All member reviews for The Sims 3

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging, great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging, good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging, good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging, okay learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Common Sense Media says

Mature life sim with more personality than ever.

Age(i)

2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17

Quality(i)

 

Users say

(out of 322 reviews)
AGE
11
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Teen, 17 years old Written byMerlinFan17 December 28, 2010
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

Make a censored version, EA, and I would willingly pay 75 dollars

This game is ridiculously fun, however I opt out of playing it due to the *sometimes unavoidable* sexual stuff in it. My parents would kill me if they knew it had these options in it, not to mention I really don't want to play something with a chance of something so bad happening in view of my two younger siblings.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Teen, 13 years old Written bytommy18 January 5, 2010
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

Sexual behaviour isn't that bad.

Young kids under 10 may like the look of this game. but do not buy it for them. It will confuse them in areas of the sexual parts. Woo-hoo and the bed is moving and the covers are going and noises are going on (: So its not really suitable for young kids. Violence is not violent at all. No blood or anything. When a fight happens there is a cloud of white smoke so you can't see the punch up anyway, the only thing that happens is the person he/she will fall to the ground. The bad thing is consumerism, yeah you normally see that as casual advertising but this is bad, Whereas you will get sims depressed on cheap things so its a bad role model only liking the most expensive, most luxery food and furniture. Suitable for over 10.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much consumerism
Adult Written byTom_Gamer_Tom July 10, 2010
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Not a very mature game.

Sims is more boring than mature. This game is extremely overspoken about how mature the game actually is. Sure there are sexual scenes where you only hear and see the sheets moving, That isn't too bad. You can beat someone up in a cloud of dust so nothing is seen. Its rather educational in a way, Not the sleeping around but building houses and getting jobs. Its not mature by any means, I've been playing for a long time.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Kid, 12 years old April 4, 2010
AGE
12
QUALITY
 
For the most part, The Sims 3 could be an E-rated game. However, there are a few inappropriate parts in it, such as mild violence, and especially sexual references. If this feature were not included, it could be rated E-10. It also has mild peril, like fires in it. I got the game when I was almost 12, and I stay away from any T-rated parts in it. My 8-year old sister plays, but I constantly watch her to make sure she does nothing bad in the game. As long as young children stay away from any inappropriate things, the game is good for ages 10+. Children 6-9 should be watched while playing, and children 5 or below should not play at all. The game is completely worth it, though. The graphics are stunning and game-play is addicting. As you can see, I even have a sim as my avatar. If you feel comfortable with it, buy it and you won't regret it.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Kid, 9 years old June 12, 2010
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

From Tiffany756: even if you are a kid you can play with parents permisson and just ignore the bad stuff

yes the game is a little sexual like the past sims game and the fights but this game is very nice now that you can edit everything the game is very good now the game is more better and more great THIS GAME IS GOOD FOR ANY KID WHO IS A FAN OF THE SIMS 3!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much consumerism
Educational value
Kid, 10 years old December 10, 2010
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Really Good For Older Kids!

Well... the woohoos and bad traits are NOT a thing younger kids should be getting influence from.. But, other then that.. The good traits have positive messages, and are educational. (EX: Good sims can donate to charity). Some sims are bad role models, and others are good. It's very easy to play once you get the hang of it, too. It has many oppurtunites but some turn out with bad results. Plus, the 'criminal' careers should NOT be influenced.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 11 years old August 16, 2010
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Maybe

I like it but I think that when the sims 'do it' the bed needs to be blocked out. Kids can express both sides of themself by making a good sim and a bad sim. I do think it is a good thing for most teens over 13, but some younger kids can play.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Kid, 10 years old December 23, 2010
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Perfect for tweens and teens. Some content may not be appropriate for young children.

Sims 3 is a fun game people can play. You can make your own sim, get married, have, kids, buy a house, design it etc. Its like you are starting your own life. Some of the content is not appropriate for children under the age of 10. But overall, The Sims 3 is a fun and addicting game.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Kid, 12 years old March 27, 2011
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Hilarious Game!

So, this game's amazing! I love it. Sure the Sims can 'WooHoo' and 'Try for a baby,' but the controller of the game chooses. The controller of the game can make it clean. It's fun to make the Sims different colors, such as green and blue and red. And while it's fun to play the original way, cheats to give your Sims $999,999,999 is even more entertaining in my opinion! The game also teaches people about choices in life. And the 'excessive violence' shouldn't be an issue. The slapping and fights are very animated, as is the whole game. It's not violent. It's something to make you laugh and to play with your friends.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Educational value
Kid, 12 years old December 9, 2009
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

15? Rubbish

Love this game, it is fun and does NOT have much sexual refrences. It is easy to play, fun and keeps kids busy. It's much better than the first two, and has much more features and things to do. It can keep my friends and I busy for AGES!
Teen, 15 years old Written byzamaya August 28, 2010
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

its entertaining but younger kids shouldn't play

well, the evil characters have really evil wishes... and me and my friend like to kill(usually drown) the characters we didn't like. but the genetics in it fascinated me and made me want to go through many generations. its sad if your favorite characters die of old age but you can turn off aging
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Parent of a 8 year old Written bymykidzrock March 23, 2010
AGE
9
QUALITY
 
if you play spore then you can FOR SURE play this. I think spore should be teen rated and The Sims 3 should be rated E 10. if you liked spore you will hate it after you play this so toss it in the closet and play The Sims 3!! you will prob need about 20gb just so it will run smoothly and you can have alot of games!
What other families should know
Great messages
Kid, 9 years old March 21, 2010
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

A fun,easy game

I played the Sims 2 when I was 4,and now I play Sims 3.Sure there is some s*x and stuff,but there isn't anything wrong.The only bad thing is there are some people who make naked sims for others to download.
Adult Written byNico9000 May 2, 2010
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

SOME SEX AND LITTLE VIOLENCE.

Sex 7/10: players can have sex with other sims in bed and in hot tubs. the hot tub one is more graphic because you can turn the camera angle and see under water. the bed one is covered by blankets. the hot tub one is just blurry with jets on. you can also marry girls or boys being a girl marry a girl and boys can marry boys. when you shower your sims are nude but pixels block private parts. Violence 4: you can attack anyone including your spouse. it is covered though with smoke. you can slap anyone. that is not covered. language 1: some obscene finger gestures but they rarely appear. overall: 12/30
What other families should know
Too much sex
Great messages
Adult Written byerinkellycleo May 19, 2010
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Good For Tweens And Not To Akward

It Gives Kids A Way To Express Fredom LIGHTEN UP it's the sims i personaly enjoy it Woohoo Is Noting Much(A Kid I Know Thinks They Play Hide And Seek) ITS A PART OF LIFE And Romantic Intercations can be made, watch a disney show or icarly it's worse than this in mature stuff, Encourage Kids to make familys This Game Is Rated T (12+) But Kids At School Will Probaly Be Listening (Some Cases Watching) Rated R (18+) PLAY THIS GAME
What other families should know
Too much sex
Educational value
Teen, 16 years old Written byunassertive October 1, 2010
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

Perfect for any child as soon as they know how to use a keyboard and a mouse!

I wouldn't agree that they react with dismay when you make them really fat. More like surprise. I love this game. It's like a virtual dollhouse. This game is also extremely easy to play. More-so than the Sims 2 and definitely easier than the original base game. I don't think violence or sex is an issue at all. I've been playing the Sims game since I was 8 years old, giggling at the then-shocking references to sex. But it's a game, it's not real life. Your Sims can die by natural causes or become immortal. Gameplay is open-ended. Just make sure your kids realize that real life is nothing like it is portrayed in video games, especially this one. Everything should be fine!
Adult Written byVirtualLife August 4, 2009
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Any Age Above Ten

Wow. Fifteen is late seriously. By fifteen most teens have already had THREE sex ed classes, not mentioning all the talk that goes around school. The violence...by thirteen most children have seen one or two fights around school so it's not like it's going to scar the child for the rest of the night. You can make a very good family that are perfect role models for children, like someone who has a job, got married, and had children. There are positive messages, like if you work hard you get a promotion. The game is safe as well as educational...I learned things from the Sims like that ratatouille is a real dish...Think I spelt it right. And it is very easy to play...especially with the help of cheats!
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Adult Written byliveonlife June 3, 2009
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Hey Parents!

Although this game has some of the same aspects of the previous installments it is alot more mild. I purchased this game at Best Buy yesterday for my 11 year old son. He is a big fan of the Sims franchise and I am too. I knew it would have some of the same things as the first and second Sims but in all honesty it is not as sexual as the first two. I was shocked but glad for my son's sake. Hey this game is no big deal parents and any kid over 10 should be perfectly fine with it. (It is no worse than most PG-13 movies).
Kid, 11 years old August 19, 2010
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

My favorite game ever!

I absolutely love this game. I think it is a little iffy for kids 9 and up. I don't think it is inappropriate because most kids this age won't completely understand the concept of woo-hoo. If they are mature, they should understand that it is just a game and not real life. I think it is a little iffy, understanding that some kids will not act mature while playing this game. I think that most kids should be able to play, but it would be better if they are mature.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Teen, 14 years old Written bySiminIt July 1, 2010
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

Perfect for everyone!

Sims is amazing in a way it is educational. It teaches you how to raise a family and how to have a job. Its defintly not rated 15 plus. Ive been playing sims since i was maybe 8 and when your eight you dont really get what they do in the bed so its not anything bad at all.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Great messages
Great role models

Pages