All member reviews for The Sims 3

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging, great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging, good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging, good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging, okay learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Common Sense Media says

Mature life sim with more personality than ever.

Age(i)

2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17

Quality(i)

 

Users say

(out of 322 reviews)
AGE
11
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Teen, 13 years old Written by9001 February 12, 2010
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Off for 14 and under.

This game isn't that great, and the sexual content is way over the edge for something rated T.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Kid, 9 years old February 10, 2010
AGE
9
QUALITY
 
i love this game. it is one of the best games i think. you can go all over town and you have a cell phone so you can invite people to your house or throw parties. the violence isnt that bad all it is is just a cloud of smoke or it shows you slaping a sim.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Teen, 13 years old Written byink January 22, 2010
AGE
10
QUALITY
 
Teen, 14 years old Written byXzierox January 10, 2010
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Okay

It got boring easily, but I was glad to see that it wasn't anti-gay like quite a few games.
Kid, 12 years old January 6, 2010
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Great Game

It all depends on how mature the person is. When I was 10 years-old I saw my cousin (who was 16) on the sims 2 and I thought it looked really cool so I asked for it on my b-day and loved it. Now I have the sims 3, and yes there are some things like flirting so thats really when you have to consider how mature the person is. When I was 10 I was a bit young, but not everyone is the same.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Parent of a 9 year old Written byAlec54 January 2, 2010
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

A game for everyone

Good game anyone can play it. It doesn't have anything that really concerns me, has some flirting but nothing serious, I would recommend this game for any kids or adults who like sim games
Teen, 13 years old Written bybel91011 December 27, 2009
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

NOT RECOMENDED FOR KIDS UNDER 12!!!

There's a LOT of freedom. I admit, I played Sims 2 at 12 and this is practically the same. My mom's okay with it but she doesn't like that my eight year old brother plays it. There is sex, pregnancy, cheating, skipping school, ghosts, option to be a criminal, divorce, fighting, etc. but it's based off of life and that's life.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Teen, 14 years old Written byxLOVEx December 19, 2009
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

It's good for ages 12 and up

i love it
What other families should know
Too much sex
Teen, 17 years old Written bysadie111 December 14, 2009
AGE
13
QUALITY
 
I Looooooove the sims but toatally not ok for youngons. There is some sexual behavior b/w sims.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Kid, 11 years old November 28, 2009
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

I think all of the iffy for 15 is really unfare

I love this game but the only thing is that if you have an ipod touch iphone or simply internet they lure you in like I first played a teaser on the website then I downloaded the the sims 3 lite version but then I was so addicted I got the full version on my ipod touch and I loved it so much I got it for my PC and then I realized I invested over 50$ and that it had practically taken over half my life but it was just so great
What other families should know
Too much consumerism
Great role models
Kid, 12 years old November 3, 2009
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Great game for 12 and up

This game is AWESOME! I play it alot. There is some sexual behavior but you can never see anything and it depends on what YOU do. It might be a little difficult for kids under 11 because it gets frustrating if your sims keep dying.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Great role models
Kid, 11 years old October 24, 2009
AGE
11
QUALITY
 
it is a good game but not the best,
What other families should know
Great role models
Teen, 15 years old Written byHelloFairie October 13, 2009
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Perfect for all ages

I don't see how some people find it too "sexual" or whatever you want to call it. They blur out anything bad,plus aren't you the one controlling it? Rofl,so why don't you stop being so "sexual" and make them do what you approve of ;). Personally,I love the Sims 3. It's by far my favorite overall. I can't wait for new EP's.
What other families should know
Great messages
Teen, 15 years old Written bypoohgurl217 September 29, 2009
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

PERFECT 4 EVEYONE EXCEPT YOUNGSTERS. E.G. 10-UP

I LUV IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
What other families should know
Too much sex
Safety and privacy concerns
Teen, 16 years old Written byameer123456789 September 29, 2009
AGE
13
QUALITY
 
love it
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 10 years old September 27, 2009
AGE
13
QUALITY
 
why is it bad
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Teen, 13 years old Written byLatifaAngel September 22, 2009
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

grat 4 teens

love it! but the problem is that it contains bad things:(
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Educational value
Teen, 13 years old Written byTheBeatles September 20, 2009
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

A great game for tweens,teens,and adults

this game is definently my favorite game on pc. The sex "woo hoo" in the game is not graphic at all i mean you can't see anything. Violence isn't an issue because its portaryed in like a cartoonish funny way. It is also a game that stimulates the imagination that you can create any kind of house you want, make your sim look like any movie character, or musician, or a friend, or yourself! Its just such a fun, creative, game that takes the best things in life and crams them into one perfect game
What other families should know
Too much sex
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 15 years old Written bypurple_panther September 12, 2009
Kid, 9 years old September 8, 2009
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

Love it

its ttly asome! I mean its up to the parents to buy it for their kids,but im little and i can play it!(im very mature)
What other families should know
Too much sex
Great messages
Great role models

Pages