All member reviews for The Sims 3

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging, great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging, good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging, good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging, okay learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Kids say

(out of 269 reviews)
AGE
11
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Teen, 15 years old Written bybpixie May 9, 2010
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Choices, Choices!!! :)

The Sims 3 (much like the other Sims games) are all about making choices. The three top choices are you can choose to be an academic, focusing not on boys but on school, you can choose to focus on athetism, or the most popular is that you can choose to be extremely romantically involved. I tend to use a mix of the three, but I must admit that having romantic traits such as "Great Kisser" and "Flirty" are fun to have since they can have relationships much easier, and it's so much fun to build relationships and to have kids. Some parents believe that the "woohoo" is too mature for most people but I disagree -- I started playing the Sims when I was 10 or 11 and I got what was happening, but I didn't think much of it. Any younger than that and they won't even really understand what's happening when flower petals are falling on the bed. Overall I believe that this is a great game for ages 10 and up, even for adults, because it teaches responsibility, and just what happens if you don't pay your rent, or even if you cheat on your husband. Yes, there are cheats like "motherlode" but everyone of all ages knows that there aren't any cheats in life.
What other families should know
Great messages
Kid, 12 years old April 4, 2010
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Great Game

I think this game is perfectly fine. It's not nearly as suggestive as a lot of the songs, music videos etc. or even many of the television shows you come upon while just flipping through channels. Sure "woo-hoo" isn't age appropriate but it isn't like it's graphic or anything. As you can tell by my user name, I'm a big fan. and definitely recommend.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Kid, 12 years old April 4, 2010
AGE
14
QUALITY
 
Too much innapropriate sexual behaivior for anyone under 11
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much consumerism
Kid, 12 years old March 30, 2010
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

terrible

i hate this game the sims 2 is much better even though they're no loading screens that doesn't mean it still good
What other families should know
Too much sex
Kid, 8 years old March 26, 2010
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

Love It!

Sims have some good character traits like:good,friendly,neat, family oriented.But some bad ones:Couch potato,meanspirited,yeah,you know all of that. A few sexual themes, but YOU choose what they do. So the role model is up to you. GREAT GAME!
What other families should know
Great role models
Teen, 14 years old Written byPieater March 19, 2010
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Pre-teens and older

Very fun, I've been playing the sims for years! "Whoo hoo" isn't really a problem. But parents should talk with there kids about only controlling your sims to do sexual things to create sim babies.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Kid, 12 years old March 16, 2010
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

Not for 7 year olds.

I'm not going to tell you how to parent your kids, but the game isn't that bad. You can choose which character you'd like to be. The 8 year old will figure that out. They also have consequences for their actions so, it's not THAT bad.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Kid, 11 years old March 8, 2010
AGE
9
QUALITY
 
I've been playing The Sims 2 & 3 since I was 8 years old. There are some innapropriate parts of this game, but the amazing graphics and realistic-ness of this game makes it a must-buy. Get it, you won't regret it.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Kid, 11 years old February 24, 2010
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

Good, but with some limits.

I really enjoy this game. Though it does have some bad themes, if you are older you can avoid them. My brother and I enjoy making sims and we like to build the houses. I would not recommend this for children 10 and under.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Teen, 13 years old Written by9001 February 12, 2010
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Off for 14 and under.

This game isn't that great, and the sexual content is way over the edge for something rated T.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Kid, 9 years old February 10, 2010
AGE
9
QUALITY
 
i love this game. it is one of the best games i think. you can go all over town and you have a cell phone so you can invite people to your house or throw parties. the violence isnt that bad all it is is just a cloud of smoke or it shows you slaping a sim.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Teen, 13 years old Written byink January 22, 2010
AGE
10
QUALITY
 
Teen, 14 years old Written byXzierox January 10, 2010
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Okay

It got boring easily, but I was glad to see that it wasn't anti-gay like quite a few games.
Kid, 12 years old January 6, 2010
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Great Game

It all depends on how mature the person is. When I was 10 years-old I saw my cousin (who was 16) on the sims 2 and I thought it looked really cool so I asked for it on my b-day and loved it. Now I have the sims 3, and yes there are some things like flirting so thats really when you have to consider how mature the person is. When I was 10 I was a bit young, but not everyone is the same.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Teen, 13 years old Written bybel91011 December 27, 2009
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

NOT RECOMENDED FOR KIDS UNDER 12!!!

There's a LOT of freedom. I admit, I played Sims 2 at 12 and this is practically the same. My mom's okay with it but she doesn't like that my eight year old brother plays it. There is sex, pregnancy, cheating, skipping school, ghosts, option to be a criminal, divorce, fighting, etc. but it's based off of life and that's life.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Teen, 14 years old Written byxLOVEx December 19, 2009
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

It's good for ages 12 and up

i love it
What other families should know
Too much sex
Teen, 17 years old Written bysadie111 December 14, 2009
AGE
13
QUALITY
 
I Looooooove the sims but toatally not ok for youngons. There is some sexual behavior b/w sims.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Kid, 11 years old November 28, 2009
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

I think all of the iffy for 15 is really unfare

I love this game but the only thing is that if you have an ipod touch iphone or simply internet they lure you in like I first played a teaser on the website then I downloaded the the sims 3 lite version but then I was so addicted I got the full version on my ipod touch and I loved it so much I got it for my PC and then I realized I invested over 50$ and that it had practically taken over half my life but it was just so great
What other families should know
Too much consumerism
Great role models
Kid, 12 years old November 3, 2009
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Great game for 12 and up

This game is AWESOME! I play it alot. There is some sexual behavior but you can never see anything and it depends on what YOU do. It might be a little difficult for kids under 11 because it gets frustrating if your sims keep dying.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Great role models
Kid, 11 years old October 24, 2009
AGE
11
QUALITY
 
it is a good game but not the best,
What other families should know
Great role models

Pages