All member reviews for World of Warcraft: Cataclysm

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging, great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging, good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging, good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging, okay learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Kids say

(out of 21 reviews)
AGE
10
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Kid, 12 years old February 19, 2011
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Great game 10+

Great Game. easiest and funnest MMORPG i have ever played! i got to lvl 78 dk then quit. ofver 11m people play it. but i am concerned about the privacy because ive been hacked many times.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Safety and privacy concerns
Kid, 10 years old March 6, 2011
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Good game for 8+ with supervision!

I LOVE this game, started playing with my dad when I was 7.. My problems are the content on RP realms.. some stuff gets a little "out of hand", and drugs, etc. But otherwise, its a great game!
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Educational value
Kid, 11 years old July 8, 2011
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Good for Some Kids 10+

It's A great game, I don't know why parents vote language as an issue when they can toggle it off. And why vote sex appeal when all it is are girls in battle armor or weird dancing. Why rate violent when you can toggle the blood off. Most parents say off because they Dont tell their kids not to, or dont know how to toggle off, the thing they think are bad. And dont get me started on off for all ages!!!!! It's YOUR fault for putting a SIX year old on WoW. It should only be elgible for those mature enough, like mature 8 year olds. 6 year olds AREN'T mature enough!!! Vallain Out!
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 12 years old January 23, 2011
AGE
2
QUALITY
 
Teen, 15 years old Written byBrandon Herrschaft April 9, 2011
AGE
7
QUALITY
 
Teen, 14 years old Written byBoredmaster101 January 9, 2011
AGE
14
QUALITY
 
Great game..... Only problum is people swaring in-game.... and the there are some bad realms with bad things
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Great role models
Safety and privacy concerns
Teen, 13 years old Written byCaptainJMB January 7, 2011
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Good for mature children ages 10+

In Wold of Warcraft: Cataclysm, players can choose frm 12 races and 9 classes. There is a dragon who is destroying the world, and each race deals with individual struggles. The 12 races are split up into 2 warring factions, so there is Player versus Player. Other than that, this is a fun game for kids ages 10+.
What other families should know
Great role models
Kid, 11 years old March 27, 2011
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

great for tweens going into their teens

im only 11 and im addicted to wow. it is a very fun, yet violent game. people use curse words and some of those words arent censored. there is also open chat, but i cant do anything about that but its not any of my concern. i also noticed that there are inappropriate names that the game allowed so that was a little bad. internet safetey isnt too bad if you know the rules. awesome game overrall though.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Great messages
Safety and privacy concerns
Kid, 11 years old January 19, 2011
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

12+

worst game ever.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Safety and privacy concerns
Kid, 11 years old December 29, 2010
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

Kind of hard to play.

My brother plays this game, and for a short amount of time (I'm embarrassed to say this because there aren't many WoW players) I did, as a gnome. Yeah, it's violent, but well, it's not that bad. There is some alcohol. It's fun and has a very complex and intresting story line, but it's hard for me to use the camera controlls. P.S, for all you goblins out there: irriststible pool pony! I hope that was spelled correctly.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 8 years old February 19, 2011
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

World of Warcraft

Fun game is fun.But you should only give it to 10 under if they are really , really mature.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byWoWcrazedTeen January 27, 2012
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

Very GREAT game, NOT BAD like people are saying

ok so basically i am 13 girl, and i have been playing since i was 8. and seriously this game is NOT BAD!!!! there are Alcohol in the game you can buy, but they dont get drunk, and yes you can dance, but its not that bad, the guys dance like do the wave and disco and stuff, and the girls dance a little more "sexy" not bad. and violence is fighting, but there is no blood, and the language like saying f*ck or something, is rare depending on a guild you join, but i have seen very VERY little bad bad horrible swear EVER! and if you dont want to see the language, turn on the language vilter, and people are VERY VERY nice on the game, i joined about in november in 2011 to start playing again, and people are so nice, they help you along the way with quests and stuff, (but if you treat another person on the game bad, they will not be nice!!!) i only put the product place meant because people type BUY WOW GOLD and stuff..... but not that common. and yes this game is VERRRRYYYY ADDICTIVE!!! i when i am tired i say " no one more level up and i can get this cool item and be a level 85!" but on the account site you can set up parental parts where you can limit they play each week. but if you are a really strict parent (my mom isnt) but you should get a free trial for yourself and see what its like, or watch you kid play. its really NOT BAD!!!!!!! hope this helped:) <3
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Teen, 15 years old Written byRPG_MAGE August 15, 2012
AGE
13
QUALITY
 
LEARNING

Know Your Warcraft

Ok so a lot of these reviews are pretty negative towards the game. It does contain some alcohol reference but by the time your kid is even 9 or 10 he/she has probably seen you drink either wine or beer at a party or whatever. There is mild language but if your kid has common sense, they won't repeat these words. I have played the game along with many other RPG's and FPSs' and WoW is not even close to one of the "inappropriate" games. Honestly, you just have to know your kid and their level of maturity. If they are mature enough for this game then what you have to worry about is the cost. At the end of a full year of memberships you end up spending $180.00 or more on a virtual world. In my opinion, I think it's totally worth it and completely affordable for someone my age. If you've ever played the game, Wizard101, the cost are much more expensive. First, the membership is 10 dollars a month, thats pretty respectable, the way they make their money is on crowns. Crowns are something Kingsisle sells. It's money in the game that allows you to purchase better gear. Blizzard does something similar but you can still enjoy the game without it unlike W101. If you are fine with all those cons, there is just 1 more before I get to the pros. This game is incredibly addicting. "Just one more level...Just one more level" yep WoW is that kind of game. You just can't sign off yet. You always have to go raid a goblin fort or complete a quest for the panderians or something. There is a way to make it... non-addicting. That is to set time limits. To see what happens to people when they play to mush WoW just watch on YouTube The Guild. It shows how bad it is to get addicted to the game. I also forgot to say people can be huge jerks on Warcraft. Now for the pros. The game helps with team building. Say if two kids don't get along, put them in a guild together and watch the magic work. The game will bond them. They will go on quest and raids together. Eventually, the two will realize they heave a lot in common. Another pro is it teaches kids how to strategize and plan. It also teaches players old english. The NPCs (Non Playing Character) normal use complex words and probably uses every prefix and suffix there is out there. Well, there you have it! I hope this helps your family make a decision on the game. But, before I go I must inform you of the suggestive themes. There is some skin showing on boys and girls. Good luck and have a great day! +13 Game!
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 11 years old July 15, 2011
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

woot

A mature fantasy based game that revolves around quests and Lore. My uncle had two accounts and he gave me one this february. I am not alowd to chat, ( 40 yearold play this((noobs XD)) but my uncle has a friend on there that I am alowd to chat to. Anyways, this game is a fun game, as long as it's taken in modaration.
Kid, 12 years old June 11, 2012
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

average

a super SCARY game dont recomend for kidz under 13 but if you are scared easily more like 15
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written byAllons-y May 28, 2012
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Great Game

5 years of my life have been spent on this game. WoW has a bad reputation of being addicting, which is pretty true. I'd reccomend limiting yourself, or you'll end up online for hours! I've met many wonderful, friendly people on this game, as well as rude lads, BUT I have always had fun : ) . My father and I have seperate accounts (not cheap!) and we have fun spending time together. Just remember, don't let it take over your life! Don't become a lazy zombie like me!!!
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Kid, 8 years old May 27, 2012
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

Good game but a little violent

My uncle has has all of World of Warcraft, and he ussaly played them a couple of months ago. Once that I saw that he killed a wolf, blood was splatering all over. That's when I knew that these kind of games were too violent. I reccomend it for teens, but deffenly not young children. Watch your children as they play this blooded-up game.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Safety and privacy concerns
Kid, 11 years old July 27, 2012
AGE
8
QUALITY
 
LEARNING

Great, but addictive game.

Very good game. Be careful with who you interact with-do not give out person information (ESPECIALLY age). Certain players can take advantage of this. Very addictive.Give only 1 hour MAXIMUM of gameplay time per day.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Kid, 9 years old June 18, 2012
AGE
2
QUALITY
 
LEARNING

World Of Warcraft

Ive been playing World of Warcraft for Mostly ALL OF MY LIFE [ 2003-Now} And i Still play it. I played WOW since I Was 2 or 3 years old. i think it Has the best safety EVER! if someone figures out your password, Blizzard Will lock your Account ! you just call blizzard and they will Unlock your account with a different Password Of Your Choice! Final Grade: A+
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Safety and privacy concerns
Teen, 16 years old Written byYakMoose June 10, 2012
AGE
17
QUALITY
 
LEARNING

Kissing Makes This Game Deceptive.

All it is is kissing and is not very exciting.
What other families should know
Too much sex

Pages