All member reviews for The Lord of the Rings: War in the North

Common Sense Media says

Simple fantasy RPG with frequent and bloody melee combat.

Users say

(out of 17 reviews)
age 12+
Review this title!
Adult Written byHalo reach fan February 16, 2012

war in the goreth

good game but extremely violent not for kids over 9000!
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written byprimeian January 1, 2012

1 thing....

I will say one thing and one thing only: Limbs DO NOT stop flying around the screen in slow motion.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 15 years old Written byJellyfishJam38 November 30, 2012

Lord of the Rings goes Dragon Age, not for kids

Most of the LotR games have sucked, until Snowblind Studios made this game. This isn't really the best game in the world, but it doesn't suck, either. The dialogue can be weak, and the combat gets repetitive, but this won't leave you requesting a refund. Plus, I somewhat enjoy the new story and characters, but I do not really identify with them, as they're just not too developed. Let's just say, this is a thousand times better than the previous game, Conquest, and is ideal for someone new to hack-and-slash games. This is fairly easy-going, and you don't die too often, unlike games such as Halo or Dark Souls. However, there is one thing you will notice when you start fighting the goblins and orcs in this game: VIOLENCE: VERY STRONG. Don't walk into this game willy-nilly, thinking the violence will be like Conquest. This is more along the lines of Dragon Age in content, and should not be played by anyone under 14. I'll describe the violence for you. Heads fly off bodies, wounds splatter plumes of blood, goblins explode into bloody messes, leaving limbs behind, orcs get smashed in the stomach by hammers, spraying their entrails, and so on. This isn't like Skyrim, where decapitations and blood on walls only happen rarely, trust me, every second battle involves dismemberment. You can also zoom in to look at the freshly-eviscerated bodies. This is rated M for a reason. SEXUAL CONTENT: None. None at all. Maybe some references to love, but that's probably all there is. LANGUAGE: Extremely mild. Only name-calling, such as "scum", "filth" and "foul creature", which is heard in battles and cutscenes. SUBSTANCE USE: Extremely mild. At the beginning of the game, you are in a bar, and drinks are shown on tables. You cannot drink them, and none of the characters act intoxicated. Even though this is a good game, I would not recommend it to anyone younger than a teenager, due to the explicit, graphic violence.
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Parent Written bySexyMonkey5050 March 10, 2013

LOTR WAR IN THE NORTH

What parents should know is: Its very gory, but! the gore can be turned off so no heads come flying off! :) Yes, you can play online w/ voice chat, which isn't a big deal to somepeople. Just turn the sound down, haha! This is not a bad game for children 10 or higher. If you keep the gore off its a rated "T" game easy.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written bymason3 November 18, 2012

Best Lord of the Rings game yet.

Great game but is very gory. However, the game becomes appropriate for children 10 and up with the gore filter on. That is the only reason I got the game. This is a good M rated game to start with for kids. Overall a great game and I highly recommend it.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much consumerism
Parent of a 13 year old Written byMW3callofduty23 April 14, 2013

ok for 13 plus

violence blood no language smoking pipes not for kids under 13 i would start them on the fellowship of the ring the two towers or return of the king
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byryxh October 18, 2013

ok for teens

if they say its not for kids then why did they say its ok for teens? but i agree that u should be 12 and over to play this
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much consumerism
Safety and privacy concerns
Teen, 14 years old Written bydillon12345 October 12, 2013

10 and up

this game is not that bad at all. you kill fantasy creatures that could be scary to some kids. there is a lot of blood and gore but it is all fantasy violence.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 15 years old Written byShelton W July 21, 2012

Warning:Very Violent,And Very Addicting

This game is probably the best,goriest game of the LOTR series,The game isn't bad,because they give you the option in settings to turn the blood off,which is pretty good for little kids that love LOTR,can get the chance to play it too.And yes,when the blood is turned on,expect very amusing gory combat that will keep you addicted on this 13+ hour campaign,including CO-OP multiplayer/survival online,which would also keep you busy for a long time.Overall,this game is by far not bad,blood is only the issue,no language,no sexual content,just blood. Peace Out Bros,Hope This Helped
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Teen, 16 years old Written byN.V. November 9, 2011

The lord of the rings: War in the north

Frequent violent combat only thing here that could be considered bad. Players take on roles of band of heroes saving middle earth from a minion of Sauron's. Great representation of good v. evil with good winning in the end. Also informs gamers about Tolkiens great book series, which incidentally also provides good role models. Great game for mature 15+ kids.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written byPsychoticSheep July 29, 2014

Look at the review for Return of the King

If you see the review for lord of the rings return of the king. The violence is the same except the rating is 12, not 'Not for Kids'. https://www.commonsensemedia.org/movie-reviews/the-lord-of-the-rings-the...
Teen, 13 years old Written byHelpfulgamer25 July 18, 2013

Awesome game if you turn off the gore

THis game is my favorite game of all time. The graphics are amazing and everything else about it is too. The rating a gave it above was if you use the turn off the blood and gore then it practically turns this into a T rated game. It doesn't take any of the fun out of this game. The only reason I was allowed to get this game was because you can turn off the violence. But if you choose to leave it on it would get a rating of ages 14 and up, but I think if you have seen the lord of the rings movies and the hobbit it isn't horrible. Yes there are decapitations (like I said above I have never played this game with the gore on but I have seen videos with it on) but in the movies there are some heads flying around too. All in all this game is perfect for anyone 11 and up if you turn off the blood and gore and 14 and up if you keep it on (maybe younger depends on how mature your kid is).
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Teen, 15 years old Written byMr. Colby April 30, 2012

Great game!!! (with the filter)...

one thing people should definitely be aware of is that there is an optional gore filter in the options menu. without it, this game is not appropriate for kids of any age. (i only got it because of the filter). there is excessive gory decapitations and limb removals with equally excessive black blood that stains the ground and your clothes. with the filter on, there is not a speck of blood to be seen. decapitations are gone as well. even the cutscenes have been filtered. I am a huge lotr fan and was disappointed to hear of the m rating and the gore. when i heard that there was a filter, i had to try it out. i'm glad i did!! sure the game could use a little work (like maybe fleshing out the main characters a little more and having more moral choices/ consequences) but overall it is a great Lord of the Rings rpg that makes you enjoy being in middle earth again!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Kid, 11 years old December 28, 2013

15+

MORE SCARY THEN LORD OF THE RINGS (2003)
Kid, 11 years old April 10, 2012

What Parents Need to Know

Ok ... this is almost as gory as Left 4 Dead 2, and they both have the same option in the settings GRAPHIC CONTENT TURNOFF, making this a Teen game. This game is the best Lord of the Rings game of all time, great graphics, great gameplay and finding new loot never gets old, but minor glitches can cause this to be a not very fun game but overall pretty good.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much consumerism
Safety and privacy concerns
Teen, 13 years old Written byPetercat May 20, 2016

Pretty fun.

If you have watched LOTR before, then I would give this review 11 & up. You're not killing humans, you're killing orcs, and the gore is not that bad. At all. Occasionally , if you get hit by an arrow or something, you'll see some of your character's blood, but it's not that bad. The game is fun though, yet pretty difficult when it comes to the bosses. Fun though.
What other families should know
Easy to play/use
Too much violence
Kid, 10 years old July 26, 2014

nice

very fun game no bad words but the blood and gore is like call of duty 4 modern warfare but I care more about the violence then the blood why you ask I will tell you. you get to cut arms legs and heads off. but the game is very godly.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Easy to play/use
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking