All member reviews for Tomb Raider

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging, great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging, good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging, good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging, okay learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Kids say

(out of 24 reviews)
AGE
12
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Teen, 13 years old Written byCJ69 March 8, 2013
AGE
12
QUALITY
 
LEARNING

Sick

Great game. Croft is boss. Good for kids 12-13. Lara Croft is on a desert island full of evil dudes who are part of a cult and she needs to find her way back home. There is little violence and blood and language.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 17 years old Written bymgmg001 March 16, 2013
AGE
12
QUALITY
 
LEARNING

Tomb Raider is 12

Look. This Tomb Raider Reboot might have a ESRB M Rating but I believe that Mature 12 year olds should be capable to handle Blood, Violence and Bad Language. I also rate it good for learning because it teaches you survival instincts that you might need in future reference. So all in all, I think it should be re-rated a 12+.
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Kid, 11 years old March 14, 2013
AGE
14
QUALITY
 
LEARNING

Lara croft is a great role model but this game is bloody

A very excellent game but the best part is Lara wants adventure and she is like an adult and follows her dreams. But the game is very violent . And has lots of strong language
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much consumerism
Teen, 13 years old Written byrm7137 March 7, 2013
AGE
12
QUALITY
 
LEARNING

epic tale of the beginning story of lara croft

lets say after playing the game 2 and buying the collectors edition i was very impressed at how the game portrayed her story with the emotional and character drive it needed this game is great but no for kids as it is very violet and ever though it has the most realistic lara croft ever seen it's shadowed by graphic violence that makes lara the character she is but if you child ask for this go and buy them uncharted which is not as graphic
What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 17 years old Written byJester™ April 9, 2013
AGE
16
QUALITY
 

Excellent Reboot contains Graphic Violence and Strong Language

The 2013 reboot of the Tomb Raider franchise is an excellent story-driven game. The combat is intense, portraying gritty realism in a lot of kills, e.g. blasting an enemy with a shotgun causes an explosion of blood to blossom from the point of impact whereas a shot from a pistol or arrow draws less, although still significant, blood. Language isn't an issue in the early game, but becomes more frequent and foul later on. Any review which claims there is little blood/violence or language is clearly coming from someone desensitized to such things, for Tomb Raider is certainly full of bloody (never gory [there is gore in the game, but not in combat sequences]) combat and foul language. The story is outstanding and portrays Lara as a strong yet human protagonist . Unlike many games where the protagonist gets grievously wounded and just shrugs it off, Lara has to mend her wounds on multiple occasions and in some chapters gameplay is affected (not in a bad way) by her suffering such wounds are causing, limiting her ability to climb or dodge. Tomb Raider is a fantastic reboot for the series, but the bloody violence and language could definitely be toned down. A must play for Tomb Raider and Uncharted fans, as well as anyone who enjoys an outstanding adventure game. (*NOTE* the Australian (OFLC) classification for Tomb Raider is MA15+ for Strong Violence) Jester's Rating 9.5/10
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Kid, 10 years old April 4, 2013
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

good for 11 year olds

In this bloodier edition of "Tomb raider" Lora is trapped on a island and needs to find her friends. In just the first half-hour of gameplay you see.....A GUYS HEAD GET SMUSHED!!!! BY A ROCK!!! but that not it you see the game has terrible langue words like f*** and s*** are used often now lets focus on the good. Lora is a great roll model she fights the tuff times and gets off the island, her friends are to they work hard to find Lora and risk there lives for her.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 16 years old Written bySeusslol March 29, 2013
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

TR Reboot

Great game. Must get!!!!!
Kid, 10 years old July 7, 2013
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Violent but still Great!

Tomb Raider is great but it is brutally violent ( at times ), some swearing, and Lara's skimpy outfit. If you are 9-13, mute your Xbox 360 or PlayStation 3. You'll LOVE it!!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written bySavageGoose6 August 10, 2013
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

a fun addition to an already fun series

i liked the game overall, but it is a bit on the gory and tough side... so go in prepared for challenges and disturbing imagery
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Safety and privacy concerns
Teen, 15 years old Written byJarHed June 2, 2013
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

Amazing

This game is one of my favourites ever. I strongly recommend getting this game!
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 16 years old Written byTroll lol March 29, 2013
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

Tomb Raider : Brilliant

This new tomb raider is a brilliant game and has a little violence.
Teen, 16 years old Written bygigapins June 26, 2013
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Great reboot for an ageing series

Tomb Raider gives Lara Croft a shiny new start after several bad games (and a couple of good ones) and sets her up as a current-gen hero. The gameplay is solid, the story a bit weird but has pretty cool supernatural elements. Character development not as good as it could have been considering people other than Lara get minimal screen time. The only problem I had with this is it's lack of puzzling sections. Tomb Raider was always about spending hours figuring out how to advance the game. There's very little actual tomb raiding in this game, and those are optional. Considering Lara is a fresh graduate and her main purpose is survival, but I hope that's something that returns in future instalments. There is some pretty graphic violence, and Lara dies in several (graphic) ways, getting crushed, impaled, choked shot by 10 arrows at once and a lot of others. There is also a bit of language, though not that much considering you spend a lot of time alone. Overall, this should be fine for more mature 12 year olds.
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Kid, 9 years old July 2, 2013
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Dantheman1

This game is not all about violence it is about strategy.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Kid, 12 years old October 21, 2013
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Really Amazing

Really amazing game, I recommend for mature tweens. I played this and I was fine with it. Some intense scenes though. Like one of the first things that happens is Lara falls and impales herself with a small spike. The slow motion of this is disturbing because you can tell whats going to happen. Also the death scenes are extremely gruesome. Not too much swearing but a fair bit. Lara is also a really good role model and has had a big effect on how I portray things. Like I don't worry about small cuts anymore, I just quickly get some antibacterial cream on it, then a bandaid. She also puts in a couple of good quotes here and there. Such as "A famous explorer once said: extrodinary is not in who we are, but what we do" Thanks!
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Kid, 10 years old September 27, 2013
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

WOW TOMB RAIDER HAS ACTUALLY IMPRESSED!!!

TOMB RAIDER is better than earlier franchise, the reboot is way better than read dead redemption. EXCELLENT storyline, great action and very fun but easy puzzles. Although EXTREMELY VIOLENT and they mainly say S**t but good for mature kids
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Safety and privacy concerns
Teen, 16 years old Written bywillman72 July 28, 2013
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

best role model

a great game with a positive role model for young girls as she is no longer big breasted. the game has strong themes as walking through mutilated bodies and pretty brutal with the finishers and death scenes baddest scene:getting a pole through your head
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 16 years old Written bycoolkid11s February 10, 2015
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

NOT FOR KIDs

Hi im 15 years old and im still not allowed to play this game, it has very strong language and it is a bad influence on teenagers, parents should think twice before buying this game for some 8 year old
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written byThatGamer October 23, 2014
AGE
10
QUALITY
 
LEARNING

OK for kids

Hey, this is OK for kids. The worst thing about it is the blood. But I'm pretty sure you're kid won't go crazy cause he/she see's a piece of blood on her shirt. If your kid is trying to convince you for this game, I say GO FOR IT. Watch out for the F*** or Sht words.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much swearing
Teen, 17 years old Written byanimeotaku7 August 1, 2014
AGE
12
QUALITY
 
LEARNING

amazing game

very violent and some strong language (not that often). There is no sexual content in this game and ot teaches you how to use your environment to your advantage. great game for mature 12 year olds and above
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Easy to play/use
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 15 years old Written byBaggieGamer2002 June 28, 2014
AGE
14
QUALITY
 
LEARNING

Not as bad as it seems

I'm only 13 and I've played this and may I say that this is a really good action game. True it may have blood and gore and has bad language but it's a good game that also teaches kids about friendship and surviving.
What other families should know
Easy to play/use
Too much violence

Pages