All member reviews for The Sims 3

Common Sense Media says

Mature life sim with more personality than ever.
 

Users say

(out of 334 reviews)
age 11+
 
Review this title!
Parent of a 9 and 15 year old Written bycaptnesti November 22, 2009
 

The game should be played by 8 or 9+. I typically would monitor my 9 year old(then 7) on the older ones.

The Sims 3 is a great game. It is on a rather realistic side, as it is life simulation. It contains hours of fun. The environment is much more open than the first two of the series.
Parent of a 11 year old Written bybroadwaybaby1 November 17, 2009
 

perfect for ages 10 and up

this game is perfect for ages 10 and up. It is not that inappropriate sex relationship wise, but yes it can be a little violent at times.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Teen, 15 years old Written byHelloFairie October 13, 2009
 

Perfect for all ages

I don't see how some people find it too "sexual" or whatever you want to call it. They blur out anything bad,plus aren't you the one controlling it? Rofl,so why don't you stop being so "sexual" and make them do what you approve of ;). Personally,I love the Sims 3. It's by far my favorite overall. I can't wait for new EP's.
What other families should know
Great messages
Teen, 13 years old Written byreviewerr22 October 3, 2009
 

Great for kids 10 and up!

The game Sims 3 is for having fun and interacting with other computer people. In Sims 3 you must take care of all of the Sims you have created! You need to make sure their hygiene is up and healthy by giving them showers (which "private areas" are covered by a large blur which makes this game appropriate for ages 10 and up if you wanted to be on the safe side), you must feed them food (if you are not a high enough level in agility you might just burn the house down using the oven or stove!!!), you must make sure all of the Sims get enough sleep and resting time, the sims must be happy... your Sim could die of starvation, and many other types os things including being lonely or having a broken heart! Sims can interact with other sims (which are not online people... just computer people) in a relationship. They can "WooHoo" which involves two sims going in bed, going under the covers, and the covers do m ove a slight bit but it is not inapropriate for most kids 10 and up. I mean, you really cannot see anything. The couple can also "Try For a Baby" which involes the same thing as "WooHoo". The difference beetween "WooHoo" and "Trying For a Baby" are that in "WooHoo" the women will not become pregnant. the Sims eventually grow old and die away, or they might die of starvation, drowning in a pool, or getting electricuted by household appliances. This game is rated "T" for teen... although it is not that apporpriate.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 15 years old Written bypoohgurl217 September 29, 2009
 

PERFECT 4 EVEYONE EXCEPT YOUNGSTERS. E.G. 10-UP

I LUV IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
What other families should know
Too much sex
Safety and privacy concerns
Teen, 16 years old Written byameer123456789 September 29, 2009
 
love it
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 15 years old Written bypurple_panther September 12, 2009
Adult Written byElla101 August 31, 2009
 

If you're at least 12 years old, it's okay for you to play

It is good for players to know what characters are good and bad, and to just have fun.
What other families should know
Great role models
Kid, 11 years old August 29, 2009
 

Excellent!!

I am 10 years old and have been a fan forever!Inappropriate stuff isnt that bad ecspecially if your in gifted,like me.i have learned so much (positive) stuff from it!
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written byTaqueli July 31, 2009
 
this game is pretty fun. the only problem is that sometimes when something bad happens to your sim, a younger player could get either very angry or sad. my sister cried all night because her sim died. might wanna talk to your kids about how its just a game, and nothing else.
What other families should know
Educational value
Teen, 14 years old Written byPepi June 21, 2009
Kid, 12 years old June 9, 2009
Kid, 11 years old July 17, 2015
 

Kind Of Mature

I, being an 11 year old myself, say this game is pretty mature, with the fact that there is "Woohoo" and "Try For Baby," which both have censored animations, and the fact that violence pops up around the towns every now and then. I would suggest this game to mature 11 year old children and older, there shouldn't be kids playing this game who say "Ew!" every time they see two people kiss in a movie. This game is very fun and educational, if the player decides to take their household down the path of a career and a family. I feel as though this game could easily teach children and younger teens about the life ahead of them, what to expect and what not to expect, and what's the right thing to do in certain situations.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Easy to play/use
Teen, 15 years old Written byZerosense July 8, 2015
 

Fun game with very little violence and no language

There is feature that sims can ''woohoo''which might be a little inappropriate for younger ones but the game is mostly ok for kids above 9.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Adult Written byjacobgamingeye0 June 26, 2015
 

Great sim

Very good game. no bad things unless you tell them to do it its perfect for 9 and over
What other families should know
Great messages
Kid, 12 years old June 20, 2015
 

Great Game

Though the rating for this game seems to be 15, most kids are much more mature for this game at age 10. Parents have no need to worry!
Kid, 11 years old June 19, 2015
 

Good game. I just should have been older when I first played this.

The game is boring ONLY because it is a game about taking care of your own people. I played this when I was 7 and I find some things there suggestive such as some violence, sex, gibberish language (I'm not meaning bad words), and many more. I find the game interesting. I just should have been older when playing this.
What other families should know
Easy to play/use
Kid, 10 years old May 12, 2015
 

Great game with little bad stuff

its really fun with some inapropriate content but i really dont think its bad it has some acholic refrence but thry call it jouse there is almost zero violice so its fine
What other families should know
Great messages
Easy to play/use
Adult Written byFireFire May 1, 2015
 

The Sims 3

This is a great game, You should buy it - Just like other Sims games. You live life - You die - Make a new Sim. Sex 7/10: You get to make "woohoo" sound when in bed with other sims, You can try for baby and there are not many but some graphic sounds, Very sexy. Language 0/10: Nothing. Violence: 3/10: There is ways of joining an evil Syndicate and being evil, insulting others and finding it funny. Scaryness 2/10: The grim reaper kills you at the end with the dramatic music and some kids will be scared! otherwise great game
What other families should know
Easy to play/use
Too much sex
Teen, 13 years old Written byxxxarieexxx April 26, 2015
 

Dude..

FIRST of all.. what "sex references" are you people talking about. You can't even understand what the Sims are saying. And when you make Sims WooHoo nothing happens but the bed rocks (okay that sounds a little bad) and little heart thingys fly everywhere which is completely harmful. There is barely any violence. All Sims do is punch and fight. No blood at all. And when the Sims fight it's a little blurry thing covering up whatever the heck they're doing. It's actually quite funny cause um hello.. no one fights like that. This game does teach kids how life is.. How you have to pay for things, bills. Parents I suggest you buy this game for your child if they want it.
What other families should know
Easy to play/use
Too much consumerism

Pages