again. Like the road, the Quest isn't so much about what happens to humanity, but the tale of two people and there journey. This game is not for kids. Its emotional and filled with sometimes shocking violence and profanity, most of the profanity from the mouth of a 14 year old girl. This game's situations are sad, like the unexpected and tragic death of a young girl at the beginning of the game, made me cry... Like seriously I was crying. It's a interesting and character driven story, I seriously recommend playing it for that. However it's violence is sometimes startling, with many jump scares and various shootings and killings, with blood pooling on the ground below characters who've been shot, as well as at least close to 70 F words. This game messes with your emotions, it makes you fell, sorry, sad, amazed, and confused yet engaged all at the same time. It's a game that puts in the shoes of a character who does not know if your doing the good or bad, and more leaves it to you to decide once it's all said and done. Naughty dog... I almost forgive Uncharted 3 because of this. Almost.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Parent of a 7, 10, and 12 year old Written byTre_C June 24, 2013
 

A "must" play--when the kids are in bed!

The Last of Us is an incredible story-driven video game that, while definitely not for children, is one that will be known as the highlight of the PS3. The game play and linear story are intertwined in such a manner as to not know where one ends and the other begins. The motion capture and voice acting are superb and you definitely feel for the characters as the game progresses. In the single-player game, you play a character, Joel, who is trekking across a post-apocalyptic United States in 2033, in order to escort a young teen named Ellie to a resistance group called the Fireflies. Along the way you have to contend with zombie-like creatures infected with the cordyceps fungus and hostile humans such as bandits and cannibals. The game play rewards stealth over typical firepower. You also craft weapons or medical items by combining items scavenged in the world. On easy setting it took me approximately 20 hours. The gameplay itself is very violent, although the gore setting can be turned off in the options which reduces some of the problem. Note that it is possible (for the most part) to avoid killing, but I doubt that many players utilize this option. I know I didn't, except when it was the prudent method to stay alive. The game is suitably violent enough that I would not allow my kids to play it or watch it being played. The most problematic element for me, however, is the almost continual use of profanity. I wish there was a setting to turn THAT aspect off. Since the game is so dependent upon the characters' interaction (and indeed, that is one of the shining features of the game), it is a shame that the authors of the script relied upon profanity so heavily. The game deserves its MA rating. As for the online multi-player, what little in-game dialogue that exists is not objectionable. The online game does allow for player chat, but it is not a requirement. It can easily be muted to avoid with any profanity, although to be fair I haven't heard much at all during my many hours of online gameplay. One nice thing about the online game is that it is not solely a twitch FPS, but actually rewards a more tactical style of play. You'll need to plan ahead when capturing supplies, etc, and teamwork is necessary. Because of the complexity I don't think it lends itself to the typical teen smack talk that one often finds in online games. In sum, if you have a PS3 and are wondering what the fuss is about video games, then this is a great one to play. Just make sure you play it when the kids are in bed. --An edit: Naughty Dog, in an update to the multiplayer game, thought there wasn't enough "f-bombs" in the scant language used in the MP game so they "remedied" the problem. So be sure to keep the volume down.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Adult Written byAlienWorld July 13, 2013
 

A Fantastic Game that Earned the M rating

I would not call this a violent video game. That would be grouping it with a whole bunch of really stupid games like Gears of War and Saints Row 3. Both of those games use violence as a fun way to progress in the world. The Last of Us does not fall into that category. The first time I got a game over screen in the game, it scared me enough where I had to pause the game for a minute, and I was really careful not to be caught again. This game depicts the awful things that one would have to do in order to live for twenty years after the apocalypse. The characters are fleshed out and the story and gameplay are top notch. It took me 19 hours to finish the game. All that being said, I wouldn't allow any of my kids to play it for a while. Even if you allow your kid to play other M rated games like Call of Duty, I would still not let them play this. This is a horror-action game. I wouldn't let my kids play it until they were eighteen, but if you have some very mature kids I may let a 16 year old play it. The game is great, but know what you are getting into. It is sad and bleak.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Parent Written bySardtly June 26, 2013
 

Bloody, violent, yet AMAZING

The Last Of Us is one of those spectacular, rare games that we barely see nowadays. This game is entirely story driven, with layers upon layers of depth to it. It is nothing short of amazing and is a "must have" for any PS3 owner. The violence in this game can be disturbing, but it is just as violent as the Assassin's Creed series. The only difference is that Joel, the protagonist, is a lot less clean and quick with his kills than Altair, Conner, and Ezio are. Violence in this game, however, isn't your standard video game violence. Unlike other games like God of War and Call of Duty, which glorify violence, The Last of Us realistically displays violence, bringing to life a grittier and more intimate feel to the fights. There is the option to turn off gore in the, but doing so takes away from the game's feel, sort of drawing you away from the "realistic survival" nature of the narrative. The profanity in this game is not too bad. There are every so often words like sh*t, p*ss,d*mn, and b*tch. The heavier dialogue such as f*ck, f*cker, and a**hole are not really that frequent. There aren't any sexual themes in the game. There is one minor scene where Ellie picks up a pornographic magazine, wondering what it was, but nothing is shown. The graphics in this game are amazing, and at times make me feel like I'm playing a next gen console. Being a fan of the Uncharted series, I know what good graphics are, and Naughty Dog has truly done some serious work making their visuals more realistic and believable for the Last of Us. There are times where you just want to stop and look at the panoramic landscapes or small detalic furniture. Even the ruddy streets and old warehouse buildings look incredibly realistic. I have never seen a better looking game. The Uncharted series (Naughty Dog's other award winning games) had amazing story telling and incredible dialogue. Not only does The Last of Us have the same delicately crafted story structure and superb dialogue, but it also has emotional value, some that the Uncharted series lacked. Every character you encounter in this game will in some way pull at your heart strings. The first 20 minutes of this game will have you drenched in tears. It's introduction has got to be one of the best game intros ever. There may be times when you'll have to take a reality to check, because the characters are so emotionally deep that you could swear they were your closest friends. The heart of this game lies in its emotional tone, which along with its incredible story, will keep you playing for hours on end. I actually rescheduled my doctor's appointment because I was too sucked into the game's realistic cast and fantastic story. I could not put the controller down for even a minute. Overall Naughty Dog has forged another masterpiece from its furnace of award winning titles. This game may be a bit too mature for kids under the age of 15. If you were thinking about buying this game for your child you should realize that there is some heavy language at times and the violence can get gory. The main concern would really be the violence because it is incredibly realistic and graphic at times, but it is nothing new to the video game world and is definitely not over the top like some games. If you have a PS3 get the game right away. It is something you should not miss out on if your 15 years or older. I thought I would never say this, but The Last of Us is an instant classic and is just as fun if not more than the entire Uncharted series. Don't wait! Get this game!
Kid, 12 years old June 27, 2014
 
LEARNING

Best Game Ever

I played this game with my friend and although it is pretty violent I think if you bought the game you should be able to handle. There is a lot of cursing and most of it is by the 14 year old girl have throughout the game. But this game is also very emotional. SPOILER ALERT: The Main Character's Daughter gets shot in the neck and bleeds to death. A character shoots his infected brother then shoots himself. The main character gets impaled by a metal pole. Then the game forces you to play as the 14 year old girl. She gets captured by people who turned to cannibalism when they didn't have enough food she end up bludgeoning the cannibal leader with a clever until he dies.
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Parent of a 13 year old Written byPlaystationGamerZ June 20, 2014
 
LEARNING

Great for High School age and above

This Award Winning ps3 hit it a real classic. The only real worry about the game is the fair amount of violence and somewhat infrequent swearing. If your child is 13 or older, I would say they would be just fine playing this game. Like I said, it's a real classic that everyone should play.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Easy to play/use
Adult Written byLifeGamer November 19, 2013
 

Amazing Story, displayed realisticly.

This is one of the best games I have ever played. Top 5 easily, I would be surprised if it did not win GOTY. To begin, Violence. It is violent. you play as Joel a late 40s early 50s man in the post-apocalyptic US. He is asked to take care of a 14 year old girl, Ellie. the game follows them across the US. Along the way they have to fight their way through zombie like infected and fellow surviving humans. This is done with fists, guns, melee weapons, Molotovs and explosives. The combat is frantic and brutal. but displayed in a non-glorifying way. It is highly realistic, enough so to make you feel bad about what you are doing. There is a cut scene with torture, but I would say it is justified. There are several references to suicide and mercy killings. Language is common through out. S**t, F**k, ect. There are some brief references to sex. A short joking conversation between the main characters and a suggested pedophile. No images or explicit content. The game has a very positive role model in Joel, he does horrible things, including torture, but it to take care of his sotto daughter Ellie. If your child is an middle to older teen and they are mature enough to handle the cursing this is a must have for this console generation. To be completely honest I am 16. I created this account as an adult because no one listens to "teens".
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Adult Written byCheesewhiz July 8, 2013
 

Keep this games away from kids under 17, even if you think that they are mature enough.

This game is a rare masterpiece. It makes you think about the violence your character has to commit to defend himself and those he cares about. Most video games this violent are not meant to be a deep emotional experience and are just being violent for shock value and entertainment. The Last Of Us clearly stands out in this way by making the violence extremely realistic and disturbing. I cannot praise the characters Naughty Dog has created enough. They are believable and relatable, and most of they have the character flaws needed to make a person a person. The emotional impact of this story is amazing because it quickly becomes a game about violence, not just a violent game. You really begin to think about how the violent world in the game affects Ellie as she has to kill to save Joel's life. By the end of the game, you are going to be attached to the characters in it. Common sense media again says that the positive messages and positive role models are pretty low which I greatly disagree with. They make some choices that I don't always agree with, but at the end of the day the main character is always willing to die for Ellie who has become like a daughter to him. If that's not a positive role model and message then I don't know what is. The gameplay is rarely dull as it is nearly non stop violence. I have never really enjoyed survival horror games, but this one is different. The horror seems less like a slasher movie and more like true survival. You scavenge everything you find and the biggest choice you will have to make is :molotov cocktail or health pack? It doesn't sound like much but you would be surprised at how much the game depends on choices like this, and how it never gets tedious. For parental concerns that this review hasn't already addressed there is very strong pervasive language and the gore is extreme though the deaths of any of the enemies is never overdone and the violence is never glorified, though the violence can be downright terrifying. The only other issue is sexuality, but that is only in one seen, which is pretty comical, and isn't over the PG-13 rating. This game is amazing in nearly every way, but as the title says, it is definitely NOT for children.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 14 years old Written byAhiena7 June 18, 2013
 

Another "Naughty Dog" video game success!!!

I love the game! The graphic's are awesome. I love the violence and gruesome scenes and game play .Reminds me of Uncharted Game Play (since same company creator). If you LOVE The Walking Dead (Telltale Version) and Uncharted:Series (Naughty Dog) you will love The Last Of Us. (Favorite Character is Ellie: since we both 14, tough and awesome)
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much swearing
Educator and Parent of a 13 year old Written byBestGames84 July 1, 2014
 
LEARNING

A must have for all gamers

This game does contain some violence, but it's an action game, what can you expect. The violence and minimal swearing is the only questionable content for this game I can think of. Enjoy
Teen, 16 years old Written bySevares99 March 29, 2015
 

This will be an important review to read.

First off, the last of us is a fantastic game. However if you are looking on Common Sense Media this is likely not what you are looking for. So is this game alright for a kid to play? One thing that I rarely noticed in reviews is that in all gamemodes GORE CAN BE TURNED OFF. This is a gory game no doubt about it, so know that it is an option to remove the gore. Violence is present at almost all times, but the way the game presents violence is what made this game for me. Violence is almost never rewarded by the game, and it is always a better choice not to engage. Killing in this game is so agonizing, real, and heart-wrenching that I felt real emotion each time the game forced me into a situation where it was the only option. The game also presents moral quandaries. I would always wonder weather killing the human AI in the game was morally justified. It went beyond the normal "him or me" aspect of a survival game. Was it justified to kill the bandits who had robbed and killed hundreds before me? The doctors who are about to murder a little girl? The family who had to kill to save their children? The Last of us is an extremely thought-provoking game and it miles away from your average shoot 'em up hack 'n slash. If your child can handle blood and gore this will be an experience that will force them to consider moral situations and the human cost of your actions. So please, parents, don't immediately dismiss this game because it is rated M. The realism portrayed here create a masterpiece that have changed my views on what makes a good game. Too long; Didn't read: Gore can be turned off. The Last of Us is great. The realism of the game creates moral and emotional choices that change the way I think about video game violence.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Parent of a 12 year old Written byParent of 11 Yr old July 1, 2014
 
LEARNING

Great for skilled players

This game has challenging moments, but most teens will have no problem. Most kids by age 11 have seen their fair share of movies, and this game is on par with a pg-13 rated movie. It really is a great game that everyone should play sometime in their life. BTW my son is 11 years old.
Teen, 14 years old Written byKaphooey July 21, 2013
 

DON'T MISS OUT!

Sex is not a problem in this game. At one scene, Ellie makes a brief reference to masturbation, but it is hardly noticeable. The violence and language in this game are what gives it a M rating. You play as Joel, a man who lost someone very important to him. He then has the job to smuggle a 14 year old girl named Ellie. At first, they dislike each other. As you play through the game, you see that they bond and that is very heart warming. Gore is also very explicit and you will see limbs fly off occasionally. The concept of clickers may be frightening to some people. Language is also said sometimes. It helps immerse the player at some moments, and sometime is just useless.
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Parent of a 12 year old Written byPlaystation FTW July 1, 2014
 
LEARNING

Know your kid

To be honest, I bought the game for myself and once I finished, I decided it was actually appropriate for my 12 year old son to play. He is pretty mature for his age, and so far he really likes it. It has quite a bit of violence. but not more than what he's seen in a typical action movie. A bit of swearing is the only other issue, so give the game your best judgement.
What other families should know
Great role models
Parent Written byCommonSenseReviewer October 7, 2013
 

The Last of Us is a brilliant story-driven horror game, and it's unfortunate that kids are too young to enjoy this masterful game

Make no mistake: this game is not for kids. It's full of excessively brutal violence and gore, frightening imagery, concepts such as cannibalism and profane language. But what adults will get out of this, is a tense action game with a masterfully told story, which often examines and debates the dillemmas of the human condition. You play in a post-apocalyptic world, where a virus has infected everyone and turned them into rabid zombies, rife with quarantines, violent resistance groups and a corrupt government. You play as Joel, a grieving father (who lost his daughter), who escorts a young girl Ellie (who has a special gift) across the country and their relationship is a highlight in the game. Ellie is a strong female character, and despite only being 13, she is forced, by the circumstances around her, to behave like an adult. She like, everyone else, kills and steals to survive in the brutal world. But the goodness and compassion otherwise in her make her a bright light in a bleak dark world. As for the core gameplay itself, you sneak around, sticking to the shadows, always crawling behind cover, because if you are spotted by an enemy, it will be curtains for you. So, the player creates diversions with sound, by throwing a brick across the room to create a diversion, to then sneak behind the enemy's back and stab it. The score, based on acoustic guitars and heavy percussion is strong, and it is one of the best looking games on the PS3. This game gets everything right. It's just unfortunate that young kids will have to wait until they are older to play this incredible game.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written byTeamPlayer101 June 25, 2013
 

For 14 or older?

The Last of Us is a gaming miracle developed be Naughty Dog developers. the game take place in post-apocalyptic US. A middle-aged man Joel is hired to protect a 14 year old girl named Ellie, while avoiding other ruthless human survivors as well as "The infected", humans under the control of a deadly parasite. This parasite gives human undead traits though still alive, blood on mouth, pale skin and an appetite for healthy human flesh. Yes, this is a violent game with a lot of cursing, but it is also very emotional with an INCREDIBLE storyline. I would recommend this game for ages 14+ if they are mature. Thank You : )
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 15 years old Written byGenericZane August 10, 2014
 

For mature audiences, but one you won't regret

Let me start off by saying that this is one of the best games I've ever played. Hands down, it's amazing. In most shooters you aimlessly kill with no actual logical sense or thought out process, this game is far from that. You play as Joel, who's lost everything in the world due to a global infection (a zombie-esque infection). He finds himself delivering an immune 14-year-old, Ellie, across America to attempt to make a vaccine. What makes this game truly special is the relationship between Joel and Ellie and the evolution of their characters. There are some obvious mature topics in this game such as violence and scary themes, not to mention the use of strong language. However, I feel that a mature person can take these things for what they are as an enhancement to the overall mood and tone of the story, as well as furthering the game's grounded realism. When it's all said and done, this game is fantastic and I feel that everyone should have a chance to experience it.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 16 years old Written byPahrokkal October 9, 2013
 

The Last of Us

Wow, just...wow. When I first played this game I was almost immediately sucked right into the story, graphics, and game-play. You play as Joel, a man in his late 50's who is hired to smuggle a girl named Ellie across the country. Violence: Let me say that when the back of the box says: "Intense Violence" they mean it. Joel has a number of ways at his disposal for brutally murdering someone. As a matter of fact, one cut scene of the game, (A part in the game where it shows a small cinematic.) It has Joel brutally torturing two men. First he takes a pocket knife and stabs one of them in the knee. He carries on saying: "Where is Ellie..tell me now. Or I'll pop your God d**n knee off." After that he chokes the man to death. He moves to the other man and picks up a pipe..and..he smacks him in the face with it. Later in that mission, Ellie, BRUTALLY kills a man with a machete. (Out of self defense, because the man was going to..do something unacceptable to her, no private parts were shown.) She takes the machete and smacks him in the face multiple times with it. With TONS of blood. I think that's enough for the violence. Lets move on to the language. The language is pretty extensive, a lot of the time Ellie and Joel say "F word, S word, D word, and H word. The game has MANY moments where you will drop a tear, or fear for Joel/Ellie's life, but this makes the game much better by a landslide. There are also many moments where the game will make you laugh, but sometimes with raunchy jokes. For Example: One cutscene, has Ellie reading, she notices an "Interesting" book and begins to read. No parts are show but it is still obvious. She then says: "Whoah...How...How the "H" would you walk around with that thing!" She then looks at the magazine with a funny look and says: "Oh, why are these all stuck together?" Joel replies with an "Umm." And she says laughing while she does it: "I'm just effing with you..." Shen then throws the magazine out. I think this game is worth the money, and it will be a great addition to your game collection, but just don't let it anywhere NEAR kids under 15
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing

Pages