All member reviews for World of Warcraft: Cataclysm

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Common Sense Media says

New races, solid story infuse more life into WoW.

Age(i)

2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17

Quality(i)

 

Learning(i)

Users say

(out of 35 reviews)
AGE
11
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Adult Written byJeff Quick July 13, 2011
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Great Game for Certain Kids

World of Warcraft or WoW is an incredibly immersive and large MMORPG made by Blizzard, and by far, one of the best out there. The best part of the game is the fact that you need to work together with others to eventually get the top of the line gear available to characters in the game, and it is also challenging. Leveling to the max is not for the faint of heart, as it WILL take hours upon hours of gameplay to achieve, but help your kids moderate it. I must stress this game should be played with discretion because not all kids may play the game with as much success or understanding as others, and online interaction is not for everyone. As far as gameplay goes, it's pretty point and click but there are a lot of mechanics for dungeons onced you hit 85, especially in the highest level raids for 60, 70, 80, and 85. This game teaches kids how to work together in a team, and also how to be resourceful and pay attention to detail. Constant updates help to make the game safe and playable with very few glitches, but for anyone who is younger, there is a mature language filter...KEEP IT ON. You are playing with people much older who do not use discretion so be careful! Thanks hope this is helpful, Jeff
What other families should know
Educational value
Too much swearing
Kid, 11 years old July 8, 2011
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Good for Some Kids 10+

It's A great game, I don't know why parents vote language as an issue when they can toggle it off. And why vote sex appeal when all it is are girls in battle armor or weird dancing. Why rate violent when you can toggle the blood off. Most parents say off because they Dont tell their kids not to, or dont know how to toggle off, the thing they think are bad. And dont get me started on off for all ages!!!!! It's YOUR fault for putting a SIX year old on WoW. It should only be elgible for those mature enough, like mature 8 year olds. 6 year olds AREN'T mature enough!!! Vallain Out!
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 15 years old Written byBrandon Herrschaft April 9, 2011
AGE
7
QUALITY
 
Kid, 11 years old March 27, 2011
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

great for tweens going into their teens

im only 11 and im addicted to wow. it is a very fun, yet violent game. people use curse words and some of those words arent censored. there is also open chat, but i cant do anything about that but its not any of my concern. i also noticed that there are inappropriate names that the game allowed so that was a little bad. internet safetey isnt too bad if you know the rules. awesome game overrall though.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Great messages
Safety and privacy concerns
Adult Written byBookWorm March 25, 2011
AGE
10
QUALITY
 
Definitely requires monitoring by parents for a number of reasons. It is an easy time suck. In this virtual world, it is impossible to know who the real people behind the virtual characters are. Some elements of the game are of more concern then others. Parents who are World of Warcraft players themselves, or play it with their children will be best equipped to monitor children as they explore the world and guide them to the more age appropriate activities, based on your own family's values. There are some controls that parents can enable to help manage how children interact with this incredibly complex and large fantasy world.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Kid, 10 years old March 6, 2011
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Good game for 8+ with supervision!

I LOVE this game, started playing with my dad when I was 7.. My problems are the content on RP realms.. some stuff gets a little "out of hand", and drugs, etc. But otherwise, its a great game!
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Educational value
Kid, 8 years old February 19, 2011
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

World of Warcraft

Fun game is fun.But you should only give it to 10 under if they are really , really mature.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 12 years old February 19, 2011
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Great game 10+

Great Game. easiest and funnest MMORPG i have ever played! i got to lvl 78 dk then quit. ofver 11m people play it. but i am concerned about the privacy because ive been hacked many times.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Safety and privacy concerns
Parent of a 9 and 17 year old Written byMCOLWELL February 1, 2011
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

Parental supervision a good idea.

With some parental supervision and basic restrictions in place (language filter, ect..) this game is fine for age 8 and up.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Parent of a 3, 4, 6, 9, 10, and 13 year old Written byGarb January 29, 2011
AGE
8
QUALITY
 
This is a great game for kids and adults to play together with other people from around the world as well as friends and family from around town. You can learn a lot from the game and the people that you play with. As with anything involving large groups of people, there are good people and not so good people that can influence the environment. The game has a Guild system for like minded people to group together allowing for a safe and friendly online community. While chat in major city's can get out of hand, it can be filtered or turned completely off for younger players, limiting there contact with the more negative aspects of the game (which come from the other people in the world and not the game itself). The Violence in the game is mild by comparison to many other games, movies and even basic TV violence seen today. That said this is a combat based game that is about questing and fighting against creatures, humanoid beings, and monsters of all kinds in order to progress in the game.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 12 years old January 23, 2011
AGE
2
QUALITY
 
awsome love it
Kid, 11 years old January 19, 2011
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

12+

worst game ever.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Safety and privacy concerns
Teen, 14 years old Written byBoredmaster101 January 9, 2011
AGE
14
QUALITY
 
Great game..... Only problum is people swaring in-game.... and the there are some bad realms with bad things
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Great role models
Safety and privacy concerns
Teen, 13 years old Written byCaptainJMB January 7, 2011
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Good for mature children ages 10+

In Wold of Warcraft: Cataclysm, players can choose frm 12 races and 9 classes. There is a dragon who is destroying the world, and each race deals with individual struggles. The 12 races are split up into 2 warring factions, so there is Player versus Player. Other than that, this is a fun game for kids ages 10+.
What other families should know
Great role models
Kid, 11 years old December 29, 2010
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

Kind of hard to play.

My brother plays this game, and for a short amount of time (I'm embarrassed to say this because there aren't many WoW players) I did, as a gnome. Yeah, it's violent, but well, it's not that bad. There is some alcohol. It's fun and has a very complex and intresting story line, but it's hard for me to use the camera controlls. P.S, for all you goblins out there: irriststible pool pony! I hope that was spelled correctly.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking

Pages