Want personalized picks that fit your family?

Find entertainment that fits your kid's interests and your parenting style.

Go to For Your Family

Parent reviews for The Sims 4

Common Sense says

Complex, realistic life simulator includes sexuality, death.
Based on our expert review

Parents say

age 10+
Based on 49 reviews

Kids say

age 10+
Based on 123 reviews
Adult Written byDawnG 4 January 5, 2018

Surprising

I have relied on Common Sense Media to give me ratings for years. I have been very happy in the past. This particular rating I do not agree with. It does say the game allows the player to dictate how the game is played, but this is false. There is content built into the platform that is very inappropriate for kids under 15. I was disgusted. Most of the choices in this game are of a sexual nature. Even if nothing is actually shown, what is this teaching kids? There are other game choices to learn about managing money and virtual living.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Adult Written byIheartrams1500 April 4, 2018

Best Game Series Ever

I found the sims game, the first one, when I was 10 years old. My friend and I quickly became obsessed. Since then it's come a long long way and is so much more fun. It's basically the game of life on steroids... You create a family, build their house, live their lives... There are many game packs, so it can add up in costs in the long run. Pets, vacations, bowling, fitness packs... even a long time fan like me thinks it's becoming ridiculous but doesn't change the game itself just means the game makers are getting too greedy, nothing new in this world. Violence- You can make your sims fight someone however it creates a cloud of dust around so you don't see much. Like real life, your sim can die... I say can because you technically can turn that off. At least you can in the computer versions, not sure about ps4 or xbox. There's no blood or guts, even if your sim gets electrocuted... But hey some people might freak out. My 8, 6 and 3 yr old nephews watch this get played, the 8 yr old's sim died from embarrassment once so that was interesting... Language- They don't even speak a real language so this isn't even a thing. Sexual Content- Ok, if you don't know about the birds and the bees, it's ok. Pretend the stork still drops the babies off. In this game, you make families, so yes your sims can have babies... However you don't see anything. You choose "woohoo or try for baby" and they go under the covers or in the tent or whatever, it's not graphic like that. If your kid is too young to have that talk, chances are they won't know what's going on. However, most 10 yr olds learn about that in school now so not a big deal, but again you don't see anything. You can watch them kiss but hey, they do that in Disney shows/movies all the time. Oh, and sims can shower...it's blurred out. Like completely. So no worries. The positive parts of this game are they can teach you how to manage money or take care of someone. At 10 years old I made sims, got them jobs and had to make sure I watched what I bought them so they could still afford food(that's before I learned about cheat codes...shhhh). I had to make sure they slept and ate and showered etc. Go to work or school or get fired/taken away from social workers...yikes. It's a great game and if you can look past the fact the makers are getting greedy, check out the basic game. It's fun! Young kids may get bored but it's safe.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Ease of Play
Parent Written byjdub22 June 13, 2016

For Parents Worried About It Being Inappropriate

My son, who is 12, recently recieved this game for his birthday. I was worried from Sims 2, a game I have played before, that it would be way to inappropriate. I was highly impressed with the way it has upgraded. Yes, the sims can have "sex" but nothing is shown. While they're doing this act, you can't even see the sims at all. All you see is a blanket. They do kiss, but it's not nearly as bad as any kids television or movie kiss scenes. This game is a great experience for kids. It show them how to handle money well.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Ease of Play
Adult Written byNogitsunexo December 9, 2018

Careful

There are many mods and after market software you can get to basically turn this game into a full cartoon pornographic game. They are extremely easy to install. They have sex toys, furniture and even lingerie such as crotchless clothing. Beware. Watch your kids.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Consumerism
Privacy & Safety
Parent Written bybird23 June 19, 2018

The best game ever!

My kids LOVE this game i think that it is a great game along as your kids aren't / don't download inaproprent content such as wicked whims or wicked woho

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Adult Written byTiffany G. March 18, 2018
Adult Written byKatie4512 March 9, 2015

Parents Worried About Sex

Yes this game has sex in it, but your child controls everything that their sims do. If you trust that your kids you should let them get this game. It also teaches kids responsibility and how to use money. I think that your kids should be able to play the sims 4!

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Ease of Play
Adult Written byRealistic Mama March 24, 2019

Mature Content

My 8 (almost 9) year old has been asking for this game for a year. And I’m watching it on Cookie Swirl C right now. This content is far too mature. The fairies are clearly 21 and up (or acting like they are). They are at the bar, with a bartender mixing drinks at their request, trying to pick up boys, and having house parties....where her friend left her alone. I will not be allowing my daughter to purchase or play this game until who knows when - definitely not in the near future. If Sims comes out with an elementary kids version, I’d consider that. The concept is fun and creative, but the storylines need to be WAY more innocent for her age group.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Adult Written byJustinenay12 January 2, 2019

Great Game

I believe you should let your child (12+) to play if you trust them. I reviewed this game on my daughters computer when she got it. As for the “woohoo” and “try for a baby” option, it doesn’t show anything. The kissing isn’t as bad as other games that might be for teens, so is not really anything to worry about. It shows your kid responsibility and money management as well as raising a family. It’s a great game!

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Ease of Play
Adult Written bypotatocat23 December 29, 2018

itf FINE

this game is age appropriate for everybody ages 4 and up it is fun and entertaining and has no mature themes at all

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Ease of Play
Adult Written byChloeGB December 22, 2018

Amazing Game!

Even though I myself have not played it I have seen youtubers play it and it looks like a VERY fun game. It may have some inappropriate content it's not that bad actually. I love it it teaches kids how to spend their money wisely, raise a family, and show others how to deal with irl situations when the will/might come along in real life.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Ease of Play
Adult Written byArianna.H October 6, 2018

Great game

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Ease of Play
Parent of a 9 year old Written byLifina July 14, 2018

Depends, But A Bit Mature

It really depends on where your child is maturity-wise. If you've already had "the talk" with your child, it's no big deal, as there are only mild sexual references and they are all benign (what do you expect, it's a life simulation!). However, if your child hasn't had this conversation yet, it may lead to some unwanted questions. There is no swearing, only slight violence ("shove" and "fight" which is blurred out in a dust cloud), no drug or tobacco references at all, and the "drinking" in game doesn't make sims drunk, they are basically drinking expensive juice. It also has educational value with children learning how to balance money and interactive careers.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Parent Written byJanna S. May 31, 2018

Wonderful

It is so that I think this game is a wonderful way to have your child learn about the real world. My son played this, and his friends did to. One of the mothers said their child had sex with another in the game! I dicided to make a rule with my son that there would be NO sex aloud. He agreed, but I am not sure I trust him to his fullest extent, so every few minutes, I check on him. This works great for my family! He has fun!

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Sexy stuff
Parent Written byparizlady 1. May 23, 2018

I have played it.....and i think that it is a good game for my child to play

It has some sexual content in it.....but only kissing and underwear is seen in the game.....so i find it a good, easy game for kids....it is shown as a life simulating game (just a bit more cartoon-ish and less...adult-ish )

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Ease of Play
Parent of a 1, 4, and 5 year old Written byLaylah M. February 12, 2018

Fun Game!

I have four daughters. (One 7 year old, one 8 year old, one ten year old, and one 11 year old.) My daughter who is ten loves playing the game. She really enjoys it and seems to learn a few things from it. It isn’t really inappropriate because it censors things or doesn’t show anything.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Ease of Play
Parent of a 4, 5, 6, and 7 year old Written byNicole25 February 28, 2016

This is a learning thing

This game is a really good thing for my kids. My oldest asked and I looked in to it and then I played it for a while on my computer. I finaly desided it was good for my kids

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Adult Written byDeesimmer July 12, 2015

Disappointing

This game was very disappointing.. First I noticed that they took the toddlers away second the world is crappy you do not have the freedom to go anywhere and there are limited houses third they took away cars. Basically you're better off playing the sims 3.. The good thing is that the graphics are good and they do have it where you can multitask and talk to more than one person at a time. But I wish they didn't take a lot sways plus the game has A LOT of bug fixes.. Obviously their QA testers aren't doing their job right.. Speaking of jobs you don't have enough careers in the game.. Plus they came out with get to work expansion its ok.. But I still they had more options The bottom line is if you want fun play the sims 3.. My option i think people who plays this sims have great ideas for what they want to see in the game when they play my advice for the next game is to listen to the people let us have some say so in the game therefore we would enjoy it the most.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Parent of a 9 year old Written byJakeyc929 January 27, 2015

The sims 4

This is a great life-stimulation game. With very intelligent sims, I would recommend this game strongly.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Ease of Play
Adult Written byM&M1995 December 23, 2014

The Sims 4 is less fun than previous installment, surprisingly contains more mature content.

The Sims 4 is admittedly less fun than The Sims 3 as it lacks a number of features from its predecessor. Therefore, in terms of playability, it takes a few steps back. For one, the beloved toddler life stage has been removed, meaning that players can no longer care for and play with infant Sims. Moreover, the Create-a-Style tool is absent, so players no longer have access to the same depth of customization that made the third game a hit. With that being said, the game still comes out with regular updates or "patches" which can be automatically downloaded. These updates add in cool new features (pools and Christmas items were added recently) that enhance the gameplay experience. The Sims 4, like all the games in the life-simulation franchise, is very easy to pick up and play. Therefore, it is a great experience for younger gamers and more casual gamers as well. Basically, The Sims 4 is a point-and-click experience. It is an extremely engaging one, though. Now that an emotions system has been implemented, the Sims are more lively and responsive than ever before. The Sims are now able to multitask, and cause and effect relationships are stronger than they were in previous games. Because the game seeks to mimic real life, players will unavoidably come in contact with themes such as death, the supernatural, love affairs, child birth, and so on. Parents should not be worried, as the content remains light-hearted and has a comical feel to it. The graphics in the game are also more cartoony this time around, appealing to the younger ones. The Create-a-Sim tool has been expanded in The Sims 4, and now players can create Sims of various body shapes/sizes and ethnicities, which was a key feature missing in the previous installments, and its inclusion is nice to see. The female clothing options are surprisingly racier in this game, and there is an option to enhance breast and buttocks size using the new grab and pull feature. It came as quite a shock to me to see that there are several more "Romantic" interactions in this game, including a wider variety of kissing styles and suggestive interactions. It might come as a relief to some knowing that the hot tub has been removed in the game, but it will likely be included in a future expansion pack. However, woohoo (sexual intercourse) is still present. In the end, it is up to the player to decide what activities they want their Sim characters to partake in. The game intentionally does not take itself very seriously; it is a wacky experience where players can take control of life in hundreds of ways. If you believe that your younger teenager is mature enough to handle the game, then it shouldn't be a problem. Players will have a good time keeping their Sim families happy and healthy. If you already own The Sims 3, it is not worth investing in The Sims 4. Otherwise, it can make for a solid purchase. Just be aware of the fact that you are required to sign up for Origin and download the client in order to play the game. Also, there are many in-game prompts asking you to share your creations online with the rest of the world via The Sims 4's "Gallery." In this sense, safety and privacy might be somewhat of a concern in comparison to the other installments.

This title contains:

Ease of Play
Sexy stuff
Privacy & Safety

Pages