All member reviews for The Sims 3

Common Sense Media says

Mature life sim with more personality than ever.

Users say

(out of 354 reviews)
age 11+
Review this title!
Parent of a 17 year old Written byglennmaster September 30, 2009
love it
What other families should know
Great messages
Teen, 15 years old Written bypoohgurl217 September 29, 2009

PERFECT 4 EVEYONE EXCEPT YOUNGSTERS. E.G. 10-UP

I LUV IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
What other families should know
Too much sex
Safety and privacy concerns
Kid, 10 years old September 27, 2009
why is it bad
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Teen, 14 years old Written byTheAlice12 January 14, 2016

15 rated?! Nope!

Common Sense got it wrong with this. The Sims, for 15 year olds only? No way. The only sexual stuff in this game is the Try For Baby option, and all that happens is the couple of choice get into bed, the sheets cover them and they giggle, rose petals fall on the floor and that is it. No nudity, when your sims step in the show they are censored, there is a little violence, but hardly R rated. Sims can slap each other, even start a brawl, but it's all covered with a comedic undertone. Aside from all that, The Sims is brilliant. Building your sims house, creating your sims, truly being creative, meeting people, getting a job- this game even covers financial difficulty, and a child playing this will have to learn about money in real life, and not being so in debt that the repo man comes and takes your computer. This game is also greatly improved with the expansion packs, adding dimension and more features to the game. Your sim can be a great person, or they could be an evil criminal who chooses to take over the world! It's all up to you. Overall, The Sims allows you to grow a family, build a house, live your sims life and more. I highly recommend it, and, I would rather see kids play the sims than some violent, 18 rated action game.
Teen, 13 years old Written byFridaGoth January 1, 2016

Epic game

You can make people referred to as "Sims" and give them traits, favourites and you can change their facial features, voice, clothes, etc. Sims have a lifetime wish, and normal wishes. Sometimes these are sex related , such as wanting to "woohoo" with another Sim (woohoo is how sex is reffered to in game), and there is a lifetime wish called "master romancer", which to complete you have to make your Sim woohoo in 5 different locations with 5 different Sims. Sims can also be very consumering at times, as well. Overall this is a great game for preteens and teens, very fun and I really enjoy playing it. You build houses, hhave your Sim socialise with other sims and learn skills. Sims speak the gibberish language "Simlish", which is fun to translate (as lots of words can be translated), but it should be noted that when a Sim is gardening they sometimes say a word which sound like s***, but seeing as they don't speakEnglish there is no other bad language. Overall a great game.
What other families should know
Easy to play/use
Kid, 12 years old October 1, 2015

Best Game Ever!

I LOVE the Sims 3! Anything you can do in real life you can do most of that in the sims. Sims can get jobs, have kids, fall in love, and everything and it's all so complex and detailed! What Sims do is in the hands of the player so what they do is up to you. In fact, this game can be beneficial because it teaches about real life situations. If you don't take care of your kids then the social worker comes and takes them, don't pay your bills and the repo man comes to repossess items, you can get burglarized unless your sim has a burglar alarm then the police are immediately called, you need to have a fire alarm over the stove and fireplace so that the fire department will be called in case of a fire, if teenage sims stay out past their curfew the police come, etc. adult sims can get jobs and if they work hard they get promoted and earn more money, kids go to school and of they work hard and do their homework they get better grades, etc. the sims 3 is a great game and the graphics are AMAZING. When you get expansion packs, it adds more experienced to the game, such as pets, seasons, beaches, world travel, fame, supernatural, college, etc. As for anything inappropriate, whether they do anything appropriate or not is your decision. No swearing because the sims speak a form of gibberish called simlish. No drinking, drugs, or smoking ANYWHERE. No violence, sims can fight but it's covered by a cloud of dust (like you see in cartoons). SIMS 3 IS THE BEST GAME EVER.
What other families should know
Easy to play/use
Teen, 14 years old Written byLizzy Lizard September 13, 2015

Love It!

I have always loved Sims games and was very pleasantly surprised by the Sims 3. There are countless expansion packs and exciting new content available, and gameplay almost never gets boring! Some themes include sex and there are bars where sims can go to drink, as well as partial nudity at times.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written byjacobgamingeye0 June 26, 2015

Great sim

Very good game. no bad things unless you tell them to do it its perfect for 9 and over
What other families should know
Great messages
Kid, 11 years old June 19, 2015

Good game. I just should have been older when I first played this.

The game is boring ONLY because it is a game about taking care of your own people. I played this when I was 7 and I find some things there suggestive such as some violence, sex, gibberish language (I'm not meaning bad words), and many more. I find the game interesting. I just should have been older when playing this.
What other families should know
Easy to play/use
Teen, 13 years old Written byxxxarieexxx April 26, 2015

Dude..

FIRST of all.. what "sex references" are you people talking about. You can't even understand what the Sims are saying. And when you make Sims WooHoo nothing happens but the bed rocks (okay that sounds a little bad) and little heart thingys fly everywhere which is completely harmful. There is barely any violence. All Sims do is punch and fight. No blood at all. And when the Sims fight it's a little blurry thing covering up whatever the heck they're doing. It's actually quite funny cause um hello.. no one fights like that. This game does teach kids how life is.. How you have to pay for things, bills. Parents I suggest you buy this game for your child if they want it.
What other families should know
Easy to play/use
Too much consumerism
Kid, 10 years old March 24, 2015

AMAZING..... BUT MATURITY IS NEEDED

Hi parents and kids! sims 3 is an amazing game.... but when it comes to age, well i wouldn't really recommend it to kids but the reason why i rated it's good for kids ages 10 and up is because it depends on the maturity of the kid. most 10 year olds are mature enough to play it but some might wanna explore it even more to the.... well let's just say not very appropriate side of the game. although 10 year olds may need a little guidance at the start about what is good and what is bad they will eventually get it. Parents, if your kid is younger than 10 or not a teen yet and still wants to play the sims, first try checking out the 'my sims' line of games, most 10 year olds will be too old to play my sims and will eventually get bored of it but younger kids might be more interested in it and it will be a much better choice for you to make as you won't have to always be around your kids to guide them. If your kid has still not got enough with the my sims line.... you should get the sims 3 for them and play with them, act like you wanna play it too and your excited about the game when actually you just don't want them to discover the inappropriate sides of the game, although your kid(s) may eventually get annoyed and want to play on their own later, you would've still taught him/her what not to do by just playing with him/her. Make sure you don't make it a habit to play too much with your daughter because you wanna play otherwise once he/she grows older he/she will be addicted. The bad side of the game is the woohoo which can basically done by clicking on the romance option. There are many inappropriate traits in that option that you don't want your kids to discover. Keep your kids away from the late night expansion pack and you should be able to let your kids play a good game without any romance. The late night expansion pack has skimpy clothes, skinny dip and romance.... i don't have it but my cousin does. Please keep your kids away from that expansion. I hope i helped! ~ agcerpcakee
What other families should know
Easy to play/use
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byGriffin3150 December 29, 2014

Best game I have ever played!

The Sims 3 (and the entire Sims series, in general) is an amazing game, with so much to offer. The violence? Pfft! There is none! They can die, but dying is not gruesome in any way. Sims allows you to play the way you want, how you want. However, you can make choices, and some of them may not be good, depending on the type of character you want your Sim to be. They can be an aspiring artist, or, if you want to lean more to the dark side, you can be a crime lord. The choice is yours. Sex is bare, and the most you will ever see is two people, under the blankets. The blankets are shaked a bit, indicating that they are having sex, but apart from that, there is nothing. Any nudity is blurred out. However, there are mods you can download that can make the blur disappear, and you can see the entire body. But mods are not part of the game, they are user-created. As for swearing, all the characters in the game talk in a gibberish language, called Simlish. You can, however, hear their tones change. So, if they are flirting, you know they are flirting because you can hear it in their voice. Even the music is in Simlish. This game teaches children how to buy and invest and manage their funds so that they won't go bankrupt. It also has a Sims store, if your child has internet. You can talk over the forums, and download content from the store (but they screen all of the content submitted, so it's perfectly safe). But the things you download might bug up your computer, depending on what model it is. Apart from all of that, I would encourage you to get it right now if your kid wants it because it really is an amazing game.
What other families should know
Easy to play/use
Kid, 10 years old December 25, 2013

The Sims 3 is APPROPRIATE for this age!

The Sims 3 is a perfect game for ages 10 and up- it has positive things like raising a child, donating, and even being social! The only bad part are the WooHoos, they are based on kissing in the bed :(
What other families should know
Too much sex
Teen, 13 years old Written byk_kid April 17, 2013

great game I caution parents.

This is an amazing game for kids. It helps with money management and taking care of themselves. Kids can use bad Sims to help seal with anger or frustration and can use good Sims as role models. Sure there is some "WhooHoos" and you can try for baby but it's you're under covers and younger kids won't really get the concept and older kids should get that it's just a game. Personally I think parents should think about it and make the right choice for their kids
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much sex
Teen, 13 years old Written bykelseyp March 16, 2013

A TRUE Rating

I don't think Common Sense gives this a fair rating. There is not consumerism. If you have a cheap bedin real life, chances are it's not going to be comfortable. All the Sims 3 is is realistic. As long as you don't use cheats to get ahead, it can show kids a early glimpse at life. Unless you are a Sim player, you wouldn't understand. Sure, you can be gay or straight. What's wrong with that? It is realistic. If you don't like something in the game, don't use it! Simple concept.
Kid, 9 years old March 5, 2013

Perfect for mature kids 9+

Its so awesome and addictive! I started playing the day after I turned nine. It isn't inappropriate, anything that is inappropriate is covered (woohoo, shower, toilet,) There is not much violence, just a little. Since sims speak simlish, they can't really say bad words. I think that good sims give positive messages and a good role model because they can donate money and brighten sims day and be nice. Lastly, as long as the people who play are mature, then it should be fine for them to play.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 9 years old March 4, 2013

dont play!

its not a good game
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 9 years old March 3, 2013

Sexual parts and Violence

Its The best game ever!!!,but There's Some inappropriate parts.Such as S*x parts and more.You should just follow good role models.If your below age like 5,4,3 etc You shouldn't play.
Kid, 10 years old March 3, 2013

A Great Game for Fourth Grade and Up

This game is good for kids 9+. I know a lot of mature and composed nine-year-olds who could easily ignore 'Woo-Hoo' and 'Try for Baby.' Hey, at least they call it 'Woo-Hoo.' Anyway, all they show is the two people in bed, under the covers, giggling. Besides, I think you can turn of 'Woo-Hoo...' Not sure. Also, all the 'Townies' (NPC's in the town that your Sim plays in) are really good role models. Well, almost all of them. Like, the Bachelors are all great role models. This review is getting to long, so goodbye!
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written byUnicornGirl February 19, 2013

Romantic Stuff: Not for kids

A little confusing for younger kids on some romantic stuff, but a great game that lets you manage money and design a dream home.

Pages