All member reviews for Watch Dogs

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Kids say

(out of 34 reviews)
AGE
13
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Kid, 12 years old June 4, 2014
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

The honest truth

(Visit the ESRB website for the reason behind the "M" rating) Okay, lets begin with the fact that some of the other reviews written by kids on here are "iffy." My parent originally read the reviews here which was the deciding factor on me getting this game. It was a whole different experience. To start, I was taken by surprise with the whole "human trafficking thing." There is a section in act one or two (acts are like sections in Watch_Dogs) where you go undercover into the heart of an auction house where people bid on young women. They all stand on a circular platform and occasionally shift to their left, while topless. You eavesdrop and spy on people talking about them bidding for "that one" because she looks "new" and "full of potential." This is not a cut scene, so you cannot skip it. Rape and sexual slavery is a reoccurring topic throughout the area. The second (and now put into perspective, less terrible) thing that I noticed is that there are some darker themes. The main character, Aiden Pierce, had his six year old niece targeted and killed by a groub which leans on the border between a neighborhood gang and a terrorist operation. There are a handful more, but contain spoilers, so I'll keep my silence. Overall, I think that you really need to know who will be playing this and what impacts may come from it. Again, I really suggest visiting the ESRB website for the unbiased review of this and many other games.
What other families should know
Easy to play/use
Too much sex
Kid, 12 years old June 7, 2014
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

It is all about trust

Watch dogs is a vary good game.There is some nudity but you can skip it and it's only in cut-scenes.There is some violence but there is only blood when your up close.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written byRedneckgamer June 1, 2014
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

Amazing, but come on.

Alright I'm 13 not trying to be an adult, and I think it is a great game but yall Don't care about that. There is violence, in between gta and cod, barely any gore but still violence none the less. Free roaming there is very little sexual content. During the campaign, that's another story there are plenty of remarks and like the description said, topless women. Besides that that's about it. But I can almost guarantee that your teen has seen it before, schools these days are just as bad with a girl in my class pregnant already, not getting your child this game won't protect them at all.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Safety and privacy concerns
Teen, 15 years old Written byPegasus June 1, 2014
Teen, 17 years old Written byLovingParent9 March 16, 2015
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Great for 12 and up

12 and up kids are mature enough for this game, the sex vibe is overrated, meaning that there is no sex in this game except for one mission where you fight criminals who are selling nude women for money, but they are blurred out. I never heard one swear in this game, in the missions there may be a few, but in freeplay it is swear-free. Personally i think 12 and up is a great age for this game, other parents may be over protective for the games they play, seeing how the game overrates most of the mature content in this game. 11 is on the edge of playing. maybe 11 years old should only play freeplay, but 12 years old are mature for this game this is like a turn to if you are hesitating to get your child gta, but you see that they want it cause of the freeplay, get this game. its basically the exact same, but without the constant swearing, nudity, and violence. this would be a great game for parents who have kids who want GTA's freeplay, but its to violent for you to approve, this game is the exact same, but with hacking, and much more appropriate for kids. the age limit should still be 12 and up though, the game is definitely appropriate for ages 12 and up, and i think other parents agree.
What other families should know
Easy to play/use
Kid, 12 years old July 20, 2014
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

Violent does have nudity but sex is skippible

I have it myself played it and just beat it its a great game the violence is for a good reason(to defeat bad guys) the message in the game is to be loyal to your family and stick up for others.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Easy to play/use
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written byitsallaboutthestory August 12, 2014
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Commonsensemedia takes the age system overboard again.

This game is fine for your 12 year old, the only part that I would consider alarming nowadays is a scene where Aiden is attempting to end a human trafficking scheme and goes undercover and see's naked women up for auction, if your anything like me you aim the camera down at the ground and don't look. But if your kid is "naughty", you know what I mean don't get him this game, theres also another nudity scene that doesn't focus on the fact that she's naked at all. A human trafficking scheme and you attempt to get her, out, your undercover as some sick woman abuser and then the girl attacks you with a knife to escape the horrors of what she thought would happen to her, you see it partially for half a second when she springs into action but no more than that. Of course if your kid is naughty and one of those cod player's then they probably won't even bother playing the mission's to ever get to that point, you save them in the end though and the game humanizes one of its "villains". Maurice being pulled back into the life escalating quickly, he watches a man be beaten while the attacker yells to Maurice over and over again how the wife. Eventually you figure out the reason he killed your niece was that was his last chance, then his wife was taken to the auction, the human trafficking place, hes a very human villain and is awesome but when it comes to lucky Quinn and his motives he is one of the most generic and uninteresting villain's ever. The gameplay is very smooth and while the hacking isn't super deep in depth its an awesome addition to the game which wouldn't be the same without it. many complain that it failed to live up to the e3 hype. But it actually improved, did anyone else notice how scripted the entire demo was or that Jordi was a totally generic character but became the eccentric dude in the final release. The dialogue was improved and the level that replaced that tech place was much better and one of the best mission's I've ever played in a video game. As with any other game that's multiplayer most player's are immature calling people "fags" ect. even the 17 year olds. Swearing is in line with any other m game. The nudity served a purpose in the story unlike how gta uses it as sexifictation so its justified and theres one scene with a girl flirting with a man saying a bunch of gross stuff but no sex that I've discovered so far, well you can hear people talk about it rarely but that's about it. The multiplayer hacking and tailing idea was awesome and who ever came up with it deserves to have they're salary tripled. There's also races and the city feels alive with many online modes like capture the flag and investigations on serial killer's ect. They didn't nail it, but it'll be like ac, it started out ok then went to legendary status, until they start making tons of sequels cough cough ac, cod cough. Aiden is uninteresting and the story is mostly mediocre and on ps4 players can quickly disable their internet when you're about to win the hacking game which is extremely annoying
What other families should know
Easy to play/use
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 15 years old Written byThe game breakdown August 30, 2014
AGE
16
QUALITY
 

dark, captivating and amazing story, side missions get repetitive

Watch dogs is a great open world title, the gameplay is good if you do the main story and multiplayer only. The game is very realistic with great characters, and the story has many twists and turns. the offensive content of the game is the following. Violence: 7/10 When you shoot people in the game, a bloody wound appears in their body. In the main story, there are some rather bloody moments but it is never graphic. Profanity: 9/10 (Warning: explicit examples) Many people in the game swear a lot, saying things like fuck, shit and other strong profanity. Sex: 7/10 You can invade people's pricacy in the game, usually seeing strong sexual situations play out (if said characters are in a closed area) the sex is never graphic though. There is some nudity in the main story) Total explicit content: 23/30 This game is very profane, violent and dark and is recommended for ages 16 and up)
Teen, 14 years old Written byAdventureTimeFan1234 July 30, 2014
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

A fun adventure with an interesting twist

The brand new title Watch_Dogs is a creatively designed game that takes itself very seriously. Sometimes to a fault. You get to play out a vengeful man named Aiden Pearce who got involved with the wrong people. This results in his niece Lena accidentally getting killed. The games narrative is actually sub par. The gameplay is fun none the less but those expecting a good story will be somewhat disappointed. Before the aspects of how you will enjoy the game are talked about, one must talk about how appropriate it is for the person who wishes to enjoy it. The game is probably not a good idea for the average kid under 15. I played through the whole thing and I am 14. But hey. I'm the one writing the review. Sex and sexual suggestions are thrown around everywhere and bad language is commonplace in the script. The game is no kitten. Although it never feels "over the top". The actual fighting in the game isn't violent compared to most shooters. The blood is surprisingly minimal. And Aiden even employs non lethal tactics like a baton for close combat. Now that we have gotten the age game out of the way I can tell you creativity in the design of this game is bursting at the seams. The whole premise of the fact that Chicago is run by one piece of software and the player has control of it all makes you FEEL powerful. This is a fresh new idea just begging for a sequel. Missions, be them in the story or on the side, are fun and engaging. You always are treated to something new with each one. They are all unique situations and unique challenges. Bottom line: those old enough to play Watch_Dogs will enjoy creativity in gameplay and a fun play through. Even though the story won't deliver.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 14 years old Written byTurttleReview June 4, 2014
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

An honest review, Its all about trust

Im just going to tell you the truth thare is some nudity and sexual references throughout the game, but are avoidable and or skip able its all about trusting your child to skip it it also features a good or bad system, a good idea is to say if it goes into bad you take it away for some time there is also alot of language like the F-word s, Hell and multipul others nothing they wont hear at school
What other families should know
Great role models
Easy to play/use
Too much swearing
Kid, 12 years old October 1, 2014
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Not bad

This isnt as bad as you would think. When i went to gamestop the casheir was telling methat it was a bad game and too mature for me and that i should get the preowned so i can return it if it gets too violent. I havent returned it yet, actually i beat it. There are some swear words but i hear them all at school. The sexual content isnt that bad until this one mission where you go into an illegal auction where they sell nude women for sex.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Kid, 8 years old August 6, 2014
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

Lets Discuss

This game is about a guy who is a supposed to be good now its your choice,make him good and help other people in danger or kill others in the most cruel way.Now just think about what you wanna do in this game then u judge
What other families should know
Easy to play/use
Teen, 13 years old Written byMorgiman April 9, 2015
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Very Good Game!!! Amazing

Violence isnt a big deal its not realistic Swearing is common but if you know the words and your mature enough not say them its not a deal. The Game is AMAZING!!! If i was a parent id let my kid play it at 9 under little supervision ITS AMAZING IF YOUR A PARENT OR KID WANTING TO KNOW ABOUT THIS GAME ITS AMAZING
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 14 years old Written byIwroteareview May 31, 2014
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Good if you know right from wrong.

Messages: The main character is trying at nothing to keep his family safe from harm. Sometimes, this is done in ways of violence though. The game also has a reputation meter. As what is said above talks of killing many as well as police officers, by killing civilians or officers as well as even injuring them will have bad effects on your game which will make it harder. Role Models: Aiden Pearce is a man trying to get vengeance of his nieces death. This shows good things and bad things. He shows compassion for his family, but uses a violent manner to do so. Aiden's sister exclaims that even if aiden wants to be a hero, she will do anything to keep her son safe. Violence: You can hack, shoot, and detonate explosives. Killing is involved, but you can choose to knock enemies out. It is a very violent game. Sex: One main mission in act 2 includes nudity. Can be avoided as you dont have to go up close or look at women to progress. There is an entire side investigation centered on a human trafficing scandal in Chicago. The game is M for Nudity and Sexual Content. Be reminded that the investigations are optional. Swearing: Constant usages of F***, S***, D***, etc. Consumerism: Easter Eggs can be found around the game circling around other Ubisoft games. Cars reflect Real World Models Drinking/Drugs/Smoking: In the first level, there is a shop where Aider CAN, but is not forced to drink a beer, drinking games are all around Chicago, other scenes may show smoking. Safety Concerns: Multiplayer Gamemodes are involved in the game, you can communicate through hacking signs.
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 14 years old Written bystar lord September 5, 2014
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

watch dogs

watch dogs has an amazing story about a hacker named aiden peirce who yes is a hacker so he can invade peoples privicy so there is some sexual content but in one game mission you go to a human traficing and naked models but thats about it now the violince is no worse than an x men movie if you get shot there are blood stians but they dissipere and lots of languge
What other families should know
Easy to play/use
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 9 years old July 11, 2014
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Awesome and Fun.

What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 11 years old June 11, 2014
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

its like a good version of gta

i love the game and i heard that you can skip sex scenes but even in the trailers they curse ALOT theres so many s- words in that thing
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Teen, 17 years old Written by@bigboyman May 31, 2014
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

great game

This game has a few curse words such as "a--hole," along with "hell," "damn," "bastard. it also does contain very little sexual content. if i were a parent I would probably make my kid only play free roam 1 because its more fun and 2 it does not contain any bad things.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 13 years old Written byTeo34 January 30, 2015
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Good but...

This game is pretty good It has great graphics, great game play and a good story. The only problem is that it lags a little. You can be a villain that kills everybody (bad guys and civilians) or a vigilante that kills only bad guys. The choice is yours. It is like GTA but hacking is what makes it different than GTA. Your weapons are guns and hacking. As hacking goes you can pretty much hack everything electronic through your phone. The game is rated mature. I think it is over rated because there is violence but the violence is used in fighting the bad guys. Also the game is not based on violence. So overall I think it should be rated 12 and up.
Kid, 12 years old September 22, 2014
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

AMAZING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

This a great game! But, it has a lot of sex, drugs, and language. I'd say 13 is good. The words of a 12 year old...
What other families should know
Easy to play/use
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking

Pages