All member reviews for The Sims 3

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Kids say

(out of 273 reviews)
AGE
11
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Kid, 11 years old April 9, 2011
AGE
11
QUALITY
 
It is Very nice but I don't have a original of sims 3! I can't understand to speaking people! there's a payment of mail! and a having a romantic?!?
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much consumerism
Teen, 15 years old Written bymintqueen December 30, 2010
AGE
14
QUALITY
 
i love it.i just miss all my sims2 downloads.
Teen, 15 years old Written byzackaback December 27, 2010
AGE
13
QUALITY
 
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Kid, 11 years old December 21, 2010
AGE
10
QUALITY
 
I LOVE SIMS! The romantic stuff is icky but it lets u live your own life. the romantic stuff just lets you express yourself! I love sims sooooo much im always playing it
What other families should know
Too much sex
Kid, 9 years old June 22, 2010
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

Great!

It's a great game! Sure there's some kissing and other "stuff", but me and my mom still love the game. Besides, you choose what the sims do. Parents: If you think it's innapropriate, just tell your kid to only do good stuff. Also, It' can give you ideas on how to be a good person!
What other families should know
Too much sex
Educational value
Kid, 11 years old April 9, 2010
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

The Sims 3 a great game!

The Sims 3 is a great computer game but is not appropriate for young children Sims can die and turn into ghost and they can get into fights with the other Sims.
What other families should know
Great messages
Teen, 13 years old Written bybel91011 December 27, 2009
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

NOT RECOMENDED FOR KIDS UNDER 12!!!

There's a LOT of freedom. I admit, I played Sims 2 at 12 and this is practically the same. My mom's okay with it but she doesn't like that my eight year old brother plays it. There is sex, pregnancy, cheating, skipping school, ghosts, option to be a criminal, divorce, fighting, etc. but it's based off of life and that's life.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Kid, 12 years old December 26, 2009
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Great for teens and up

Sims 3 is very sexual, but the only sexual parts when people flirt and when they do "it" but you can't see cause they under the covers in the bed. Sims 3 is the best Sims so far. But there is only 1 city.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Teen, 15 years old Written byHelloFairie October 13, 2009
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Perfect for all ages

I don't see how some people find it too "sexual" or whatever you want to call it. They blur out anything bad,plus aren't you the one controlling it? Rofl,so why don't you stop being so "sexual" and make them do what you approve of ;). Personally,I love the Sims 3. It's by far my favorite overall. I can't wait for new EP's.
What other families should know
Great messages
Teen, 13 years old Written byreviewerr22 October 3, 2009
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Great for kids 10 and up!

The game Sims 3 is for having fun and interacting with other computer people. In Sims 3 you must take care of all of the Sims you have created! You need to make sure their hygiene is up and healthy by giving them showers (which "private areas" are covered by a large blur which makes this game appropriate for ages 10 and up if you wanted to be on the safe side), you must feed them food (if you are not a high enough level in agility you might just burn the house down using the oven or stove!!!), you must make sure all of the Sims get enough sleep and resting time, the sims must be happy... your Sim could die of starvation, and many other types os things including being lonely or having a broken heart! Sims can interact with other sims (which are not online people... just computer people) in a relationship. They can "WooHoo" which involves two sims going in bed, going under the covers, and the covers do m ove a slight bit but it is not inapropriate for most kids 10 and up. I mean, you really cannot see anything. The couple can also "Try For a Baby" which involes the same thing as "WooHoo". The difference beetween "WooHoo" and "Trying For a Baby" are that in "WooHoo" the women will not become pregnant. the Sims eventually grow old and die away, or they might die of starvation, drowning in a pool, or getting electricuted by household appliances. This game is rated "T" for teen... although it is not that apporpriate.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 15 years old Written bypoohgurl217 September 29, 2009
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

PERFECT 4 EVEYONE EXCEPT YOUNGSTERS. E.G. 10-UP

I LUV IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
What other families should know
Too much sex
Safety and privacy concerns
Teen, 16 years old Written byameer123456789 September 29, 2009
AGE
13
QUALITY
 
love it
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 15 years old Written bypurple_panther September 12, 2009
Kid, 11 years old August 29, 2009
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Excellent!!

I am 10 years old and have been a fan forever!Inappropriate stuff isnt that bad ecspecially if your in gifted,like me.i have learned so much (positive) stuff from it!
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written byTaqueli July 31, 2009
AGE
10
QUALITY
 
this game is pretty fun. the only problem is that sometimes when something bad happens to your sim, a younger player could get either very angry or sad. my sister cried all night because her sim died. might wanna talk to your kids about how its just a game, and nothing else.
What other families should know
Educational value
Teen, 14 years old Written byPepi June 21, 2009
Teen, 13 years old Written byxxxarieexxx April 26, 2015
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Dude..

FIRST of all.. what "sex references" are you people talking about. You can't even understand what the Sims are saying. And when you make Sims WooHoo nothing happens but the bed rocks (okay that sounds a little bad) and little heart thingys fly everywhere which is completely harmful. There is barely any violence. All Sims do is punch and fight. No blood at all. And when the Sims fight it's a little blurry thing covering up whatever the heck they're doing. It's actually quite funny cause um hello.. no one fights like that. This game does teach kids how life is.. How you have to pay for things, bills. Parents I suggest you buy this game for your child if they want it.
What other families should know
Easy to play/use
Too much consumerism
Kid, 10 years old March 24, 2015
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

AMAZING..... BUT MATURITY IS NEEDED

Hi parents and kids! sims 3 is an amazing game.... but when it comes to age, well i wouldn't really recommend it to kids but the reason why i rated it's good for kids ages 10 and up is because it depends on the maturity of the kid. most 10 year olds are mature enough to play it but some might wanna explore it even more to the.... well let's just say not very appropriate side of the game. although 10 year olds may need a little guidance at the start about what is good and what is bad they will eventually get it. Parents, if your kid is younger than 10 or not a teen yet and still wants to play the sims, first try checking out the 'my sims' line of games, most 10 year olds will be too old to play my sims and will eventually get bored of it but younger kids might be more interested in it and it will be a much better choice for you to make as you won't have to always be around your kids to guide them. If your kid has still not got enough with the my sims line.... you should get the sims 3 for them and play with them, act like you wanna play it too and your excited about the game when actually you just don't want them to discover the inappropriate sides of the game, although your kid(s) may eventually get annoyed and want to play on their own later, you would've still taught him/her what not to do by just playing with him/her. Make sure you don't make it a habit to play too much with your daughter because you wanna play otherwise once he/she grows older he/she will be addicted. The bad side of the game is the woohoo which can basically done by clicking on the romance option. There are many inappropriate traits in that option that you don't want your kids to discover. Keep your kids away from the late night expansion pack and you should be able to let your kids play a good game without any romance. The late night expansion pack has skimpy clothes, skinny dip and romance.... i don't have it but my cousin does. Please keep your kids away from that expansion. I hope i helped! ~ agcerpcakee
What other families should know
Easy to play/use
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written bymeatboy52 March 23, 2015
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

Its a great game!

I think this game is perfect for 11 year olds and up. I play it and I love it. there is death, but its not like murder. there's no blood, they just collapse. it also teaches kids to take care of people or pets cause you have to take care of your sim by making it go to the bathroom, eating, hygiene and the stuff we need. but when your in the shower or on the toilet, it does not show inappropriate parts because it blurs it all out. there is sex but you cant see it. all you see is a lot of moving under the covers and you hear giggling. that's all. you also get your own job and all. explain to your kid that sex isn't bad, but to do it when your older when you want a child.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 9 years old March 21, 2015
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

BADDDDDD

TOOOOO MUCH SEXXXX
What other families should know
Too much sex

Pages